Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 230 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

230 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

230 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
155
4 stars
43
3 stars
3
2 stars
7
1 stars
22
1-20 of 207 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 207 total reviews
1-20 of 207 reviews
Excellent Percolator
1/9/2010

Customer review by TheRightProducts2

5.0 stars 1/9/2010 by TheRightProducts2
by TheRightProducts2

I just had to write this review on this percolator I received yesterday. I have to say it is by far the best electric percolator I have tried. I'll go back about 6 months ago, when I first was frustrated with every drip coffee maker I have owned. They simply do not produce hot flavorable coffee, no matter how much you spend, be it $15 dollars or $150 dollars. I was always having to warm the cup of coffee in the microware. What's the point of that? Anyway I decided to embark on a search for the perfect coffee maker. I began to think of the times when my mom made perked coffee on the stove when I was a young kid. I could remember the smell was outstanding. Then I thought to go to Amazon.com and look up percolator products and start to read reviews about what people said. Well needless to say that was the beginning of a whole new world for me. I decided to order the Farberware stove top percolator which I have been using for many months now, and never looked back. I absolutely love, love the coffee. I have it down to a science in the perking and timing and the filters. The only thing is that its makes only 8 cups total or really only 6 cups, so if I have guest I would have to make a second pot. So I decided to look for an electric model of which I have tried in the past 2 weeks, 2 other models one is the Presto, which got great reviews but made horrible coffee, then there was the Farberware, which taste burnt and also horrible coffee. Also the Farberware seems to have faulty malfunctions and breaks within a matter of months. Then I decided to go to Walmart.com and saw the many great reviews on this GE electric Percolator. Wow, what a great cup of coffee, just like my stovetop percolator, it makes hot, flavorful no burnt coffee. It keeps it at the right temperature. I also use coffee disk filters for this. I used Dunkin Donuts coffee and made 2 pots today and both were fabulous. I can't wait to use this for guest, or just on days when I don't want to use the stove top percolator. I hope it will last a long time. All I can say is buy it you wont' be disappointed. Don't waste your money on drip or those new Keurig units. Think of all the waste of paper with those K-cups. I thought we should be recycling? You just wont' get the same flavor or heat you do with perking. Our grandparents knew what they were doing. Sometimes the old fashioned way of doing things are the best. Go for it, before perking becomes non-existent. Hopefully manufacturers will return to the old way of doing things if they see we enjoy this method of coffee that produces a superior cup of java.

Was this review helpful? (223) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheRightProducts2
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Love it!
10/13/2009

Customer review by Granna1

5.0 stars 10/13/2009 by Granna1
by Granna1

Already owned a G.E. Percolator but we are in the process of furnishing our new camper so we purchased another one. This one used much less ground coffee per pot! Also, when it begins perking the ready light comes on "blue", when finished it turns "green". Really like the brushed stainless steel finish . . . matches the fridge!

Was this review helpful? (87) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Granna1
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great coffee pot
9/27/2009

Customer review by mm10970

5.0 stars 9/27/2009 by mm10970
by mm10970

I was replacacing my Farberware Percolator that quit after like 15years. I like the looks of this one and two names you can trust GE and WalMart, Its great coffee is fresh and hot and the glass lid let you see the coffee perking, my house nerver smelled this good in the morning. This pot even works better than the Bunn I wasted my money on<never again, stick with this one and you cant go wrong

Was this review helpful? (115) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mm10970
san antonio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love This Percolator
11/23/2009

Customer review by perkqueen

5.0 stars 11/23/2009 by perkqueen
by perkqueen

I've drank perked coffee for the last 30 years and have always purchased the Electric Farberware Pot and for most of those 30 years have been content, but upon replacement of the last pot the new pot failed to perk the coffee very long or perk it very hot and I had noticed over the last few years that the pots just didn't seem to hold up for as long as they use to so I decided maybe I better resort to a drip maker and bought 2 of the cusinart at macys', one being a glass decanter and the other being the new thermos type. Both coffee makers were high end and high priced and they both were returned. Neither pot made a good flavorful coffee, in fact the thermos type while keeping the coffee fairly warm had a worse flavor due to the the plastics and gasket that surrounds the decanter. I tried to give it a few days to adjust to a different flavor figuring when you've drank Perked coffee for years there would be a difference, but I have 3 son in laws that have drip pots and are lower end types and even though I don't like drip makers I can drink the coffee because it is HOT! and has some type of coffee flavor! If coffee is going to be made quickly it definelty needs to be at a higher temp. The higher end cusinart pots both failed miserably. Plus the fact when you leave coffee setting on a hot plate with a glass decanter it does not take long to get a burnt and bitter taste which is why I tried the thermos type. There are not to many stainless steel or for that matter many percolators on the market today and when I seen the GE coffee maker at Walmarts and it was lower priced I thought well I'll ty it, the worst that can happen is I'll have to return it and resort to the fact I may just have to buy some type of drip pot. I remember as a kid staying with my Grandma I would always awake to smell of that perked pot of coffee and the aroma was heavenly. I brought this pot home, washed it, and made my first pot of perked coffee. I can't tell you how happy I am with it! The flavor was great, and the aroma, you could smell it over the entire house. I actually like it better than the Farberware. I have only had it 2 days now and if it preforms and last only a year, its still worth the money, in fact before they become totally obsolete I m thinking about buying another just for a back-up. I don't care about fancy frills, pre-programmed stuff, etc... ,I just want a good hot flavorful full bodied cup of coffee and this pot delivers!!!!!AAA++++. I think it may take a few minutes more to perk than the old one...........but thats ok.......I think you get a better flavor Coffee!!!! I have to say to sum everything up, sometimes more expensive and big dept stores are not better. I love the pot and the price A++++

Was this review helpful? (108) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
perkqueen
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Exceeded expectations on the perculator
10/24/2010

Customer review by Junebug55

5.0 stars 10/24/2010 by Junebug55
by Junebug55

If you are looking to dump Mr. Coffee, this is the one to do it with. Makes piping hot coffee like grandma used to make and it just tastes good. Best part is, I have it on a timer and it brews an aromatic pot of joe before I awake. Goods news is that it is all stainless...no plastic to taste or taint the coffee beans. Great design with the retro glass dome and percolator sound and makes it very fast. Requires far less coffee therefore your budget goes further.

Was this review helpful? (35) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Junebug55
North Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
GREAT Coffee!
9/8/2010

Customer review by Debbd817

5.0 stars 9/8/2010 by Debbd817
by Debbd817

I purchased the GE 12 Cup Percolator after having my Farberware Perc stop working after 1 year. The price was great, infact LESS than the 4 Cup Farberware Perc I previously had! I received it in 3 days from ordering and it makes GREAT Coffee! I love the glass top that allows you to see the perc action. I use far less ground coffee too. 2 Heaping scoops for 6 cups. It seems to be well made. It's a little heavier than others I looked at but pours smoothly with no drips. Easy to clean and the brushed finish does not show smudges. It looks great on my counter. I'm very impressed with the quality and especially with the wonderful coffee it makes. The only improvement could be an auto shut off but other than that this Perc is GREAT!

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Debbd817
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Great product
9/18/2009

Customer review by Phyllislovestoshopatwalmart

5.0 stars 9/18/2009 by Phyllislovestoshopatwalmart
by Phyllislovestoshopatwalmart

Took the pot home and cleaned it then made coffee. Wow! steaming hot, rich and delicious. Made a full pot within the specified time of 12 minutes. Thanks Walmart I love this percolator.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Phyllislovestoshopatwalmart
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Java Nirvana
5/25/2010

Customer review by Fizbi

5.0 stars 5/25/2010 by Fizbi
by Fizbi

When I was a kid, I always watched the family coffee pot percolate. It was mystery and music rolled into one. Then came Mr. Coffee, killing traditional percolators in the automated kitchens across America. Finally, GE and Wal-Mart to the rescue. I am now happy to report that my own family now owns an honest to God coffee maker. The tradition lives once again, gracing my kitchen with the sights, sounds, and smells of fresh coffee percolating in a *REAL* coffee pot. I have to say that GE has made me a very happy coffee drinker. I absolutely love this new coffee pot. The construction is just marvelous. The basket that holds the grounds has markings to assist in adding the right amount of coffee for the number of cups you wish to brew. Solid construction all around. Pros: Well built, solid stainless steel construction. Coffee brews hot and stays hot. Lid locks down to prevent accidental spills. BIG glass top so you can watch all the action. Cons: Power cord (about two feet) way too short. GE should have removed the water level indicator and provided a longer power cord. I guess GE decided it was less expensive to provide a nearly worthless power cord to save a few pennies. You can "upgrade" to a longer cord if needed as any three pronged computer style cord should work, or just add a good quality three pronged extension cord. If you have never owned this style of pot, be advised that you may see some coffee grounds in your coffee as it does not use a paper filter. This is to be expected and is normal. If you cannot live with this, then I suggest you stick with a drip coffee maker. I got tired of replacing broken glass and plastic coffee makers. Overall: Well done GE. I have no regrets in purchasing this pot. I look forward to many years of freshly brewed hot coffee in a beautifully designed and elegant looking coffee pot. I give this product no less than 5-Stars!

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fizbi
Casper, WY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A very nice product for the money.
10/11/2009

Customer review by Funtrading5950

5.0 stars 10/11/2009 by Funtrading5950
by Funtrading5950

My farberwae percolators kept breaking after a few months. So far, nice product.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Funtrading5950
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Short-lived enjoyment
1/6/2011

Customer review by jandap

1.0 stars 1/6/2011 by jandap
by jandap

This product was purchased for my husband for Christmas. He loved it because he said it made a great pot of coffee. I loved it because of the brushed finish and looked nice on my counter. However, after 3 days, the coffee pot quit working. I returned it to Walmart and they gave me a refund. Since we liked the product, and trusted the name GE, we decided to buy the exact model and give it another shot. BIG MISTAKE. We purchased the second percolator on a Friday, and it quit working the following Thursday. We will NOT be purchasing another GE appliance. Very disappointing, and very frustrating!!!

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jandap
Heber Springs, AR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
All stainless; easy to clean; brews great coffee!
12/12/2010

Customer review by Roses52

5.0 stars 12/12/2010 by Roses52
by Roses52

We got tired of the drip coffee makers; their paper filters, the way you can't clean the innards. The innards or parts can be put in the dishwasher, the inside of the coffee pot can be cleaned with hot water and a little detergent. I spray some vodka inside and then rinse with hot water one final time and any soap residue rinses right out. Good, clean, well perked tasting coffee every time. My husband didn't think he'd like it but he really loves the coffee from it. The directions state to wet the basket before putting the coffee in. It causes a skin of water that keeps the tiny bits of coffee from falling thru the bottom. It works!

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Roses52
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A Great Percolator
2/11/2011

Customer review by mbjarnov

5.0 stars 2/11/2011 by mbjarnov
by mbjarnov

I would highly recommend this product. It is stainless steel and glass. No plastic comes in contact with the coffee. The cover twists off easily and it makes a great cup of coffee in under 15 minutes. I am a Natural Health Practitioner and don't want hot water coming into contact with plastic. Toxins are released and then you're ingesting them. All the other percolators I've seen have had some plastic. This one doesn't and is priced in line with the ones that do. If you're in the market for a percolator, get this one, you won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mbjarnov
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
SHORT life-span percolator (GE 12 cup)
9/21/2010

Customer review by cimarronshopper

2.0 stars 9/21/2010 by cimarronshopper
by cimarronshopper

Less than six month old percolator no longer functions properly. Originally it perked approx one min per cup...and WONDERFULLY hot strong coffee was the result. I did read online elsewhere this model had a problem with a short 'life-span' but I decided to risk it anyway. Well...it was true. It no longer percs the entire time. Results is brown water with no flavor. I DO keep the parts clean, nothing is clogged. The thermostat/timer or something "inside" abruptly stopped perking for the insufficient length of time (3 days ago). It was originally purchased onsite at store. I'll be checking garage shortly for box, and -hopefully- the receipt placed within the original carton as well. It started out such a nice percolator. I actually timed this today: 12 cups (12 minutes) ended 4 minutes early. Now, the question is what to purchase instead. I've heard the Farberware model is NOT what it used to be...which is reason I did purchase this model. HELP!?

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cimarronshopper
Heartland
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
AWESOME percolator!
10/3/2010

Customer review by Pbmitch

5.0 stars 10/3/2010 by Pbmitch
by Pbmitch

My wife and I were looking for a new coffeepot- when were tuned in to percolators. We had set an astronomical budget for one of the newer coffee makers- but took a gamble on this percolator. BOY was that a good gamble! The GE makes fantastic coffee. Following the advice of other posts, we use regular Folgers pre-ground coffee and standard drip-style coffee filters. All you need to do is fold the standard filter in half- then in half again- to get a quarter circle fold- then just cut the bare tip off the filter to create the little hole for the percolator center rod. Cheap and easy. Buy this product.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pbmitch
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE it!
4/4/2010

Customer review by Honeycombe

5.0 stars 4/4/2010 by Honeycombe
by Honeycombe

I've tried 3 percolators of another brand in recent years. All 3 went bad: thermostat failed in two, and one shorted out. Before giving up on percolators entirely, I thought I'd try this one. I was not disappointed. So far, so good. I've had it several months, and I use it every day. It makes terrific coffee! (and I'm an expert of sorts on coffee, having been drinking it daily since age 10). The perc is so great that I can use fewer coffee grounds than I have in recent years and still get hot, strong java. It MAY take a minute longer than other percs I've used, but that's okay with me (and why it uses fewer grounds). I'm not sure it does take longer, though. I expect the blue light that turns to green will eventually burn out, but in the meantime, I love the glowing lights that tell me when it's ready, and remind me that it's still plugged in. I didn't check 5 for appearance because altho it has a traditional percolator appearance in some respects, it is also a moder appearance, which isn't quite my style. But oddly enuf, I've grown to even like the appearance. The coffee stays hot in the pot for several hours (plugged in) without it getting all burnt tasting (but I try not to leave it plugged in that long). It's very easy to clean; the brushed silver is much better than the glossy stainless of some other percolators. I would recommend this perc to any other coffee lover. It is a good value and makes wonderful coffee.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Honeycombe
TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice Percolator With Couple Drawbacks
12/28/2009

Customer review by hanginginwi

4.0 stars 12/28/2009 by hanginginwi
by hanginginwi

First off - let me say overall I'm pleased with this product and I would purchase it again. This was the ONLY electric 12-cup stainless steel percolator I could find on the market that still is made with a GLASS top instead of a cheap plastic one. It makes HOT, strong coffee as quickly as a drip coffee maker. The flavor is slightly bitter, as expected with a percolator, but I actually prefer it to drip coffee as it is always hot and strong every morning - not as many trips to the microwave to warm the coffee up that you just made. A few gripes: GE: I wish you would offer a submersible model so this would be easier to clean. Also, I've only had it a month and the blue 'ready' indicator light already doesn't work - it always stays green instead of turning to blue when the coffee is done brewing like it used to. This is minor, but an annoyance. Also, there is a weird thing it seems to do...if you go more than 2 days without cleaning the inside of the percolator and the interior parts with dishsoap, something seems to get 'stuck' when it percolates and it becomes a lot noisier as well as not percolating as frequently. It might just be some little glitch in the one I have? I always rinse it out everyday, but I used to not actually wash it out with soap everyday until it started routinely doing that. Last of all, be sure you only fill the water level up to the 12 mark - I made a mistake of going a little above that and it started percolating out of the spout!! Wasn't pretty!!

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hanginginwi
Eau Claire, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
another perc pot
11/2/2010

Customer review by huskerbacker

4.0 stars 11/2/2010 by huskerbacker
by huskerbacker

Well this is my 3rd GE perc coffee pot in about 3 years. Just bought this new style yesterday. Seems in three pots made so far to make stronger coffee so I can cut back on grounds alittle. Perc seems to last 12-15 months per pot before they give in with everyday use. I can't stand drip fast colored water coffee makers. Was cheaper in Walmart store by about $8. My wife CANNOT go without her coffee..

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
huskerbacker
spring, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/4/2011

Customer review by canlcain

2.0 stars 12/4/2011 by canlcain
by canlcain

This was great while it worked. I usually only get the extra insurance if products are over $50. Plus it had the GE brand. Well after 4 weeks of really good coffee it stopped working. Really disappointed cause we only used it on the weekends. We use a two cup brewer during the week just to have coffee on the go. got up on a Sunday morning and to our big disappointment our percolator was not working. The blue light was on but nothing would happen so now were out $40 and good coffee for now. I have research and looked for the top brand that we will buy this week.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
canlcain
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
made a great pot of coffee the first day!!!
2/16/2011

Customer review by alsin1

1.0 stars 2/16/2011 by alsin1
by alsin1

great, rich pot of coffee on the first day. on the second day when switching from brew mode to ready mode, the thing went crazy. it started boiling the coffee and then blew my circuit breaker. it obviously took out the heating element. returned it the next day --walmart as usual was very gracious .

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
alsin1
illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Don't Waste Your Time or Money!
10/20/2010

Customer review by JoshFanForever

1.0 stars 10/20/2010 by JoshFanForever
by JoshFanForever

I bought this percolator two days ago because the clear top on my Melita broke after many years of use. I was looking for a good value because the Farberware percolators are so expensive. I decided to try the GE after reading all the reviews on here. I picked it up at my local Walmart. Brought it home, cleaned it as suggested and set it up to brew coffee the next morning. I plugged it in the next morning and it made a great pot of coffee. I set it up to do the same the following morning... after plugging it in it started to brew then died after just a minute. It won't work at all. I'm taking it back to Walmart today and buying a Farberware elsewhere. I guess you get what you pay for!

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JoshFanForever
Vero Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 207 total reviews
1-20 of 207 reviews