Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 41 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

41 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

41 reviews | 3 out of 5

63%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
5
4 stars
14
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 stars
9
1-20 of 37 total reviews
63%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 37 total reviews
1-20 of 37 reviews
Definitely let friends borrow it.
11/1/2012

Customer review by Gardeninguru

4.0 stars 11/1/2012 by Gardeninguru
by Gardeninguru

I've read other not so great reviews but here's the real deal folks. DON'T USE IT AS THE NAME SUGGESTS!! "PUSH". The trick is to pull it behind you as if you're a horse pulling a plow' SO SO SO much easier!!! Was a breaze!!! Forget about a cinder block. Yes the tray is too small. I was fortunate enough to have 2 10 lb dumbells with hexagon heads that I placed in the tray. They didn't roll & worked great. I also tried it with regular bricks that I had in the yard. Used 3 of them. It doesn't take a whole lot of extra weight in tray to dig spikes a bit deeper. Buy a couple dumbells. You can use them for excercise for yourself when you're done. The absolute real trick is to PULL IT BEHIND YOU. Works like a dream. Piece of cake. No amount of real extra effort involved as is if you are trying to push it. It is best if done when ground is slightly moist like after the morning dew. I wish it was a little bigger but am still very pleased with it. Thanks,

Was this review helpful? (35) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gardeninguru
Huntsville Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Push Spike Aerator
7/14/2016

Customer review by Casinoaddict

1.0 stars 7/14/2016 by Casinoaddict
by Casinoaddict
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

If your yard is loose allready, this would work fine!!! It needs about 50 lbs. of weight on it to pierce packed soil and then you have to run it over more than once. It is a hard job for sure. For just a small spot this aerator will work but not for a yard. I will say noone will use this for a complete yard. A whole lot of work with minimum results. Unsatisfied with this product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Casinoaddict
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent
6/1/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 6/1/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great product easy to put together and use

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good for the price
5/25/2016

Customer review by ScubaSpear

4.0 stars 5/25/2016 by ScubaSpear
by ScubaSpear
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Difficult to find a push roller aerator that isn't powered which is totally unnecessary. It was what I was looking for.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ScubaSpear
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
May work but not in our soil
5/16/2010

Customer review by DogLover21

2.0 stars 5/16/2010 by DogLover21
by DogLover21

We have clay soil and it is not working very well. Also, we have to put a cinder block on top of it so it pushes down hard enough, but the cinder block is too big and now it is bent. It was easy to put together, but overall it wasn't worth it unless you have softer soil to work with.

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DogLover21
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Push Spike Aerator
2/22/2016

Customer review by Eddie

4.0 stars 2/22/2016 by Eddie
by Eddie

We purchased this item was highly recommended to us. My husband used it and it work great. He was very pleased and happy with this product highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Eddie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not easy to use
7/21/2009

Customer review by scmax

3.0 stars 7/21/2009 by scmax
by scmax

Difficult to find concrete block to fit weight tray as pictured in the add. The size I thought would fit had to be cut to size and still kept falling out during use. Not as easy as it looks. Weight tray should have been larger to accommodate varying sized concrete blocks.

Was this review helpful? (29) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
scmax
Myrtle Beach, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Back breaker
9/30/2010

Customer review by RookieYardMan

1.0 stars 9/30/2010 by RookieYardMan
by RookieYardMan

Was anxious to get the product to use to aerate small areas of my yard. When trying it out for the first time, found that the tray is not wide enough to hold a standard cap block and the handle is designed for someone that is either under 5' tall or has extremely long arms. I'm 5' 10" and had to bend way over to work with this thing. I also had to use multiple small bricks to add any weight which resulted in the weight distribution being off as well as the bricks constantly falling off the tray. Since I had waited 2 weeks to get it and spent the time putting it together, I made the most of it but my back paid for it the next morning.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RookieYardMan
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Push Spike Aerator
7/13/2010

Customer review by JoeHomeOwner

4.0 stars 7/13/2010 by JoeHomeOwner
by JoeHomeOwner

Assembly was rather easy but 1 set of spikes had gotten bent in shipping. It was easily fixed by wedging it in a crack in my wall. There also was from what I though quite a bit of wiggle room for the spikes. I did not like this so I purchased some washers to take up the space. I also had to purchase 6 bricks to load into the tray. I may not have needed 6 but I wanted good penitration. All together the extended cost after the initial purchase was about 5 dollars. This did aerate my lawn pretty good on a skale of 1 to 5, I would give it a 3.5. This was pretty tough work and took a while. I would recomend this for smaller lawns say around 30' by 30' or some variation of this dimension. If your yard is bigger than this, be prepared for a good work out or look for another option.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JoeHomeOwner
Haverhill, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
You get what you pay for!
7/30/2010

Customer review by DolphinSlayer

1.0 stars 7/30/2010 by DolphinSlayer
by DolphinSlayer

Very flimsy cheap metal. Needs more weight than a standard CMU Block 8" x 8" x 16". Needs longer spikes. Basically useless. Will definately give you a workout. Anyone need one for 1/2 off? Just kidding. Used once and put back in box. Save your money folks.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DolphinSlayer
Orange Park, Fl.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
A Disappointment
6/18/2010

Customer review by jacksmybaby

1.0 stars 6/18/2010 by jacksmybaby
by jacksmybaby

Very flimsy and picture shows a cement block being used to make it heavy enough to penetrate. But both of the two-sized blocks I have were too big to fit, one due to long handle-screws being in the way.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jacksmybaby
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
aerator
7/21/2009

Customer review by mhsram

5.0 stars 7/21/2009 by mhsram
by mhsram

exactly what I wanted. works well and is easy to move around. assembly is very easy and extra parts were included.

Was this review helpful? (18) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mhsram
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
3/30/2010

Customer review by ganzle

3.0 stars 3/30/2010 by ganzle
by ganzle

The tool in concept is a good one. However, the metal plate does not hold a standard size cincrete block for added weight. You have to improvise to make it work properly. If the manufacturer would increase the metal plate by 1 inch in width it would hold the block properly.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ganzle
Jackson, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
10/2/2009

Customer review by rkOnlineShopper

2.0 stars 10/2/2009 by rkOnlineShopper
by rkOnlineShopper

I used this product twice, and it's really useless. It's just useful if you are dealing with a 100 sq ft garden, anything bigger than that the product is not strong enough. If you don't use extra weight it doesn't dig in the ground and as soon as you put some weight the handles are not strong enough to handle the weight+push

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rkOnlineShopper
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
4/17/2012

Customer review by dknron

1.0 stars 4/17/2012 by dknron
by dknron

Delivery and service was fine. In the description of the product it stated that a cinder(cement) block could be used as a weight in using this products. However all cement & cinders blocks are a standard 8 inches and the place to put the block is only 7.5 inches... very miss leading.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dknron
Loves Park, Il
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Like a push mower....but
11/10/2014

Customer review by 1BeenThere

4.0 stars 11/10/2014 by 1BeenThere
by 1BeenThere

I was able to put this together fairly easy. There are no directions, just a picture with each screw, bolt and other parts numbered to sort of tell you where they go. I figured it out in about 30 minutes. The tray on the top has the edges going up, and I had put it on wrong, but what the reason for the tray to have the edges up is so you can add a cement block for added weight. I'm female and only 5'2" and about 130# so pushing this contraption was out of the question..I chose to stand inside the handle and drag the thing around with the added weight and it did a pretty good job. The spikes it makes aren't all the deep, but it is an opening for weed and feed and I'll find out in spring how well it was able to disperse the application.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1BeenThere
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
9/30/2009

Customer review by AceV2323

3.0 stars 9/30/2009 by AceV2323
by AceV2323

This product works best on smaller flat lawns and when the soil is moist. I added a cylinder block as an extra weight to push the spikes deeper into the soil. Overall, I am pleased with the purchase of this product because it is more cost effective than renting an aerator or hiring somebody else to do it for you.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AceV2323
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
A piece of junk
8/19/2009

Customer review by Searchucker

1.0 stars 8/19/2009 by Searchucker
by Searchucker

This product is basically a piece of junk. The handles are thin, weak and wobbly. It is poorly built. If you are 5'0" or less, it might work. For anybody of average height, there is a huge strain on your shoulders and lower back.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Searchucker
Would recommend to a friend? No
NEED A CARDIO CHALLENGE?
11/11/2014

Customer review by StillDIYIafter64

2.0 stars 11/11/2014 by StillDIYIafter64
by StillDIYIafter64

I have read a few other reviews and I agree with them. This product is difficult to use unless you are physically fit, it is absolutely a cardiac challenge. My main complaint is about the sizing of the concrete block tray. It is about 1 inch too small (in width) for a standard size concrete block, I had to cold chisel the block down to size, a lot of work. I needed to buy bungee cords to secure it. Where is this device manufactured? With the weight needed to make it work, I would want more hefty steel tubing. Using it after a good rain will make it easier. Get fit before using!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
StillDIYIafter64
Would recommend to a friend? No
Aerator review
8/31/2015

Customer review by GaryB

4.0 stars 8/31/2015 by GaryB
by GaryB

It does what it's designed to do. It is much easier to pull than push, especially when the ground is soft and/or wet. Pull it for open parts of the yard, and push into corners. If the ground is dry, wet it the night before to soften it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GaryB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 37 total reviews
1-20 of 37 reviews