Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 48 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

48 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

48 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

98%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
30
4 stars
16
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
0
1-20 of 43 total reviews
98%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 43 total reviews
1-20 of 43 reviews
Fun Bike for the price!
8/4/2009

Customer review by vonrassilon

5.0 stars 8/4/2009 by vonrassilon
by vonrassilon
Walmart associate

The Delmar Cruiser is a wonderful bike. The large tires and springs under the seat absorb alot of the bumps on the road. I have used mine to commute to work and ride 10 miles on a local bicycle trail. Not a problem with this bike at all. It's not as fast but its about the ride not the speed. Other riders with racing bikes and tandom bikes complain of a bumpy road, this bike rode smoothly all the way. Being a single speed it is a bit hard riding up inclines, but this will help you build up muscle tone. I am looking for a 5 speed internal hub to add to mine. Otherwise I am really pleased with my bike. This bike will support up to 330 lbs as that is what I weigh though I lost 20 lbs already from using this bike. If you want a good sturdy easy riding bike, I really recommend the Shwinn Delmar Crusier.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vonrassilon
Skiatook, Ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
3/8/2009

Customer review by cspaur13

4.0 stars 3/8/2009 by cspaur13
by cspaur13

the bike was very comfertable and a smooth ride and it also has a great look for the price. i do not reccoomend putting a 80cc 2 stroke moter in the frame like i did. i can reach 45-50 mph on it. i bent the rim and broke 9 spokes. but otherwise its held up.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cspaur13
titusville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
simple but solid bike, great value!
9/24/2009

Customer review by darwinmichael

4.0 stars 9/24/2009 by darwinmichael
by darwinmichael

This bicycle arrived in fine condition, just required some assembly, as expected. All parts were in good condition; the only exception was that 2 small machine screws for holding on the front fender were missing. I spent the 92 cents at Lowes rather than waste time complaining to Walmart. The coaster brakes take getting used to after decades of me riding bikes with hand brakes, but they seem to be adjusted just right. The single speed gearing is perfect for me, the seat is comfortable, the handlebar position very nice, and the bike rides perfectly smoothly and with good stability. the upright seating position allows me to see over much of traffic, giving excellent visibility. I could not have expected anything more for this price. I have spent a little to add a front basket and bell and am looking for a mechanical headlight (powered by the spinning front wheel rather than by batteries) but I haven't yet found any. Otherwise, this bike is everything I wanted. I'm a happy customer.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
darwinmichael
New Orleans, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Amazing bike!
2/26/2009

Customer review by MrComfort

4.0 stars 2/26/2009 by MrComfort
by MrComfort

I'm recovering from massive back surgery, and I needed a bike to help me rehab. I shopped around for a long time, but ultimately nothing came close to the "bang for the buck" that I found at Walmart. Since I don't have much strength, and I couldn't bend forward, I was looking for a very specific type of bike. I needed a comfort/cruiser bike, one that would pedal easily and the handle bars and seat would work so that I could ride the bike sitting straight up, and one that would pedal easily. Let me tell you that this bike achieves on all levels! I'm so glad I went with this bike! I got it at my local walmart, so sorry but I can't comment on shipping or assembly. I rode the bike home, which is a long ride, but it felt great. It gets a little tough to pedal along rougher surfaces, or uphill, as it only has one gear, but it's not really an issue, even for a person with very limited strength such as myself. It is easy to pedal and cruises along nice and smooth! I love the style, and in the two weeks I've had this bike I've gotten lots of compliments on it. This is one of the best bikes I've ever had! The rack on the back is very handy, I purchased a big basket for the back and I use it for small trips to the store, and to put any back pack or items I'll need for any trip, anywhere! To be fair, there is one negative thing about this bike. When I turn to look behind me, since I can't turn my neck all the way to just turn my head to see behind me, I have to turn my body to look behind me. Whenever I do this, the bike seat turns when I turn. I've tightened this up many times, and still the seat turns. I either have to turn the seat back straight while I ride, or get off to turn it straight again. For me, this is merely a minor annoyance and I love this bike. But buyer beware, there is a problem, however big that may be for you. I highly recommend this bike!

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrComfort
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Another happy 2 stroke project!
4/13/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/13/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Like the young man below I bought this as a 2 stroke project. The shipping was very fast however, the rear rack was bent in shipment. I fixed this myself. Also, there was a lot of grease smeared all over from the chain rubbing on various components. This too, I fixed. Walmart should look into better packing for this problem. Overall, this is an excellent value and I am pleased! P. S. This is a great 2 stroke project! Todd

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Lyons, colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A nice bike for the money
6/6/2009

Customer review by BikerDad57

4.0 stars 6/6/2009 by BikerDad57
by BikerDad57

This is a good value for a retro style cruiser. It rides and handles very well. The gearing is right on for a single speed bike. The major comonents like frame, pedals, handlebars, and wheels are of good quality. The fenders and rear rack are very light weight and a little fragile. The one negative I have is the coaster brake is not real strong. It works but is not capable of a crisp instant stop. Maybe I need to have it adjusted. All in all it is a great value and met my expectations.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BikerDad57
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Classic Cruiser at a Great Price
6/1/2009

Customer review by Geeeyejo

5.0 stars 6/1/2009 by Geeeyejo
by Geeeyejo

I was in the market to purchase a cruiser type bicycle for my wife and I after purchasing one for my son recently. My son's bike was purchased at Toys R Us - a "no-name brand" (Avigo from China) but actually a really great, alloy frame bike for about $120. I really liked the vintage Schwinn, Huffy and other cruisers from the 50's/60's, scoured some yard sales, Ebay and old bike shops but could not believe the prices that even poor condition, classic cruisers commanded! I saw the "La Jolla" (another "no-name" alloy framed cruiser) that looked real nice on the Walmart website for only $98! So off to Walmart we went! This Walmart featured all of it's bicycles assembled on racks at no extra charge - didn't check to see if they had additional stock unassembled - didn't really matter to me as I figured I could get both bikes home in the car in boxes or out. I searched for the La Jolla and found it - very nice bike for the money - comparable to my son's that I paid significantly more for at Toys R Us. I then spotted this beautiful, retro-looking, gun metal grey Schwinn, white wall tires, rear rack, single speed, coaster brake cruiser - didn't see this on the web, really exactly what I have been looking for! I checked the price and was shocked that this beauty was only $114! Not an alloy frame, but a really beautiful bike for the price! They also had the Ladies version, in purple for the same price. A few dollars more than the La Jolla (still made in China though - but isn't most everything these days?) but it's a Schwinn! We bought both - his and hers Schwinns! A few comments: My bike had a quarter sized dent in the back of the front fender - I took off the wheel and tapped it out with the back of a screwdriver handle - hardly noticeable now. During my first brief ride, I experienced some noise while coasting or pedaling from the back wheel area. I adjusted the back fender as it was rubbing the tire a bit (just bent it to the other side) and the chain guard was rubbing against the chain a bit (also just bent it) No more noise! No issues with the wife's bike. I found the seat on mine quite comfortable - my wife however opted to purchase a Schwinn "comfort" seat that has no front section (ie just a rectangular shaped seat) - she finds it more comfortable. We took our first real ride to a neighboring town this past Saturday- about 5 miles round trip. Perfect bike, very smooth and comfortable. My wife had a little trouble with a few hills (walked the bike to the top) as she is not used to riding a single speed cruiser and has not ridden at all for several years - aside from that, no problems! If you are considering the purchase of a used "classic" bicycle or just looking for a great, reliable, sturdy bike - the Delmar is what you have been looking for!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Geeeyejo
Old Bridge, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very Happy with Delmar Cruiser
7/15/2009

Customer review by WaynesWrld

5.0 stars 7/15/2009 by WaynesWrld
by WaynesWrld

I bought my Schwinn Delmar Cruiser today and I am very pleased with this product. I am 50 years young, and a student at Cal State Fullerton University. And this bicycle is going to be my transportation to school (CSUF is is process of building parking structures and parking is terrible) 4 days a week. I think this Schwinn will be a wonderful addition to helping me get back into shape - I have blossomed to 285 pound in weight since returning to school - a 100 pound weight gain. My first ride with my new Schwinn was to ride the half mile to CSUF campus, plus cruise the campus grounds. The cruiser was terrific fun for someone who hasn't been on a bicycle for over 25 years, but more importantly, this Schwinn gave me some nice exercise that I truly need. I have a bad lower back and it was not an issue while riding this bike, in fact, being out of shape I found myself very please that I was able to go so far on my first ride out, and this Schwinn didn't labor with my excess weight. This Schwinn is a terrific looking cruiser at a very reasonable price. You cant' go wrong with Schwinn's Delmar Cruiser.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WaynesWrld
Fullerton, CA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great value!
7/31/2009

Customer review by Mongo8

5.0 stars 7/31/2009 by Mongo8
by Mongo8

I am very satisfied with this bike, especially at the price. I ordered it online and when I opened the box the fender and rack were damaged. I called the number in the manual, and with no hassle, they shipped the parts to me right away. The bike was easy to assemble, and is comfortable to ride. Thumbs up to Walmart for a satisfying buying experience!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mongo8
Greenleaf, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
No other like it
7/30/2009

Customer review by elcoki

5.0 stars 7/30/2009 by elcoki
by elcoki

This is the best bike I ever had since the 50s. It handles superbly, its easy to ride, its strong, well balanced, its pretty, simple to operate, well built, well priced for its quality. I recommend it for any one that desires to exercise in a simple and effective manner. You dont have to worry about gears or braking because the coaster brake and the single speed is a joy to ride and have fun. Excellent product which I recommend for its therapeutic and economic value.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
elcoki
New Braunfels,TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A solid bargain
7/7/2009

Customer review by Jerseyfarmer

5.0 stars 7/7/2009 by Jerseyfarmer
by Jerseyfarmer

First off, I purchased this bike exclusively to mount a two stroke bicycle motor. It appeared to have the look and size I needed, and the price was definitely attractive. I ordered it through site to store, and saved about $18. Assembly was easy for anyone with minimal mechanical skills. It has been reliable and rugged enough to haul my large self (240 lbs) up and down the hills and roads where I live. If you intend to mount a motor on this bike, or any other, I recommend using red loc-tite on every fastener on the bike, since the vibration will soon have you searching the roadway for missing nuts and bolts. It isn't perfect, but for the price, I can't really complain about anything on this machine.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jerseyfarmer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Value for the money
7/23/2009

Customer review by 2Fast4You

3.0 stars 7/23/2009 by 2Fast4You
by 2Fast4You

It's a good bike for the money. If you want a quality bike, you need to spend at least $350 to $400. If you buy one of these, or any department store bike, the first thing you should do is take it apart to grease and adjust all bearings. All the bearings on the bike I received were way to tight, putting them in a bind. The bearings are also very cheap. As mentioned in previous reviews made by others, the brakes are not that good. Seat is very comfortable. Again, this is a good bike for the money. If you plan on doing any serious riding, spend the extra money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2Fast4You
Newton, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Heart health helper
3/24/2009

Customer review by Agedone

5.0 stars 3/24/2009 by Agedone
by Agedone

This is a fine product. It is built just like I would expect a Schwinn to be. I would have liked more clear assembly instructions. I also would have preferred a more comfortable seat. I had a problem with the bolt that locks the handlebars not being tapped deep enough to tighten on the handlebars. I wound up grinding an eight of an inch off the end of the bolt to get it to lock tight on the handlebar. It is too early to asess the durability but I believe it will last well. I know it is helping me with healthy blood flow.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Agedone
Gonzales Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sick Ride
8/25/2009

Customer review by SoulYoung

5.0 stars 8/25/2009 by SoulYoung
by SoulYoung

This bike is pretty sweet for the price. It rides exceptionally well and I was expecting parts to be missing but fortunately that was not the case. The front fender did have a huge dent on it and I couldn't really tell if it was supposed to be there so I just removed the dent by hand power. Regardless, the bike looks awesome and perhaps a bit too awesome for a college where bike theft is prevalent. Be prepared to invest in a good u-lock once you get this baby because you might fall in love with it like I did.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SoulYoung
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Bike Ride...
5/12/2009

Customer review by PedalsNWV

5.0 stars 5/12/2009 by PedalsNWV
by PedalsNWV

Great looking bike--love the charcoal/black color. Nice ride and good value for the price. We priced similar Schwinn bikes for twice the price! Site to store took WAY longer than we thought. Also, the bike arrived damaged. Of course, WalMart made the deal right and we took the damaged one in and pushed the same bike out the door the same day. Great exercise and some good cardio too. We purchased two bikes to ride together. We are happy with our purchases.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PedalsNWV
WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
5/29/2009

Customer review by GravelGuard

5.0 stars 5/29/2009 by GravelGuard
by GravelGuard

Love the bike, great zero-impact exercise, many of our nieghbors are now looking into buying the same bikes for themselves. It took three attempts to adjust the seat in order to afford myself full extension of my legs on the downward pedal stroke but now that I've got that done it's great! I would recommend this bike to anyone in need of exercise to help their blood pressure, breathing and to increase general flexability. Try it, You'll like it !!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GravelGuard
Cedar Creek, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
My son loves it
12/28/2009

Customer review by chachachita

4.0 stars 12/28/2009 by chachachita
by chachachita

We recently purchased this bike for a Christmas present. My husband put the bike together and said that the correct instruction manual was not included-only manuals for other bikes. Also it was missing 3 screws for the fenders and reflector. Other than that the bike is nice and my son really likes it. I would recommend having it assembled upon pickup to avoid this problem. I was not given the option to have it assembled when I bought it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chachachita
Houston,Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great bike for the money.
4/25/2009

Customer review by ASB47

5.0 stars 4/25/2009 by ASB47
by ASB47

I had my bike delivered to my home. It arrived with both fenders dented. I assembled the bike with the aid of the owner's manual. Fortunately, there was a color photo of the assembled bike on the shipping carton. The owner's manual needs to be revised. A scew and a nut were missing. I had to make several attempts to get the handle bars secured in place. The bike is fun to ride and doesn't require much effort to get it moving.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ASB47
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great cruiser
5/13/2009

Customer review by snokoan

4.0 stars 5/13/2009 by snokoan
by snokoan

I bought this cruiser for my boyfriend and he really likes it. Only problem is you have to really, really tighten the screws/nuts on the seat. During our bike ride his seat went all the way down and we didn't have pocket tools to fix it right there and then. Not bad. He enjoyed the bike ride so far. Also, the color appears all black on the site but the frame is a really dark gun metal gray.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
snokoan
Mid-Atlantic
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
NICE
5/18/2009

Customer review by yerrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

4.0 stars 5/18/2009 by yerrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr
by yerrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

good bike for the money...live in a beach town and ride cruisers all the time. needed a bike because mine got stolen. assembly was a little annoying but. not biggy. haven't had time to ride it much because of the weather. but i like it so far. only problem was when i assembled it the chain was hitting the chain guard, but that wasn't too hard to fix

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
yerrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 43 total reviews
1-20 of 43 reviews