Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 22 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

22 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

22 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
17
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-20 of 20 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

works great
5/21/2009

Customer review by GoneFishing1

5.0 stars 5/21/2009 by GoneFishing1
by GoneFishing1

This fishfinder works great for the price, I like the display and the ID depths of fish.Also the water temp. reading. If your looking for a low cost unit this is the one.

Was this review helpful? (61) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GoneFishing1
Grand Rapids MI>
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
PMAX 170
5/27/2009

Customer review by Fishoholic1

5.0 stars 5/27/2009 by Fishoholic1
by Fishoholic1

Big bang for the money. I just came back from a weekend fishing trip in Lake Placid N.Y. The PMAX 170 worked flawlessly. Put me on fish all weekend most of them @ depth of 90 to 130ft. I really could have used a downrigger, but I did have some success. Installation takes awhile. I suggest reading the manual before you start.

Was this review helpful? (28) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fishoholic1
Scotia NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
170 Fish finder
6/18/2010

Customer review by Mark41

4.0 stars 6/18/2010 by Mark41
by Mark41

I use this product in very shallow waters max so far to 6 feet, it shows the contour of the bottom, depth and water temp, it does not however, in this shallow water, show images of fish, but that is understandable. The water temp and depth are the two major items and it works very well.

Was this review helpful? (25) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mark41
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
More than money's worth
3/24/2010

Customer review by Todd1960

5.0 stars 3/24/2010 by Todd1960
by Todd1960

I recently purchased the 170. Last weekend I used it on Reelfoot Lake in northwest Tennessee. The lake is very shallow....the 170 worked flawlessly from 3 ft to 16ft. For the money, you won't find a better dual angle depthfinder with water temperature. Unfortnately, it did not help us catch fish. The wind was blowing 20mph and a front was coming through. The fish were not biting. My fishing partner (RP) has been rumored to be bad luck, maybe it is his fault!

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Todd1960
Metropolis, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Great Fishfinder
4/10/2010

Customer review by fishhard

5.0 stars 4/10/2010 by fishhard
by fishhard

I bought this pmax 170 because of the low price,not to mention the brand name I was going to be getting,and a dual transducer that is unheard of at $95.00.I`m glad I went with this one you get a good picture of the bottom in deep and shallow water,caught 3 bass,4 crappie,and 2 sunfish first time out with it.I am very pleased with this fishfinder and will buy another when I need one again,good job Humminbird.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fishhard
Russellville,AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
top notch
12/17/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/17/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

quick shipping, a very good deal on a very good product

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great, inexpensive fishfinder
6/23/2009

Customer review by LakePowellJunkie

4.0 stars 6/23/2009 by LakePowellJunkie
by LakePowellJunkie

Needed to replace an older fishfinder that was failing. This one needed to be powerful enough to show 600 ft depths in Lake Powell, and sensitive enough to handle rapidly changing shallows -- and show fish. It worked as well as my friend's new fishfinder that cost over twice as much. The only problem is some bubble interference at high speed and that has to do with placement issues on my boat. It ain't perfect, but it's a steal for the price and I'd purchase again in a heartbeat.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LakePowellJunkie
St. George, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Very Good For Price
9/1/2009

Customer review by Catfishhunter101

5.0 stars 9/1/2009 by Catfishhunter101
by Catfishhunter101

For the money, this is probably the very best fish finder you could possibly buy. Very simple & easy to set up. Works very well. Wanted something cheap, simple to use, yet reliable for my 14' jon boat. This filled the bill perfectly.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Catfishhunter101
Santee, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great..
5/26/2010

Customer review by TractorDre

5.0 stars 5/26/2010 by TractorDre
by TractorDre

Bought it for my Skagit Classic fishing pontoon boat. It was the perfect size for my boat. I finally got to use it this week in waters up to 12 feet. It detected to terrain in the pond plus detected both bait fish and larger fish.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TractorDre
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Depth Finder
12/9/2010

Customer review by Didally

5.0 stars 12/9/2010 by Didally
by Didally

I was really pleased with the ease of operation and the value that you get with this depth finder. The screen isn't as large as some depth finders but that did not pose any problem. It worked great the first time out. It is easy to install and showed all the structure that I needed to see. I like the idea of the 1x1 ratio of the wide beam that shows allot more of the bottom. A great price for a very good piece of equipment.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Didally
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
A product that won't disappoint
1/15/2011

Customer review by JustGoFishing

5.0 stars 1/15/2011 by JustGoFishing
by JustGoFishing

I purchased this fishfinder to put on my Hobie Outback Kayak. It comes with all necessary equipment to make it very functional. You will have to decide upon the size of your power source as in any other electrical needs your boat may have. I'm using 8 AA Batterys but it also can be used with a 12 Volt Battery. Put some thought and time into the location of the tranducer and the fishfinder as the wiring may limit or extend your ideas. I'm very confident in this product as I also have another Humminbird Graph on my Bass Boat that works great. Ease of use and functionability will make this product very rewarding..

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JustGoFishing
Muskegon, Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Excellent value
6/2/2012

Customer review by 2Pat65

5.0 stars 6/2/2012 by 2Pat65
by 2Pat65

I use my unit mainly as a depth finder to keep me from running aground while fishing the shallows. I'm very pleased with with the clear graphics, and the fact that it can read depths at high speed (most of the time).

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2Pat65
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Good for the price. Not for a bass tournament.
7/3/2012

Customer review by HuckFinn72

4.0 stars 7/3/2012 by HuckFinn72
by HuckFinn72

Installed easily per instructions. Depth and water temp. work perfectly. Bottom structure and fish finder work perfectly while trolling, but not at planing speed. Screens small, but I can see the depth readout from ten feet away, even in full sun. Keeps me from draggin' the bottom. One thumbscrew and two wire plug-ins and I can take it off to foil would-be thieves. Great unit for the price.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HuckFinn72
Fenton, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
5/7/2012

Customer review by crapiecatcher

5.0 stars 5/7/2012 by crapiecatcher
by crapiecatcher

awesome fishfinder went fishing today and without the 170 i wouldve passed up some good crappie it showed the crappie under the limb in the water with the dual beam transducer this fishfinder is amazing and cheap too

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
crapiecatcher
Scottsville,Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
11/21/2009

Customer review by nick51

5.0 stars 11/21/2009 by nick51
by nick51

Excellent Product for the cost!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nick51
Springboro, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
nice and easy install
12/3/2012

Customer review by Norcalgearhead

5.0 stars 12/3/2012 by Norcalgearhead
by Norcalgearhead

Bought at Walmart installed it in 30 mins 1 button start up and easy menu access, its small and works nice on my 12 ' aluminum boat I do have to say if you have a chance to buy it at walmart, u should they offer an extended warranty with a 90 day return no questions asked , with receipt I had a bad one that i installed and had great service returning it, i guess mine was dropped during shipping, Now i have a another one that works great with water temp and fish ID Has chart speed, zoom, Battery alarm, depth alarm, unit swivels and screen has adjustments, so u can see it from front or rear of boat sitting or standing, install was a 2 wire power lead that plugs in the rear and wires up to your battery, then plug in the transducer and mount at bottom of boat i had a wood piece under my motor transom and mounted it to that 2 screws

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Norcalgearhead
Discovery bay
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great product
1/15/2011

Customer review by USmile4m3

5.0 stars 1/15/2011 by USmile4m3
by USmile4m3

My husband loves it and can't wait till summer to use it on his kayak.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
USmile4m3
Muskegon, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
5/3/2012

Customer review by weekendtrailertrash

5.0 stars 5/3/2012 by weekendtrailertrash
by weekendtrailertrash

Easy to install first trip out wife caught 2 stripper bass, 2 cat fish. Yep real nice fish finder for the price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
weekendtrailertrash
Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
good value for the money
7/17/2012

Customer review by tlzm

5.0 stars 7/17/2012 by tlzm
by tlzm

Unit works as expected was easy to install, and for the money was a very good value.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tlzm
eastern Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
7/23/2012

Customer review by thisisyourcaptainspeaking

4.0 stars 7/23/2012 by thisisyourcaptainspeaking
by thisisyourcaptainspeaking

This little baby works pretty good!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thisisyourcaptainspeaking
Spearfish, S.D.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male