Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 106 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

106 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

106 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
71
4 stars
18
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 stars
8
1-20 of 94 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 94 total reviews
1-20 of 94 reviews
Classic Fishing Machine
7/29/2009

Customer review by MIKEATTHEROCK

5.0 stars 7/29/2009 by MIKEATTHEROCK
by MIKEATTHEROCK

What can I say?, A time honored classic fishing tool. Ron Popeil does it best. I use the pocket fisherman while fishing on my kayak. Compact, fits in my tackle bag, out of the way, yet catches the big fish. Great for tossing tins or small to medium size poppers.Very exciting to catch a blue fish or striped bass on this. Definitely worth the money, costs less at WalMart than it does on the pocket fisherman website, highly recommended for the novice or pro fisherman. After all, if it was junk, it would'nt be on the market after all these years. Thank you Ron and Wal Mart!

Was this review helpful? (84) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MIKEATTHEROCK
MT. SINAI HARBOR, PORT JEFFERSON, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Small Pole Big Fish
6/5/2010

Customer review by SpyroTD

5.0 stars 6/5/2010 by SpyroTD
by SpyroTD

This fishing pole is a good one i didnt belive it would be at first but i read the reviews and had to give it a try when i got it it seemed cool but the tackle box was small so me and my friend took it to a local lake and caught 19 fish with this pole alone the biggest was a 7lbs catfish proof on huntinhuntsman.com

Was this review helpful? (44) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SpyroTD
OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Sturdy / Compact
5/9/2011

Customer review by Socalalan

5.0 stars 5/9/2011 by Socalalan
by Socalalan

I've seen this "Pocket fisherman" advertized for over 20 years. I just retired, and live near a Lake, so I thought I'd try one out. I am extremely impressed by how sturdy this product appears to be. I haven't gotten to the Lake yet (even though it's only 4 miles away) due to health problems, but I have used its "practice weight", and am getting pretty good at casting with it. It also comes with a very well written "Owner's Manual". I'm considering purchasing two more of these fishing devices for my little grand daughters who will be spending some of their summer vacation up here with grandpa!

Was this review helpful? (40) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Socalalan
Bodfish, CA (Near Lake Isabella)
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
meh...
11/2/2011

Customer review by kjknowsu

2.0 stars 11/2/2011 by kjknowsu
by kjknowsu

This little rod had stellar reviews so we picked one up as a spare to carry along with our other gear. We were disappointed. While it appears the reviews wax between "it's great" to "it was broken on arrival"...what I'm surprised by is the lack of description concerning the problem of casting a pocket fisherman. If your kids use this rod with a bobber which is generally the case, you simply cannot set the depth any more than a foot or two at the most if you want to cast any real distance. Even with adding significant weight to the line, the small size of this rod makes casting nearly impossible. When using a bobber, with the line set at any reasonable depth, the bait/hook will drag so far behind the cast attempt that the result will be all but useless. Perhaps using a plastic worm or other weighted lures that can be cast from the actual tip of this tiny rod would be more useful but with the constant reference of this being "perfect for kids"...I would strongly disagree. It simply is not designed for bobber fishing unless the line is dropped over the side of a boat.

Was this review helpful? (20) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kjknowsu
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
GREAT!!
8/24/2009

Customer review by Lilwaldo

5.0 stars 8/24/2009 by Lilwaldo
by Lilwaldo

I saw it on TV and thought it was just cool so i bought one for my nephew and me. We went out fishing and it works like a charm its so easy to use and to carry. Now I keep one in the center counsole of my F150 its so easy to just get pull over get out and fish it takes all the hastle of having to get 1 of my poles out of my boat. I think its worth way more then what you pay for it.

Was this review helpful? (25) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lilwaldo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Popeil Pocket Fisherman
8/2/2009

Customer review by Darceebysea

5.0 stars 8/2/2009 by Darceebysea
by Darceebysea

I bought this for my bother-in-law in Newfoundland, Canada. He is an amputee who has only the use of one hand. He loves this fishing rod, it's compact light and he can maneuver it without too much trouble. I would recommend this for anyone who love to fish.

Was this review helpful? (14) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Darceebysea
Lexington, North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Worth the Money!!!!
1/31/2011

Customer review by Fisherman0011

5.0 stars 1/31/2011 by Fisherman0011
by Fisherman0011

When I first saw this rod online i thought it would be a piece of junk plastic. But it is defiantly not that! It is very sturdy, but i would carry extra tackle with you because the tackle box in the handle is not very big. The reel action is very smooth, and it casts really far. I have yet to go fishing because it is the middle of winter but i can't wait to try it out! It is only like 18 bucks and is a lot of fun, But overall I would recommend this rod to anyone of any skill level.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fisherman0011
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
handy to carry in auto
12/28/2008

Customer review by wobbles

5.0 stars 12/28/2008 by wobbles
by wobbles

I purchased one for my husband and one for my son. They both were very pleased and can hardly wait for summer to try out. Played with outside and think they will be a lot of fun to use.

Was this review helpful? (17) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wobbles
Hudson Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Excellent Fishing Poles!
6/9/2011

Customer review by SLF0706

5.0 stars 6/9/2011 by SLF0706
by SLF0706

I needed some good quality fishing poles for my kids to use when we vacationed on a lake, but it had to be easy to deal with because I don't fish. The Pocket Fisherman was extremely quick for me to put together and the kids had a great time using it. They fished with these rods numerous times and we never had a problem.

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SLF0706
Madison, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
excellent!!
7/27/2009

Customer review by stlsyb

5.0 stars 7/27/2009 by stlsyb
by stlsyb

great product! i went fishing and it was excellent!

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stlsyb
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
perfict
8/15/2009

Customer review by gnose

5.0 stars 8/15/2009 by gnose
by gnose

I had one as a child, and it was the best fishing pole I ever had trouble free and so very to use, I just bought 4 more for my grandkids, you must try it!

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gnose
medford oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Satisfied
9/28/2011

Customer review by Dansmith1954

4.0 stars 9/28/2011 by Dansmith1954
by Dansmith1954

I had the "original" Popiel's pocket fisherman over 20 years ago which worked fine. My mistake was trying "cast" as hard as I could one day and did not have the wrist strap on. The whole thing went flying. I just purchased 2 of the new ones. They are nice, however the plastic/rubber "pole" material seems to bend to easily. I would have preferred a fiberglass type with more stiffness. I am R handed and would prefer the reel handle to be on the left side. The product seems to cast well, but I have to switch it from my R hand and hold it in my left hand to reel the line in. This product is nice and easily stored and Great for when Kids are around to use. The price is right. I plan to buy (6) or more of them as gifts. Dan

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dansmith1954
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great tool for fishing on a whim
2/17/2012

Customer review by virjack

5.0 stars 2/17/2012 by virjack
by virjack

Great tool for fishing on a whim or planning an overnighter. perfect for my motorcycle saddlebags or truck storage. Works great and directions are included for changing string. The wife and I each have our own.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
virjack
Las Vegas NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
12/23/2011

Customer review by edguy

5.0 stars 12/23/2011 by edguy
by edguy

Super easy to use very good quality A+ it is really a pocket fisherman I love it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
edguy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great and compact
10/29/2010

Customer review by TonyinDallas

5.0 stars 10/29/2010 by TonyinDallas
by TonyinDallas

It is very easy to use and cast with. Easy to transport in car to fishing spot.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TonyinDallas
Dallas, texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Pocket Fisherman
7/14/2010

Customer review by saint39

1.0 stars 7/14/2010 by saint39
by saint39

Was extremely disappointed, the fishing line would not come out any more than 4 ft.

Was this review helpful? (8) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
saint39
SpringHill, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Absolutely fantastic handy tool
8/17/2010

Customer review by Keymom

5.0 stars 8/17/2010 by Keymom
by Keymom

Fantastic four just keeping in the car, on impulse finds a good location to drop your line. For such a small toy handles deep-sea fishing. Absolutely a great value for fishing addictions.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Keymom
Pacific Grove
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Missing strap
7/26/2014

Customer review by CH53

3.0 stars 7/26/2014 by CH53
by CH53

The box had been opened, and the strap was missing. Called the company,,,they don't send out parts. I'd have to return the item, and reorder. I opted to make my own strap out of 550. Normally the strap is not important, but for this item it is. When casting into the water it's a good idea to have a strap around your wrist. Hate to throw money away in the lake.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CH53
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/11/2010

Customer review by alldayallnight

2.0 stars 7/11/2010 by alldayallnight
by alldayallnight

I bought 2 for my kids one did not fair too well on same day that I got it. The fish line was all mess up and it would not cast out far enough so it mess up.

Was this review helpful? (6) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
alldayallnight
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
This Rod n Reel combo ROCK
6/13/2011

Customer review by bAdsters

5.0 stars 6/13/2011 by bAdsters
by bAdsters

These "As Seen on TV Ronco Pocket Fisherman" are awesome!!! I own many high end rod and reels, but wow for a quick portable, they ROCK. They cast very far, and reel in easily. We have caught numerous fish with these. They easily pack in my 150cc scooter and Kawasaki Motorcycle. I have purchased additional for gifts, and Walmart has the best price. I had them shipped to store for FREE!!!. I was surprised to see the quality of the float and hook, as well as two very very nice spoon.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bAdsters
Lewisville, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 94 total reviews
1-20 of 94 reviews