Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 120 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

120 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

120 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
82
4 stars
19
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 stars
8
1-20 of 108 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 108 total reviews
1-20 of 108 reviews
Excellent Fishing Poles!
6/9/2011

Customer review by SLF0706

5.0 stars 6/9/2011 by SLF0706
by SLF0706

I needed some good quality fishing poles for my kids to use when we vacationed on a lake, but it had to be easy to deal with because I don't fish. The Pocket Fisherman was extremely quick for me to put together and the kids had a great time using it. They fished with these rods numerous times and we never had a problem.

Was this review helpful? (22) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SLF0706
Madison, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
this is must have for any fisherman!!
8/31/2016

Customer review by Klutchedv420

5.0 stars 8/31/2016 by Klutchedv420
by Klutchedv420

By far the best gift ive ever received hands down!!! I caught the most bass in my life with this puppy! check out the footage. https://youtu.be/5T0su8klAlM

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Klutchedv420
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great deal
7/9/2014

Customer review by Buuchee

4.0 stars 7/9/2014 by Buuchee
by Buuchee
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Gotta love walmart for these sweet deals and fast shipping too

Was this review helpful? (3) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Buuchee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
meh...
11/2/2011

Customer review by kjknowsu

2.0 stars 11/2/2011 by kjknowsu
by kjknowsu

This little rod had stellar reviews so we picked one up as a spare to carry along with our other gear. We were disappointed. While it appears the reviews wax between "it's great" to "it was broken on arrival"...what I'm surprised by is the lack of description concerning the problem of casting a pocket fisherman. If your kids use this rod with a bobber which is generally the case, you simply cannot set the depth any more than a foot or two at the most if you want to cast any real distance. Even with adding significant weight to the line, the small size of this rod makes casting nearly impossible. When using a bobber, with the line set at any reasonable depth, the bait/hook will drag so far behind the cast attempt that the result will be all but useless. Perhaps using a plastic worm or other weighted lures that can be cast from the actual tip of this tiny rod would be more useful but with the constant reference of this being "perfect for kids"...I would strongly disagree. It simply is not designed for bobber fishing unless the line is dropped over the side of a boat.

Was this review helpful? (31) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kjknowsu
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Childhood dream!
10/13/2014

Customer review by priestman61

5.0 stars 10/13/2014 by priestman61
by priestman61
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

When I was 12 in the 70's I saw this product on t.v. and dreamed of owning one, but never did. I am 53 now and wanted to get back into fishing, but did not want to buy all that expensive gear for just a few times a month, remembered my childhood dream so I bought pocket fisherman. I have only been practicing casting, and it works beautifully I like the fact you can carry it on your belt with no worry of getting caught on bushes I can walk swinging my arm too. Casting near over head tree limbs is great I cast with no problem. The reel has real nice action, it does not get jammed! I have walked down to the fishing hole with a regular fishing pole and the line would tangle around the end of the rod, and I have to untangle constantly, but not with the pocket fisherman the design is great. I am a little concerned about the rod I hope it will hold up to a nice size fish, and the handle holds a small a mount of tackle small concern!

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
priestman61
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It's a "Keeper"!
2/7/2017

Customer review by TAGM10

5.0 stars 2/7/2017 by TAGM10
by TAGM10
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Just like the one I bought 50 years ago. Replaced the line with better stuff. Filled the handle with extra hooks/lures/leaders/sinkers. Now it's in my "Bale out bag" wrapped in a pair of socks, with 150' paracord.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TAGM10
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Classic Fishing Machine
7/29/2009

Customer review by MIKEATTHEROCK

5.0 stars 7/29/2009 by MIKEATTHEROCK
by MIKEATTHEROCK

What can I say?, A time honored classic fishing tool. Ron Popeil does it best. I use the pocket fisherman while fishing on my kayak. Compact, fits in my tackle bag, out of the way, yet catches the big fish. Great for tossing tins or small to medium size poppers.Very exciting to catch a blue fish or striped bass on this. Definitely worth the money, costs less at WalMart than it does on the pocket fisherman website, highly recommended for the novice or pro fisherman. After all, if it was junk, it would'nt be on the market after all these years. Thank you Ron and Wal Mart!

Was this review helpful? (90) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MIKEATTHEROCK
MT. SINAI HARBOR, PORT JEFFERSON, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Ronco Pocket Fisherman
6/30/2014

Customer review by Anjoyla

5.0 stars 6/30/2014 by Anjoyla
by Anjoyla
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought two of these one for myself the other for my daughter. This pocket fisherman is great for fishing. We have went fishing twice. I just caught a fish using this. This is great for the beginner or the expert. It has a cord in which you can put around your wrist so you don't lose your pole. It folds up when you are done. The handle has a little compartment for your hooks. It comes with some extras which are great. I have to say I just learned how to cast again after years of not fishing and this made it easy to learn. The first time I went fishing I went through 5 bobbers. This last time didn't lose one bobber at all on the rocks and cast beautifully. I love that it is so compact. Other's were using big poles and I was using my Pocket Fisherman and I am the only one that caught any fish. I will say though you do need to have a tackle box with extra bobbers and weights and line if you are a beginner. Also scissors and two gloves or mitts. As well a pair of plyers if you fish and put back the small fish. This is the best fishing rod. It is of great value. The cost is great.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Anjoyla
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it!
1/26/2017

Customer review by themederman

5.0 stars 1/26/2017 by themederman
by themederman
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This was a present for my son. He loves all types of fishing and asked if I could get him an ice fishing rod and reel for close in fishing on ponds. I remembered this rig from when I was a kid. I couldn't believe it is still being made and is so inexpensive.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
themederman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I'm happy with the rod
1/30/2017

Customer review by Timm

4.0 stars 1/30/2017 by Timm
by Timm
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Timm
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Satisfied
9/28/2011

Customer review by Dansmith1954

4.0 stars 9/28/2011 by Dansmith1954
by Dansmith1954

I had the "original" Popiel's pocket fisherman over 20 years ago which worked fine. My mistake was trying "cast" as hard as I could one day and did not have the wrist strap on. The whole thing went flying. I just purchased 2 of the new ones. They are nice, however the plastic/rubber "pole" material seems to bend to easily. I would have preferred a fiberglass type with more stiffness. I am R handed and would prefer the reel handle to be on the left side. The product seems to cast well, but I have to switch it from my R hand and hold it in my left hand to reel the line in. This product is nice and easily stored and Great for when Kids are around to use. The price is right. I plan to buy (6) or more of them as gifts. Dan

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dansmith1954
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Small Pole Big Fish
6/5/2010

Customer review by SpyroTD

5.0 stars 6/5/2010 by SpyroTD
by SpyroTD

This fishing pole is a good one i didnt belive it would be at first but i read the reviews and had to give it a try when i got it it seemed cool but the tackle box was small so me and my friend took it to a local lake and caught 19 fish with this pole alone the biggest was a 7lbs catfish proof on huntinhuntsman.com

Was this review helpful? (49) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SpyroTD
OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Missing strap
7/26/2014

Customer review by CH53

3.0 stars 7/26/2014 by CH53
by CH53
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The box had been opened, and the strap was missing. Called the company,,,they don't send out parts. I'd have to return the item, and reorder. I opted to make my own strap out of 550. Normally the strap is not important, but for this item it is. When casting into the water it's a good idea to have a strap around your wrist. Hate to throw money away in the lake.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CH53
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sturdy / Compact
5/9/2011

Customer review by Socalalan

5.0 stars 5/9/2011 by Socalalan
by Socalalan

I've seen this "Pocket fisherman" advertized for over 20 years. I just retired, and live near a Lake, so I thought I'd try one out. I am extremely impressed by how sturdy this product appears to be. I haven't gotten to the Lake yet (even though it's only 4 miles away) due to health problems, but I have used its "practice weight", and am getting pretty good at casting with it. It also comes with a very well written "Owner's Manual". I'm considering purchasing two more of these fishing devices for my little grand daughters who will be spending some of their summer vacation up here with grandpa!

Was this review helpful? (44) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Socalalan
Bodfish, CA (Near Lake Isabella)
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Popeil Pocket Fisherman
8/2/2009

Customer review by Darceebysea

5.0 stars 8/2/2009 by Darceebysea
by Darceebysea

I bought this for my bother-in-law in Newfoundland, Canada. He is an amputee who has only the use of one hand. He loves this fishing rod, it's compact light and he can maneuver it without too much trouble. I would recommend this for anyone who love to fish.

Was this review helpful? (18) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Darceebysea
Lexington, North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Crank on wrong side for me
10/14/2013

Customer review by Bill12

4.0 stars 10/14/2013 by Bill12
by Bill12
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I should have paid more attention when I ordered this. The crank is on the right side and I cart with my right hand. This means I cast then have to switch hands to crank a bit, then switch back to hold and set hook, then switch back to reel it in. My bad, not theirs. I didn't realize the wrong sided crank until I had destroyed the original packaging so I will keep it and try to learn to cast and set the hook with my left hand, while using my right hand to crank. Probably good to be ambidextrous anyway. Just my 2 cents. Great product, always with me, surprisingly great for casting. Always in the van with me when an opportunity comes up.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bill12
Lakeland, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GREAT!!
8/24/2009

Customer review by Lilwaldo

5.0 stars 8/24/2009 by Lilwaldo
by Lilwaldo

I saw it on TV and thought it was just cool so i bought one for my nephew and me. We went out fishing and it works like a charm its so easy to use and to carry. Now I keep one in the center counsole of my F150 its so easy to just get pull over get out and fish it takes all the hastle of having to get 1 of my poles out of my boat. I think its worth way more then what you pay for it.

Was this review helpful? (28) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lilwaldo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Absolutely fantastic handy tool
8/17/2010

Customer review by Keymom

5.0 stars 8/17/2010 by Keymom
by Keymom

Fantastic four just keeping in the car, on impulse finds a good location to drop your line. For such a small toy handles deep-sea fishing. Absolutely a great value for fishing addictions.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Keymom
Pacific Grove
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Worth the Money!!!!
1/31/2011

Customer review by Fisherman0011

5.0 stars 1/31/2011 by Fisherman0011
by Fisherman0011

When I first saw this rod online i thought it would be a piece of junk plastic. But it is defiantly not that! It is very sturdy, but i would carry extra tackle with you because the tackle box in the handle is not very big. The reel action is very smooth, and it casts really far. I have yet to go fishing because it is the middle of winter but i can't wait to try it out! It is only like 18 bucks and is a lot of fun, But overall I would recommend this rod to anyone of any skill level.

Was this review helpful? (16) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fisherman0011
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
IF YOU KNOW HOW TO FISH.... IT'S GREAT
2/10/2015

Customer review by Paul

4.0 stars 2/10/2015 by Paul
by Paul

As a fisherman, when I go fishing I take rods and tackle, but I have two "Pocket Fisherman" set ups. I keep one in the van and one in the saddlebags on my bike. I use them when I am simply driving around or off on a ride and I stop somewhere near water (river or stream) to take a rest. But I will tell you a few things. Use better line, forget the bobber they sent and use it with crank and spinner baits. Worm or jigs can be successful too, but you have to know how to fish. We have all fished with with cheaper light weight rigs, it's what we learned on. And we all caught fish with them. Same thing here except to set a hook you have to use your arm movement and not a long rod. Not for fishing trips, NOT FOR KIDS, but for those times you are out and just want to try your luck.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Paul
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 108 total reviews
1-20 of 108 reviews