Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 934 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

934 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

934 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
765
4 stars
132
3 stars
22
2 stars
9
1 stars
6
1-20 of 920 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 920 total reviews
1-20 of 920 reviews
Replaced a Fellowes DM8C
5/23/2017

Customer review by Donz

5.0 stars 5/23/2017 by Donz
by Donz

I finally broke my current Fellowes DM8C shredder that only lasted through 8 years of abuse! Fed more then it's rated number of pages and jammed it often. I put stuff in it that didn't need to fed into a non-commercial shredder. Wasn't aware of need to oil, so it NEVER was oiled. I will treat my new 79ci with more respect and I expect to it will outlast me. I can live with the smaller chad bin considering the new features like safety, anti-jam, and the casters are a real plus.

Donz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Reliable Fellowes
7/4/2010

Customer review by JBJDesigns

5.0 stars 7/4/2010 by JBJDesigns
by JBJDesigns

I purchased a new Fellowes shredder, because the older Fellowes model that served me well over the past 10+ years needed retiring. I never considered another brand other than Fellowes, because not only did I have a reliable home shredder, but also at various financial offices I've worked in used Fellowes shredders. Their reliability and durability for home and small businesses is unsurpassed as far as I'm concerned. I would definitely recommend Fellowes and this particular model, PS-79Ci, for home or small office use. I researched various Fellowes shredder models, and the PS-79Ci came out on top. One important note that most users ignore is oil the machine as often as directed—this shredder will last a long time if the simple maintenance procedures are followed.

JBJDesigns
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Mine must be broken
10/16/2015

Customer review by genedjr

1.0 stars 10/16/2015 by genedjr
by genedjr

I have used Fellows products for years and years and always been more than happy, until I got the 79ci. This is the worst shredder I have ever owned. - The capacity sensors are based on thickness, so wrinkled single sheets cause the sensor to stop shredding - not torque. It will work fine for one junk mail envelope but not another. I must constantly babysit the work and use the "force shred" option to get the jobs done. I really need to take the thing apart and disable the thickness sensor.

genedjr
Would recommend to a friend? No
Years of use
4/2/2014

Customer review by lilmacadoo

5.0 stars 4/2/2014 by lilmacadoo
by lilmacadoo

I am amazed by the quietness of this product! I have used Fellowes for years and have loved the product, the predecessor to this one is a decade or so older and quite loud compared to this model. It also doesn't interfere with my computer display when I use it. I'll definitely consider upgrading the other one I have that I am going to return to my home. Thank you for continuing to surprise me with the quality!

lilmacadoo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The Perfect Office Shredder
6/13/2014

Customer review by CoolHandDuke

5.0 stars 6/13/2014 by CoolHandDuke
by CoolHandDuke

We purchased Powershred® 79Ci to use in our small but growing tech company. We are extremely happy with the performance of this shredder. It's very quiet and does a great job of quickly dispensing our documents. We mostly use if for shredding paper documents and have never had a paper jam. I would definitely recommend this product to others.

CoolHandDuke
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Goodbye 2008-2012
5/16/2013

Customer review by ChredR

5.0 stars 5/16/2013 by ChredR
by ChredR

Hands down the best shredder I've ever owned. The last one broke on me within a week. I had two large trash bags of personal information that I need to get rid of and the 79Ci went through it all in a few hours without a hitch! Only thing I really wish it had would have been an auto feeder but really was a value.

ChredR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I definitely recommend this product!
2/22/2015

Customer review by OpusMHM

5.0 stars 2/22/2015 by OpusMHM
by OpusMHM

I am secure KNOWING that my shreddable paper documentation is SHREDDED!

OpusMHM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it.
6/2/2013

Customer review by CCatalina

5.0 stars 6/2/2013 by CCatalina
by CCatalina

Am in the middle of getting rid of years (and I mean years) of accumulated old household paperwork, including copies cancelled checks, receipts etc. that I had stored away. I have shredded 8 full lawn garbage size bags of old papers of varying sizes using this shredder so far without problems and have a couple more to go. This shredder's performance has been terrific with no jams and I only had to turn it off to cool down one time after three to four hours of non stop shredding. I find it easy to empty and squeeze a few drops of oil along the shredder opening each time I empty the container. I bought a couple of small bottles to keep on hand since I had so much to shred. When I was setting up the shredder initially I had trouble trying to install the castors (they kept falling off). I called the company and they suggested I use a hammer to tap them in which fixed the issue. Am extremely pleased with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CCatalina
Davenport, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Better than the reviews indicate!
8/27/2017

Customer review by Arizona

5.0 stars 8/27/2017 by Arizona
by Arizona

I love my new Fellowes 79Ci. It is a replacement for a less-than-two-year-old Royal shredder that stopped working; it was of similar size and shredding capacity to the 79Ci. As to the reviews I read before purchasing this shredder: (1) Some reviewers had trouble getting the casters in. I had very little difficulty; with just a little wiggling of the caster, it slipped right in. (2) Reviewers complained about the bin not shutting if it is partially full with shredded paper. The bin shuts solidly even if mostly full. Just push it in at the middle of the drawer--down about 4-5" from the hand-hold. (3) Then there were complaints about having to open the bin periodically to push the shredded paper down. Yes, I do have to open the bin and mash the shredded paper down fairly often. However, it is less often than with the Royal shredder I had and the 79Ci stops taking the paper when the bin is showing full and needs to have the paper pushed down. The Royal kept taking the paper and then it jammed, requiring a lengthy process of removing the pieces of paper that were stuck in the shredder blades. I'm very glad I ordered this shredder.

Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
POWERSHRED 79Ci REVIEW
8/10/2017

Customer review by MissD10

5.0 stars 8/10/2017 by MissD10
by MissD10

This shredder is exactly the product that was advertised.It is the quietest shredder that I have personally operated. The machine is easy to operate and (Normally) I have difficulty with so called easy to operate machines, they do not live up to the easy/simple to operate statement, but this one operates as described, instructions are clear and easy to follow. I used a rubber mallet to install the wheels so not to damage them and I did not experience any difficulty installing them, it just took two (2) good whacks each to put them on . (Not bad for a female ). If you are in the market for a shredder that is 79Ci is what they say it is try one and experience a winner for yourself. The price is fair for what you get and the quality is impressive. Shredding paperwork is an enjoyable task and I can do this from my home. This is what I wanted when I made the purchase.

MissD10
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wow! My Fellowes to new Fellowes Powershred 79Ci Cross-Cut Shredder Upgrade!
9/7/2017

Customer review by 123TheBigBadShredder

5.0 stars 9/7/2017 by 123TheBigBadShredder
by 123TheBigBadShredder

Yeah baby!.......... Just got my Fellowes Powershred 79Ci Cross-Cut Refurbished Shredder! And it`s just so simple to setup! Ultra quiet silent Shred Performance! Powerful 16 sheets cross-cut into approximately 397 particles per sheet! plus also shreds staples, credit cards, paper clips, CDs/DVDs and junk mail. With added advanced safety features and energy efficient!..........

123TheBigBadShredder
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect for Law Office!
9/5/2017

Customer review by aprillegalassistant

5.0 stars 9/5/2017 by aprillegalassistant
by aprillegalassistant
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After spending $100 on a previous shredder which btw tore up the first time an employee bumped into it - I decided to spend a little more money and that money spent has been well worth it!! Shredder has not jammed yet, I shred a lot of legal documents -usually the full 16 pages at a time- This shredder definitely gets the job done. Only complaint is that I have to empty it too often!!

aprillegalassistant
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome Shredder!
1/23/2010

Customer review by MomofHudson

5.0 stars 1/23/2010 by MomofHudson
by MomofHudson

Excellent Value. Does exactly as it claims. Finally a shredder that doesn't break after only a week! Much recommended. Easy to empty, easy to move.

Was this review helpful? (40) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MomofHudson
Hudson, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
12/10/2009

Customer review by Tammy6

5.0 stars 12/10/2009 by Tammy6
by Tammy6

This shredder is for home use. I have had no problems using it and it is very quiet. I find that I am able to use the plastic bags more than once. The price was the best around also.

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tammy6
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:65 or older
Excellent Product in a small work environment
8/30/2017

Customer review by Cool88

4.0 stars 8/30/2017 by Cool88
by Cool88

This is my first time to purchase this shredder & I'm happy with the product in term of design & safety issue. Machine run very quiet and have all the features I need. I do recommend my friends to purchase this machine when they need a shredder.

Cool88
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
effective and rugged
6/13/2015

Customer review by hinesville

5.0 stars 6/13/2015 by hinesville
by hinesville

i love this product and it helped me out with about 100 pounds of paper i needed to shred (no joke), but this product had some downfalls it would overheat because the vents where inside near the baggage area. also it would fill rather quick, and it would be hard to put back in because the runners it went on where difficult to wrangle. but it did its job nicely and quickly and i would recommend this product to other people. the thing i would recommend to the fellows staff would be that they should design a more versatile printer that is able to be moved around and can shred without the need for a basket below. like for instance if i wanted to shred over a trashcan for a quicker more efficient job they should design a shredder that can do that or make a mount for trashcans. i feel that this accurately describes this printer. not many pro's were not mentioned for the star review i gave it but it is a very good printer and it should not be overlooked the next time you want to buy one.

hinesville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
excellent shredder
8/23/2017

Customer review by Robie

5.0 stars 8/23/2017 by Robie
by Robie

We were determined not to have limitations of previous inexpensive shredder and were not disappointed. My wife enthusiastically shredded several years of materials over several days. The machine never hesitated or overheated. We believe the difference in quality was well worth paying for [this machine was not as expensive as some others we looked at from a well known office store supplier].

Robie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome!
7/25/2010

Customer review by SAKFamily

5.0 stars 7/25/2010 by SAKFamily
by SAKFamily

Ths paper shredder costs a little more, but it is solidly built, and super quiet. The jam proof feature is worth every penny as is the sensor for little fingers. We also appreciate the larger bin size so we don't have to empty the bin so frequently. If you are looking at an $80.00 shredder with lesser features and quality I recommend shelling out the extra cash for this one because with the cheaper shredders you are just going to end up buying another one anyway once the motor burns out from being overstuffed.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SAKFamily
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Excellent Buy
2/2/2012

Customer review by dfed

5.0 stars 2/2/2012 by dfed
by dfed

I was initially reluctant to spend this much on a home office shredder, but I think that it is well worth the money. I have had it about a month and have shredded a ton of stuff without a single problem. Sometimes, if I put in a little too much it stops but always self-reverses and then gobbles the stuff up. I have never had to clear a jam. Basket capacity is good.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dfed
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fool Proof Usage
8/6/2017

Customer review by Goldie

5.0 stars 8/6/2017 by Goldie
by Goldie

After trying to use other shredders, frustration was always prominent in using. Even putting in one sheet at a time, removing staples, etc., the other machines would jam. This Fellowes shredder fulfills all of my needs and is so easy to use!!

Goldie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 920 total reviews
1-20 of 920 reviews