Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 115 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

115 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

5 stars
48
4 stars
26
3 stars
5
2 stars
10
1 stars
26
67%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 103 total reviews
Works great!
3/6/2009

Customer review by g664422

5.0 stars by g664422

I've used it about eight weeks, four to six times a week with no problems. Nothing fancy but does what it was advertised to do.

Was this review helpful? (64) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
g664422
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
You get what you pay for.
5/20/2010

Customer review by Soserious555

4.0 stars by Soserious555

Before buying this product I read the reviews on it. Some reviews raved about the product others warned against buying it. I bought it and I have to say that I LOVE it! I bought one for myself and for my father. We are both doing intense workouts and are sweating a great deal, it is able to still read a pulse even when there is a layer of sweat. Its a great value for the money. The monitor is fairly accurate. My dads sometimes doesn't read when he is moving around though. One of the benefits to this watch was the calorie counter. I found it accurate if you update it with your heart rate continuously. Its a great buy for 20 dollars and I haven't had any major complaints with it at all!

Was this review helpful? (51) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Soserious555
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good value
11/6/2010

Customer review by KWC12

4.0 stars by KWC12

I have had the watch for 2 days and so far, I find it OK for the money you spend. EVERYBODY, It's a "BASIC" HR watch, not your high end..... remember that. I noticed that when you use the HR button, MAKE SURE YOU ARE NOT USING THE "TIP" of your finger as it WILL NOT read. Use the part that would be like using your finger print, the pad of your index finger. It will work every time. I noticed that I did loose 1 1/2 minutes on the watch in just 1 day. (That is the only thing I have noticed I don't like). I got my watch in the store. I wanted something not expensice, but willing to try it out to see if it works. I am an AVID CYCLIST and needed something, but didn't want the strap around my mid section bothering me. OR spending big money on other bells and whistles that I didn't need. Don't worry about a calorie counter, if your working out, and building sweat, your HR is up, then your burning calories. The one thing I will tell everyone is: Save your receipt, you can always take it back if you dont like it.... even if it's a month later from buying it. Walmart will take it back, so you are not out of any money. Just take it back on your next trip to Walmart..... No sweat!

Was this review helpful? (51) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
KWC12
Hagerstown, maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Frustrating
8/4/2009

Customer review by andreatron

1.0 stars by andreatron

I got this product to try and track calories burned during home workouts. I'm new to this whole fitness thing and didn't have a frame of reference as to what made a "good" HRM, but this one seemed to have all of the features one would need. I read the instructions from front to back, strapped it on my wrist, entered my gender and age, then did a couple of test readings. All seemed fine and dandy so I started my workout routine, and right away started to see the pitfalls of this product. First of all, you have to get a reading every time your heartrate changes if you want it to count calories accurately. This would be tolerable if the thing would ever give a reading on the first try, but instead I found myself getting so distracted with mussing with the monitor that it was incredibly counterproductive to my workout. I'd have to keep STOPPING what I was doing to get a reading, which sort of defies the whole point. By the time I could get a reading, my heartrate would have actually dropped from where it was when I first started trying to get the reading. But if you don't do readings often, so I'm led to believe from the manual, your calorie count won't be as accurate. So you're darned if you do and darned if you don't... I'd much rather have something that detects the changes in my heartrate automatically and does not interrupt or interfere with my workout. That and I am pretty sure it needs to know more than your gender and age to calculate your cals burned. Nowhere was there an option to enter my weight or other applicable factors. How accurate can it be??? The bottom line is that the only thing that really got my heart pumping was throwing this thing across the room in frustration.

Was this review helpful? (63) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
andreatron
fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Just what I needed
6/25/2010

Customer review by lujasa

5.0 stars by lujasa

I went on line to get a idea of the type heart rate monitor to purchase. Prior to researching I din't realize they could be so costly. I went to the local Wal-mart. I love the look of this item and the price was right and thirdly, it works great. For me this was a very good deal overall!

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
lujasa
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
solid value
7/10/2009

Customer review by JohnnyRingo7

5.0 stars by JohnnyRingo7

I've only owned this watch for two days, so I can't attest to its longevity. However, all of these reviewers who are saying the calories don't count accurately might benefit from reading the instructions where it says, "...Calories burned are calculated based on your current heart rate. Therefore, it is best to update your heart rate as often as possible." This seems to imply that one needs to use the heart rate button on the front of the watch at regular intervals (or whenever you change your activity level) rather than relying on the back plate as an automatic gauge. This could explain several of the previous reviewer's complaints, such as the "runner" who took the watch off and noticed that the calorie count continued to accumulate throughout the night. Just my .02. Anyway, it worked pretty accurately for me through two workouts. Hopefully, it will last a while.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
JohnnyRingo7
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
LOVE IT!
4/15/2012

Customer review by lovely19

4.0 stars by lovely19

I have been using this heart rate monitor for over a month (everyday) already. I purchased it because I am doing a home workout program (insanity) and I needed to know how many calories I was burning for better results. I didn't really want to spend to much money on one as long as it tracked my heart rate and calories burned. I came across this one and well for $30 bucks I thought how bad could it really be. Needless to say, I love it. I thought it was easy to use. One tip that I have found out is "DONT WEAR IT LIKE A WATCH". It does not give you accurate results. I place the watch part on the bottom of my wrist. This way will calculate much better. I have tried wearing it like a watch (on top the wrist) and it dose not pick up your heart rate that good. Next thing I like to add is it don't pick up your heart rate that good if you are moving around (like running in place). Even some treadmills/Ellipticals are the same way. You have to remain steady for a reading. Have a steady wrist and hold down the button and this should not take no longer than 5 seconds. It will give you and accurate reading. Like always "you get what you pay for" but to me its not a bad product. Hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
lovely19
San Diego, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
basic stuff
8/31/2010

Customer review by cobraspyguy

4.0 stars by cobraspyguy

This is a basic heart monitor. No frill but works as described. For anyone having problems with this unit here is the trick. The monitor does not use the back of the watch to measure your heart rate. I know that is not what it says. It uses the button. So if your fingers are greasy from eating those fries then it won’t read. So try this and then you will see. It wont work if you are warning gloves for running outdoors or working out so keep that in mind.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
cobraspyguy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
It's all I need!
1/6/2011

Customer review by jmvisa

5.0 stars by jmvisa

I got this HR. Monitor before Christmas. It is what I expected. Very accurate! I have compared results with the machine at the gym. I have used my thumb trough a hole in my glove and reading is pretty much the same as using the index finger. I have found that the lighter the pressure the easier it reads. It took me some time to learn how to use it while in motion. This is my first HR monitor, so I do not have anything to compare to. So far had done the job and is helping me to maintain a constant speed when running outside.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
jmvisa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Misleading advertising
2/12/2011

Customer review by nomadziggies

1.0 stars by nomadziggies

I was pretty excited to buy this watch, thinking that it would make taking my pulse easier. Well, maybe it's just me, because others say they love this, but, I just couldn't get it to work properly. First, the packaging says it's "one touch". What I didn't know is that 'one touch' means that you have to push the button and hold it down until it gets a reading. This can take up to ten seconds. If it takes that long, then it times out and you have to do it over again. And, for me, I couldn't get it to get a reading while I was moving, so, as I stopped and waited for my reading to come in, my heart rate is dropping, and consecutive readings came in at ten points difference. I never felt like I could actually rely on the reading that I got. Like I said, maybe I'm just a difficult one to read, but, be prepared for disappointment if you are too. And remember, "one touch" means, "touch and hold, and hold, and hold..."

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
nomadziggies
Sycamore Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best deal I've ever got on a watch!
4/30/2012

Customer review by Bonniekins

5.0 stars by Bonniekins

I bought this watch over two years ago and wear it 25/7. It works great. In some of the reviews, I noticed that one person said the battery is 'imbedded in electronic stuff' and they could not change the battery. It is not. You simply remove the 4 screws that holds the back on, lift the clip that holds the battery in place, then remove the battery and insert another of the same number and voltage. The jewelry department at Walmart can do this for you or you can buy the battery there and replace it yourself. All of the other problems I have read in these reviews I attribute to unfamiliarity with the product. If you are patient, read the directions on how to operate this watch, it will give you good service and you can't beat it for the price and how comfortable it is to wear every day.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Bonniekins
9/20/2010

Customer review by Mentallo

5.0 stars by Mentallo

Awesome functionality. Heart rate, measure calories burned, countdown timer, stop watch, alarm. And, oh yeah, a watch.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Mentallo
Philadelphia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
So far so good
3/19/2011

Customer review by LittleCatdog

5.0 stars by LittleCatdog

I've only been using this product a couple of weeks, but so far it works great. It's so much easier and faster than having to take my pulse by hand, and it also serves as a stopwatch so I can time my exertion periods and rest periods. It was the most economical heart rate monitor I found on the Internet.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
LittleCatdog
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Pulse/Watch-S7 Hr. monitor
3/9/2009

Customer review by txsherbear

4.0 stars by txsherbear

It was bought as a gift for a friend. When I asked her about the product, she said that it works very well and she likes it. I am satisfied with the quality and the fact that it has the capability of lighting up in the dark.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
txsherbear
Stockton, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Does the basic job
3/5/2011

Customer review by engineer77

4.0 stars by engineer77

I purchased this product just to do quick heart rate checks while exercising (mostly walking, running, stair climbing). My wrist has a moderate amount of hair and I have used the watch in cold (15 degrees) to moderate weather. So far it has functioned well. Almost always gives a believable heart rate reading within seconds. I use the pad of my index finger to contact the heart rate button. Maybe one time out of 20 it fails to get a reading. It seems to work best if I stop walking to take the reading. I don't have to stand perfectly still, but at least a slow walk or pacing to rest or standing still. Back light stays on for 5 seconds which is enough to read the display in dark conditions (walking before sunrise). As others have noted, my watch loses 30 seconds every day. Not very good for a watch, but I'm after mainly the heart rate and percent of target rate and those functions work fine. Stopwatch seems to work fine. I haven't used the calorie counter. For what I wanted, it is very suitable and was very affordable. I would recommend this for a basic heart rate monitor where you don't need continuous monitoring or readings taken during vigorous movement.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
engineer77
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Value matches the price
8/1/2011

Customer review by Justpeachy242

3.0 stars by Justpeachy242

If you don't want to spend a lot on a HRM, but still want one that calculates calories burned this is your best bet. I've had some trouble with it, like when I turn it off, it resets the time, but remembers my stats. So I gave up on trying to program the time. It also has difficulty measuring your HR when you're moving. I've found that you need to be completely still to get a reading. Sometimes you have to keep trying 2 or 3 times before it works. I'm cheap though, so I don't mind these little issues. The calorie calculator still works great.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Justpeachy242
Honolulu, HI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect!
12/12/2011

Customer review by Tabikat57

5.0 stars by Tabikat57

This is a great buy! It uses no chest straps and it doesn't rely on your pulse for a reading. I've ran in the cold with gloves on and only needed index finger to get heart rate. Doing Wii Dance, I switch to the calorie readings and can stll get my heart rate with one finger. I can't even program a VCR but had no problems with this watch. Someone stated that the instructions were useless. He/She didn't even read them. Another purchase had stated that this needs to be taken in to a jeweler for battery replacment. This is true but the user can shut of the watch by pushing two buttons to save on the battery. Do yourself a favor and buy this, you won't be sorry.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Tabikat57
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
My 2nd purchase of a great product
4/23/2012

Customer review by Mickalo68

5.0 stars by Mickalo68

This is the 2nd time I have purchased the S7. The first one that I bought almost 5 years ago, my teenage son used as a regular watch and like any teenager, he did everything the instruction manual says not to do. I absolutely loved the monitor and was upset that my son effectively destroyed a great product. Just bought a new S7 yesterday and I will say the model seems to be improved upon. The older version had difficulty getting a heart rate reading if there was a build up of sweat between the watch and the skin. Knowing this, I kept the watch loose and would occasionally wipe my skin to keep good contact. This issue has been resolved with the newer version. I am extremely impressed with Sportline products and the S7 in particular. This heart-rate monitor does exactly what it says it will do and at value pricing! It is definitely a product worth buying.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Mickalo68
Fort Worth, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/14/2011

Customer review by Alixzandra

4.0 stars by Alixzandra

I feel like I got what I paid for in getting this particular watch. It does everything I expected and needed it to do. Sometimes it takes a while to get my heart rate to read properly. I only wear it when I am working out. It is pretty comfortable. I have pretty small wrists and it fits me pretty well. I am a college student and didn't really want to break the bank on an over the top expensive watch. I only wish it would read my heart-rate a little faster. Other than that I think its works great and I would recommend it to anyone that didn't want to spend too much money.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Alixzandra
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
6/1/2010

Customer review by Marta356

1.0 stars by Marta356

I bought two of these because my husband and I started a new exercise program that needed one. His still works, but after one use the screen on mine froze up and now I can't get it to work. It is a piece of junk and I would not reccomend the purchase of this product to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Marta356
Elyria, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
1-20 of 103 total reviews