Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 851 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

851 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

851 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
699
4 stars
119
3 stars
20
2 stars
8
1 stars
5
1-20 of 837 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 837 total reviews
1-20 of 837 reviews
Powershred 79Ci
11/17/2015

Customer review by greg1009

4.0 stars 11/17/2015 by greg1009
by greg1009

Best shredder I ever bought; it's powerful, quiet and reliable.

greg1009
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it.
6/2/2013

Customer review by CCatalina

5.0 stars 6/2/2013 by CCatalina
by CCatalina

Am in the middle of getting rid of years (and I mean years) of accumulated old household paperwork, including copies cancelled checks, receipts etc. that I had stored away. I have shredded 8 full lawn garbage size bags of old papers of varying sizes using this shredder so far without problems and have a couple more to go. This shredder's performance has been terrific with no jams and I only had to turn it off to cool down one time after three to four hours of non stop shredding. I find it easy to empty and squeeze a few drops of oil along the shredder opening each time I empty the container. I bought a couple of small bottles to keep on hand since I had so much to shred. When I was setting up the shredder initially I had trouble trying to install the castors (they kept falling off). I called the company and they suggested I use a hammer to tap them in which fixed the issue. Am extremely pleased with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CCatalina
Davenport, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Shredder!
8/19/2016

Customer review by Grace

5.0 stars 8/19/2016 by Grace
by Grace
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a great shredder for use in a small office environment. Much more practical than previously purchased brands. The 16 sheet capacity and being jam proof are definite pluses!

Grace
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My First Shredder
8/15/2016

Customer review by Hookey

5.0 stars 8/15/2016 by Hookey
by Hookey

I received the shredder and began using it within a couple of days. It is very easy to use and I have had no problem at all with it.

Hookey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
effective and rugged
6/13/2015

Customer review by hinesville

5.0 stars 6/13/2015 by hinesville
by hinesville

i love this product and it helped me out with about 100 pounds of paper i needed to shred (no joke), but this product had some downfalls it would overheat because the vents where inside near the baggage area. also it would fill rather quick, and it would be hard to put back in because the runners it went on where difficult to wrangle. but it did its job nicely and quickly and i would recommend this product to other people. the thing i would recommend to the fellows staff would be that they should design a more versatile printer that is able to be moved around and can shred without the need for a basket below. like for instance if i wanted to shred over a trashcan for a quicker more efficient job they should design a shredder that can do that or make a mount for trashcans. i feel that this accurately describes this printer. not many pro's were not mentioned for the star review i gave it but it is a very good printer and it should not be overlooked the next time you want to buy one.

hinesville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome Shredder!
1/23/2010

Customer review by MomofHudson

5.0 stars 1/23/2010 by MomofHudson
by MomofHudson

Excellent Value. Does exactly as it claims. Finally a shredder that doesn't break after only a week! Much recommended. Easy to empty, easy to move.

Was this review helpful? (36) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MomofHudson
Hudson, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/10/2009

Customer review by Tammy6

5.0 stars 12/10/2009 by Tammy6
by Tammy6

This shredder is for home use. I have had no problems using it and it is very quiet. I find that I am able to use the plastic bags more than once. The price was the best around also.

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tammy6
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
farmer
7/25/2016

Customer review by farmerjeff

5.0 stars 7/25/2016 by farmerjeff
by farmerjeff

is very quiet and works very well, would recommend it

farmerjeff
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Underwhelmed?
7/7/2010

Customer review by MattO

3.0 stars 7/7/2010 by MattO
by MattO

Not sure what all of the praise is about. It is quiet. It seems powerful. It does shred. On the other hand, it's incredibly messy. It is impossible to empty the bin without spilling shreds on the floor. The bin regularly dislodges, causing it to stop working (a safety feature) until you realign the bin. The full bin sensor is so sensitive it registers a full bin when the bin is only half full-- meaning you have to pull the bin out, spill some shreds, and pat down the trash in order to keep shredding. You have to shred something reasonably thick in order to activate the shredder, for example I cannot shred a single receipt or single sheet of paper-- just too flimsy to activate the shredder. Generally I have to shred at least 3 sheets at a time, and receipts must be fed in with something more substantial. The safety feature that shuts the machine off if your hands touch it is more annoying than useful. I keep tweezers next to the machine to defeat this safeguard.

MattO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Fellowes 79Ci
7/3/2016

Customer review by ShredIt

5.0 stars 7/3/2016 by ShredIt
by ShredIt

The first Fellowes shredder I purchased lasted over 20 years, so I decided to purchase another Fellowes when that one finally bit the dust. The 79Ci is great! It not only does a fantastic job of crosscut into small pieces; it does it with exceptionally quiet operation. I also like the built in safety features, which are a must if there are small children and/or pets around. It may cost a bit more than some of the others, but it is well worth the difference.

ShredIt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Quiet and reliable
11/24/2009

Customer review by pitonyak

5.0 stars 11/24/2009 by pitonyak
by pitonyak

There is little about this shredder to dislike. The only item about which I can complain is that it it can be difficult to close the drawer that catches the paper while I have a bag installed. If I use a bag, however, it does contain all of the mess. I am amazed at my inability to jam this shredder. I even sent through some stock with a narrow thick portion, but when I pressed the forward button, it went right through it. The unit is sufficiently quite that I am able to shred documents while the baby is sleeping. Also, everything is sufficiently contained that I no longer worry about little fingers where they do not belong. Finally, although I have not needed to resort to this, there is a button in the back that I can use to cut all power if a young child becomes unduly interested in the front panel buttons. I am shredding faster and quieter than ever before. The unit handles enough documents at a time, that it can even handle those occasional large shredding runs with that 150 page document in no time at all.

pitonyak
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent product!!!
10/20/2009

Customer review by djbook2000

5.0 stars 10/20/2009 by djbook2000
by djbook2000

i have gone through a number of shredders over the years. this was just going to be another regular $50 shredder purchase until i decided to go up a few levels in quality. AMZAZING!!!! that's all anybody needs to know. it's extremely quiet, but yet at the same time extremely powerful. the sensor for overloading works great!! unlike other shredders, this sensor actually lets you know when you're overloading BEFORE it starts shredding the paper. i also have two kids and the Safesence Technology works unbelievably well. i'm guessing it's heat sensored, but whatever the case may be, the Safesence works so well that not even the tinyest finger can fit in the opening without the shredder turning off it's grinders. quite frankly it's amazing. this machine is the very best shredder you can possibly buy and it's very affordable at the same time. spend the money...it'll save you $ in the long run i promise. shredders don't last forever, but you'll go through 2 or 3 regular shredders before this one gives way, that's for sure.

djbook2000
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome!
7/25/2010

Customer review by SAKFamily

5.0 stars 7/25/2010 by SAKFamily
by SAKFamily

Ths paper shredder costs a little more, but it is solidly built, and super quiet. The jam proof feature is worth every penny as is the sensor for little fingers. We also appreciate the larger bin size so we don't have to empty the bin so frequently. If you are looking at an $80.00 shredder with lesser features and quality I recommend shelling out the extra cash for this one because with the cheaper shredders you are just going to end up buying another one anyway once the motor burns out from being overstuffed.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SAKFamily
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Buy
2/2/2012

Customer review by dfed

5.0 stars 2/2/2012 by dfed
by dfed

I was initially reluctant to spend this much on a home office shredder, but I think that it is well worth the money. I have had it about a month and have shredded a ton of stuff without a single problem. Sometimes, if I put in a little too much it stops but always self-reverses and then gobbles the stuff up. I have never had to clear a jam. Basket capacity is good.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dfed
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Does the Job
9/12/2012

Customer review by bigmac01

4.0 stars 9/12/2012 by bigmac01
by bigmac01

Have used product for two days and only experienced one paper jam, which I was able to clear up quickly. While not silent, it's a lot quieter than the previous shredder I owned. Works as advertised and appears to be a reliable shredder that will offer years of service. Comes with a small vial of lubricant, which is a nice touch. Instructions should inform user to wipe excess lubricant from inside waste bin after applying. Bin fills up quickly. Fellowes includes three, clear recyclable bags to put shredded paper, which is useful. However, the supplied bags are not thick and sturdy, and I had to apply tape on a small tear on one bag after transferring the waste paper. Be sure to use a recyclable bag that is large enough to fit over the waste bin to prevent shredded paper from falling to the floor when emptying the bin. Have not tried shredding credit cards or CDs/DVDs. Will try that later. The 79Ci has had no problems dealing with small staples.

bigmac01
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
One Day Use
4/13/2016

Customer review by Toad

4.0 stars 4/13/2016 by Toad
by Toad

I had a lessor model of Fellows before and I jammed it in a big way. As I opened it up to check on why it croaked, I was impressed by the heavy duty gears. The gear that stripped was a plastic one right off the motor drive gear. A lock pin also jumped off one of the cutter shafts. Although I was disappointed (my wife also) the unit jammed to this extent with stopping first, it does show how tough the shredder components are. I am still curious why my older unit died (W11C) and will dissect (do a post op) further. I also felt it was time for a heavier duty unit. The fact I purchased another Fellow shows that I don't fully blame the older unit for the failure. I shredded a bunch of built-up documents just after putting the new unit together and was pleased with the performance: hope it continues.

Toad
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very happy with purchase
6/16/2016

Customer review by ECtreas

5.0 stars 6/16/2016 by ECtreas
by ECtreas

I just purchased the shredder after reviewing many and trying to purchase where previous was lacking. This seems to be the answer to what I was wanting.

ECtreas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
79Ci 100% Jam Proof Cross-Cut Shredder
3/28/2012

Customer review by alikat68

5.0 stars 3/28/2012 by alikat68
by alikat68

I'm very impressed with this shredder so far. First it is so quiet! I can carry on a conversation, watch tv or listen to the radio with out turning up the volume and I don't disturb the whole house while I'm using it. I really like the anit-jam feature. It literally clears the jams it's self about 99.9% of the time and the and the one or two jams I cleared (after 3 kitchen size garbage bags) was just a flip of the switch. I didn't have to pull the top and pull jammed paper out of the blades. The sensor on how many sheets i put in was a bit touchy. Unless the sheets were perfectly flat it took more like 10-12 sheet and sometimes miss-read even less if there were folds, etc. But that was minor. As long as it lasts longer than my last Fellowes shredder which quit working after 6 months this is a winner. But this was a replacement for that shredder under the warrenty and it was a breeze to get replaced as well. Which is why I stayed with Fellowes. I also like that it has wheels, I can move it to my dad's office and let him use it with ease.

alikat68
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very quite shredder
12/20/2009

Customer review by qualitylabman

5.0 stars 12/20/2009 by qualitylabman
by qualitylabman

I have had many shredders and this is by far the best quality and the most quiet shredder I have ever had. Lots of safety features. I also like that you cant put to many sheets of paper in at one time. It simply wont run if there are to many pieces. Its a bit pricey, but with the quality of Fellowes shredders I expect it to last a long time. Well worth the investment.

Was this review helpful? (17) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
qualitylabman
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Product in every way
6/7/2010

Customer review by OfficeInHome

5.0 stars 6/7/2010 by OfficeInHome
by OfficeInHome

Solid, Quality, surprisingly quiet, small & secure pieces, does what it claims in "Jam-Proof". Includes easy maintanance supplies and instructions to maximize product life and performance. Have a feeling this may be the last shredder I ever need to purchase. Highly satisfied. Well worth the money!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OfficeInHome
Memphis, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 837 total reviews
1-20 of 837 reviews