Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 101 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

101 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

101 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
36
4 stars
43
3 stars
10
2 stars
2
1 stars
10
1-20 of 94 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 94 total reviews
1-20 of 94 reviews
Seriously Damaged
9/2/2010

Customer review by Lindasinish

1.0 stars 9/2/2010 by Lindasinish
by Lindasinish

It is unfortunate that I must write that this piece of furniture arrived with damage on just about every piece. It is crushed, dented, scratched and down right distroyed. I believe it is a result of poor packaging. I have received many furniture items recently, from other manufacturers and they were packaged better and arrived by the same carrier in perfect condition. This cabinet box exterior packaging had no damage. All of the damage was concealed. Please do not order this product from this manufacturer. It can't be sent back because the return shipping fee is high because it weighs so much. I have 9 pictures of the damages, but this review only allows 2 pictures to be published. It was a total waste of my money and I am very upset. I have always been satisfied with other purchases from Walmart, but not with this vendor. They need to use more and better packaging materials.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lindasinish
Elkins, WV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Never
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Good low-end storage solution
11/5/2009

Customer review by Golftall

4.0 stars 11/5/2009 by Golftall
by Golftall

This product is a good low-end storage solution. A real wood cabinet like this would cost 5 times as much and this is nicer looking than the inexpensive metal cabinets. Appearance is nice, just don't bang into it with anything as it is pressed wood and will gouge easily. I was able to assemble this myself, but am a big guy - definitely recommend you have two people to pick it up and assemble it. It took me about 1-1/2 hours to assemble, but I've put together a lot of products like this. If you install the catch to be able to lock this, you will always have to open right door first to open left and close in reverse order or you will damage door. I left the lock catch off so it won't lock, but there are also magnetic catches to hold the doors closed. The product did come with a few dings, luckily not in obvious places. Overall I am satisfied with the appearance and function of this product.

Was this review helpful? (35) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Golftall
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
GREAT PRODUCT FOR THE MONEY
5/8/2010

Customer review by CRO7

5.0 stars 5/8/2010 by CRO7
by CRO7

I ORDERED THIS PRODUCT ABOUT A YEAR AND A HALF AGO AND IT HAS HELD UP GREAT. I FOUND OUT THE HARD WAY THAT YOU DON'T PUT HEAVY ITEMS ON THE TOP SHELF--ESPECIALLY COOKBOOKS. THE SHELF STARTED TO BEND, BUT RECOVERED WELL. I DEFINITELY RECOMMEND PUTTING ALL YOUR HEAVIEST ITEMS ON THE MIDDLE SHELF BECAUSE IT HAS SUPPORT. ALSO, DON'T PUSH THE ITEMS BACK TOO FAR INTO THE BACK BECAUSE YOU CAN PUSH THE BACKING OUT, BUT JUST PUSH THE THIN NAILS BACK IN AND YOUR GOOD. IT IS PRESSED WOOD AND GLUE, BUT FROM THE OUTSIDE YOU CAN'T TELL. DEFINITELY, DEFINITELY, DEFINITELY THE MONEY. I ALSO HAD IT SHIPPED SITE TO STORE AND THAT SAVED ME A LOT OF MONEY, JUST MAKE SURE YOUR CAR IS BIG ENOUGH. THIS PRODUCT ALSO COMES WITH A "MARKER" THAT FILLS IN ANY SCRATCHES THAT MAY HAPPEN. BELIEVE ME-- YOU WILL LOVE, LOVE THIS PRODUCT. ALL AND ALL I WOULD ABSOLUTELY RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT TO ANYONE THAT NEEDS EXTRA STORAGE!!

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CRO7
BELLEVUE WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Buy 2 I did!
5/6/2017

Customer review by David

5.0 stars 5/6/2017 by David
by David
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Easy to put together and very hefty. I just bought a second! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

David
undisclosed
Received free product:Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Absolutely beautiful, but... Dimensions are off
4/25/2016

Customer review by DV805

4.0 stars 4/25/2016 by DV805
by DV805

My sons surprised me by picking this order up and having it assembled by the time I got back this last weekend. It's absolutely beautiful, sturdy inside and out, for the price. I started to put the items in it, some of them seemed a bit snug in there so I took out my tape measure and found that the width and depth dimensions were WAY off. I called Wal Mart, the rep, Mike, was VERY nice, I told him of my dilemma. He spoke with his supervisors and got an OK for a 10% adjustment, he asked again and the final offer was a 15% credit. I am keeping this unit since there is no way I am going to go through all that with my boys, but I will use this for other things and once again go shopping for something with the dimensions I need. Overall I really do like it and I would probably would have demanded more had it not been for the great customer service Mike provided! They should be adjusting the dimensions soon, hopefully :)

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DV805
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Poor Quality Control
3/26/2011

Customer review by QC1234l

1.0 stars 3/26/2011 by QC1234l
by QC1234l

Received product today from Walmart.com and when I opened the box I found several damaged parts. Looks like these parts were inserted into the box knowing they were damaged. Spoke to the manufacture they will send new parts out but will need to wait another 10 days for parts to arrive. Manufacture need to do better quality control job when putting these kits together, or Walmart needs to do spot inspections on there product they are selling.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
QC1234l
Wauconda, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Never
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Cabinet Great - Shipping Painful...
7/9/2011

Customer review by 111Walmart111

4.0 stars 7/9/2011 by 111Walmart111
by 111Walmart111

I have no problems with the cabinet itself. Looks nice and is easy to put together. As other reviewers have said, the cabinet does scratch easy, but the included marker covers up blemishes really well. The main difficulty I had was with the Ship to Store. The first time I ordered it, the box arrived with a large chunk on the side that damaged many of the panels. I did not notice this until after I got home, so I had to haul it back to WalMart to return it. I checked the second cabinet more carefully at WalMart and the packaging looked OK. However, after unpacking it at home, it too had a panel that had a corner damaged. Thankfully, it was the bottom backside corner - so I glued the broken piece back on and it is not noticeable. If this was on the front, I would have had to return this one as well. So in summary, good product, but be prepared for shipping hassles.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
111Walmart111
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Impressed !~
9/16/2011

Customer review by MicroOhNo

4.0 stars 9/16/2011 by MicroOhNo
by MicroOhNo

I was a bit overwhelmed at first by the instructions but once I got started it only took me 2 hrs to complete. I did all the assembly myself and I'm a small woman. I am impressed by the look of it and the weight! For this price (and I shopped around for over a month!) this is the best buy around. I can put everything I need to into this pantry. I love it. It not only looks great but it's heavy and won't tip over! The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because the top facade wasn't glued on properly and I had to glue it. There were some small scratches (be careful when assembling because it's not real wood and scratches easy) but I took care of it with the neat pen they supply. Over all I'm recommending this to anyone who needs a great looking pantry.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MicroOhNo
Lost in California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Very Satisfied
7/11/2009

Customer review by ThisWorks

5.0 stars 7/11/2009 by ThisWorks
by ThisWorks

This item meets all my expectations. Very well made, lots of storage space, and a great overall appearance. It was easy to assemble and I assembled it alone. The lock and doors all lined up with ease. I am using it as additional pantry storage space. It's perfect for all my canned goods and with the adjustable shelving, also stores my KitchenAid Mixer which is a pretty bulky item. I avoided the delivery costs by having it shipped to the store and it was delivered in less than week; pickup was easy. Packaging was a little damaged but the product was intact. Am highly recommending this product.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ThisWorks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Perfect size for a pantry
11/4/2011

Customer review by PeteysMother

5.0 stars 11/4/2011 by PeteysMother
by PeteysMother

I was very pleased with this cabinet. I have built many furniture pieces, but this is my first by South Shore. I found the directions complete and concise. The parts were easy-to-fit and there were no missing pieces. This is a heavy piece of furniture, and was not easy to get into the house. I got a strong man and a dolly to handle that. Once in, I had no problem putting it together by myself except for hanging the doors. That required an extra pair of hands. (I should note that I am a 58 year old woman in average shape) The cabinet is simple, but attractive. The shelves are sturdy and hold all my canned goods and baking products easily. It has plenty of space and fits in with my decor nicely.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PeteysMother
North central Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Solid Product, Shipping was Disappointing
1/15/2011

Customer review by GixxerSteve

4.0 stars 1/15/2011 by GixxerSteve
by GixxerSteve

I ordered this product to place in my den/4th bedroom, so that guests would have somewhere to store their clothes and items. I ordered it through Walmart's Site to Store feature. Shipping was fairly quick; about a week and a half to get to the store. But when I picked it up, the packaging was a little beat up. When I got the large and heavy box home, I opened it up and found that some of the pieces had been slightly damaged. Most of the damage is on side panels that are hardly noticeable, however the worst damage happened to be on the very center of the top panel, directly at eye level! I was not pleased, but after lugging this large box home and unpackaging it, I wasn't about to lug it all back to Walmart for a refund or replacement. So I just kept it. The touch-up marker than comes with the cabinet helped to cover up the damage somewhat. If you do get this, check to make sure the contents are not damaged.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GixxerSteve
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:25 - 34
As I expected
11/28/2010

Customer review by OnlineShopper2Save

5.0 stars 11/28/2010 by OnlineShopper2Save
by OnlineShopper2Save

I bought this cabinet based on good reviews. I have to say it is exactly what I expected. For the price, this is a really nice cabinet. I bought to put jeans and pajamas in. Holds them nicely, and, it blends right in with my cherry canopy bedroom suit I had as a child.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OnlineShopper2Save
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
meets my storage needs
1/19/2011

Customer review by BlueMoonCA

3.0 stars 1/19/2011 by BlueMoonCA
by BlueMoonCA

I picked up the item from the local Walmart store. The store employee used a dolly to carry it outside for me (Thanks!). There were a couple of minor dents, which I had expected, but they didn't warrant an exchange or return. The furniture took me about two hours to assemble. It can be assembled by one strong person but better to have someone to help out. Be careful assembling the pieces, as the boards are brittle and can easily break off. After completion, I'm content with the furniture for its clean look. If the floor is uneven, the furniture can twist and cause the doors to misalign. Overall, it met my need for storing extra pillows and blankets. Just don't inspect it too closely, otherwise you'll be disappointed at its shortcomings (weak structure, paper-thin backing, brittle boards).

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BlueMoonCA
Orange County, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
HORRIBLE QUALITY!!!
6/6/2012

Customer review by NotImpressedInKansas

1.0 stars 6/6/2012 by NotImpressedInKansas
by NotImpressedInKansas

The "positive" reviews of this product baffle me and I wish I wouldn't have based my decision off of a "88%" positive rating. Obviously the negative ones are not being calculated with the rest. First of all, yes, it showed up damaged as others warned. Box was torn and ripped open and there were gashes and chunks missing from the wood pieces, not simply just scratches. You should also know you cannot contact Walmart for returns or replacement parts (I knew this upon ordering) - however, when you contact Wayfair, they direct you to South Shore directly. I've yet to have this issue resolved and my husband and I will not be ordering from Walmart.com again if an outside company is involved in the shipping and/or returns.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NotImpressedInKansas
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
It was all right
7/8/2009

Customer review by WendyKat

4.0 stars 7/8/2009 by WendyKat
by WendyKat

The cabinet was a pain to put together (the instructions were not the clearest), and some of the pieces didn't fit quite right, but now that it's together and up it looks quite nice and fits a lot of stuff. The key lock works well, which is one of the features we were specifically looking for (to keep the kids out). It's the flimsy presswood stuff, but that's what I expected for the price. It isn't the most fantastic piece of furniture, but for what we paid for it, it was okay.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WendyKat
Coon Rapids, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
7/24/2011

Customer review by ihatesupercenters

4.0 stars 7/24/2011 by ihatesupercenters
by ihatesupercenters

arrived and was as described except for the fact that rough handling by delivery company caused dent and dings all over one side and the top overall quality is good and it meets requirements i had for it heavy items can not be placed on top shelf because it will bow i found out overall for inexpensive storage solution it is a good buy with that being said to recommend to a friend i would note the shortcomings and advantages of it for storage and let them decide on their own

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ihatesupercenters
east tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Jumping for Joy
11/24/2014

Customer review by LaceySpiffy

5.0 stars 11/24/2014 by LaceySpiffy
by LaceySpiffy

I bought this to use as a pantry and I love how deep it is.. Looks great and is well made. (sturdy) Relatively easy to assemble for a women. Just had to walk away for a couple hours. Lol I feel it was well worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LaceySpiffy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Pantry for Extra Storage!
5/1/2011

Customer review by LuvMyMusicMan

5.0 stars 5/1/2011 by LuvMyMusicMan
by LuvMyMusicMan

My husband and I live in a two bedroom townhouse with a smaller kitchen, thus, limited cabinet space. We wanted a nice look pantry that could sit in our dining room right off of the kitchen for extra storage of dry and canned goods and snacks. This fit the bill perfectly! I was surprised at how truly nice it looks and just how much room it has. We left the locking mechanism off, because if it's on you have to open the doors in a certain order and we didn't anticipate the need to lock it. It did take quite a bit of time to put together, and it's definitely a two person jobs. The directions weren't the greatest, so we found ourselves having to switch a few pieces around at the last minute, which was a bit frustrating. However, once we got it all together, it seemed quite sturdy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LuvMyMusicMan
Burnsville, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
what i expected
8/28/2010

Customer review by anotherdebbie

4.0 stars 8/28/2010 by anotherdebbie
by anotherdebbie

The free ship to store was a great savings. Product came in good condition and after reading some other reviews I was dreading spending 3 hours putting it together. A client didn't show up so I had some free time and figured I would start on it and not worry about completing it in one attempt. Turns out in just under 2 hours, I a 55 yr old woman, had no difficulty at all getting it all together and set up. Now it is a great storage cabinet in my office filled with all the art supplies I need for my work. I may get more for my studio, certainly beats those ugly metal cabinets! The one "complaint" I may have is that the instructions are picture only and the diagrams are very small and you have to look carefully to make sure you have things facing the right way to get the right parts in the right places. Would have helped for some written instruction or for the illustrations to be a bit larger with heavier detail on the way things fit. But with careful examination and lots of forethought, I was able to make it right the first time but could have finished faster if I didnt' have to keep checking and rechecking to make sure I had everything lined up correctly, at least in the beginning of the process.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
anotherdebbie
little rock, ar (thanks to katrina ugh)
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Exactly what I needed
7/24/2010

Customer review by ShopsAtHome

4.0 stars 7/24/2010 by ShopsAtHome
by ShopsAtHome

This product is a great value for the money. It is a great size and it was delivered in perfect shape. But, be wary, it takes a LONG time to put together.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShopsAtHome
Waukesha, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
1-20 of 94 total reviews
1-20 of 94 reviews