Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 85 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

85 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

85 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
56
4 stars
22
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 stars
0
1-20 of 75 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 75 total reviews
1-20 of 75 reviews
I love this thing
12/19/2010

Customer review by 2tough2please

5.0 stars 12/19/2010 by 2tough2please
by 2tough2please

I have had it for almost a year, i have used it for worsted weight all the way down to size 10 thread. With the worsted i got a full 5oz skeen on it and it worked perfect! You will get it wound around the gears if you dont keep the tension just so, or if you spin too fast. Consistent pace and tension will keep that from happening. I would be lost without my winder. I love this thing! I use it almost weekly. I can attach it ANYWHERE, my coffee table, kitchen table, night stand, STEERING WHEEL of my truck LOL. I brought i one day waiting on kids to get out of school attached it to steering wheel and wound 2 skeins waiting on my kids. I really do love this thing and its excellent, i do think it should be about 20$ since its all plastic, but other than that no complaints!

Was this review helpful? (43) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2tough2please
Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Smooth little winder!
1/23/2010

Customer review by Stitchersue

5.0 stars 1/23/2010 by Stitchersue
by Stitchersue

I'd always heard the plastic ball winders were junk, but this one is terrific! It's super simple to use and winds very smoothly. It's a real help with my handspun wool yarns because it makes nice, large, center-pull skeins. Love it!

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stitchersue
Sequim, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Great Product!
6/27/2011

Customer review by chemological

5.0 stars 6/27/2011 by chemological
by chemological

I love this product so much! It's so useful, I wish I had it before. It's a very simple and easy to use machine, instructions are easy to follow. It's small, which is great for traveling and portability. Works well for all thicknesses of yarn. The only issue I seem to have is that when spinning at a slightly fast speed, the metal guide post will often fall over (this causes the wrapping around the gears that other reviewers noted) To avoid this, I usually gently press my thumb against it, and I curve my fingers to let the yarn pass through them. This also helps eliminate tangles in the yarn before they make it to the winder.

Was this review helpful? (22) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chemological
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
a Helpful product
3/4/2009

Customer review by ladyward

4.0 stars 3/4/2009 by ladyward
by ladyward

The only complaint i have is that to keep it from winding the yarn around the gear is i have to keep my arm up but other than that i really enjoy it makes life easier on me and saves my hands

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ladyward
Las Animas, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
8/16/2011

Customer review by Purldiver

5.0 stars 8/16/2011 by Purldiver
by Purldiver

It is so refreshing to get a 'gadget' type product that actually does EXACTLY what it says it does, and does it easily, and hassle-free!!!! The yarn ball winder works PERFECTLY! The directions do not say so, but if you keep a certain amount of tension on the yarn by keeping it between your thumb and finger as it feeds through the guide, it will never give you trouble, and will give you a perfect yarn ball every time. And this will give you a nice firm ball to boot. This product is made of sturdy plastic, and clamps securely to your work table. It is very quiet, so I can wind yarn while hubby and I watch TV.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Purldiver
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Neat Yarn
3/23/2011

Customer review by Looking2Spend

5.0 stars 3/23/2011 by Looking2Spend
by Looking2Spend

I absolutely LOVE this product! It makes my flimsy loose and messy yarn all nice neat. It is worth EVERY cent! I would very much recommend this to every yarn using crafter!

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Looking2Spend
Bakersfield CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A very helpful product
6/1/2010

Customer review by frugaluser

4.0 stars 6/1/2010 by frugaluser
by frugaluser

Great way to condense large skeins that were almost gone and not have yarn tangling everywhere.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
frugaluser
Santa Maria, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Great yarn winder for the price.
4/25/2012

Customer review by NanaKimmie

4.0 stars 4/25/2012 by NanaKimmie
by NanaKimmie

Me and my girls have almost as much fun winding yarn balls as we do crocheting. Make sure its clamped to a secure, sturdy surface, keep your tension on the initial wind and slight tension through out and you will have beautiful balls of yarn.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NanaKimmie
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
very pleased
6/3/2012

Customer review by chinacat1

5.0 stars 6/3/2012 by chinacat1
by chinacat1

I am very pleased with this yarn winder. The first time you use it I would suggest using cheaper yarn or yarn you just have laying around, until you get used to it. Remember to knot the beginning end of your yarn and put it into the slots for it before you start to wind. Always watch what you are doing. I have wound all weights of yarn on mine, even fun fur, with no problems! I always use a little piece of scotch tape to secure my end on the out side. Making the cakes makes crocheting a breeze...no more knots~~~~

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chinacat1
North East, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
I Am So Glad That I FINALLY Bought it..
1/13/2014

Customer review by Canthespam

4.0 stars 1/13/2014 by Canthespam
by Canthespam

I don't live near a Walmart and I dislike ordering new items sight unseen online, so I tend to procrastinate. Thanks to the wonderful people who answered my question, and other reviews. I bought this winder. At first I was ready to throw it out of the window .. I rolled up too much of the 7 oz skeins and it twisted around the gears. Once I got the hang of it, it performed beautifully. I now wind 7 oz skeins into two separate balls, with no problems. The only problem that I still have, and this is strictly because I am a ripper, if I don't like what I have crocheted so far or see a mistake, I start again. With the spun ball, you cannot put the used yarn back into or on it, like a regular ball that you hand wind. If I just rip out a few rows, that is quickly crocheted back into my project, but if it is more than that, then there is a lot of loose yarn. But as I said, that is because I get obsessive/compulsive about my projects. :-)

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Canthespam
San Francisco
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Nice little gadget
11/16/2012

Customer review by Dreamer4171

5.0 stars 11/16/2012 by Dreamer4171
by Dreamer4171

If you don't go too fast or slow it's great and once you figure it out you'll love it I use mine a lot. I had a bunch of messed up small balls of yarn now they are neat and tidy. A must have for anyone who uses yarn.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dreamer4171
Buchanan, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/23/2013

Customer review by JAGgemsandjewels

5.0 stars 7/23/2013 by JAGgemsandjewels
by JAGgemsandjewels

Works Great winds yarn into neat usable balls without any knots as may be found in the original manufactures skein. Is a great time saver.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JAGgemsandjewels
South Bend In
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Well made
9/21/2014

Customer review by Mrscaptdeeroberts

5.0 stars 9/21/2014 by Mrscaptdeeroberts
by Mrscaptdeeroberts

I debated on going top dollar with a yarn winder. However, I had never used one. I settled on the least expensive one and have been very pleased! It winds the yarn as it says and it's very easy. My kids help me. Remember to not put any slack in the yarn or it could wind around the gears which is a headache, but it's easy to keep the tension and a steady hand. I would buy this product again and recommend to anyone!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mrscaptdeeroberts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love This Yarn Winder
4/24/2014

Customer review by wieleva

5.0 stars 4/24/2014 by wieleva
by wieleva

I read the reviews for this item prior to my purchase. The reviews were good and I have to agree, this is a great value for the money. The winder is easy to set up and use. I didn't have any trouble using it. Although the directions that come in the box with the winder are rather vague, I did find a YouTube video which explained the process thoroughly. I would highly recommend this winder to a friend.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wieleva
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This works even better than I expected
9/1/2014

Customer review by Mutti50

5.0 stars 9/1/2014 by Mutti50
by Mutti50

I cannot believe that I have not bought one of these until now. Great price and it works beautifully. I have been winding all of my yarn into center pull balls of yarn. Easy to use and to set up. Make sure that you pull out the yarn guide all the way until it snaps into place or it will keep falling down. Love this product.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mutti50
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product.
5/15/2012

Customer review by Martony

5.0 stars 5/15/2012 by Martony
by Martony

Was able to wind those pesky partial skeins of yarn into perfect cakes of yarn. Makes a flat bottom so that the yarn is not rolling everywhere.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Martony
Lexington, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great for someone who use a lot of yarn.:
3/23/2013

Customer review by yarnoffun

5.0 stars 3/23/2013 by yarnoffun
by yarnoffun

I love this product!!!!! It makes using yarn tangle free.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
yarnoffun
Cleveland, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/16/2013

Customer review by AJsAbuela

5.0 stars 7/16/2013 by AJsAbuela
by AJsAbuela

Simple to use and the results are fantastic! I couldn't be more pleased with how this has helped with my yarn storage. Winding all of my yarn and being able to hang each one on a peg board has been such a huge organizational help, not to mention how much easier it is to quickly be able to see what I have, what I don't have so the inspiration to get started on the next project is .....WoW!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AJsAbuela
Summerdale, Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Saves so much time.
4/7/2013

Customer review by Craftylouwho

5.0 stars 4/7/2013 by Craftylouwho
by Craftylouwho

I love this little cranking dynamo. It saves me so much time, so much so that I don't know how I did without it for so long. I highly recommend this product for anyone who does yarn crafts. It's extremely easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Craftylouwho
Lawrenceburg, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So far so good
8/31/2013

Customer review by dcet

5.0 stars 8/31/2013 by dcet
by dcet

I have enjoyed using my Lacis yarn ball winder. Simple to use, operates smoothly, forms nice yarn cakes. I'm just starting out on my yarn adventures so have not used it extensively or for a long time so I can't comment on its sturdiness.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dcet
Western PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 75 total reviews
1-20 of 75 reviews