Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 4734 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

4734 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

4734 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
3623
4 stars
851
3 stars
128
2 stars
68
1 stars
64
1-20 of 4720 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 4720 total reviews
1-20 of 4720 reviews
Nikon D90
9/10/2009

Customer review by jimoregon

5.0 stars 9/10/2009 by jimoregon
by jimoregon

I am a convert from the D50. This camera is superior in too many ways to list. If you have read a review on the D90 you can trust when it says it is a great Mid DSLR. Big screen, easy menus, clear pictures! Walmart had the lowest price of trustable on line sources. No shipping charge and camera arrived a day earlier than the projected date.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jimoregon
Gresham, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Camera
12/24/2009

Customer review by Alloway

5.0 stars 12/24/2009 by Alloway
by Alloway

What a terrific camera. It has far more capabilities than I have, but I hope to keep learning new ways to use it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Alloway
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great camera!
2/5/2011

Customer review by sctraveler

5.0 stars 2/5/2011 by sctraveler
by sctraveler

I updated my Nikon D80 to the D90 because I really wanted to be able to take video in addition to still photos. I then took my new camera on two trips that really tested its capabilities. It performed wonderfully. I found that I was able to take photos using a fast shutter speed while driving along the road and was surprised to see no blur. I was able to take video also and although it is not the quality of a video hd camcorder, it gives me clips that I can include in a movie that I put together using both stills and videos. Below is a video clip taken with the D90. I am really happy with this camera!

sctraveler
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Quality and Dependability
4/14/2011

Customer review by NikFan

5.0 stars 4/14/2011 by NikFan
by NikFan

I recently decided to go digital and hung up my trusty F2A. The D-90 was an obvious choice and has given me high quality and dependability for a modest price. On a recent trip to SE Asia, I shot over 5K pictures. The D-90 never faltered in yielding great results in challenging conditions. The large LED display was a significant asset in the tropics - crisp, clear images and easy to access controls. I'd choose the D-90 again in a heartbeat.

NikFan
Kansas City
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Value, Excellent System
2/6/2011

Customer review by WOJack

5.0 stars 2/6/2011 by WOJack
by WOJack

This is an amazing camera. It opens a whole new level for photographic exploration for the advanced amateur or young professional. The camera has opened up many new horizons for me to explore and is not difficult to learn. I would recommend this camera to anyone who is interested in serious quality photography. It is a great entry camera for the budding professional.

WOJack
Orlando, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good mid-range camera
4/18/2011

Customer review by Wandy

4.0 stars 4/18/2011 by Wandy
by Wandy

I have this camera for about two years now, and so far it gets the job done. Pros: One of the things I like most about this camera is the image quality when shooting in low light. It also produces accurate colors. It is very easy to navigate the sub-menu. Cons: The rubber on the outside of the camera's buddy is peeling off..

Wandy
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Eternal companion
2/5/2011

Customer review by Nikonco

5.0 stars 2/5/2011 by Nikonco
by Nikonco

Since I received my NikonD-90 as a present from my wife, its been my companion everywhere I go. This beauty has traveled from New York , the Caribbean to China.

Nikonco
Caguas, Puerto Rico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Overall Excellent Camera
2/4/2011

Customer review by starlightshine

4.0 stars 2/4/2011 by starlightshine
by starlightshine

I love my D90 and enjoy the quality photos that result. I carry it in my purse wherever I go. The ease to which you can start a video is wonderful.

starlightshine
North Vancouver, B.C., Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
EXCELLENT PRODUCT
4/18/2011

Customer review by PHOTO MEISTER

5.0 stars 4/18/2011 by PHOTO MEISTER
by PHOTO MEISTER

BECAUSE I AM A NOVICE AND DON'T USE THE CAMERA THAT OFTEN, I FORGET HOW TO USE ALL THE BELLS AND WHISTLES

PHOTO MEISTER
LAUGHLIN, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
D90 - The Right One!
8/9/2009

Customer review by NewsHounder

5.0 stars 8/9/2009 by NewsHounder
by NewsHounder

I've had quite a few cameras over the last 15 years, including some film cameras, but many digital cameras. I really think Nikon has hit a homerun with this camera. The photos are fantastic, silky smooth colors, but nice and vivid that really pop out at you. But, this camera can adapt to your style of shooting and what you like to see in your photos. The menu is very configurable, it handles great and feels good in your hands, the lcd screen is just fantastic and all the controls you need when shooting are easily accessed on the outside of the body for easy manipulation while you are shooting. There's no need to fiddle around in the menu. And, if you are into video, this camera does video and while it lacks any type of manual control over the video control, I find it is very adequate and I've shot some amazing videos that have great DOF. It doesn't really take long to conclude that the Nikon D90, with the sum off all it's parts, makes for one very nice camera. I'm very satisfied with my purchase and this is by far the best camera I've ever had. I'm a very happy Customer and as always, Walmart had one of the best prices on it as well.

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NewsHounder
Huntington, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Fabulous Photos
12/20/2009

Customer review by CheapPhoto

5.0 stars 12/20/2009 by CheapPhoto
by CheapPhoto

This camera has everything you want, from serious amateur to semi-pro photographer. The built-in AF motor (major difference between this and D5000) allows you to use any Nikon lens made since the 1950's.... As a result, you can find excellent used autofocus lenses that are as good, and in many cases better than, those currently manufactured. Wife uses the full 'auto' setting which makes it a fancy 'point and shoot' to get great photos without any futzing with a setting. Any advanced amateur will find plenty to learn with this camera, and I know of many pro's who prefer to shoot the D90 over their D300's for it's ease of use. Live view and info, as well as programmable buttons make this the most versatile Nikon body to date. The only drawback is it's weight, but the D5000 is just too small to fit comfortably in my hands, so I'm happily willing to lug an extra few ounces for the superior build quality, versatility and feel. Using this for over a month now, I cant praise it enough. Buy it. You will be tickled pink, and guarantee it won't disappoint or let you down in any way!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CheapPhoto
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent traveler
10/22/2011

Customer review by coastphoto

5.0 stars 10/22/2011 by coastphoto
by coastphoto

I've owned this camera for over 3 years now, and been on 3 major trips with it, and can't say enough how much this camera rocks. After 3 years of being thrown in a backpack during travel, abuse in cars/planes ect, this thing still shoots the amazing pictures it shot when I bought it. Bought it right when it came out on a whim, because I wanted to be able to shoot some video as well (I mainly shoot landscapes and surf photography, so the ability to get some surfing footage through a Nikkor lens sounded great). I don't use the video much, but works great. What I love most about this camera is it's ease of use. I rarely shoot on auto anymore, and the camera's functions are easy to use and change without taking too much time or effort going through multiple menu screens. Two scroll through wheels make adjusting aperture and shutter speed a breeze. Again, can't say enough about the build on this camera, great for a serious hobbyist, traveler, or a pro needing a lighter weight second body.

coastphoto
Gleneden Beach, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worth It's Weight in Gold
7/20/2010

Customer review by Emjaynie

5.0 stars 7/20/2010 by Emjaynie
by Emjaynie

I bought this camera the day before i went to Morocco in 2008 and the very first day i was there, in Casablanca, at the gigantic new King Hassan II Mosque, on a bright sunny day, i captured an image that made me say to myself "this camera just paid for itself!". Picture this: White tiled 300' high minaret gleaming in the sunlight, framed by the ceiling of a beige and brown tiled portico in the shade ... extreme shadows and highlights. The exposure on each was spot-on when i reviewed the image two seconds later and i could hardly believe my eyes! The automatic D-lighting feature is so fantastic on this camera that i've rarely had to manually set it myself. I shoot sports with another major brand, but have trouble with my highlights and shadows, hence why i also own a Nikon (or two!). Nikon's color gamut is also impressive, and this camera never lets me down in that department ... my images are always packed with eye-popping color. It's a thumbs-up from me for the mightly little D-90.

Emjaynie
York, Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
D90 has awesome and easy features to use
7/21/2010

Customer review by Nature Photographer

5.0 stars 7/21/2010 by Nature Photographer
by Nature Photographer

I did alot of research before I picked the D90 to be My first DSLR.I am a ametuer photograper but I like good equipment. With out a doubt this prouuct has passed my expectations.All controls are in easy to use locations and have operated without a hitch.There are still features that I have not used so I won't comment on them but the auto,P,A,S modes have worked fine, menus are user freindly,playback and deleting files are a cinch. The only negative comment I have is that on several occasionsI have gotten an error message in the control panel that no lens is attached or a non compatible lens is attached. This usually happens when I turn the camera on but corrected when I turn it off and then back on When this error occurs the camera will not operate.Maybe it was operater error but in any case it has not happened recently Having said that, this is still one awesome camera that can take better pictures on It's own than I can take...It's worth every penny you will pay for and then some

Nature Photographer
Oxford ,New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent from start to finish
4/14/2011

Customer review by bernieh

5.0 stars 4/14/2011 by bernieh
by bernieh

I have owned the D90 for several years, having owned earlier Nikon SLRs. The D90 performs flawlessly under all conditions. I have used it for portraits, landscapes, and sports, and I hang my best pictures throughout the apartment, printed as large as 19x26 inches. (I seldom take video despite the camera’s capability to do so.) A month ago, we travelled to the Galapagos; at the end of the voyage the ship’s staff showed pictures taken during the trip. My fellow travelers, numbering around 90, were amazed. I had clear pictures of perching and flying birds, close-ups of sally lightfoot crabs and of plant life growing from the lava, detailed pictures of iguanas, penguins and other sea life, and even a nice movie segment of a slow-walking tortoise. I confess that the camera is somewhat heavy since I always use a Nikkor 18-200 mm lens, but I appreciate the flexibility that this lens provides and the fact that I don’t need to carry 2 lenses. I recommend this camera for any serious amateur.

bernieh
Key Biscayne, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
More control in video.
7/20/2010

Customer review by Mic413

4.0 stars 7/20/2010 by Mic413
by Mic413

Well I want to start out by saying I love my camera, and what it does for me, even the D90 at a lower professional camera it has wonderful results. As a Nikon fan this is the best camera I have owned yet. I have had a D40 and D80. I shoot alot of BMX and Skateboarding shots. So when I read about the D90 and the HD video I had to have it. But in all honesty I was disappointed in the result. I was really hoping to have more control in video than we have. Shooting video at night can be a chore with the camera picking iso, shutter ETC. If Nikon could only come out with a firmware update to give us more control. My only other qualm with the camera is flash sync, but like any quality camera with a nonelectric shutter this can be an issue at times. I would defiantly recommend this camera to anyone looking to shoot really amazing pictures. I only with the video was a touch better. When I go on trip with my BMX team it would be so amazing to have a camera and video camera all in one.

Mic413
Lanesboro, ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Heavy. some features do not and have never worked
2/6/2011

Customer review by glinda

2.0 stars 2/6/2011 by glinda
by glinda

My husband loves me and I loved photography. So he gave me a brand new D90 but I have almost lost all desire to take photos now with it. It is heavy. The shutter button sometimes doesn't work. I have never been able to get the Movie feature to work. It is far too complicated and the instructions are convoluted. I have Photoshop and studies in Photography, Multi-media Computer imaging and Art. Do not need all the "photo-option" gizmos on this camera when I do Photoshop. The whole screen thing is way too complicated and many features are just a waste of space and energy. This camera makes me sad. We live hours away from where he bought it and have not been able to ever return it. Called one month after my warranty expired and help was not helpful. I am a die hard Nikon person. I feel really sad that this happened when my husband was trying to show his love for me but it basically has destroyed my love of Photography. I have won awards for paintings, art, etc.... and am pretty depressed about it.

glinda
Little Falls, MN.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Inconsistent
4/14/2011

Customer review by Mr PixelNoob

2.0 stars 4/14/2011 by Mr PixelNoob
by Mr PixelNoob

I use my D90 primarily for travel and family pictures. Key challenges for the device are its low-light performance, as I need to capture my daughter on stage and my son at indoor sports without the use of a flash. It is just below acceptable here. It also has frequent shutter lag, from button press to shot, which impacts my ability to get my kids expressions. It has also had to be returned for warranty work, due to electronics problems. Pros: + good color depth and clarity in RAW mode. + great rear screen for reviewing shots + very good clarity from Nikon 50mm f1.8 lens + Drives my old Nikon 70-300mm well + strong flash + good sustained burst performance Cons: - electronic gremlins from day 1 (ERR codes, etc.) - required repairs, took a while - kit lens not very sharp - sometimes it won't let me shoot when I know I can get a low-light shot. - video tricky to focus on moving objects (and why video a stationary object?) - spot focus sometimes doesn't lock on to correct distance

Mr PixelNoob
Chalfont, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Wow... what a camera
1/13/2012

Customer review by AmateurPhotoGuy

5.0 stars 1/13/2012 by AmateurPhotoGuy
by AmateurPhotoGuy

I would characterize myself as an "moderate to advanced amateur" photographer. I use this D90 for action shots during kids' sporting activities (mainly competitive swimming), vacations, etc.. I compared this to other Nikon and Canon products on the advice of a few semi-pro photographers. I have had it for several months and have been thrilled. It can do way more than I'm able to devote time to learning about, but I have worked some with tweaking settings to maximize action capture in situations of bright sun a a lot of potential white-wash from water. It does an AMAZING job... individual droplets of water are frozen in time, with nice depth of field and color definition. Indoors, the built-in flash is nice for typical "family shots" and can reach out fairly well even for distances that I wouldn't expect (ex. school concerts). Compared to comparable Canon products, Nikon excels at light metering both outdoors and in. Highly recommend this camera to serious amateurs and above.

AmateurPhotoGuy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great camera
7/21/2010

Customer review by Pejai

4.0 stars 7/21/2010 by Pejai
by Pejai

My nikon experience started with the N80, then the D50 and last year I struggled deciding between the D90 and the D300. I choose the D90 because it was newer at the time and picture quality and performance was very close. The D300s dropped soon after but after using the D90 for a year I can say that I am not unhappy with my choice, in fact I am very happy. Once I master this camera my next level has to be the D700 or D3s. The D90 along with the SB900 and 600's I purchased with the camera is a very capable system that has allow me to capture alot of images the way I envision them. I'm a graphic designer that transitioned to photography. I find myself marrrying the two disceplines with the D90 delivering images that has allowed me to compete with a lot of local established photograghers. The camera's low light/high ISO capabilities is what excited me, along with a large menu set gives me great comfidence that this will be a very good back up body when I step up to pro models.

Pejai
Saginaw, Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 4720 total reviews
1-20 of 4720 reviews