Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 92 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

92 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

92 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

74%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
46
4 stars
17
3 stars
8
2 stars
8
1 stars
13
1-20 of 71 total reviews
74%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 71 total reviews
1-20 of 71 reviews
An everyday product with deficiences
11/13/2009

Customer review by HPres

2.0 stars 11/13/2009 by HPres
by HPres

On 11/08/09, when my old two slice toaster called it quits, I decided that I needed to rush to the store to purchase a replacement. I found the Hamilton Beach Cool-Touch 2 Slice Toaster at Walmart and purchased it because of its simplicity and price. Almost immediately I became aware of its defects. The power cord is too short. It is connected below the settings dial instead of at the rear of the toaster. The settings dial, although it can be rotated from 1-5 either toasts too light or too dark. I have burnt several pieces of waffles and bagels. The push down lever, once pushed down to toast, can only be raised if the power cord is disconnected from the electric outlet. With my old toaster you could push the lever up to remove the toast rather than disconnet the power cord from the electric outlet.

Was this review helpful? (123) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HPres
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
simple is good
6/24/2009

Customer review by bpaw

5.0 stars 6/24/2009 by bpaw
by bpaw

I purchased this toaster to repace a fancy 4 slice model that had all kinds of features. The fancy 4 slice model didn't toast worth a darn. I didn't like the 4 slice toaster (quite a bit more money too) and wanted a smaller 2 slice for more counter space. This little gem does what a toaster is suppose to do...toast, and it does it well.

Was this review helpful? (121) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bpaw
Durand MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Bargain not a bargain
3/26/2009

Customer review by BurlCoShopper

1.0 stars 3/26/2009 by BurlCoShopper
by BurlCoShopper

Cord is poorly positioned; often under a corner leg. No quick release, forces you to pull the plug. Once dial is set for higher shading, cannot be reset lower to eject toast quickly. Heating elements heated unevenly. Misses the mark.

Was this review helpful? (54) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BurlCoShopper
Burlington, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great toaster
10/1/2009

Customer review by Rubysmaudie

5.0 stars 10/1/2009 by Rubysmaudie
by Rubysmaudie

Toasts to perfection, easy to use and clean. Also toasts bagels with no problem.

Was this review helpful? (52) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rubysmaudie
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
DO NOT BUY-H.B. (2 Slice) Toaster
4/30/2011

Customer review by 123momOFtwo

1.0 stars 4/30/2011 by 123momOFtwo
by 123momOFtwo

This is the worst toaster ever! I bought this toaster to replace one that I had for 15 years. I made toast for my family for breakfast this morning and it was really awful. The toast is burnt at the top and not even started to turn brown at the bottom of the slice of bread. I adjusted the knob and it got worse. The cord too short because it is on the wrong side of the toaster. It is in the front instead of the back. I like the way it looks. It is the only good thing about this toaster.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
123momOFtwo
Somerset, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best toaster!
11/11/2013

Customer review by the1derf

5.0 stars 11/11/2013 by the1derf
by the1derf

I am picky about crisp but not burnt toast. This toaster does it just right. Cool to the touch with several adjustable settings. Can even use this for waffles, pancakes, bagels, etc. Easy to clean. Oh, and by the way, it looks great on the table or counter. Walmart's price is great for this great toaster.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
the1derf
St Louis MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bad engineering
11/23/2008

Customer review by geaser

2.0 stars 11/23/2008 by geaser
by geaser

Power cord is at wrong end of toaster reducing the distance it can get from the outlet. Inorder to keep cord out of way you have to place it under the toaster.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
geaser
washington
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A good basic toaster
12/2/2013

Customer review by NMWeatherman

4.0 stars 12/2/2013 by NMWeatherman
by NMWeatherman

Except for what I call design flaws this is a good-looking and affordable basic toaster. One flaw is that the cord comes out the front end, and it should come out the back. I solved this by routing the cord out the left of the front knobs. Another flaw is that the crumb tray doesn't slide out, so you have to hold the toaster sideways to pop it open underneath. But I like it that the bread-lowering slide knob pushes down with a very light touch, and it is truly a cool-touch toaster...the sides stay nicely cool while toasting. All in all I am very satisfied with how it performs and the price.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NMWeatherman
Albuquerque NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Who makes a good toaster?
6/5/2009

Customer review by PamT

2.0 stars 6/5/2009 by PamT
by PamT

I can't tell you how disappointing it is to try to find a good toaster nowadays. Although this toaster was inexpensive, it looked great and accommodated large bread slices from the bread machine. It is true what a previous review stated, the cord is awkwardly placed. The down lever is cheaply made and so is the toast level button. I think I used this toaster a maximum of a dozen times and already the down lever is broken, apparently the spring has detached and the lever will not stay down. Unfortunately I do not have the box or the receipt to return it. What a waste of money this was. Buyer beware! By the way, I've seen this exact toaster under the Proctor-Silex brand, so I'd beware of that one too.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PamT
Northwest WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Select a setting, roll the dice...
1/11/2014

Customer review by stayathomedad75

2.0 stars 1/11/2014 by stayathomedad75
by stayathomedad75

This toaster is handsome in chrome and black plastic, and it's true to its claim of 'cool touch', but those are its highlights; it may well be the most basic of a toasting appliance. We were skeptical when we peered into the toaster and saw uneven, unbalanced filaments on the toasting plates. And after testing many pieces of thick-sliced, store bakery bread we weren't surprised to find uneven heating at several different browning levels. The best piece displayed even toasting on the face of the bread, but edges and sections were scorched. To add concern, the temperature knob and engagement lever were both quite shaky and delicate. This unit will definitely do the job of toasting bread, but it will do it on its own terms and you must accept its output-- you are not in control.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stayathomedad75
Toledo, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT
6/30/2012

Customer review by Chloe1130

1.0 stars 6/30/2012 by Chloe1130
by Chloe1130

This had to be one of the worst purchases I ever made. The only reason I didn't return it is I wanted to give it a fair chance and I must either have the patience of a saint or the determination to not give up until I get it right. The toaster wins....I give up!! I bought a newer model than the one pictured, it does have a cancel button which I used once. First try: A bagel.....After 3 tries set at #4 as reccommended, the bagel was still white and totally dried out. Second try: Bagel..... Same as above, white and dry, but set at #5. Third through eighth tries: English Muffins...Same as for bagels, it never did toast, it just dehydrated the English Muffins. I tried various settings from 1 to 5 and none worked to expectations. Try #9: White bread....success, sort of. I set it on 5 and watched it closely. I used the cancel button when I thought it was golden brown and I had guessed correctly. So far so good, until I tried to butter it and it crumbled like a potato chip. The bread was totally dried out. Tenth and final try: Thin sliced Rye bread: I should have learned my lesson before I even tried. The Kingsford Charcoal company would have been proud of me for creating the perfect briquettes. I'm sure I've tried it too many times and I've kept it too long to attempt to return it; therefore it's destined for the dump.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chloe1130
Gray, ME
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Value
10/14/2009

Customer review by Shopping325

5.0 stars 10/14/2009 by Shopping325
by Shopping325

It is a great value for the money. It matches very well with our other stainless steel appliances. We have enjoyed using it.

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shopping325
Naples, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
It's a Toaster
8/10/2009

Customer review by CJanelleN

5.0 stars 8/10/2009 by CJanelleN
by CJanelleN

It's a toaster..... and it toasts bread, bagels, waffles, etc. It does it's job, I'm satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CJanelleN
Flint, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
good buy for basics
3/25/2009

Customer review by gretchie

4.0 stars 3/25/2009 by gretchie
by gretchie

This toaster has been a good buy for what I need. The only issue that I have noticed is that it is hard to pop the toast up manually you have to push on the knob pretty hard and then the toast comes flying out. The slots are nice and wide, a bagel or wide bread would fit great no concern there. I am very happy with this toaster.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gretchie
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Toaster for Small Price
3/14/2014

Customer review by wizkid2be

4.0 stars 3/14/2014 by wizkid2be
by wizkid2be

This is my second purchase of this model. I unintentionally damaged the first one by attempting to clean around the heating coils. I will never do that again. Anyway, my first toaster I had for over 1 year and it never failed me, toasted everything nicely. The same is true of my second one. I have had my second one for about 1 week now without any problems. It is a great value for $14.95 and roomy enough to easily hold thick bagels and toast alike. The dial to adjust darkness is sensitive enough to adjust settings at 1/2 marks for example 1 / 1.5 / 2 / 2.5 / etc and it slightly increases darkness at each setting. There are models (none less expensive than this one) that cost more but they do not have any more features than this one unless you go into high $30 or more. Realistically, it is a toaster! How fancy can you go with it. This one does the job, pops quietly, toasts accurately and is a great deal price wise. There is no warranty offered on this model just FYI.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wizkid2be
Temple City, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
did not toast consistantly
1/30/2014

Customer review by colominilover

1.0 stars 1/30/2014 by colominilover
by colominilover

Set toaster on lowest toast number, one, got nicely browned toast. Next set of toast was burnt. The toaster quit working after about 8 months.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
colominilover
eastern CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Don't Buy!
11/13/2010

Customer review by Christine412

1.0 stars 11/13/2010 by Christine412
by Christine412

This toaster worked fine the first two times I used it. After that it has been hit or miss. The toaster literally works every other time it is used. In order to make the toast you have to stand there and hold the lever. When it does work there is no Cancel button if you feel the toast has been in too long. I went with this toaster because it was a little more expensive and looked better than others in the store. Now I am wishing I would've gone with a cheaper model that actually works.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Christine412
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It broke after three weeks...
2/1/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 2/1/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This toaster had three things going for it - it was inexpensive, it was cool to the touch, and it was small, even for a two slicer. Unfortunately, the latch holding down the toaster plates broke after three weeks, making the toaster inoperable. I used it once or twice a day, and I did not handle it roughly. No excuse for the breakage. I won't be buying this model again.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I am returning this product
2/15/2013

Customer review by csulli

1.0 stars 2/15/2013 by csulli
by csulli

I purchased this toaster yesterday. Only the bottom crust was toasted. Nothing above that. I tried again by turning the dial to the highest setting. Same portion was toasted this time it was brown. If you like warm bread this should do the trick but if you want toast this is not how to get it. I am returning this product.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
csulli
michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Like my new toaster
12/2/2011

Customer review by bluejay6537

5.0 stars 12/2/2011 by bluejay6537
by bluejay6537

Yes, it has a little quirk, it has a shorter cord, which is under the dial for setting how light/dark you want your toast. Weird? yeah, but about the only thing on it that I found "off". I saw the one reviewer saying how when the handle is pressed down that it cannot be stopped or pressed back up unless unplugged. There is a "cancel" button right next to the setting dial for how light/dark you want your toast, or whatever else it is that is in the toaster. Press the cancel button and the bread/waffle/bagel pops right up. My old toaster wouldn't toast bread evenly. Top would be dark, almost burnt, while the bottom not toasted at all. With this toaster, it's even. I'm totally satisfied with it. :)

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bluejay6537
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 71 total reviews
1-20 of 71 reviews