Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 305 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

305 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

305 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
1-20 of 302 total reviews
Would recommend to a friend



1-20 of 302 total reviews
1-20 of 302 reviews
Great Camera for the price and features!

Customer review by PTNDSLR

5.0 stars 9/11/2010 by PTNDSLR
Top 25 contributor

I just received my new Canon 50D. I have to say that I am in love with this camera, no, it's not perfect. I would have loved to see a full frame CMOS sensor, but I can't have everything and price too! I find the images to be crisp and clear and the operation easy to use. I have shot over 300 pictures with this camera so far and I am very happy with the quality of images, especially at the high ISOs. I also gave it to a novice photographer to use on Thanksgiving and they loved it as well and had no problem operating the camera A couple of nitpicks - First, on the new CA mode, I completely understand the need for this setting, there are many people picking up these cameras who have never used an SLR before and don't understand aperture or shutter speed. However, this feature is only as good as the lens. If someone is using a lens that doesn't have an aperture of 2.8 or 1.4 then they won't get the background to be too blurred. Second, the exposure compensation is now on the rear dial, this is more a preference and I will most likely get use to it, in time :). ETA: Another thing that would have been nice is a video setting like the 5D and the Nikon D90. But again, you can't have everything. One of the most impressive things to me was how it handles low light situations. I shot at the full range of ISOs and liked how the camera handled color, sharpness, and tone. I see many reviews saying that Nikon or other cameras hold up better in low light, that might be so, but that doesn't make the 50D horrible or bad, it makes it different. I don't suspect that people are taking low light pictures at the ISO setting 3200 or even 1600 all the time, if they are, then I might recommend a lens change, something is wrong. And just a note -- to add light on the whole sensor/processor thing- look at it from this prospective film photographers will be disappointed because this camera wouldn't be able to compare against Kodachrome 25 ISO where you don't see grain at all or to the big bold grain of the Konica 3200 ISO - Nor can it fully replicate the Kodak/Konica infrared film where exposure was a best guess. So, in other words you can't please everyone. So choosing a camera body is like choosing film in the old days, each has their own uniqueness about it, but unlike film, you can't change easily. I consider myself a photographer having been shooting for well over 25 years, and have basically shot everything from 8X10 cameras to Polaroid Land Cameras (pull apart). I have used Holgas to Hasselblads. I have had access to some type of Digital Camera since Kodak came out with the Digital Nikon F3 with a top resolution was 1.3mp. I remembered when Kodak dropped the price of their pro-digital cameras from 25,000 to 10,000 that was something! Well a big woopie do for me, so, I have been around. The reason why I am telling you all this, is not to impress you, but hopefully you will listen to some advice. I wasn't only a photographer but I sold high-end equipment. In the end you have to feel comfortable with whatever you buy, and you have to ask yourself what are the pros and cons of my purchase, can I afford it, and what do I want to do with my equipment? These are all personal reasons and one persons reasons are as valid as anyone else's reasons. One thing about Photography that I learned early on, learn the basics. Learning basic photography before you buy the big wiz bang camera may help you understand what you want to do with the big wiz bang or that you might not need the biggest or bestest wiz bang thingy. A camera is only good as its lens, and with Digital you really have to *marry* both lens and camera. The one pitfall that I see people make is that they buy too much camera and not enough lens. In other words they run before they can walk. From my experience, with a few exceptions (like the 28 - 135 mm F3.5 - 5.6--I think that this is a good lens- or the 24-105 F4 IS), the kit lens, IMHO, are made for a single reason, for cost. They won't give you a bad image, but if great images are what you want, then the lens makes all the difference in the world. In the film days I would say the body doesn't matter (to some extent), buy the lens first and then work your way up to the bigger and better camera. It will help you, cameras with less features will help you understand photography more. Does this mean everyone has to buy a Canon L lens, no, there are some good lenses, but you have to research which ones are right for you. Lens - I saw many reviews about different lens how this one is better than that one. One person couldn't tell the difference between a *lens kit* and an L lens. I would say to the person, you aren't paying attention to the detail and you are paying too much attention to the subject. The L lens system is the best quality glass in the canon system; it's designed to be better than any other lens in the system. L lens are also designed for the working professional. It's made to last and they do. Lens that are in the kit aren't made to last and aren't designed with the working professional in mind, they are designed for people who want to keep cost down. The Canon 50 1.4 and 85 1.8 are, IMHO, the best prime lens on the market. They will give you the best image quality, period. As for the reviews on dpreview and image-resource, they still highly recommend this camera. Neither said that the camera was a horrible camera, nor did they blast it, they said that compared to others that certain features were better.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Top 25 contributor
I love it!

Customer review by WayfromRochester

5.0 stars 12/29/2009 by WayfromRochester
by WayfromRochester

I have Canon 50D camera on my wish list for more than a year and finally bought it before Christmas. The camera is a lot heavier than my old Elan. I like it that way, it gives you a feel iof quality and helps to reduce shake. I love it!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome camera

Customer review by JGJr

5.0 stars 2/24/2010 by JGJr
by JGJr

This is the best camera I have ever had. Nice construction, excellent picture quality.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Wonderful Camera

Customer review by Lenidini

5.0 stars 7/7/2010 by Lenidini
by Lenidini

I Love the Canon EOS 50D. I was very happy with the site to store delivery system and I'm very happy with my camera performance. It's a great camera.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Brownsburg, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
canon 50d dslr

Customer review by aerialphotographer

5.0 stars 5/19/2010 by aerialphotographer
by aerialphotographer

a professional grade quality digital camera.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
corbin ky.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
verry easy to use

Customer review by lucky

5.0 stars 6/17/2011 by lucky
by lucky

I have used this camera more than 18 months for wedding event,I'm telling you that this cam is very easy to use,very easy control,and very good result. the only problem for me is the image shown on LCD is different as shown on PC or Laptop monitor

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Almost magical....

Customer review by HiH

5.0 stars 11/28/2011 by HiH
by HiH

I bought my 50D about a month after its first release in Nov 2008. I have been in love with this camera ever since. I have taken it on many trips with me as well as done specific photo shoots using studio flash units. All have yielded stunning results. Many are publication worthy and wow people regularly. I never use any of the full auto zones, always in at least P mode, if not using Manual to get the shot right. This camera does, at times, tend to meter to the brighter exposure especially at dusk or dimming light. Sometimes its welcome, sometimes not. It requires you to become familiar with it, and then spectacular results follow. Also, always shoot in RAW to get the full benefit from DPP included from Canon. Disappointed greatly that this camera did not get video at release as the 5D Mk II did just a month after this camera was released and was followed by the lower end T1i a couple months later which did get video using the same 15 MP sensor! However, my 50D now does 1080 30fps video thanks to the Magic Lantern project I discovered recently. Amazing what these cameras are capable of!

Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best DSLR available

Customer review by Weston

5.0 stars 7/12/2009 by Weston
by Weston

This camera has endless possibilities. After falling in love with a 70's era FTb SLR I never thought I would find a camera that can take the same quality photos and be as easy to use as the manual cameras. With this camera I can accomplish that and more yet not be limited by the standard problems a digital point and shoot has.

Weston. Ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes

Customer review by US Patriot

5.0 stars 12/15/2010 by US Patriot
by US Patriot

After using friends' Canon DSLRs, I decided to FINALLY break down and purchase one. Having never used a 50D before, I was a little hesitant (used plenty of Rebels, couple late model Marks). Man am I glad I decided to grab it. Menu of course is intuitive, easy to use, and easy to navigate- of course it's basically the same as any other canon menu :) I generally shoot either in AV or TV (or manual when shooting macro) and the quality that I get is PHENOMENAL! Most of my "serious" shooting is either macro or landscape. The b/w shooting mode is superb as well and the photos need very little adjustment in post processing (I generally shoot in RAW). I really could go on and on, but you'd get tired of reading... I have nothing negative to say. To those who use cost as a con- price vs quality on this model is incredibly good. You get what you pay for, and in my opinion, the quality is more like what you would get if you spent double, if that makes sense. THANK YOU, CANON!!

US Patriot
Kansas CIty, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I love this camera

Customer review by kgsirius

5.0 stars 1/19/2009 by kgsirius
by kgsirius

Just recently purchased the 50D after spending considerable time learning about the 40D. Purchased the 50D on sale and I am so glad I did. This camera is incredible. Canon obviously has spent a lot of time planning these improvments from the 40D. I have used the camera so far to shoot a basketball game, a wedding and I'm taking it with me to Washington D.C. The layout of the controls makes using the camera very easy. If your looking for a new DSLR this is the one.

Bronx, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes

Customer review by TTP

5.0 stars 2/20/2009 by TTP
by TTP


Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It is a wonderful

Customer review by mohamed

5.0 stars 6/26/2009 by mohamed
by mohamed

Every day increases my passion for Canon 50 d , I also loved the Arabic language , Thanks canon

Would recommend to a friend? Yes

Customer review by philo bob

5.0 stars 6/13/2009 by philo bob
by philo bob

I have gone from the 20 to the 30 and now I love the 50d. Have taken it on some major shoots i.e. New Mexico and England and it never let me down. I love the live view feature, but haven't used it much; nice to have it available. My main lens is the 24-105L and I must say this would make any body great. I had a problem with the unit getting any power and when i called Canon found out the the problem was the power grip. Cleaned the contacts and it up and running again. One of these days I will move up to the 5d Mark 11. However I have no need for the movie feature.

philo bob
philo, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Camera

Customer review by Oscar

5.0 stars 11/9/2009 by Oscar
by Oscar

I've been using this camera for 3 months now and I am very satisfied. The picture quality is great and it has a great array of lenses.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Camera for the Price

Customer review by Photo

5.0 stars 2/25/2009 by Photo
by Photo

This camera has Excellent Quality images. I am a professional commercial photographer. The Images have good details and very sharp. I took a picture of a can food for one of my jobs. I saw the fine dots on the color print on the can. The Quality is very close as shooting 35mm film camer. I almost can not see any different from the professional 35mm film camer and the 50D.

Hicksville, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No Regrets

Customer review by Nadh

5.0 stars 4/11/2009 by Nadh
by Nadh

This is my second DSLR and I really enjoy this purchase. I am blown away by the rocking performance. I started learning DSLR photography for about an year. Especially once I saw the pictures from this camera, I wanted to learn the photography to get 100% out of this camera features, amazing quality. My wife is using the DSLR first time and she feels very easy to take the picture with the standard functions, she loves the quality. Ofcourse she complaints the heaviness. I am using this for the fast two weeks, trying to learn the capabilities which are many. I love the resolution on the LCD and the fast FPS are great to capture my kids dances, sports and their each moment, particularly my little ones. Though it costs bit more, I never regret of this purchase. I am thinking to purchase the L series lens once I lget good hold on the camera features. I strongly recommend this product even for the starters (like me). It will rock, you love it .

Richmond, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My first time...

Customer review by Growler202

5.0 stars 12/11/2009 by Growler202
by Growler202

After reading a lot of reviews and a lot of shopping on the internet and in stores, I finally decided on the Canon 50D. I think this camera is the easiest to use, including the point and shoots I have owned; G9, G10, G11 and SX10IS. I am a huge Canon fan and cannot wait to use my new 50D on assignment in Japan, Korea, Philippines, Vietnam and China. It will be a long while before I consider purchasing another camera, unless I win lotto so I can afford the absolute top of the Canon range. I do wish Canon would include HD Video in all future cameras.

Grain Valley, Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Why no USB battery charger ?

Customer review by ChipShot

5.0 stars 1/14/2010 by ChipShot
by ChipShot

I have put off writing this review until I found something that I can complain about. I the camera in October of 08 and have shot about 5000 pictures since then. I have also purchased the 17-40 L zoom, a 100-400 L. zoom and just recently the 100mm L stabilized macro lens. I would not have bought all that expensive glass if I didn't like the camera. I am thrilled by the end product. I love it; it's a great camera at a good price. I don't think I need to repeat all of the superlatives of the camera, there are many and they have been enumerated in other reviews, as are the few flaws. But what was a minor irritation has become a real aggravation. I cannot comprehend why the camera does not charge the battery while connected via USB to a computer. In fact the computer sucks power from the camera at a dizzying rate while connected. This has cost me a huge waste of time when a multi-hundred photo download died half way through, and I had to manually go through and delete the already downloaded files (DPP isn't perfect either). Yes, I know I could download directly from the CD card, but it is slower and a lot less convenient to do so. Now I have misplaced my charger, which are probably at the last B&B we stayed at, tucked away in an obscure outlet. My previous camera was a Canon G2, which uses exactly the same BP-511 battery as the 50D. When it was plugged into the computer with the same cable it CHARGED the battery. I have a spare battery that could always be charged overnight and there was not an extra, small piece of equipment to worry about when packing during a road trip. The battery is 7.4 V while the USB supply is 5.0 V. DC to DC converter/chargers are cheap, compact and efficient. The G2 demonstrates that. So why do they integrate the feature into a P&S and not in the DSLRs? There is absolutely no engineering (I am one) reason not to, so it must be a marketing decision. This camera is certainly not alone with this flaw; in fact I believe it is more the rule than the exception for high-end cameras. I am honestly baffled...

Southern Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The Best In This Price Range

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/10/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have had this camera for over a year now and love it. I am a long time fan of Canon cameras. In fact, my old Canon A-1 is still in excellent condition, after over 20 years of faithful service (it has never been repaired). The 50D is amazing. With the right lens, it takes excellent low light photos (not quite as good as my 7D, but close), beautiful landscapes, and high quality portraits. It is solidly built, fast focusing, and easy to handle (for a DSLR). It is supposed to be the backup for my 7D, but I find myself using it as much as the 7D. I don't think you can find a better camera in this price range.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Oustanding for outdoor sports shoots

Customer review by Walt

5.0 stars 2/16/2009 by Walt
by Walt

I produce outdoor television programming and use my new 50D to shoot stills for advertisers. I have a 5D which is excellent, but the 50D is much faster and easier to use when shooting action shots on the water. What a great job Canon has done with this camera.

South Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 302 total reviews
1-20 of 302 reviews