Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 4732 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

4732 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

4732 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
3621
4 stars
851
3 stars
128
2 stars
68
1 stars
64
1-20 of 4718 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 4718 total reviews
1-20 of 4718 reviews
D90 - The Right One!
8/9/2009

Customer review by NewsHounder

5.0 stars 8/9/2009 by NewsHounder
by NewsHounder

I've had quite a few cameras over the last 15 years, including some film cameras, but many digital cameras. I really think Nikon has hit a homerun with this camera. The photos are fantastic, silky smooth colors, but nice and vivid that really pop out at you. But, this camera can adapt to your style of shooting and what you like to see in your photos. The menu is very configurable, it handles great and feels good in your hands, the lcd screen is just fantastic and all the controls you need when shooting are easily accessed on the outside of the body for easy manipulation while you are shooting. There's no need to fiddle around in the menu. And, if you are into video, this camera does video and while it lacks any type of manual control over the video control, I find it is very adequate and I've shot some amazing videos that have great DOF. It doesn't really take long to conclude that the Nikon D90, with the sum off all it's parts, makes for one very nice camera. I'm very satisfied with my purchase and this is by far the best camera I've ever had. I'm a very happy Customer and as always, Walmart had one of the best prices on it as well.

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NewsHounder
Huntington, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great camera
7/10/2009

Customer review by jwraleigh

5.0 stars 7/10/2009 by jwraleigh
by jwraleigh

Walmart beat all major retailers by $100 on price and still get USA Nikon w/full warranty! Ordered w/overnight delivery and delivered without a hitch. The packaging of the shipment was very poor. When delivered, the outer box had caved in due to lack of packing material. Contents were fine. Love this camera. Compared to the D5000, I am very pleased with my choice. D5000 has a neat swivel screen. However, with the included screen protector, I don't have to constantly flip it around. Stays protected always. That's without mentioning that the D90 LCD has much higher resolution. Movie capabilities are okay. 24fps looks a little choppy even compared to my Canon SD450.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jwraleigh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nikon D90
9/10/2009

Customer review by jimoregon

5.0 stars 9/10/2009 by jimoregon
by jimoregon

I am a convert from the D50. This camera is superior in too many ways to list. If you have read a review on the D90 you can trust when it says it is a great Mid DSLR. Big screen, easy menus, clear pictures! Walmart had the lowest price of trustable on line sources. No shipping charge and camera arrived a day earlier than the projected date.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jimoregon
Gresham, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Fabulous Photos
12/20/2009

Customer review by CheapPhoto

5.0 stars 12/20/2009 by CheapPhoto
by CheapPhoto

This camera has everything you want, from serious amateur to semi-pro photographer. The built-in AF motor (major difference between this and D5000) allows you to use any Nikon lens made since the 1950's.... As a result, you can find excellent used autofocus lenses that are as good, and in many cases better than, those currently manufactured. Wife uses the full 'auto' setting which makes it a fancy 'point and shoot' to get great photos without any futzing with a setting. Any advanced amateur will find plenty to learn with this camera, and I know of many pro's who prefer to shoot the D90 over their D300's for it's ease of use. Live view and info, as well as programmable buttons make this the most versatile Nikon body to date. The only drawback is it's weight, but the D5000 is just too small to fit comfortably in my hands, so I'm happily willing to lug an extra few ounces for the superior build quality, versatility and feel. Using this for over a month now, I cant praise it enough. Buy it. You will be tickled pink, and guarantee it won't disappoint or let you down in any way!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CheapPhoto
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Top camera for advanced amateurs
5/20/2010

Customer review by TheKnightWhoSaysNi

5.0 stars 5/20/2010 by TheKnightWhoSaysNi
by TheKnightWhoSaysNi

The Nikon D90 is (as of 5/20/2010) the best camera for advanced amateurs. It has excellent image quality with outstanding low-light performance (the holy grail of digital photography). The controls are logical and easy to use. All the important settings have buttons and dials, no need to scroll through clumsy menus to set your camera. The body is light yet sturdy and it has a built-in focusing motor so it can use older AF lenses (the lower priced model's can't do that). The battery will give you more than 400 photos on a single charge (That's as far as I've tried). This camera also takes 720p HD video, which is nice, but not the main purpose of this camera.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheKnightWhoSaysNi
Weston, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great SLR
10/12/2009

Customer review by jandlyss

5.0 stars 10/12/2009 by jandlyss
by jandlyss

I have had the Nikon D90 for about a month and I love it! This is my first DLR, I bought the camera because I am taking photography classes. I received the camera before the classes started and it is so easy to use I was able to use ot right out of the box. However, to really understand the camera and all of its potential I would reccomened some type of photography lessons.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jandlyss
ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
NIKON D90
3/5/2010

Customer review by POPS15

5.0 stars 3/5/2010 by POPS15
by POPS15

THIS IS AN EXCELLENT PRODUCT, BUT VERY SOPHISTICATED. HOWEVER, BY JUST USING THE PRESET MODES YOU CAN GET OUTSTANDING RESULTS. SPORTS MODE IS GREAT. INVEST IN A GOOD LENS TO GET THE MAXIMUM QUALITY OUT OF THE CAMERA. I ALSO GOT A PHOTO BOOK SPECIFIC TO THE D90 TO HELP WITH THE SETTINGS AND HOW TO BEST USE THEM. THERE ARE MANY BOOKS AVAILABLE.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
POPS15
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
AWESOME!!!
3/3/2010

Customer review by LoveCancun

5.0 stars 3/3/2010 by LoveCancun
by LoveCancun

I couldn't decide between a D300s or this one. I'm glad I decided on this one becuase it ROCKS! And, for the price I was going to spend on a D300s, I was able to get this, PLUS a couple lenses and a flash unit! And the photo quality is unbelievable! I love it, love it, love it!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LoveCancun
Bonney Lake, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Great Camera
12/29/2009

Customer review by paok4

5.0 stars 12/29/2009 by paok4
by paok4

This is a great camera. I went from a point and shot to this and REALLY love the pictures. I also got the 35mm f1.8 and I m enjoying the experience... Lots to learn of course being my first real camera. Walmart had the best price and was able to add the bing cashback for even more savings! Great Buy!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
paok4
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent product, slopping shipping
6/7/2010

Customer review by FamilyLovesPhotography

5.0 stars 6/7/2010 by FamilyLovesPhotography
by FamilyLovesPhotography

We purchased this camera for our daughter when she outgrew her D60. It was the next logical step and she loves it. Great value compared to the D300. However, the product comes in a box about 9" square. It was shipped in a large book box about 18" x 12" x 12" WITH NO PACKING MATERIAL placed around it. Unbelievable that it made it here without being smashed. If you order this, be sure to request adequate packing material around the product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FamilyLovesPhotography
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Good Good
3/24/2010

Customer review by Jolay

5.0 stars 3/24/2010 by Jolay
by Jolay

Good price, good quality, fast

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jolay
Wilsonville, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nikon D90
5/3/2010

Customer review by rayb403

5.0 stars 5/3/2010 by rayb403
by rayb403

Great camera, does all that I expected. My only complaint is regarding the very poor packaging of an expensive camera. The camera box was thrown into a much larger box with a very small piece of packaging paper, which did nothing to prevent the boxed camera from bouncing around inside the large shipping box. Luckily it arrived intact.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rayb403
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
things happen
5/9/2010

Customer review by mywifehelper1

5.0 stars 5/9/2010 by mywifehelper1
by mywifehelper1

i purchased the d-90 on line from wallmart, my wife is a profesional photographer and really likes the d-90. however right out of the box it had a hot pixel and the paper work was out dated. we sent the camera to California Precision in sacramento for warrianty, yes the do great work that is why we didnt send it back to nikon. the d-90 is a great camera and we would buy another one. we still arent sure why the paper work was so old when we got the camera.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mywifehelper1
california
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I had to upgrade...
12/18/2009

Customer review by Stubbycat12

5.0 stars 12/18/2009 by Stubbycat12
by Stubbycat12

I have a N90s and the D90 will use the same lenses. The D5000 will not work with my old lenses. Too bad the SB-28 flash would not work, the SB-900 seems rather costly. I have found iPhotos works better then the included Nikon software.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stubbycat12
St Paul, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Fabulous Buy
1/3/2011

Customer review by BritNYC

5.0 stars 1/3/2011 by BritNYC
by BritNYC

I just bought this camera as my holiday gift after doing much research. I found the Nikon D90 to be especially good in low-light, and with the 18-200mm lens - it's the perfect camera for all-around use. Recently I took a photo of the full moon at full 200mm zoom in the middle of the night, and the quality was truly telescopic. I believe there is no better all around digital SLR for the price than this Nikon D90 with the 18-200mm lens - and Walmart had the best price for this combination. It shoots excellent quality low-light indoor action shots, outdoor night scenes, as well as beautiful outdoor day shots. I'm still playing around with the various settings, and hope to continue to be pleasantly surprised at the image quality. The video works well - although not what I would deem as it's primary use case. If shooting family, friends, children playing sports, or going on a photo Safari - it's the best one size fits all choice.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BritNYC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A great camera
12/23/2009

Customer review by drwilliams39

5.0 stars 12/23/2009 by drwilliams39
by drwilliams39

I bought this camera for myself for Christmas and I've been very impressed. I upgraded from a D50, and really did a lot of research before purchasing the d90. I considered strongly the D40, D3000 and D5000, but when the smoke cleared the D90 was the way to go. Deciding factors included lens compatibility and the cameras ability to act as a flash commander. Still trying to figure out everything on the camera, but so far it's great.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
drwilliams39
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Camera
12/24/2009

Customer review by Alloway

5.0 stars 12/24/2009 by Alloway
by Alloway

What a terrific camera. It has far more capabilities than I have, but I hope to keep learning new ways to use it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Alloway
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
LOVE THIS CAMERA!
11/2/2010

Customer review by rottie34

5.0 stars 11/2/2010 by rottie34
by rottie34

This is by far the best camera I have EVER owned...I also purchased the 55-200 mm VR Nikkor lens and the pictures are unreal...My whole family brags on these pics and everyone wants a camera like this! Its pricey but worth EVERY penny...LOVE IT!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rottie34
Eastern, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1/6/2011

Customer review by Simpfoto

5.0 stars 1/6/2011 by Simpfoto
by Simpfoto

Very good camera. With every bell and whistle that even a pro photographer needs.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Simpfoto
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it
7/23/2010

Customer review by akdouglas

5.0 stars 7/23/2010 by akdouglas
by akdouglas

I love this camera and am having a great time becoming familiar with it. If you're used to packing around an SLR this one feels much like what you're used to, and takes amazing, amazing photos which of course is why you want it...

akdouglas
Portland, Ore
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 4718 total reviews
1-20 of 4718 reviews