Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 230 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

230 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

230 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
155
4 stars
43
3 stars
3
2 stars
7
1 stars
22
1-20 of 207 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 207 total reviews
1-20 of 207 reviews
Plastic parts inside and very top heavy
3/7/2011

Customer review by dognostrils

4.0 stars 3/7/2011 by dognostrils
by dognostrils

I purchased this today and was so disappointed to find plastic parts inside where the water level gauge attached. I was looking for a stainless steel percolator that did not have plastic that might leach chemicals into the water. The lid was also a surprise in that the glass insert made the unit very top heavy and just heavy overall. I found the design attractive but the thin metal spout looked cheap, cut straight across and the edge unpolished and crudely shaped.

Was this review helpful? (10) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dognostrils
Would recommend to a friend? No
SHORT life-span percolator (GE 12 cup)
9/21/2010

Customer review by cimarronshopper

2.0 stars 9/21/2010 by cimarronshopper
by cimarronshopper

Less than six month old percolator no longer functions properly. Originally it perked approx one min per cup...and WONDERFULLY hot strong coffee was the result. I did read online elsewhere this model had a problem with a short 'life-span' but I decided to risk it anyway. Well...it was true. It no longer percs the entire time. Results is brown water with no flavor. I DO keep the parts clean, nothing is clogged. The thermostat/timer or something "inside" abruptly stopped perking for the insufficient length of time (3 days ago). It was originally purchased onsite at store. I'll be checking garage shortly for box, and -hopefully- the receipt placed within the original carton as well. It started out such a nice percolator. I actually timed this today: 12 cups (12 minutes) ended 4 minutes early. Now, the question is what to purchase instead. I've heard the Farberware model is NOT what it used to be...which is reason I did purchase this model. HELP!?

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cimarronshopper
Heartland
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
GREAT Coffee!
9/8/2010

Customer review by Debbd817

5.0 stars 9/8/2010 by Debbd817
by Debbd817

I purchased the GE 12 Cup Percolator after having my Farberware Perc stop working after 1 year. The price was great, infact LESS than the 4 Cup Farberware Perc I previously had! I received it in 3 days from ordering and it makes GREAT Coffee! I love the glass top that allows you to see the perc action. I use far less ground coffee too. 2 Heaping scoops for 6 cups. It seems to be well made. It's a little heavier than others I looked at but pours smoothly with no drips. Easy to clean and the brushed finish does not show smudges. It looks great on my counter. I'm very impressed with the quality and especially with the wonderful coffee it makes. The only improvement could be an auto shut off but other than that this Perc is GREAT!

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Debbd817
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Love it!
10/13/2009

Customer review by Granna1

5.0 stars 10/13/2009 by Granna1
by Granna1

Already owned a G.E. Percolator but we are in the process of furnishing our new camper so we purchased another one. This one used much less ground coffee per pot! Also, when it begins perking the ready light comes on "blue", when finished it turns "green". Really like the brushed stainless steel finish . . . matches the fridge!

Was this review helpful? (88) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Granna1
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Exceeded expectations on the perculator
10/24/2010

Customer review by Junebug55

5.0 stars 10/24/2010 by Junebug55
by Junebug55

If you are looking to dump Mr. Coffee, this is the one to do it with. Makes piping hot coffee like grandma used to make and it just tastes good. Best part is, I have it on a timer and it brews an aromatic pot of joe before I awake. Goods news is that it is all stainless...no plastic to taste or taint the coffee beans. Great design with the retro glass dome and percolator sound and makes it very fast. Requires far less coffee therefore your budget goes further.

Was this review helpful? (36) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Junebug55
North Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Excellent Percolator
1/9/2010

Customer review by TheRightProducts2

5.0 stars 1/9/2010 by TheRightProducts2
by TheRightProducts2

I just had to write this review on this percolator I received yesterday. I have to say it is by far the best electric percolator I have tried. I'll go back about 6 months ago, when I first was frustrated with every drip coffee maker I have owned. They simply do not produce hot flavorable coffee, no matter how much you spend, be it $15 dollars or $150 dollars. I was always having to warm the cup of coffee in the microware. What's the point of that? Anyway I decided to embark on a search for the perfect coffee maker. I began to think of the times when my mom made perked coffee on the stove when I was a young kid. I could remember the smell was outstanding. Then I thought to go to Amazon.com and look up percolator products and start to read reviews about what people said. Well needless to say that was the beginning of a whole new world for me. I decided to order the Farberware stove top percolator which I have been using for many months now, and never looked back. I absolutely love, love the coffee. I have it down to a science in the perking and timing and the filters. The only thing is that its makes only 8 cups total or really only 6 cups, so if I have guest I would have to make a second pot. So I decided to look for an electric model of which I have tried in the past 2 weeks, 2 other models one is the Presto, which got great reviews but made horrible coffee, then there was the Farberware, which taste burnt and also horrible coffee. Also the Farberware seems to have faulty malfunctions and breaks within a matter of months. Then I decided to go to Walmart.com and saw the many great reviews on this GE electric Percolator. Wow, what a great cup of coffee, just like my stovetop percolator, it makes hot, flavorful no burnt coffee. It keeps it at the right temperature. I also use coffee disk filters for this. I used Dunkin Donuts coffee and made 2 pots today and both were fabulous. I can't wait to use this for guest, or just on days when I don't want to use the stove top percolator. I hope it will last a long time. All I can say is buy it you wont' be disappointed. Don't waste your money on drip or those new Keurig units. Think of all the waste of paper with those K-cups. I thought we should be recycling? You just wont' get the same flavor or heat you do with perking. Our grandparents knew what they were doing. Sometimes the old fashioned way of doing things are the best. Go for it, before perking becomes non-existent. Hopefully manufacturers will return to the old way of doing things if they see we enjoy this method of coffee that produces a superior cup of java.

Was this review helpful? (224) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheRightProducts2
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
All stainless; easy to clean; brews great coffee!
12/12/2010

Customer review by Roses52

5.0 stars 12/12/2010 by Roses52
by Roses52

We got tired of the drip coffee makers; their paper filters, the way you can't clean the innards. The innards or parts can be put in the dishwasher, the inside of the coffee pot can be cleaned with hot water and a little detergent. I spray some vodka inside and then rinse with hot water one final time and any soap residue rinses right out. Good, clean, well perked tasting coffee every time. My husband didn't think he'd like it but he really loves the coffee from it. The directions state to wet the basket before putting the coffee in. It causes a skin of water that keeps the tiny bits of coffee from falling thru the bottom. It works!

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Roses52
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great coffee pot
9/27/2009

Customer review by mm10970

5.0 stars 9/27/2009 by mm10970
by mm10970

I was replacacing my Farberware Percolator that quit after like 15years. I like the looks of this one and two names you can trust GE and WalMart, Its great coffee is fresh and hot and the glass lid let you see the coffee perking, my house nerver smelled this good in the morning. This pot even works better than the Bunn I wasted my money on<never again, stick with this one and you cant go wrong

Was this review helpful? (116) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mm10970
san antonio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A Great Percolator
2/11/2011

Customer review by mbjarnov

5.0 stars 2/11/2011 by mbjarnov
by mbjarnov

I would highly recommend this product. It is stainless steel and glass. No plastic comes in contact with the coffee. The cover twists off easily and it makes a great cup of coffee in under 15 minutes. I am a Natural Health Practitioner and don't want hot water coming into contact with plastic. Toxins are released and then you're ingesting them. All the other percolators I've seen have had some plastic. This one doesn't and is priced in line with the ones that do. If you're in the market for a percolator, get this one, you won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mbjarnov
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
AWESOME percolator!
10/3/2010

Customer review by Pbmitch

5.0 stars 10/3/2010 by Pbmitch
by Pbmitch

My wife and I were looking for a new coffeepot- when were tuned in to percolators. We had set an astronomical budget for one of the newer coffee makers- but took a gamble on this percolator. BOY was that a good gamble! The GE makes fantastic coffee. Following the advice of other posts, we use regular Folgers pre-ground coffee and standard drip-style coffee filters. All you need to do is fold the standard filter in half- then in half again- to get a quarter circle fold- then just cut the bare tip off the filter to create the little hole for the percolator center rod. Cheap and easy. Buy this product.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pbmitch
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome coffee!
5/23/2010

Customer review by jewelsnametaken

5.0 stars 5/23/2010 by jewelsnametaken
by jewelsnametaken

I don't know why I waited so long to get one of these. I buy a drip coffeemaker every year or two. They wear out that fast. This time I thought I'd try something different and boy so glad that I did. Very easy to assemble and get going. The coffee starts making as soon as you plug it in. The lovely perc sound and aroma of perc coffee quickly fills the house. And the coffee is very hot. I love this pot. No more filters. Also I have not had any problem with grounds getting in my coffee and that includes using ready ground regular coffee. Finally the bottom line. It tastes great! You can have coffeeshop coffee in your own kitchen. Very strong, smooth and tasty. Love it. I will not ever buy another drip maker. One of the other reviewers mentioned the length of the cord as a problem. I don't see it as a problem but as a safety feature. You dont have to worry about anything catching on the cord (like a small child) and pulling it off the counter.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jewelsnametaken
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A very nice product for the money.
10/11/2009

Customer review by Funtrading5950

5.0 stars 10/11/2009 by Funtrading5950
by Funtrading5950

My farberwae percolators kept breaking after a few months. So far, nice product.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Funtrading5950
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product
9/18/2009

Customer review by Phyllislovestoshopatwalmart

5.0 stars 9/18/2009 by Phyllislovestoshopatwalmart
by Phyllislovestoshopatwalmart

Took the pot home and cleaned it then made coffee. Wow! steaming hot, rich and delicious. Made a full pot within the specified time of 12 minutes. Thanks Walmart I love this percolator.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Phyllislovestoshopatwalmart
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love This Percolator
11/23/2009

Customer review by perkqueen

5.0 stars 11/23/2009 by perkqueen
by perkqueen

I've drank perked coffee for the last 30 years and have always purchased the Electric Farberware Pot and for most of those 30 years have been content, but upon replacement of the last pot the new pot failed to perk the coffee very long or perk it very hot and I had noticed over the last few years that the pots just didn't seem to hold up for as long as they use to so I decided maybe I better resort to a drip maker and bought 2 of the cusinart at macys', one being a glass decanter and the other being the new thermos type. Both coffee makers were high end and high priced and they both were returned. Neither pot made a good flavorful coffee, in fact the thermos type while keeping the coffee fairly warm had a worse flavor due to the the plastics and gasket that surrounds the decanter. I tried to give it a few days to adjust to a different flavor figuring when you've drank Perked coffee for years there would be a difference, but I have 3 son in laws that have drip pots and are lower end types and even though I don't like drip makers I can drink the coffee because it is HOT! and has some type of coffee flavor! If coffee is going to be made quickly it definelty needs to be at a higher temp. The higher end cusinart pots both failed miserably. Plus the fact when you leave coffee setting on a hot plate with a glass decanter it does not take long to get a burnt and bitter taste which is why I tried the thermos type. There are not to many stainless steel or for that matter many percolators on the market today and when I seen the GE coffee maker at Walmarts and it was lower priced I thought well I'll ty it, the worst that can happen is I'll have to return it and resort to the fact I may just have to buy some type of drip pot. I remember as a kid staying with my Grandma I would always awake to smell of that perked pot of coffee and the aroma was heavenly. I brought this pot home, washed it, and made my first pot of perked coffee. I can't tell you how happy I am with it! The flavor was great, and the aroma, you could smell it over the entire house. I actually like it better than the Farberware. I have only had it 2 days now and if it preforms and last only a year, its still worth the money, in fact before they become totally obsolete I m thinking about buying another just for a back-up. I don't care about fancy frills, pre-programmed stuff, etc... ,I just want a good hot flavorful full bodied cup of coffee and this pot delivers!!!!!AAA++++. I think it may take a few minutes more to perk than the old one...........but thats ok.......I think you get a better flavor Coffee!!!! I have to say to sum everything up, sometimes more expensive and big dept stores are not better. I love the pot and the price A++++

Was this review helpful? (109) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
perkqueen
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Moms Coffee
6/7/2010

Customer review by machinegunmomma

5.0 stars 6/7/2010 by machinegunmomma
by machinegunmomma

Yes! Now this is how coffee should taste, just like mom used to make it! Don't be fooled by the experts, they will tell you the Percolator coffee pot makes coffee bitter, NOT TRUE. I actualy didn't even realize how bitter the drip coffee's were compared to this pot's coffee. WOW what a diffrence this makes. The only problem I have yet experienced is figuring out the type of coffee good for these pots- I ended up bying a coffee grinder to make my own and its better then you can know unless you try it. Most coffees are made for drip pots, they can work but self grinding is better for these pots.. This pot does not have an off and on switch so your coffee stays hot while its plugged in. However having said that, I unplugged it one day as no one else was going to be drinking any coffee then 4 hrs later went to make a fresh pot for hubby and I'll be darned, but the coffee in the pot unplugged for 4 hr was still hot! Overall we love it so far- and one BIG PLUS is pouring the coffee no more drippy messes that the drip pots make, LOVE IT!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
machinegunmomma
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Short-lived enjoyment
1/6/2011

Customer review by jandap

1.0 stars 1/6/2011 by jandap
by jandap

This product was purchased for my husband for Christmas. He loved it because he said it made a great pot of coffee. I loved it because of the brushed finish and looked nice on my counter. However, after 3 days, the coffee pot quit working. I returned it to Walmart and they gave me a refund. Since we liked the product, and trusted the name GE, we decided to buy the exact model and give it another shot. BIG MISTAKE. We purchased the second percolator on a Friday, and it quit working the following Thursday. We will NOT be purchasing another GE appliance. Very disappointing, and very frustrating!!!

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jandap
Heber Springs, AR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
7/26/2011

Customer review by risingsun9365

4.0 stars 7/26/2011 by risingsun9365
by risingsun9365

I have always loved the taste of perculated coffee. Even my camp coffee pot is a perc. After many years of having the "drip" kind, I longed for the smell and the sound of a perculator. I finally found the GE at walmart and balked a bit at the 40.00 price tag, but did it anyway. I was thrilled to death when I plugged it in and instantly it started to bubble. The aroma of fresh perc coffee had me going. I love this pot, but it does have a few draw backs that I took the chance on. After about 6 months the green ready light quit working, but that was just a minor problem, and then last week, it just stopped working all together. I admit I am a little bit disappointed in that this pot hasn't lasted even one year yet. I really did expect a product from GE to be a little bit more durable than this. I wish I could find the parts to my moms old Corning ware pot, last I heard, that thing was still working up until the cord was accidently lost,.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
risingsun9365
Peru, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/4/2011

Customer review by canlcain

2.0 stars 12/4/2011 by canlcain
by canlcain

This was great while it worked. I usually only get the extra insurance if products are over $50. Plus it had the GE brand. Well after 4 weeks of really good coffee it stopped working. Really disappointed cause we only used it on the weekends. We use a two cup brewer during the week just to have coffee on the go. got up on a Sunday morning and to our big disappointment our percolator was not working. The blue light was on but nothing would happen so now were out $40 and good coffee for now. I have research and looked for the top brand that we will buy this week.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
canlcain
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Java Nirvana
5/25/2010

Customer review by Fizbi

5.0 stars 5/25/2010 by Fizbi
by Fizbi

When I was a kid, I always watched the family coffee pot percolate. It was mystery and music rolled into one. Then came Mr. Coffee, killing traditional percolators in the automated kitchens across America. Finally, GE and Wal-Mart to the rescue. I am now happy to report that my own family now owns an honest to God coffee maker. The tradition lives once again, gracing my kitchen with the sights, sounds, and smells of fresh coffee percolating in a *REAL* coffee pot. I have to say that GE has made me a very happy coffee drinker. I absolutely love this new coffee pot. The construction is just marvelous. The basket that holds the grounds has markings to assist in adding the right amount of coffee for the number of cups you wish to brew. Solid construction all around. Pros: Well built, solid stainless steel construction. Coffee brews hot and stays hot. Lid locks down to prevent accidental spills. BIG glass top so you can watch all the action. Cons: Power cord (about two feet) way too short. GE should have removed the water level indicator and provided a longer power cord. I guess GE decided it was less expensive to provide a nearly worthless power cord to save a few pennies. You can "upgrade" to a longer cord if needed as any three pronged computer style cord should work, or just add a good quality three pronged extension cord. If you have never owned this style of pot, be advised that you may see some coffee grounds in your coffee as it does not use a paper filter. This is to be expected and is normal. If you cannot live with this, then I suggest you stick with a drip coffee maker. I got tired of replacing broken glass and plastic coffee makers. Overall: Well done GE. I have no regrets in purchasing this pot. I look forward to many years of freshly brewed hot coffee in a beautifully designed and elegant looking coffee pot. I give this product no less than 5-Stars!

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fizbi
Casper, WY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Buy it.....but............
1/7/2012

Customer review by Vikker

2.0 stars 1/7/2012 by Vikker
by Vikker

We purchased this brand in store....twice. Both coffee pots made good perked coffee, for the time that the thermostat worked. Too bad. Also Farberware...we purchased from another store, and the thermostat had to be replaced two times. Finally, we contacted the manufacturer and they sent a new one. that lasted about 4 months. Thermostats on some of these brands do not last.. So, if you want to purchase this, go ahead, but don't be surprized if the thermostat goes bad. Clue would be the pot doesn't perk as long....the coffee doesn't seem to be as hot as it used to be, or the coffee doesn't taste very good (because the thermostat is going bad). If any of this happens, take the pot back to the store, before the warranty runs out....and/or contact the manufactuer.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Vikker
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
1-20 of 207 total reviews
1-20 of 207 reviews