Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 892 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

892 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

892 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
728
4 stars
128
3 stars
21
2 stars
9
1 stars
6
1-20 of 878 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 878 total reviews
1-20 of 878 reviews
Powershred 79Ci
11/17/2015

Customer review by greg1009

4.0 stars 11/17/2015 by greg1009
by greg1009

Best shredder I ever bought; it's powerful, quiet and reliable.

greg1009
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not all I had hoped for
2/17/2017

Customer review by llamalady1

4.0 stars 2/17/2017 by llamalady1
by llamalady1

I purchased this machine for shredding paper to use as bedding in a llama operation. It is very time consuming to use this machine. After about 4 bins of shredded paper, I have to wait for it to cool down. I shred paper every 2 weeks, and it takes me a good 3 days to get the volume I need shredded. Not what I was hoping for or wanting. For a "desk job" person, this machine would be great for anyone wanting to have a machine that can produce volume of shredded paper, this is not it. It was probably my fault, I should have spent mega bucks and bought a large commercial shredded in the beginning, but this machine said commercial use. My bad and their bad - not enough information for my needs. Now, I have to spend mega bucks to get what I want and need.

llamalady1
Would recommend to a friend? No
A schredder that lives up to its claims
2/17/2017

Customer review by jdrewf

1.0 stars 2/17/2017 by jdrewf
by jdrewf

Pros: Easy to Use, Features, Performance, will meet and exceed expectations, Mess Reduction, Quality Construction, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Sheet Capacity. Worked on the first try. Easy to put together. I recommend putting the casters on for easy mobility. The safety features are excellent. Came with the oil and a few sample bags. Tested well on the first try. It wasn't any louder than the last shredder we had for years. It does take 16 sheets of 20# bond paper. Like the pull out waste container though it is a bit small for my taste, less mess than a device where you have to pull up on the shred mechanism to remove the waste.

jdrewf
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A Great Shredder
2/17/2017

Customer review by Rickt

5.0 stars 2/17/2017 by Rickt
by Rickt

This is a great shredder if you need a compact one -- and one that moves easily on wheels without tipping -- mine rolls on a tightly woven rug with no problem. The auto paper thickness measurement works well and clearly warns if you've loaded in too much. It's reasonably quiet and can also chew up credit cards and CDRs, though I haven't tried that yet. Nice that it comes with applicator bottle of shredder oil. I never knew these things needed to have the cutters oiled to keep them functioning at top capacity -- that's obviously why my very old Fellows eventually died -- but it makes perfect sense given what these machines do.

Rickt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good product,
2/18/2017

Customer review by AncientMariner

4.0 stars 2/18/2017 by AncientMariner
by AncientMariner

Works well for home office. Only significant improvements would be narrower shredded strips and some means of preventing paper shreds from getting lodged between the removable basket and the sides and bottom of the shredder body, which creates a bit of a mess when the basket is removed for disposal of the shreddings.

AncientMariner
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Shredder
2/17/2017

Customer review by Okie

5.0 stars 2/17/2017 by Okie
by Okie

Purchased this shredder to replace an older unit that died seeing many years of use. This unit is easy to use. Would recommend to anyone. Only awkward item is inserting the bottom tray due to the safety latch.

Okie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great
2/18/2017

Customer review by Bass

5.0 stars 2/18/2017 by Bass
by Bass

I really like this shredder. It is the best I have used and recommend it to all my friends......................................................

Bass
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent machine
2/17/2017

Customer review by Cosmo

5.0 stars 2/17/2017 by Cosmo
by Cosmo

I am very very happy with this shredder. From day one, no problems whatsoever. It works perfectly.

Cosmo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
effective and rugged
6/13/2015

Customer review by hinesville

5.0 stars 6/13/2015 by hinesville
by hinesville

i love this product and it helped me out with about 100 pounds of paper i needed to shred (no joke), but this product had some downfalls it would overheat because the vents where inside near the baggage area. also it would fill rather quick, and it would be hard to put back in because the runners it went on where difficult to wrangle. but it did its job nicely and quickly and i would recommend this product to other people. the thing i would recommend to the fellows staff would be that they should design a more versatile printer that is able to be moved around and can shred without the need for a basket below. like for instance if i wanted to shred over a trashcan for a quicker more efficient job they should design a shredder that can do that or make a mount for trashcans. i feel that this accurately describes this printer. not many pro's were not mentioned for the star review i gave it but it is a very good printer and it should not be overlooked the next time you want to buy one.

hinesville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice and durable
1/24/2017

Customer review by Printer

4.0 stars 1/24/2017 by Printer
by Printer

Just received and worked on the first try. Easy to put together. I recommend putting the casters on for easy mobility. The safety features are excellent. Came with the oil and a few sample bags. Tested well on the first try. It wasn't any louder than the last shredder we had for years. Seems good but just received it. It is sleek and looks great in the workplace. It does take 16 sheets of 20# bond paper. Like the pull out waste container, less mess than a device where you have to pull up on the shred mechanism to remove the waste. So far, good to use.

Printer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Slam Dunk
1/18/2017

Customer review by Batman

5.0 stars 1/18/2017 by Batman
by Batman

This shredder is a BEAST! I bought it to replace one that sounded like a wood chipper, had a wire-frame receptacle that leaked scraps of paper like a french-fry basket, and took more breaks than a municipal employee. It also required that I lift off the shredding mechanism to empty the scraps that hadn't already leaked out. Yes. I would have liked a receptacle larger than six gallons. But I didn't want to spend the extra money for the extra capacity. This shredder does everything I want it to do — quietly, reliably, and safely. And the part about handling staples and paper clips is absolutely true.

Batman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
bobbyr
1/23/2017

Customer review by Bobthebuilder

5.0 stars 1/23/2017 by Bobthebuilder
by Bobthebuilder

I was amazed at how this machine performs. It is fast, is safe to use and very quiet. The shredded material would not allow anyone to decipher any information on any documents shredded. I am totally satisfied with this product and would recommend it to anyone. This machine is well built with a lot of features and durability to last.

Bobthebuilder
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Better than my previous top line model
1/13/2017

Customer review by Bigbridge

5.0 stars 1/13/2017 by Bigbridge
by Bigbridge

After wife tried to run complete checkbook through my previous Fellowes top of line home shredder, bought about 1995 and used almost daily since (now 1/2017), and broke gear teeth on the head unit, I decided to pamper myself with another Fellowes cross-cut feature laden shredder. The 79Ci seemed the best to me, without the nebulous extra features of the models just above it. I ordered it through Amazon, installed it, and could not be happier with my choice. It overcomes the only 2 things I disliked about my previous shredder, jamming on too many sheets and the auto shred light stopping due to paper dust over it. The only (minor) issues I have with this new model is the bin not being as large as I would like for a shredder that can do so many sheets so fast, and its bin not being shaped to make it easy to install a bin bag to hold the shredded product, both of which were better on my previous mid-90's model. Both items are easily solved with the new models, and I recommend a larger bin model to all, as having to stuff the shredded material down into a more compact size so one can continue shredding, is a nuisance. Overall, this is the best shredder I have used, including the much bigger ones at my last office, and I recommend it to anyone who can afford it, with the proviso that this is a very reasonably priced shredder - about the same price I paid in mid-90's for the then top of line home office model - and just as durable as far as I can tell after just a month's use.

Bigbridge
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Shredder
1/13/2017

Customer review by RBF14

5.0 stars 1/13/2017 by RBF14
by RBF14

This is one of the few items I have bought in the last 10 years that does exactly what it's supposed to do. We had to shred all the legal papers of a relative that passed away let me tell you it did that so easy and so quickly it was unbelievable. If you're looking for a great Shredder that is easy to use with no hassles check this one out this is the one

RBF14
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Seems to be an excellent product
12/8/2016

Customer review by ddmcconn

5.0 stars 12/8/2016 by ddmcconn
by ddmcconn

I just received and set-up my shredder. It was well packed, easy to assemble, and seems to work well. I was most surprised at how quiet it is. It has all the features I was looking for - greater than 5-6 pages can be shredded at once, it can handle staples and small paperclips, shreds CDs and credit cards, has a pull out trash/recycle bin, easy to see when full as well as an indicator light, came with oil and applicator, on wheels so easily moved, energy efficient, and lots of safety devices built in. My only complaint is the shredder head is very heavy. Good thing you only have to handle it once or twice. Document the CRC # on the bottom of the shredder head before putting it on; that way you don't have to mess with it when you go to register.

ddmcconn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Underwhelmed?
7/7/2010

Customer review by MattO

3.0 stars 7/7/2010 by MattO
by MattO

Not sure what all of the praise is about. It is quiet. It seems powerful. It does shred. On the other hand, it's incredibly messy. It is impossible to empty the bin without spilling shreds on the floor. The bin regularly dislodges, causing it to stop working (a safety feature) until you realign the bin. The full bin sensor is so sensitive it registers a full bin when the bin is only half full-- meaning you have to pull the bin out, spill some shreds, and pat down the trash in order to keep shredding. You have to shred something reasonably thick in order to activate the shredder, for example I cannot shred a single receipt or single sheet of paper-- just too flimsy to activate the shredder. Generally I have to shred at least 3 sheets at a time, and receipts must be fed in with something more substantial. The safety feature that shuts the machine off if your hands touch it is more annoying than useful. I keep tweezers next to the machine to defeat this safeguard.

MattO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Quiet and reliable
11/24/2009

Customer review by pitonyak

5.0 stars 11/24/2009 by pitonyak
by pitonyak

There is little about this shredder to dislike. The only item about which I can complain is that it it can be difficult to close the drawer that catches the paper while I have a bag installed. If I use a bag, however, it does contain all of the mess. I am amazed at my inability to jam this shredder. I even sent through some stock with a narrow thick portion, but when I pressed the forward button, it went right through it. The unit is sufficiently quite that I am able to shred documents while the baby is sleeping. Also, everything is sufficiently contained that I no longer worry about little fingers where they do not belong. Finally, although I have not needed to resort to this, there is a button in the back that I can use to cut all power if a young child becomes unduly interested in the front panel buttons. I am shredding faster and quieter than ever before. The unit handles enough documents at a time, that it can even handle those occasional large shredding runs with that 150 page document in no time at all.

pitonyak
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
awesome machine
1/6/2017

Customer review by partsguy13

5.0 stars 1/6/2017 by partsguy13
by partsguy13

2nd purchase only because parts were too expensive

partsguy13
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent product!!!
10/20/2009

Customer review by djbook2000

5.0 stars 10/20/2009 by djbook2000
by djbook2000

i have gone through a number of shredders over the years. this was just going to be another regular $50 shredder purchase until i decided to go up a few levels in quality. AMZAZING!!!! that's all anybody needs to know. it's extremely quiet, but yet at the same time extremely powerful. the sensor for overloading works great!! unlike other shredders, this sensor actually lets you know when you're overloading BEFORE it starts shredding the paper. i also have two kids and the Safesence Technology works unbelievably well. i'm guessing it's heat sensored, but whatever the case may be, the Safesence works so well that not even the tinyest finger can fit in the opening without the shredder turning off it's grinders. quite frankly it's amazing. this machine is the very best shredder you can possibly buy and it's very affordable at the same time. spend the money...it'll save you $ in the long run i promise. shredders don't last forever, but you'll go through 2 or 3 regular shredders before this one gives way, that's for sure.

djbook2000
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great product
12/28/2016

Customer review by hottangv8

5.0 stars 12/28/2016 by hottangv8
by hottangv8

easy to set up, quiet operation, no need to turn on, great idea for the shredding of dvd's and cd's. nice size bin. we are VERY happy with our purchase of your product.

hottangv8
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 878 total reviews
1-20 of 878 reviews