Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 4768 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

4768 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

4768 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
3652
4 stars
854
3 stars
129
2 stars
68
1 stars
65
1-20 of 4744 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 4744 total reviews
1-20 of 4744 reviews
Good Quality Easy to Use
7/22/2009

Customer review by QueenBofNY

5.0 stars 7/22/2009 by QueenBofNY
by QueenBofNY

Easy to use the basic features, advance features take some learning. Great quality of photos.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
QueenBofNY
Upstate NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love It!
3/25/2010

Customer review by Mindi29

5.0 stars 3/25/2010 by Mindi29
by Mindi29

I really love this camera! I will love it even more when I learn how to use the manual features. This is the first SLR camera I have ever owned and I am taking really nice photos with it. The photos that I am getting are so nice that my family members are asking me to take pictures of them. I have a LOT to learn about this camera, but after watching the online Nikon videos helped a little. I still have a lot of questions about the cameras manual features, but with time I will figure those out. This is a camera that I can grow with. I would recommend this camera to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mindi29
Winfield, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A DSLR camera worth the price
7/28/2010

Customer review by kkcmba

5.0 stars 7/28/2010 by kkcmba
by kkcmba

I already own a D60 before I recently bought this upgrade. It works magic and the pictures turn out to be better than the ones I took using D60. There are lots more functionality existed for D90 for which I have yet to explore. I found the zoom lens 18mm to 105 mm fit my all-purpose photography than the other zoom 18mm to 55 mm I got with D60.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kkcmba
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Superior
6/1/2010

Customer review by Aengel

5.0 stars 6/1/2010 by Aengel
by Aengel

This camera far surpasses everything I was hoping for in a new camera. I hesitated because of the price, and I have been faithful to the Nikon brand since I got my first Nikon 35 MM back in 1990, which by the way, still takes beautiful pictures. The D90 and the wide angle lens, and also the 70-300 lens which I got extra make a fantastic gift to me. This will be the last camera I will buy in my lifetime and I will enjoy it to the fullest. I will use it mainly for wildlife and scenery shots, but who knows, with a camera like this I may start a new career? I am 72 years old, but always willing to try new and wonderful adventures this world of ours has to offer.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Aengel
S.Dak.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Camera
2/11/2011

Customer review by HobbyIsNature

5.0 stars 2/11/2011 by HobbyIsNature
by HobbyIsNature

Camera & lens are exactly what I expected. Easy to operate, pictue quality meets expectations, good wide angle view with 55mm -108 mm lens. Also ordered the 55mm - 300 mm lens; zooms in clearly. (even when taken through glass of window) The 2x teleconveter from my Nikon film camera operates better with this lens and camera body. I have had the Nikon D90 and lens about 2 wks +, and have used almost every day filming wildlife and birds, so far perfect. Happy with indoor pictures also.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HobbyIsNature
Northeastern S.C.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
love it!
6/22/2010

Customer review by bongypoo

5.0 stars 6/22/2010 by bongypoo
by bongypoo

I first bought the D5000 and loved that, but had it for a week and realized that I wanted to be in manual mode for shooting - which most profesional photographers do. With the D90, there are just a few more options that make it worth the extra amount of money. If you really want full control over your aperture, shutter speed, ISO, and White Balance, I highly recomment the D90. The pictures are beautiful!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bongypoo
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1/24/2011

Customer review by prncsshopper5

4.0 stars 1/24/2011 by prncsshopper5
by prncsshopper5

I've been happy so far with the quality of my picutres. It has also been pretty easy to figure out the manual.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
prncsshopper5
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Why did I wait so long!
6/10/2010

Customer review by mommeof3

5.0 stars 6/10/2010 by mommeof3
by mommeof3

This a great camera, and would reccommed to anyone, even the amature like myself. I'd buy another!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mommeof3
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
shocking shipping procedures
7/21/2009

Customer review by steve61

4.0 stars 7/21/2009 by steve61
by steve61

I was taken back when i received my camera kit and lens. The box which held the camera and lens had no packing to protect the camera. Both products were thrown into the box (rather oversized for the product) and shipped. The camera apppears to work but I am shocked that such poor packing procedures are in place. I will not buy again from this on-line source

Was this review helpful? (40) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
steve61
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great camera!
2/5/2011

Customer review by sctraveler

5.0 stars 2/5/2011 by sctraveler
by sctraveler

I updated my Nikon D80 to the D90 because I really wanted to be able to take video in addition to still photos. I then took my new camera on two trips that really tested its capabilities. It performed wonderfully. I found that I was able to take photos using a fast shutter speed while driving along the road and was surprised to see no blur. I was able to take video also and although it is not the quality of a video hd camcorder, it gives me clips that I can include in a movie that I put together using both stills and videos. Below is a video clip taken with the D90. I am really happy with this camera!

sctraveler
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Quality and Dependability
4/14/2011

Customer review by NikFan

5.0 stars 4/14/2011 by NikFan
by NikFan

I recently decided to go digital and hung up my trusty F2A. The D-90 was an obvious choice and has given me high quality and dependability for a modest price. On a recent trip to SE Asia, I shot over 5K pictures. The D-90 never faltered in yielding great results in challenging conditions. The large LED display was a significant asset in the tropics - crisp, clear images and easy to access controls. I'd choose the D-90 again in a heartbeat.

NikFan
Kansas City
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Value, Excellent System
2/6/2011

Customer review by WOJack

5.0 stars 2/6/2011 by WOJack
by WOJack

This is an amazing camera. It opens a whole new level for photographic exploration for the advanced amateur or young professional. The camera has opened up many new horizons for me to explore and is not difficult to learn. I would recommend this camera to anyone who is interested in serious quality photography. It is a great entry camera for the budding professional.

WOJack
Orlando, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good mid-range camera
4/18/2011

Customer review by Wandy

4.0 stars 4/18/2011 by Wandy
by Wandy

I have this camera for about two years now, and so far it gets the job done. Pros: One of the things I like most about this camera is the image quality when shooting in low light. It also produces accurate colors. It is very easy to navigate the sub-menu. Cons: The rubber on the outside of the camera's buddy is peeling off..

Wandy
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A superb camera
3/26/2010

Customer review by elkman44

5.0 stars 3/26/2010 by elkman44
by elkman44

The quality of Nikon is excellent and evident upon opening the box. The camera, while complicated and very capable, is very easy to quickly get familiar with, allowing the novice user to take incredible photos in a short period of time. The manual is long and detailed, but not difficult to read to find the specific details I was looking for. The image quality is astounding. I've not completed testing the lenses yet, but so far no image quality issues.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
elkman44
Montana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Eternal companion
2/5/2011

Customer review by Nikonco

5.0 stars 2/5/2011 by Nikonco
by Nikonco

Since I received my NikonD-90 as a present from my wife, its been my companion everywhere I go. This beauty has traveled from New York , the Caribbean to China.

Nikonco
Caguas, Puerto Rico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Overall Excellent Camera
2/4/2011

Customer review by starlightshine

4.0 stars 2/4/2011 by starlightshine
by starlightshine

I love my D90 and enjoy the quality photos that result. I carry it in my purse wherever I go. The ease to which you can start a video is wonderful.

starlightshine
North Vancouver, B.C., Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
EXCELLENT PRODUCT
4/18/2011

Customer review by PHOTO MEISTER

5.0 stars 4/18/2011 by PHOTO MEISTER
by PHOTO MEISTER

BECAUSE I AM A NOVICE AND DON'T USE THE CAMERA THAT OFTEN, I FORGET HOW TO USE ALL THE BELLS AND WHISTLES

PHOTO MEISTER
LAUGHLIN, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Incredible Camera for the Price
8/11/2009

Customer review by fotog

5.0 stars 8/11/2009 by fotog
by fotog

I'm a pro photographer (weddings, fashion). I just sold a Nikon D2Xs, which was Nikon's top of the line camera for several years before the D3 and D3X came out. I own a D40 and have used a D80 as well. The D90 is by far superior to all of those cameras. It has a much more accurate light meter, so photos are exposed properly more often than not. The rear LCD display has new playback modes that combine a lot of useful info into one screen (less scrolling between playback screen modes). The assignable button is nice - you can simply press the button to make the camera shoot the next photo in RAW (plus whatever image mode you are already shooting in), so you get RAW+JPEG FINE with the touch of a button. The video mode does not offer autofocus, which is a disappointment, but I didn't buy the camera for shooting video. Also, video playback doesn't look to much better than video shot with a Nikon coolpix point and shoot camera. You can really fine tune the color settings for different image modes (vivid, standard, etc.), as well as create your own image mode (custom saturation, contrast, etc.) and give it your own name. The 18-105 VR lens is nice, but won't focus up close (less than about 18"). Not a big deal. The lens has a nice feel to it. I wish it had a metal lens mount, but not a big deal if you're careful with your camera. Also, the distortion is noticeable when shooting subjects with straight lines (vertical or horizontal). The lines will look wavy, depending on the focal length you're shooting with (fixable with PhotoShop). Search the web for this lens, and read Ken Rockwell's review to get all the details. Overall construction of the camera is excellent. It weighs a little more than a D40, but MUCH lighter than a D2Xs. The remote control for this camera is cheap - about $20. The remote for the D2Xs was over $100. Overall, the features a pro would want to access are accessible without having to go into menus. Every important function has a button or combination of buttons that will allow you to change the setting quickly without using menus on the LCD screen on the back of the camera.

Was this review helpful? (310) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fotog
Rogers, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent traveler
10/22/2011

Customer review by coastphoto

5.0 stars 10/22/2011 by coastphoto
by coastphoto

I've owned this camera for over 3 years now, and been on 3 major trips with it, and can't say enough how much this camera rocks. After 3 years of being thrown in a backpack during travel, abuse in cars/planes ect, this thing still shoots the amazing pictures it shot when I bought it. Bought it right when it came out on a whim, because I wanted to be able to shoot some video as well (I mainly shoot landscapes and surf photography, so the ability to get some surfing footage through a Nikkor lens sounded great). I don't use the video much, but works great. What I love most about this camera is it's ease of use. I rarely shoot on auto anymore, and the camera's functions are easy to use and change without taking too much time or effort going through multiple menu screens. Two scroll through wheels make adjusting aperture and shutter speed a breeze. Again, can't say enough about the build on this camera, great for a serious hobbyist, traveler, or a pro needing a lighter weight second body.

coastphoto
Gleneden Beach, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worth It's Weight in Gold
7/20/2010

Customer review by Emjaynie

5.0 stars 7/20/2010 by Emjaynie
by Emjaynie

I bought this camera the day before i went to Morocco in 2008 and the very first day i was there, in Casablanca, at the gigantic new King Hassan II Mosque, on a bright sunny day, i captured an image that made me say to myself "this camera just paid for itself!". Picture this: White tiled 300' high minaret gleaming in the sunlight, framed by the ceiling of a beige and brown tiled portico in the shade ... extreme shadows and highlights. The exposure on each was spot-on when i reviewed the image two seconds later and i could hardly believe my eyes! The automatic D-lighting feature is so fantastic on this camera that i've rarely had to manually set it myself. I shoot sports with another major brand, but have trouble with my highlights and shadows, hence why i also own a Nikon (or two!). Nikon's color gamut is also impressive, and this camera never lets me down in that department ... my images are always packed with eye-popping color. It's a thumbs-up from me for the mightly little D-90.

Emjaynie
York, Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 4744 total reviews
1-20 of 4744 reviews