Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 829 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

829 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

829 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
683
4 stars
114
3 stars
19
2 stars
8
1 stars
5
1-20 of 815 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 815 total reviews
1-20 of 815 reviews
Powershred 79Ci
11/17/2015

Customer review by greg1009

4.0 stars 11/17/2015 by greg1009
by greg1009

Best shredder I ever bought; it's powerful, quiet and reliable.

greg1009
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it.
6/2/2013

Customer review by CCatalina

5.0 stars 6/2/2013 by CCatalina
by CCatalina

Am in the middle of getting rid of years (and I mean years) of accumulated old household paperwork, including copies cancelled checks, receipts etc. that I had stored away. I have shredded 8 full lawn garbage size bags of old papers of varying sizes using this shredder so far without problems and have a couple more to go. This shredder's performance has been terrific with no jams and I only had to turn it off to cool down one time after three to four hours of non stop shredding. I find it easy to empty and squeeze a few drops of oil along the shredder opening each time I empty the container. I bought a couple of small bottles to keep on hand since I had so much to shred. When I was setting up the shredder initially I had trouble trying to install the castors (they kept falling off). I called the company and they suggested I use a hammer to tap them in which fixed the issue. Am extremely pleased with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CCatalina
Davenport, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Replaced a 20 year old Fellowes shredder
1/30/2016

Customer review by ridder

5.0 stars 1/30/2016 by ridder
by ridder

My 20 year old shredder gave up the ghost. I took it apart and found two broken gears. Called customer service and talked with Alan who informed me the gears are no longer available. Checked with him on my needs and decided on this model to start shredding old IRS and work files. New model is great with larger capacity (16 pages), doesn't heat up like the old one, is quieter and emptying the pull-out container is much easier. I plan on following the instructions on oiling each time after emptying the container. Am very satisfied, although would have considered doing the repair work had new gears been available.

ridder
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
effective and rugged
6/13/2015

Customer review by hinesville

5.0 stars 6/13/2015 by hinesville
by hinesville

i love this product and it helped me out with about 100 pounds of paper i needed to shred (no joke), but this product had some downfalls it would overheat because the vents where inside near the baggage area. also it would fill rather quick, and it would be hard to put back in because the runners it went on where difficult to wrangle. but it did its job nicely and quickly and i would recommend this product to other people. the thing i would recommend to the fellows staff would be that they should design a more versatile printer that is able to be moved around and can shred without the need for a basket below. like for instance if i wanted to shred over a trashcan for a quicker more efficient job they should design a shredder that can do that or make a mount for trashcans. i feel that this accurately describes this printer. not many pro's were not mentioned for the star review i gave it but it is a very good printer and it should not be overlooked the next time you want to buy one.

hinesville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Rugged and quiet
12/19/2015

Customer review by cincipapa24

5.0 stars 12/19/2015 by cincipapa24
by cincipapa24

I've only had this shredder a short time, but I am already impressed with the rugged and quiet design. This shredder had good reviews and when I compared its weight to that of other units I was considering, I thought it must be more rugged as it was twice the weight of many other units. When it arrived and I compared the cutter head to my old shredder, it was obvious that those additional pounds went into value added materials such as a heavier duty motor and much more robust cutters. My old shredder used to always sound like it was laboring, even to shred 2 or 3 sheets and was very loud. This unit is very quiet and sounds like it is not straining at all, even when cutting many sheets simultaneously. I'm extremely happy I chose this shredder.

cincipapa24
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Monster shredder!
1/26/2016

Customer review by tryinitout

5.0 stars 1/26/2016 by tryinitout
by tryinitout

I was looking for a shredder and stumbled across this one. It got the job done fast. I shredded 8 trash bags, had a lot of old files. I was using my old fellowe shredder until this one arrived. From now on I will not have a large pile of paper I will use this shredder daily to keep the pile from ever piling up so high.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tryinitout
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome Shredder!
1/23/2010

Customer review by MomofHudson

5.0 stars 1/23/2010 by MomofHudson
by MomofHudson

Excellent Value. Does exactly as it claims. Finally a shredder that doesn't break after only a week! Much recommended. Easy to empty, easy to move.

Was this review helpful? (36) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MomofHudson
Hudson, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/10/2009

Customer review by Tammy6

5.0 stars 12/10/2009 by Tammy6
by Tammy6

This shredder is for home use. I have had no problems using it and it is very quiet. I find that I am able to use the plastic bags more than once. The price was the best around also.

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tammy6
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Shredder 79Ci is great
12/28/2015

Customer review by ws99

5.0 stars 12/28/2015 by ws99
by ws99

I bought this shredder to replace one that was a piece of junk. After five or so years of use, it would jam continually. The 79Ci is nicely build, it can easily shred more than 15 sheets of paper; it can deal with staples or paper clips and it's nice and quiet. I bought it when I saw that our department office had one also and they were really happy with it too.

ws99
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I LOVE THIS MACHINE
12/30/2015

Customer review by ALPHA

5.0 stars 12/30/2015 by ALPHA
by ALPHA

This shredder is EXCELLENT! It is really fast and durable. This is the second FELLOWES 79Ci paper shredder my company has purchased. We will always be loyal to this brand.We highly recommend this product.!!!

ALPHA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
79ci gift
12/31/2015

Customer review by bunknown

5.0 stars 12/31/2015 by bunknown
by bunknown

bunknown
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Underwhelmed?
7/7/2010

Customer review by MattO

3.0 stars 7/7/2010 by MattO
by MattO

Not sure what all of the praise is about. It is quiet. It seems powerful. It does shred. On the other hand, it's incredibly messy. It is impossible to empty the bin without spilling shreds on the floor. The bin regularly dislodges, causing it to stop working (a safety feature) until you realign the bin. The full bin sensor is so sensitive it registers a full bin when the bin is only half full-- meaning you have to pull the bin out, spill some shreds, and pat down the trash in order to keep shredding. You have to shred something reasonably thick in order to activate the shredder, for example I cannot shred a single receipt or single sheet of paper-- just too flimsy to activate the shredder. Generally I have to shred at least 3 sheets at a time, and receipts must be fed in with something more substantial. The safety feature that shuts the machine off if your hands touch it is more annoying than useful. I keep tweezers next to the machine to defeat this safeguard.

MattO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Easy
12/26/2015

Customer review by Buck72

5.0 stars 12/26/2015 by Buck72
by Buck72

Setting it up was quite easy and it it performed much better than less expensive products.

Buck72
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Quiet and Truely Jam Proof
12/14/2015

Customer review by GS1950

5.0 stars 12/14/2015 by GS1950
by GS1950

Replaces a ten year old Xerox Cross-Cut Shredder. It is remarkably quiet compared to the old one and so far has not hesitated to shred what I've put in. The jam proof feature actually refuses to begin the shredding process if you give more than the designed amount of paper. This limit is based on thickness of the stack so it really depends on the "weight" of the paper and not the number of sheets. If it last as long as the old one, then it's really quite a bargain.

GS1950
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fellowes Intellishred 79CI Shredder
1/11/2016

Customer review by Bubba

5.0 stars 1/11/2016 by Bubba
by Bubba

So far it is the one of the best shredder that I have owned.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bubba
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Quiet and reliable
11/24/2009

Customer review by pitonyak

5.0 stars 11/24/2009 by pitonyak
by pitonyak

There is little about this shredder to dislike. The only item about which I can complain is that it it can be difficult to close the drawer that catches the paper while I have a bag installed. If I use a bag, however, it does contain all of the mess. I am amazed at my inability to jam this shredder. I even sent through some stock with a narrow thick portion, but when I pressed the forward button, it went right through it. The unit is sufficiently quite that I am able to shred documents while the baby is sleeping. Also, everything is sufficiently contained that I no longer worry about little fingers where they do not belong. Finally, although I have not needed to resort to this, there is a button in the back that I can use to cut all power if a young child becomes unduly interested in the front panel buttons. I am shredding faster and quieter than ever before. The unit handles enough documents at a time, that it can even handle those occasional large shredding runs with that 150 page document in no time at all.

pitonyak
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent product!!!
10/20/2009

Customer review by djbook2000

5.0 stars 10/20/2009 by djbook2000
by djbook2000

i have gone through a number of shredders over the years. this was just going to be another regular $50 shredder purchase until i decided to go up a few levels in quality. AMZAZING!!!! that's all anybody needs to know. it's extremely quiet, but yet at the same time extremely powerful. the sensor for overloading works great!! unlike other shredders, this sensor actually lets you know when you're overloading BEFORE it starts shredding the paper. i also have two kids and the Safesence Technology works unbelievably well. i'm guessing it's heat sensored, but whatever the case may be, the Safesence works so well that not even the tinyest finger can fit in the opening without the shredder turning off it's grinders. quite frankly it's amazing. this machine is the very best shredder you can possibly buy and it's very affordable at the same time. spend the money...it'll save you $ in the long run i promise. shredders don't last forever, but you'll go through 2 or 3 regular shredders before this one gives way, that's for sure.

djbook2000
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Quiet & Fast shredder
12/6/2015

Customer review by Tiedofshreddersdying

5.0 stars 12/6/2015 by Tiedofshreddersdying
by Tiedofshreddersdying

Only been using this for a few weeks at home but I like it much better than any other shredder I've had. Getting the casters on it during assembly was tricky, they should have better instructions for that. After the 1st time emptying, getting the bin back in place just right to where it will allow you to shred took a little effort too. Like that it came with oil to help maintain, I have read that lack of oil is the death of a lot of shredders.

Tiedofshreddersdying
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome!
7/25/2010

Customer review by SAKFamily

5.0 stars 7/25/2010 by SAKFamily
by SAKFamily

Ths paper shredder costs a little more, but it is solidly built, and super quiet. The jam proof feature is worth every penny as is the sensor for little fingers. We also appreciate the larger bin size so we don't have to empty the bin so frequently. If you are looking at an $80.00 shredder with lesser features and quality I recommend shelling out the extra cash for this one because with the cheaper shredders you are just going to end up buying another one anyway once the motor burns out from being overstuffed.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SAKFamily
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Casters need work
12/13/2015

Customer review by mrmrbill

5.0 stars 12/13/2015 by mrmrbill
by mrmrbill

Works well so far. Seems good. Casters keep folling off.

mrmrbill
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 815 total reviews
1-20 of 815 reviews