Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 305 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

305 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

305 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
251
4 stars
27
3 stars
7
2 stars
10
1 stars
10
1-20 of 302 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 302 total reviews
1-20 of 302 reviews
Great Camera for the price and features!
9/11/2010

Customer review by PTNDSLR

5.0 stars 9/11/2010 by PTNDSLR
by PTNDSLR

I just received my new Canon 50D. I have to say that I am in love with this camera, no, it's not perfect. I would have loved to see a full frame CMOS sensor, but I can't have everything and price too! I find the images to be crisp and clear and the operation easy to use. I have shot over 300 pictures with this camera so far and I am very happy with the quality of images, especially at the high ISOs. I also gave it to a novice photographer to use on Thanksgiving and they loved it as well and had no problem operating the camera A couple of nitpicks - First, on the new CA mode, I completely understand the need for this setting, there are many people picking up these cameras who have never used an SLR before and don't understand aperture or shutter speed. However, this feature is only as good as the lens. If someone is using a lens that doesn't have an aperture of 2.8 or 1.4 then they won't get the background to be too blurred. Second, the exposure compensation is now on the rear dial, this is more a preference and I will most likely get use to it, in time :). ETA: Another thing that would have been nice is a video setting like the 5D and the Nikon D90. But again, you can't have everything. One of the most impressive things to me was how it handles low light situations. I shot at the full range of ISOs and liked how the camera handled color, sharpness, and tone. I see many reviews saying that Nikon or other cameras hold up better in low light, that might be so, but that doesn't make the 50D horrible or bad, it makes it different. I don't suspect that people are taking low light pictures at the ISO setting 3200 or even 1600 all the time, if they are, then I might recommend a lens change, something is wrong. And just a note -- to add light on the whole sensor/processor thing- look at it from this prospective film photographers will be disappointed because this camera wouldn't be able to compare against Kodachrome 25 ISO where you don't see grain at all or to the big bold grain of the Konica 3200 ISO - Nor can it fully replicate the Kodak/Konica infrared film where exposure was a best guess. So, in other words you can't please everyone. So choosing a camera body is like choosing film in the old days, each has their own uniqueness about it, but unlike film, you can't change easily. I consider myself a photographer having been shooting for well over 25 years, and have basically shot everything from 8X10 cameras to Polaroid Land Cameras (pull apart). I have used Holgas to Hasselblads. I have had access to some type of Digital Camera since Kodak came out with the Digital Nikon F3 with a top resolution was 1.3mp. I remembered when Kodak dropped the price of their pro-digital cameras from 25,000 to 10,000 that was something! Well a big woopie do for me, so, I have been around. The reason why I am telling you all this, is not to impress you, but hopefully you will listen to some advice. I wasn't only a photographer but I sold high-end equipment. In the end you have to feel comfortable with whatever you buy, and you have to ask yourself what are the pros and cons of my purchase, can I afford it, and what do I want to do with my equipment? These are all personal reasons and one persons reasons are as valid as anyone else's reasons. One thing about Photography that I learned early on, learn the basics. Learning basic photography before you buy the big wiz bang camera may help you understand what you want to do with the big wiz bang or that you might not need the biggest or bestest wiz bang thingy. A camera is only good as its lens, and with Digital you really have to *marry* both lens and camera. The one pitfall that I see people make is that they buy too much camera and not enough lens. In other words they run before they can walk. From my experience, with a few exceptions (like the 28 - 135 mm F3.5 - 5.6--I think that this is a good lens- or the 24-105 F4 IS), the kit lens, IMHO, are made for a single reason, for cost. They won't give you a bad image, but if great images are what you want, then the lens makes all the difference in the world. In the film days I would say the body doesn't matter (to some extent), buy the lens first and then work your way up to the bigger and better camera. It will help you, cameras with less features will help you understand photography more. Does this mean everyone has to buy a Canon L lens, no, there are some good lenses, but you have to research which ones are right for you. Lens - I saw many reviews about different lens how this one is better than that one. One person couldn't tell the difference between a *lens kit* and an L lens. I would say to the person, you aren't paying attention to the detail and you are paying too much attention to the subject. The L lens system is the best quality glass in the canon system; it's designed to be better than any other lens in the system. L lens are also designed for the working professional. It's made to last and they do. Lens that are in the kit aren't made to last and aren't designed with the working professional in mind, they are designed for people who want to keep cost down. The Canon 50 1.4 and 85 1.8 are, IMHO, the best prime lens on the market. They will give you the best image quality, period. As for the reviews on dpreview and image-resource, they still highly recommend this camera. Neither said that the camera was a horrible camera, nor did they blast it, they said that compared to others that certain features were better.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PTNDSLR
NC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Top 25 contributor
I love it!
12/29/2009

Customer review by WayfromRochester

5.0 stars 12/29/2009 by WayfromRochester
by WayfromRochester

I have Canon 50D camera on my wish list for more than a year and finally bought it before Christmas. The camera is a lot heavier than my old Elan. I like it that way, it gives you a feel iof quality and helps to reduce shake. I love it!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WayfromRochester
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome camera
2/24/2010

Customer review by JGJr

5.0 stars 2/24/2010 by JGJr
by JGJr

This is the best camera I have ever had. Nice construction, excellent picture quality.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JGJr
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Wonderful Camera
7/7/2010

Customer review by Lenidini

5.0 stars 7/7/2010 by Lenidini
by Lenidini

I Love the Canon EOS 50D. I was very happy with the site to store delivery system and I'm very happy with my camera performance. It's a great camera.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lenidini
Brownsburg, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
canon 50d dslr
5/19/2010

Customer review by aerialphotographer

5.0 stars 5/19/2010 by aerialphotographer
by aerialphotographer

a professional grade quality digital camera.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aerialphotographer
corbin ky.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
verry easy to use
6/17/2011

Customer review by lucky

5.0 stars 6/17/2011 by lucky
by lucky

I have used this camera more than 18 months for wedding event,I'm telling you that this cam is very easy to use,very easy control,and very good result. the only problem for me is the image shown on LCD is different as shown on PC or Laptop monitor

lucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Almost magical....
11/28/2011

Customer review by HiH

5.0 stars 11/28/2011 by HiH
by HiH

I bought my 50D about a month after its first release in Nov 2008. I have been in love with this camera ever since. I have taken it on many trips with me as well as done specific photo shoots using studio flash units. All have yielded stunning results. Many are publication worthy and wow people regularly. I never use any of the full auto zones, always in at least P mode, if not using Manual to get the shot right. This camera does, at times, tend to meter to the brighter exposure especially at dusk or dimming light. Sometimes its welcome, sometimes not. It requires you to become familiar with it, and then spectacular results follow. Also, always shoot in RAW to get the full benefit from DPP included from Canon. Disappointed greatly that this camera did not get video at release as the 5D Mk II did just a month after this camera was released and was followed by the lower end T1i a couple months later which did get video using the same 15 MP sensor! However, my 50D now does 1080 30fps video thanks to the Magic Lantern project I discovered recently. Amazing what these cameras are capable of!

HiH
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Canon 50D
4/30/2009

Customer review by King Louie

5.0 stars 4/30/2009 by King Louie
by King Louie

I replaced my Digital Rebel with the Canon 50D, which was a long time waiting. I have been taking photos for over 30 years--going from film to digital--total transformation. The Canon 50D exceeded my expectations and over-whelmed with its quality and features. I am like a kid at Christmas again. Thank you Canon.

King Louie
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
They keep getting better
2/14/2009

Customer review by photopro

5.0 stars 2/14/2009 by photopro
by photopro

I have a 5D, a 20D, a 30D, and now, happily, a 50D. They keep getting better. Menus are getting easier to use and the 3200 ISO works like a charm. I shot a band last night in fairly low light and got excellent results without flash. I shoot a lot of drag racing with my 70-200 f2.8 IS lens and am getting superb results. The shutter is a tad noisy, but not any noisier than the 20D or 30D. My 5D is quieter, but it should be. My biggest attaboy is because my battery grip still fits, unlike some other brands.

photopro
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this camera, especially with L lenses
3/18/2009

Customer review by MB

5.0 stars 3/18/2009 by MB
by MB

I am very pleased with this camera. It is a great upgrade from my 20D. At first, I was not happy with the image quality using the EF-S18-200 IS lens, or my EF-S 17-85 IS, so I bought the EF 24-105 L lens. I also shoot with the 100-400 L lens. The L lenses really improve image quality! I am now very pleased that I chose this camera over full frame. It's perfect for sports, wildlife and family photos!

MB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
50D from xti...decent upgrade.
12/8/2008

Customer review by RobC

5.0 stars 12/8/2008 by RobC
by RobC

Moving up from an xti was a decent upgrade (faster FPS, higher ISO, more MP, larger/better LCD, much better feel in my hands). I really like the additional function wheel on the back as well as the display of the most used features (ISO, Focus Points, Exp Comp, etc). Quickly can glance and see major settings without looking at the top LCD as much. The responsiveness is very nice on the 50D as well. The xti was good, but this is so quick (focus, shoot, startup, etc).

RobC
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nothing wrong
12/21/2008

Customer review by Patrick

5.0 stars 12/21/2008 by Patrick
by Patrick

I don't know where all these people with low reviews are coming from. You get what you pay for. I upgraded to a 50d from a 40d and think it was worth the price. I am very satisfied with this camera. I have had no problem with my battery life infact I am always surprised how long it lasts. I do not use live view very often but who does.

Patrick
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
An elite of its own for a prosumer camera
3/7/2010

Customer review by Pat

5.0 stars 3/7/2010 by Pat
by Pat

Canon has took an excellent leap forward with the 7D. I was going to purchase the 50D, now I'm glad I waited. I really enjoy the all the updated features, expecially photographing action sports. You'll have more control in how your images will look. The only downside is the body and single CF slot.

Pat
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good
2/14/2009

Customer review by rdm2

5.0 stars 2/14/2009 by rdm2
by rdm2

needs simple directions, plain english. needs a filter with it too on kits.

rdm2
Mulvane Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Alaska with 50D
10/25/2009

Customer review by W00kie

5.0 stars 10/25/2009 by W00kie
by W00kie

Since I purchased the Canon 50D my time in Alaska has iimproved dragstily the photos that I sent to family and friends have had and remarkable incressed asking if they were photoshop before sending them, sharper and clear than ever. Time lag photo of the night light(Auoria) are just breath taking. I really enjoy my 50D. W00kie

W00kie
Anchorage Alaska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
AWESOME!
2/15/2009

Customer review by GTRMAN

5.0 stars 2/15/2009 by GTRMAN
by GTRMAN

I love this camera! This is my 1st DSLR and am amazed at the quality of the photos I now take. I've taken photos that make me look like a pro, & I'm a novice with DSLR. I have never enjoyed photography like I do now. I have big hands so it's nice to hold a camera that fits my hands. The controls are layed out well & has all the features I could possibly need. It's much easier to use than one would think looking at the manual & all of it's features, but Canon put it together in such a way that simplifies it in a way that makes sense instead of confuse like other makers do. I can concentrate on taking pictures & don't have to worry about complicated controls.

GTRMAN
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Absolutely Great Camera
11/9/2009

Customer review by Ron B.

5.0 stars 11/9/2009 by Ron B.
by Ron B.

After the reviews in several US and British camera magazines, I went to the Canon e-Store and purchased the 50D. This is an u[upgrade from the XTi that I have been using for the last couple of years. The 50D has provided me with everything I wanted and needed in a DSLR and a camera that I will continue to grow with. The 28-135 MM IS lenses coupled with the fast auto focus system provide superb 15 meg pixel images. In the last couple of months, in my business and personal use I have shot over 6000 images and everyone has been perfect. The battery life is exceptional and recharge with the provided charger is fast. All in all a great photography system

Ron B.
Atlanta, ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
You will be very happy
2/15/2009

Customer review by proshooter

5.0 stars 2/15/2009 by proshooter
by proshooter

I upgraded to 50D from 40D, one of the features that I value to most is the micro-adjustment. I can calibrate the lens my-self insead of sending it Canon, Irvine. Another feature I love dearly is the crop-ability of the image. I have some pictures cropped 80% out and still able to print to a decent size. You will be happy with this camera!

proshooter
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Purchase Ever
5/30/2009

Customer review by no

5.0 stars 5/30/2009 by no
by no

it's great!!! it's great!!! it's great!!! it's great!!!

no
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome
2/20/2009

Customer review by Smacko

5.0 stars 2/20/2009 by Smacko
by Smacko

Upgraded from 20D,  Worth every cent,  Clarity and speed and incredible,

Smacko
West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 302 total reviews
1-20 of 302 reviews