Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 736 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

736 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

736 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
552
4 stars
126
3 stars
16
2 stars
13
1 stars
29
1-20 of 654 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 654 total reviews
1-20 of 654 reviews
GREAT PRODUCT- MONEY SAVER!
3/8/2008

Customer review by the4taylorz

5.0 stars 3/8/2008 by the4taylorz
by the4taylorz

We purchased this salt water system at the same time as our pool purchase. (intex 15'x4') We purchased salt from our local farmer's co-op and never had to buy any more all season. we used it all summer and into the fall with no problems. we set it up on an automatic timer to run about 3 hours a day and it stay clean and clear all summer long!! Fantastic product!! Uses no chemicals at all!! You will be amazed at how easy it is to have a pool once you try this system!

Was this review helpful? (74) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
the4taylorz
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This is worth the cost
6/8/2009

Customer review by Localbar

5.0 stars 6/8/2009 by Localbar
by Localbar

If you are like me and do not have a lot of time to maintain a pool and would like to do as little maintenance as possible, then this product is just for you. No fuss, No Mess, No salty taste. Just Krystal Clear water that is perfectly balanced each day. It's also softer on your skin and swimsuits. No burning red eyes or irritated dry skin. It's very easy to set up too. Tips: 1. I have the 12'x39" Metal Frame Pool from Walmart and I only needed to use one 40 lbs bag of salt. It's been running for two weeks with perfect balance. Add 75% salt of what the directions call for (you can always add more if needed) You can get pool salt at your local pool store at about $7-10 for a 40 lbs bag. 2. Your filter must be on before you operate your Saltwater system. Pick up and outdoor timer at Walmart and set it to turn on 30 mins before your saltwater system goes on and then set it to turn off 30 mins after your saltwater system turns off. Do not plug in your Saltwater System into the timer. The Saltwater system has its own internal timer and will cancel with a power interruption leading you to have to set up the timer for your saltwater system again. (there is not an actual timer that you can set on the saltwater system, it remembers when you ran it and runs it the same time each day, so if you run it at 7:00 am, it will run at 7:00 am everyday) 3. If you have an Intex 603 filter pump it will work but it works hard to keep up. You are better off upgrading to the 637 or 635. I recently upgraded to the 635 from the 603 and it's a world of difference. But the 603 will work and should get you through the seasons. 4. If you are running a 637 or 603 filter pump, you will not need an extra hose adapter B. The Salt water system comes with one you can use for the water inlet. Leave the outlet connected your original hose. 5. If you get error code 91 (low salt) try running the system again before you add more salt. It could be just an air pocket, if you do need to add salt I would suggest you do so at 10 LBS at a time. Aside from that follow the maintenance instructions and you'll enjoy a nice clean and balanced pool all season long. Well worth the money spent on this.

Was this review helpful? (45) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Localbar
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
5/26/2008

Customer review by JonR

4.0 stars 5/26/2008 by JonR
by JonR

Fairly easy setup. Only problem I had was hooking the Saltwater System to the filter pump. The hose fitting at the filter pump continued to leak, and tightening actually made it worse. After much tinkering, loosening and tightening I finally was successful in stopping the leak. Since then the system has run fine. I recommend starting with less salt than is called for, because it's much easier to add salt than to drain water! I ended up putting in about 75 percent of the salt called for, and all my numbers are right on..

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JonR
Antioch, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT POOL PRODUCT
4/9/2008

Customer review by STEVIEC13

5.0 stars 4/9/2008 by STEVIEC13
by STEVIEC13

I PURCHASED THIS SYSTEM AND SIMPLY LOVE IT. IT KEEPS MY POOL CRYSTAL CLEAR AND CLEAN. NO MORE CHLORENE SMELL OR EXPENSE. SO FAR SO GOOD NO PROBLEMS. I STARTED USING THE SYSTEM ON EASTER SUNDAY AND NOW WE ARE IN ARRIL THE 9TH OF 2008. THE SYSTEM WORKS JUST LIKE THE BROCHURE SAID IT WOULD. WELL WORTH THE MONEY BUY IT TODAY.I WISH I WOULD HAVE PURCHASED THIS SYSTEM YEARS AGO WHEN THEY FIRST CAME OUT. I HAVE HAD AND EASY SET POOL FOR SEVERAL YEARS NOW AND LIKE THE PRODUCT. THE SALT WATER SYSTEM IS A GOOD ONE AND WORKS WELL WITH THE EASY SET POOLS. STEVIE C.

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
STEVIEC13
MARRERO LA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works great but it isn't plug-in and forget...
5/17/2009

Customer review by RandJsDad

4.0 stars 5/17/2009 by RandJsDad
by RandJsDad

After owning the system for 2 months, here are some operational thoughts: The good: It works exactly as listed. My pool is as clear as sparkling clear as the day I filled it. I love that! Because it produces the proper amount of chlorine in the water at all times (converts it from the salt water) I am able to keep the pool chemically balanced much easier. That means it doesn't get so far out of whack where algae starts to form or become cloudy. In previous years I would run out of chlorine and before I got to the store to get more, the pool became chemically unbalanced and I spent the rest of the summer trying to get it back to normal but never could get it quite right. This unit solves that problem by generating its own chlorine from the salt in the water everyday. The Bad: I've read the cover front to back and there is no instruction to put in a stabilizer (Cyanuric Acid) which makes the chlorine last twice as long. I was having to run the unit for 10 hours a day and at the end of the day just before sunset, test strips showed all the chlorine was gone. After the guy at the local pool store recommended I add some stabilizer, now the chlorine lasts 2x as long and I only run the Intex unit 4 hours a day saving lots of electricity. Speaking of which - in order for the unit to run the pump must be running. But unlike the chlorine generator, the filter pump has no timer on it so unless you attach an on/off timer to it you'll be running your filter pump 24/7. To solve this problem I purchased an electronic timer from Lowes for $20 and set it up to turn on 30 minutes before the chlorine generator starts, and stops 30 minutes after the cycle ends. See Lowes website - the model number is Item # 170427. But don't plug the chlorine generator into the timer - you'll have the problem below... The Ugly: The timer mechanism on this unit sucks. The way it works is whatever time of day you set up the unit, that's the time of day it will start. So if you want the unit to start at 10pm and run overnight - that means you are out in the dark at 10pm setting it up. It will then run every night at 10pm but only as long as the power is constant. If you have an electric power interruption, the unit resets itself and you have remember to go back out at 10pm to set it up AGAIN!. Come on Intex - how hard would it have been to put a clock and a backup battery in this unit? Overall: I would buy this unit again but don't just think you can just plug it in and walk away. It takes monitoring. But I'd much rather be monitoring the proper function of a machine that does what it is supposed to do than to be carting chemicals around or adding countless countermeasure chemicals once things got out of balance. After 4 years of normal chlorine pool headaches - this unit has made having a pool much less aggravating.

Was this review helpful? (22) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RandJsDad
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
The best thing I have ever used related to pools!
6/17/2008

Customer review by handymanscbshop

5.0 stars 6/17/2008 by handymanscbshop
by handymanscbshop

This is the best product for the money that you can buy. The salt water generator is easy to hook up and the cost is well worth it. Say good bye to chemicals and hello to a crystal clear pool. I would like to see this product on the shelf at my local Wal-Mart, because it takes a little too long to get on-line, other than that, this thing is great!

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
handymanscbshop
Saline, La
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works great after finding my error!
11/15/2009

Customer review by Interpreter2

5.0 stars 11/15/2009 by Interpreter2
by Interpreter2

I was excited to get this system after having had a pool for years, doing the chlorine and/or Baquacil thing and spending all sorts of money and time. I received the system and got it set up, purchasing the salt in 40 lb bags from my local pool supply store. Right away, it told me I was low on salt; I was getting really frustrated, b/c when I tested the water, it said I had enough salt, even almost too much! I was getting really mad, until I finally realized that I was using the WRONG chart to see how much salt was in the pool!! There is one chart ON the bottle of the test strips, and there is a chart on the instructions that come with it. The chart on the instructions is COMPLETELY different than the one on the bottle (can't understand why!!), and it also says, in very light grey letters in the background "Sample, Do Not Use". DUH!!! So, I tested again, used the chart ON the bottle, found I truly WAS low in salt, added more, tested again, and the system started working beautifully!!! My pool water stayed crystal clear all summer long! Take into consideration that we had a VERY cold, wet summer...we only swam in the pool less than 10 times total, it was that cold, even with the solar cover. But the water stayed clear, and the most I did was to add a clarifier once a week, recommended by the pool store. I checked the system occasionally, to make sure it was running. One thing I found to happen was that b/c we hardly used the pool, there wasn't a huge need to create chlorine. I found that I only needed to set the system to run about 4 hrs everyday, instead of recommended 5 or 6 for my size pool (24 ft round, above ground). Towards the end of the season, I found the system would run about 2 or 3 hrs, then say there was low salt; I think it had used all the salt in the water to make chlorine, and so it basically "shut" itself off, saying there was low salt. After testing, there really wasn't low salt, but I think that's what happens when it makes enough chlorine. I just left it alone, and when it was ready to come on again, it would make chlorine, work for however many hrs it needed, then say low salt again. I think it may have been our weather too...just too cold! I had to take quite a bit of water out of the pool upon closing it this fall, so I'm not sure how much salt I'll need to add in the Spring, but I'm hoping it won't be a lot. Even if it is, I still spent less on salt and this system, than I would have on other chemicals and time to manage it! I spent about $75 on salt for initial startup, plus the test strips, plus ONE bottle of the clarifier, which was only about $12 for the year. Not to mention the time I saved not fussing with any chemicals! This was TRULY worth it! Also, the pool store I bought my salt from sells salt-water systems that cost closer to $1,000! This worked just as well as they said those expensive systems worked! I don't think you'll be disappointed if you get this system...just be sure to read the correct chart on the salt test kit!! ;-)

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Interpreter2
Western NYS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Better than the alternative.
6/20/2009

Customer review by lutherjr

4.0 stars 6/20/2009 by lutherjr
by lutherjr

I like the chlorinator now that I figured out how to make the most of it. I wasted tons of test stips and time trying to figure out how to get my chlorine level up. Three calls to Intex, with a wait time on each call of about 20 - 30 minutes to get to a person, but I could not get anyone to tell me anything that I didn't already know. It appears that they just read out of the same book/manual that comes with the chlorinator. I can do that myself. I called them hoping to get information that CAN'T be found in the book. All they had to tell me was to run the chlorinator at night instead of during the day. The sun and wind evaporates the chlorine as fast as the chlorinator can make it if it is very sunny, hot and windy. I figured this out on my own. Three separate Intex "specialists" (who all three even asked their supervisors) could not tell me this. I was running the chlorinator up to twelve hours per day, even thought the book said I only needed 5 hours per day with the given air temperture and pool size, but could not get the chlorine level up high enough. Now that I'm running it at night, My chlorine level is up hight, too high, but that is good, because that means I can cut back the hours that the chlorinator operates and save electrcity and wear and tear. This is a GREAT product, but the book leaves alot of unanswered questions and the Intex specialist have not been any help.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lutherjr
Stillwater, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love the Saltwater System BUT.......
6/9/2008

Customer review by CraftJunkie

2.0 stars 6/9/2008 by CraftJunkie
by CraftJunkie

We love the saltwater system and this generator worked great last year. Problem is it only lasted one year and we are having to replace it. Quit on us exactly one day after warranty and they would not honor it. Intex said they have to receive it prior to the warranty date. We really like it but if you purchase it be prepared to replace it in one season.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CraftJunkie
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Totally Not What I Expected
4/17/2009

Customer review by Nikkitha

5.0 stars 4/17/2009 by Nikkitha
by Nikkitha

When I first saw the product at the store, my husband and I jsut overlooked it, thinking salt in the pool cannot clean like the chemicals can! But after doing some research and going back to talk to the associate that worked in the pool area, we figured we'd give it a try because in the logn run it would be much cheaper than to have to buy them chemicals every few months. It was easy to set up once you realize that some of the parts that you are supposed to put together are already together. Hookup was fine and setting the timer also went smoothly. We waited the 24 hrs that are recommended and our pool was SPARKLING CLEAN!!! Even though they are working on the pipes in my neighborhood and the water (when I filled up the pool) was greenish and brown! I can say the pool was a little salty tasting but its barely noticeable, plus after a few minutes of being in the water you cant tell anymore. There is no chlorine smell, chlorine feel and you feel lighter in the pool. One of the best things is that when you get out and dry off, your skin is SO SOFT and there is the tingling, clean feel. I am so happy we bought this saltwater system!! It's already worth the price!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nikkitha
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Lifesaver
6/27/2009

Customer review by MermaidatHeart

5.0 stars 6/27/2009 by MermaidatHeart
by MermaidatHeart

I rated this product last week but it never posted so I am giving it another try. This system is well worth the extra investment! I hired someone to put up my pool so he installed the salt system. For the last 5 weeks it has been easy to run and keep the chlorine level right on. In the beginning I added a little less salt than required & then verified salt & chlorine level by having the pool water tested at the local pool store. We have hard water here so week #5 I got the dreaded code 91 with flashing red light and beeping. Once I viewed the video and read the instructions a couple of times I was ready to tackle this task. My family was shocked that I was able to take care of this and get the unit running again. Long story shorter- After adding a good amount of fresh water the night before to bring the water level up to max and then the following day cleaning the unit, the chlorine level tested at 1 at the local pool store. Later that day the unit had code 91 (without light or beep = low salt) so I added the full 25 lbs of salt per manuel instructions. Shorlty later the unit had code 92 (high salt). I drained some of the water last night and the unit is running fine but the water tested high (out of range for salt level). Now I'm in the mist of draining the pool partically again and adding more fresh water. I knew better than to add all of it but I went ahead and did it anyway. This is a lesson learned for good. LIke some of the others I also added a conditioner when I opened the pool. Now the only other chemicals I use is a cap of PHOSfree weekly to keep the water clear and algae free along with some dry acid when ph level is too high. I very happy with this unit! So glad that I got the extended warranty (2 more years) for about $20 which gives me peace of mind with our local hard water for several summers to come.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MermaidatHeart
Southern CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
6/23/2009

Customer review by bwebb5

5.0 stars 6/23/2009 by bwebb5
by bwebb5

Does a great job. Does not take as much salt as recommended. Start with half and add about half a bag at a time if needed. It said mine needed about 310 lbs of salt and ended up needing only about 200 lbs. But man, in summer, it needs to run about 11 - 12 hrs a day. 'course it's about 100 deg. here.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bwebb5
Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product
8/8/2008

Customer review by AFlife

5.0 stars 8/8/2008 by AFlife
by AFlife

We were having a hard time regulating our pool chemicals. We have had this for a month and have not had to add any chemicals to keep the pool crystal clear. It was very easy to set up! I highly recommend this! I wish we would have gotten this when we first bought our 24' pool.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AFlife
Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Super invention!
6/29/2009

Customer review by Mommy2LittleOnes

5.0 stars 6/29/2009 by Mommy2LittleOnes
by Mommy2LittleOnes

Despite the awesome product reviews on this product, I was a little skeptical. How could something convert salt into chlorine? Now, thinking back to my chemistry days NaCl turning into Cl seems pretty reasonable. Any way, use salt water tablets similar that you use in your water softner and they will disolve over night. The water is mild and my kids love it! It's very easy and this is coming from a very non-techno family. The only thing I hadn't seen in previous reviews is that you still have to adjust the Ph (alkalinity). Ours water must run high because we had to add Ph down right away. It wasn't a big deal and all has been well since!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mommy2LittleOnes
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
surprisingly simple
7/21/2009

Customer review by squirtshine

5.0 stars 7/21/2009 by squirtshine
by squirtshine

Fairly easy to set up after I studied the whole system. I LOVE not having to use chemicals other than pool salt (10 bucks at Walmart for a big bag). There is no chemical feel or smell, and the water has been crystal clear for the past 2 months. I color my hair and there isn't the fading you'd have when you use chlorine tablets. Sometimes I get a "low flow" alarm but all you do is unscrew and then reconnect the hose connections and reset the system. Overall the chlorinator works wonderfully, and I am very happy!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
squirtshine
Lexington, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
awesome
6/5/2009

Customer review by bigfishgames

5.0 stars 6/5/2009 by bigfishgames
by bigfishgames

I HAVE A ABOVE GROUND POOL 16 BY 48. I HAD AT ONE TIME A SAND PUMP CONNECTED TO IT. THE SAND PUMP GAVE ME ALOT OF PROBLEMS. I ALSO HAD TO KEEP PUTTING ALL KINDS OF CHEMICALS IN IT. WHICH WE ALL KNOW CAN BE VERY EXPENSIVE. I BOUGHT THIS SALT WATER PUMP AND IT IS AWESOME. WHEN THEY SAY NO MORE CHEMICALS, THEY MEAN IT. MY POOL HAS BEEN UP ABOUT A MONTH AND A HALF NOW. WE HAVE HAD ALOT OF RAIN, WHICH WOULD USUALLY TURN THE WATER GREEN VERY FAST. MY WATER IS KRYSTAL CLEAR JUST LIKE THEY SAID IT WOULD BE. ALL YOU NEED IS SALT WHICH IS ONLY ABOUT $6 A BAG FOR 40 LBS. MY POOL CALLED FOR 125LBS. I LOVE IT!! IT IS AWESOME!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bigfishgames
MONTEGUT, LA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Don't waste your money
6/26/2010

Customer review by Mystic93ca

1.0 stars 6/26/2010 by Mystic93ca
by Mystic93ca

bought this in Feb '09 - used it all last summer, never could get the chlorine to register on the test strips, but I thought it was user error so I just shocked the pool every couple of weeks (after reading these reviews I realize it probably wasn't really producing chlorine at all), never realized the white stuff all over the bottom of my pool indicated a problem - anyway, a couple of weeks ago we set the pool back up, took the saltwater system out of storage in the garage and got things hooked up, new water, new salt - ran the filter for 24 hourse then started up the salt system - no green light to indicate chlorine - called intex customer service and they couldn't really diagnose the problem over the phone - I'm going back to chlorine...

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mystic93ca
So Cal
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
don't buy if you have hard water
7/20/2008

Customer review by swimfool

1.0 stars 7/20/2008 by swimfool
by swimfool

This may work if your water is not hard; we are on well water and the titanium plates clogged up within one week, after soaking in vinegar overnight, it was only 2 days before it happened again. Thankfully, Walmart, as usual, stood behind their product and refunded my money even though I did not have the original box.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
swimfool
wichita, KS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
additional info would have been helpful
7/20/2007

Customer review by warden

5.0 stars 7/20/2007 by warden
by warden

My only compalint was that when I researched the product nothing was mentioned that you need a pump that can move 1,000 gallons of water an hour- the pump that came with my pool was not that big- so upon setting up the product we discovered we would have to order a larger, stronger pump. We had the pool running for several weeks by the time the larger pump arrived so we had to run it a little longer than the reccomended time at first. Also if you cover the pool the system works quicker (something about the sunlight). We have not had any problems with the product- one suggestion I would have is to be aware that you will need quite a bit of space for the product and your pump.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
warden
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
awesome
4/30/2008

Customer review by momwendy

5.0 stars 4/30/2008 by momwendy
by momwendy

I have only had the pump 2 weeks setup was easy as a single women taking care of the pool this is great no chemicals salt is very easy to add and the directions were awesome.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
momwendy
florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 654 total reviews
1-20 of 654 reviews