Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 86 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

86 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

86 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

75%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
29
4 stars
24
3 stars
12
2 stars
11
1 stars
10
1-20 of 86 total reviews
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 86 total reviews
1-20 of 86 reviews
Does the job. Limited life.
3/28/2011

Customer review by Lexington12

3.0 stars 3/28/2011 by Lexington12
by Lexington12

Bought this curved hair clipper about 1 year ago and still use it. It makes cutting hair much easier. I like to keep my hair fairly short and it does a great job and fast. Almost like combing your hair with a brush except that it's cutting your hair at the same time. I also use a standard Remington hair clipper (HC-70) on the side to do the finishing touches with my hair. Getting it even and such. The downside is that I'm here ordering a new one because my current one is on its last legs after only one year of use. I use it only once a week. The battery is not keeping a sufficient charge as when it was new. There is no way to just replace the battery. And it's true that you can't use it when you plug it in to the charger. It has a cut-off. Terrible feature. At the very least, Remington should eliminate that feature especially if you cant replace the battery. So why am I ordering another one? I really like how it cuts my hair and you will too. I just don't like the fact that it's not very durable.

Lexington12
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great concept, am ready to buy Version 1.1 with battery improvements
4/19/2012

Customer review by DavidM

4.0 stars 4/19/2012 by DavidM
by DavidM

I love this device for its worry-free, waiting-free haircuts. In less time than it would take me to get seated in a barber's chair, I can be done with a haircut. It lets me get that freshly groomed look any time I want it. Because it replaces barber cuts, this device could be a lot more expensive and still attractive and affordable to me. On the downside: The battery is feeble. I have had my device for over two years and it's still working, although the blue LED charge indicator broke after two months. The most serious battery shortcoming for me, apart from needing to charge it overnight before each use, is poor low temperature performance. I heat my house to 45 degrees in winter, and this battery won't work below about 62 unless I warm it up by wearing it in my pants for a few hours. Charge it, incubate it, then use it. This puts a crimp in spontaneity of use. I'd rather have a corded model than deal with this.

DavidM
Arlington MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Excellent product - would not re-charge
9/7/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 9/7/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I found the hair trimmer to be easy to use. Slight problem with trimming evenly on back of head, because I don't have a good mirror system at home. Unfortunately, I had to return the Remington short cut trimmer because it would not re-charge after the initial charge ran out. I am assuming this was just a problem with the particular unit I purchased.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Henderson NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Unique Shape, Works Well, 2-Year Warranty
12/5/2011

Customer review by NewEnglander

5.0 stars 12/5/2011 by NewEnglander
by NewEnglander

I just received this product and tested it out. I works perfectly. I did read the other reviews before getting it and when it arrived I didn't think that it was junk or bad quality. It is made of heavy-duty plastic so not sure where everyone is seeing the bad quality. I haven't had it long enough to test out the battery life but since it has a 2-year warranty that should cover it if it does stop working. Most products like this only have a 6 month or 1 year warranty. The unique shape made it easy for me to hold it in my hand and use it like a brush so I do it myself without help. I got my wife to use the trimmer on the back of my neck and she said it worked fine but just be sure you click it in place so it doesn't move.

NewEnglander
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
cool idea that works
6/17/2009

Customer review by mikelv

5.0 stars 6/17/2009 by mikelv
by mikelv

I don't know what else to say except that it's simple to use, and if you're a bald guy like me it helps you stay neat and tidy with only ten minutes of trimming a week. I use it in the bathtub and then it's easy to wash away the cut hairs. Also I use a brush to clean it instead of water so the razors don't rust prematurely.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mikelv
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Excellent product with some advice.
12/17/2011

Customer review by Dwar

4.0 stars 12/17/2011 by Dwar
by Dwar

I have used this product for three years and it has saved me hundreds of dollars. Recently, though it has stopped charging when plugged in. I discovered that if I install the wall outlet adapter upside down it will charge up and will run for 45 minutes. If I unplug it after a full charge and leave it attached to the charger it will self-discharge all of the battery. So make sure to remove it from the charger and it will last many more haircuts. The unit was probably damaged by a electronic plug-in pest eradicator device I have. I would like to see future models of this product with a permanent corded, plug-in style. And reduce the charge up time in the cordless model. Otherwise it is a very good device.

Dwar
Rockaway Park, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
8/30/2009

Customer review by Potchi

5.0 stars 8/30/2009 by Potchi
by Potchi

Excellent product. No other product comes close. You don't have to attach anything to the device. Everything is in it already. Only problem is the time it takes to have a full charge. Would have been better if it has a case in the package as well. Other than that, it's perfect...

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Potchi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Lithium Ion Battery?
10/17/2012

Customer review by TNMan

4.0 stars 10/17/2012 by TNMan
by TNMan

Not! I just purchased my fourth clipper in as many years. Why do you ask? Because I clip my very balding head/hair approx. every 3-4 days. For what it costs me to buy a new clipper once a year or so, I'm still putting a lot of money back in my pocket vs. having to visit a barber. Not to mention the convenience of cutting my hair at home. The value is exceptional, the performance is great! Durability....not so much. Remington.....I for one, would pay a bit more money to buy a clipper with a "quality battery" installed vs. what you have now. I'm betting if you put it to a vote, your loyal customers would gladly ante up more money for a product that's more durable.

TNMan
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Excellent for the task
5/6/2013

Customer review by NickB

5.0 stars 5/6/2013 by NickB
by NickB

I am now about 2yrs into my second unit. The first one lasted about 5yrs, then the batteries quit, which worked out fine because it was time to sharpen the blades. This shows that the designers were thinking! Almost all of the negative comments that I see here show that the user does not understand the product. It is a DAILY grooming product. I learned to use mine about 1 to 2 minutes, 3 times a week, and it runs like a champ. This trimmer is NOT to replace a once a month haircut. Use it at least 3 times a week. You do not shave your face once a month with a standard razor! Use this tool correctly, as designed, as it will serve you well.

NickB
Dallas, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Planned obsolescence
3/21/2011

Customer review by avbraun

2.0 stars 3/21/2011 by avbraun
by avbraun

I bought this clipper about a year ago, thinking it was just the thing for my short-cropped hair. I gladly paid the hefty (2X) price premium over conventional clippers. It is easier to use than the straight-bladed clipper it replaced, and I got through my weekly haircut in half the time. I congratulated the manufacturer on their creative design. Thank you, Remington! But within months the battery lost its ability to keep a charge, and now can barely run 5 minutes even when freshly charged. And Remington installed an interlock so you can't operate the clipper while it's being charged. I am an engineer, and to me this design has planned obsolescence written all over it. My guess is that they know that the battery will not last long, and want to push you into buying a replacement clipper. And since they apparently have an exclusive product, they figure that would be another of the same. Well, no thank you, Remington. I tolerate planned obsolescence in an average-priced product, but not one for which I paid a premium. Those I expect to last longer than a few months. And I'm just irritated enough by this to avoid following their playbook. So forgive my geekiness, but my next move will be to open the clipper’s lid and find a way to override the charging interlock, and maybe replace the battery while I’m at it. This was not my first Remington product, but will likely be my last.

avbraun
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Remington Short Cut Clipper
3/17/2013

Customer review by Silverback

4.0 stars 3/17/2013 by Silverback
by Silverback

This is the best item on the market for cutting your hair really short, but the long recharge time is a problem. Once it needs to be recharged, it's nearly a 24 hour cycle needed to completely recharge from dead. I cut my hair in the morning, and if the battery is dead, it isn't ready to use again until the next day. If it was capable of running while plugged in, that would solve the short term problem. This is my second unit, I used the first one for years until the battery wouldn't hold a charge any more. I'll continue to buy/use these as they're the best on the market for my use.

Silverback
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great Device for Cutting Hair
5/24/2011

Customer review by TheBarber

5.0 stars 5/24/2011 by TheBarber
by TheBarber

My happiness with my Shortcut Cutter extends to the nth power! I have saved a lot of money by not having to go to the barber shop and pay for a haircut. I use it every two weeks and it helps to keep my hair trimmed and neat for the ladies. After I use it, I simply charge it to keep it at full power ready for the next time. It is so easy. If one can brush his hair, then he can cut it with the Shortcut cutting tool. Just set the desired depth of the cut and you are set to go. Use it at regular intervasl like I do and you will look great all the time

TheBarber
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
money saver
7/5/2012

Customer review by Mike48

5.0 stars 7/5/2012 by Mike48
by Mike48

I like to keep my hair trimmed very short and this is an easy to use, ergonomic product. I use it once a week and my only disappointment is that it can't be used while plugged in. One haircut requires a 6 - 8 hour recharge. The trick to using this product effectively requires using a air cannister cleaner typical to one used to blow dust of computers or equipment. Build up of hair in the blades reduces effectiveness and causes the motor to run too hard. Keep those blades free of hair after three or four swipes and this product will serve you well.

Mike48
Lombard
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great Value and Design
12/5/2011

Customer review by Guzmonster

5.0 stars 12/5/2011 by Guzmonster
by Guzmonster

I have been cutting my own for about 4 years and these clippers are the best ones I've used. First of all the design is great and the curved blade makes it easy to have an even cut. Secondly, the length of the blade is longer which makes cutting your hair faster. Lastly, these clippers save me a lot of money. I normally cut my hair every other week, so I will end up saving a ton of money with these. One last note, I have only had these clippers for about a month but I have not experienced any problems with the battery or other issues. Enjoy!

Guzmonster
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Product failure
4/3/2012

Customer review by Villager

1.0 stars 4/3/2012 by Villager
by Villager

Well in spite of the poor reviews i had read, I bought this trimmer. It looked like the product that I was looking for. I could not imagine Remington making a product that was so poor. I have used Remington products for many years. In less than four months this trimmer has lived up to the reviews that gave it a very poor rating. I have followed all the recommendations made for proper use and care. It is dead. It will not turn on, it will not charge. Like a dead bug it just lies there. I great concept. A very poor product.........

Villager
Pinewood, SC 29125, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Tough to judge hair length
12/1/2011

Customer review by HairGuy

3.0 stars 12/1/2011 by HairGuy
by HairGuy

I enjoyed the product and have not had it long enough to see battery issues as with other posts. I shave my head once a week and these clippers made the task a little difficult. As my hair is always short when it gets cut again, the clippers made it difficult to see a difference in hair length when it was being cut so I had to keep going over my head multiple times to make sure that everything was even. The design of the clippers is unique but I don't feel like, as of yet, these clippers are as effective as the standard design.

HairGuy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Product Needs Improvement
9/23/2011

Customer review by Steve48

2.0 stars 9/23/2011 by Steve48
by Steve48

I agree with the other reviewers who complained about the poor battery life, and the inability to use the trimmer while connected to the charger. Otherwise, the product worked reasonably well for almost a year, although I found it difficult, if not impossible, to trim the hair near my ears. That is likely a limitation in the current design of the product, and perhaps there is a solution. If the product is redesigned and improved, I might consider purchasing another, but I cannot recommend it as it is currently designed.

Steve48
San Diego CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
SCC100R Short Cut Clipper
10/4/2012

Customer review by BN42

4.0 stars 10/4/2012 by BN42
by BN42

This is the finest clipper I have ever used or found to take care of a bald head. I do not like to shave my head , with a razor. The short cut clipper, will give you the closest look to that of a shaved head. It takes less than two minutes to give yourself a clean, razor like look. I have found it to be safe and easy. It is one of the best kept secrets in the hair industry. Remington should embellish it's advertising on this wonderful product. My friend, who are bald, have purchased and enjoyed the short hair clipper.

BN42
Aliso Viejo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
My 4th Shortcut
12/7/2012

Customer review by oldbaldy

4.0 stars 12/7/2012 by oldbaldy
by oldbaldy

This is my 4th shortcut. The 1st one did exactly like I expected. I love the cut. However the battery died after a year. I sent it back and it was replaced. The 2nd one had the same problem. Cuts great but battery does not last. I bought another product, but didn't perform as well as the shortcut, so I bought another one. This one has lasted for 9 months and is still cutting and performing well. I bought the 4th one as a back up, in case the 3rd one dies. I love the product, but it has a serious battery problem.

oldbaldy
Clarksburg, Millstone, NJ 08510, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Nice idea but not perfected
12/14/2011

Customer review by CloseCut

3.0 stars 12/14/2011 by CloseCut
by CloseCut

I always have a buzz cut from 1/4" to close to skin and I cut my own hair. I purchased this product with the thought that it would get the job done faster. In that respect, it does well, but the closest setting leaves uneven spots all over my head. The 'bigger is better' idea here is just not the case. Detail areas like around the ear and sideburns just don't get cut with ths trimmer. It also has a tendency to 'pull' at some hairs. I can get much better and more even cuts with my Remington ceramic blade clipper.

CloseCut
CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
1-20 of 86 total reviews
1-20 of 86 reviews