Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 15 reviews | 1.7 out of 5

1.5 stars

15 reviews | 1.7 out of 5

1.5 stars

15 reviews | 1.7 out of 5

20%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
0
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 stars
10
1-15 of 15 total reviews
20%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Really wanted to like it...
1/19/2009

Customer review by kelsnotchels

2.0 stars 1/19/2009 by kelsnotchels
by kelsnotchels

Part 1 Today, I used it for the first time, and there were a ton of pros: * It is significantly smaller than some of the big boys. * It was pretty easy to set up. After determining my stride length, measuring my resting heart rate, and determining the ideal heart rate range I was aiming for, I was ready to go. * While running, I could glance down and check my speed which was great for determining if I was pushing hard enough. * It was easy to switch between speed, heart rate, and distance while running. * It tracked my steps (which I love). * You can stop the tracking process (stop the pedometer function) but you don’t have to clear the data right away, so you can track it/record it when you get home (see the cons list) Now for the few cons: * It uses my stride length to determine my distance, not GPS… So, if I was super wrong about my stride length, or if my stride length changes significantly then I’d need to make an adjustment. * This little guy can’t compete with the computer interface of some models. It does NOT connect to your computer, nor does it keep track of all of the goodies that others do. *The heart rate button sometimes doesn't work. *The distance and pace functions do not seem to be accurate all the time. Part 2 Well, here is part two of my review of the sportline s12 heart rate monitor. It is with great disappointment that I share that I will be returning this device tomorrow. During the 5k I ran on Saturday, after about 1.25 miles, the watch just sorta… reset. It suddenly had a new date, new time, wiped all of my step, milage, and distance data. HALF WAY THROUGH MY RACE. I was livid. There isn’t any particular reason to draw my review out longer, it just didn’t do what it needed to do, when I needed it to do it. (on another note, I’m not sure it was entirely acurate as a HRM, calories burned tracker, or distance keeper. Even with specific measurements of my stride, it was occasionally -inexplicably- off.) Sorry, sportline… I really, REALLY wanted to like it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kelsnotchels
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
BIG DISSAPOINTMENT
5/21/2009

Customer review by EvAaron

1.0 stars 5/21/2009 by EvAaron
by EvAaron

This HR watch reset about 2 miles in to my run. I actually planned on returning it for another one thinking this was just a fluke,however, after reading these reviews I believe I'll just get my $ back and go for another brand. The item is just not worth the money. Does not perform well AT ALL!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EvAaron
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good for what you pay
12/4/2009

Customer review by SPGilm

4.0 stars 12/4/2009 by SPGilm
by SPGilm

Some other reviews rant and rave about what it doesn't have...mine was 40$, has a pedometer, a heart rate, and has dual times, so for the price its decent considering a decent watch costs around 20-30 in the first place. The problem many complain about is pedometer reset, and that is indeed their own fault (though also the companies) the way the buttons are, if you wear the watch on your left hand (and most right handed people do so it's not in the way) the buttons for going to pedometer, and resetting the pedometer are right there near your hand if your hand moves up a bit it can easily press the buttons, I've found wearing it a little high than I normally would fixes this problem easily. But all things considered for the price it's decent compared to things that conect for the computer etc.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SPGilm
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Read previous review too late!
4/22/2009

Customer review by slpguy

1.0 stars 4/22/2009 by slpguy
by slpguy

I had the exact same problem than previous review. The watch resets half way thru a race on the pedometer function. I'm returning the watch. I really like it until started to fail after a couple of days of use, you cannot rely on it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
slpguy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Meets my needs
10/21/2009

Customer review by JaxGirrl

4.0 stars 10/21/2009 by JaxGirrl
by JaxGirrl

I bought this for walking, then came home and read the reviews about the reset problem. This wasn't true for me. It works fine and performs as expected. It's accurate and easy to use. HR feature is great for monitoring my pace and it's easy to read while walking. I use it for my 30 min walks so I can log my distance in miles, my steps and my calories burned. I think it's a good value.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JaxGirrl
Jacksonville, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
HRM Excellent
4/16/2009

Customer review by mrswhitewolf

4.0 stars 4/16/2009 by mrswhitewolf
by mrswhitewolf

I purchased this HRM and I love it. The review I read about it, and her taking it back, I don't use as a runner. But it is great for inexpensive and being able to track calories, HR, miles, steps. The steps is very accurate. I just love mine. Now if you want more soffistification, than this isn't it. But for doing the job that I need, calories, miles, steps, HR, it does a great job. Just make sure you don't bend your hand and hit the button and stop the little guy, or if inactive, he stops to save battery life, so check on him periodically to see if he be flashing. This isn't a body bug, but has been compared and the calories burned etc. match really close. I am pretty confident it works well!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mrswhitewolf
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Does not work as advertised
3/30/2011

Customer review by McBit

2.0 stars 3/30/2011 by McBit
by McBit

First thing that I found odd was the way the settings are programmed in the watch. I had to dig into the manual to actually figure it out. The biggest disappointment was to find out that other than a regular watch it is pretty much useless. The pedometer wold work for a few hours at most and then it would stop. Even if I just put the watch down and do not touch it. In the manual it says that exercise time is up to 100 hours (minus one second). The primary intent of getting the watch was to calculate the number of steps I walk and how many calories I burn during the day. With this watch it is an impossible task. After an intensive exercise if found at no surprise that the pedometer had stopped again. Another disappointment was to find out that it would not measure the heart rate when my hand was sweaty. After a few days of use, there are scratches on the glass. Even though it is made of hard plastic, it protrudes the casing, and therefore is easier to scratch. On the positive note, it uses a CR2032 battery, which should last for many years... somewhere in the returns department.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
McBit
Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Reset during my run
6/26/2010

Customer review by DJAND

1.0 stars 6/26/2010 by DJAND
by DJAND

I bought the watch on Monday and used it Tuesday morning for my run. I was so disappointed when it reset about halfway through (around 2 miles)...steps, calories, and distance all went to zero and the date went to 1-1-2008, time to midnight. I thought it was just a fluke, but after it did the same thing again today I got online and found all of these reviewers who had had the same experience with this watch. I will be returning it tomorrow. Very disappointed!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DJAND
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Most Unreliable Product Ever
7/14/2009

Customer review by GeorgiaWalMartShopper

1.0 stars 7/14/2009 by GeorgiaWalMartShopper
by GeorgiaWalMartShopper

I have never purchased anything that malfunctioned this quickly. The first day I owned it, I took it for a run and it completely reset (like other reviewers have experienced) in the second mile. Everything was reset - distance, clock, etc. It has so many features at such a great price, I ignored the warnings from other reviewers and gave it a try. I really wanted it to work. Unfortunately, they were right. It's so unreliable it's a bad deal at any price!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GeorgiaWalMartShopper
Would recommend to a friend? No
Resets itself
9/16/2009

Customer review by PhotoHiker

1.0 stars 9/16/2009 by PhotoHiker
by PhotoHiker

Very convenient operation, like it very much when I bought it. Worked well first time out running, resets itself the 2nd time, will return it soon.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PhotoHiker
Mission Viejo, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Terrible watch!
2/18/2011

Customer review by DivaSheila

1.0 stars 2/18/2011 by DivaSheila
by DivaSheila

I bought it a few weeks ago, i have to admit the price was great, but i have always heard, cheap price, cheap product. HELLO!! It worked for a exactly a week, then after that, it would not even take a reading. Everything else works but the heart rate monitor. I noticed it when it would not pick up the HR while working out. I would have to stop working out and take the reading. After two days, the HR was gone. Took it off, left it on the treadmill and it worked 24 hrs later and i was sitting down. It just simply does not work. Dont waste your money or time with this product. I warned you!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DivaSheila
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Horrible product!
7/23/2009

Customer review by Havreitte

1.0 stars 7/23/2009 by Havreitte
by Havreitte

I was so excited to get his and finally "splurged" last week. After a whole week of fighting with this thing, it's going back. It kept resetting and zeroing out for no reason. Mine had no instructions in the package, but it was pretty simple to figure out. I wished I had read the other reviews before I purchased. I'll be getting a Polar brand next, they seem to be a better product and more reliable. I have 5 kids and obviously a lot of patience, but this thing wore me out!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Havreitte
Would recommend to a friend? No
Doesn't Work
7/30/2010

Customer review by Tennisgirl01

1.0 stars 7/30/2010 by Tennisgirl01
by Tennisgirl01

After price comparing heart rate monitors at different sports stores, I saw this product in Wal-Mart and thought that for the price, it was a great deal. However, once I got it home and attempted to use it, it would not read my heart rate. I tried all of the trouble shooting ideas in the manual, and it still wouldn't read. My family members also tried it out to see if it was a user error on my part. It wouldn't read their heart rate either. I will be returning this product as soon as I can and will purchase a monitor that will actually work. If you are someone who doesn't care about the heart rate readings, it seemed to do a decent job at recording my steps, but I didn't go very far.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tennisgirl01
Plano, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
DOA
8/1/2010

Customer review by drh111

1.0 stars 8/1/2010 by drh111
by drh111

This watch doesn't work at all. The only button that works is the backlight button but all the rest of the buttons to set the time or mode don't operate at all.. bringing back tomorrow!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
drh111
Would recommend to a friend? No
Disappointed
8/4/2010

Customer review by jdcarp2001

1.0 stars 8/4/2010 by jdcarp2001
by jdcarp2001

I have had other Sportline products with good results but the S12 let me down. I took it out of the box and pressed the button for the required 5 seconds and when I let it go nothing happened. I am taking it back tomorrow.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jdcarp2001
Elkhart, In
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never