Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 56 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

56 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

56 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
41
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 stars
4
1-20 of 49 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 49 total reviews
1-20 of 49 reviews
Does what its say it does
1/30/2009

Customer review by nelrome

5.0 stars 1/30/2009 by nelrome
by nelrome

I used this product so far a couple of time, its not something you use everyday. The food that I sealed looks great after a couple of weeks, no frost on the meat, looks just as fresh as the day I sealed it. I cut a green pepper in half used it then seal the other half and left it for a week and to my surprise the edges that normally get crusty was still fresh and tasted great. Everyone should get one and I bet that people won't have to throw away spoiled food anymore saving your pockets and the your food. This was a great investment.

Was this review helpful? (139) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nelrome
Bronx, N.Y.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Top 500 contributor
Just Right!
6/12/2009

Customer review by sigss

5.0 stars 6/12/2009 by sigss
by sigss

I've used all of the hand vac and hand sealers around in order to avoid paying big bucks for a "real" vacuum sealer system. To be fair they have their place but this Seal-a-Meal Vac Sealer is just AWESOME! . It is simple, easy to use and does the job perfectly. The cheaper ones feel cheaper and from the reviews have lots of problems. The pricier systems have more to go wrong and just cost way too much. The Seal-a-Meal is just perfect for the person who wants to seal a few things a week AND it works great with those generic discount vacuum packaging bags and rolls so you really can save money. . If you have a bag sealer keep it handy, you can use it to make staple like spot welds in the bag so bulky items seal cleaner with the Seal-a-Meal. . Once you get the hang of this thing you can make your own bags or even tubes. I always end up with extra tomato paste so now I just mix in a little olive oil and make a toothpaste like container. It's a little tricky keeping the sealer from sucking the paste out but once you get the hang of it you can keep the tube in the fridge and just squeeze out what you need. . Yeah I'm rambling but it's awesome so if you are looking for a good vacuum sealer at a good price this is it.

Was this review helpful? (67) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sigss
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Money Saver
9/11/2009

Customer review by reddokc

5.0 stars 9/11/2009 by reddokc
by reddokc

I bought this just to save left overs but I've become addicted. I make up salads, with everything but the dressing and seal up each bag, lasts me 2-2 1/2 weeks. I make the hubby breakfast bread and muffins and seal those up, they're as fresh as the day I made them after a week. I just back the bag out a bit so that it doesn't vacuum for the breads because it will smoosh them. Great versatile machine that is well worth the money. (Extra tips: if they don't have the cheaper seal a meal bags at your local walmart go over to the food aisles and pick up a great value box of freezer bags, they work with the machine just fine. If you're not wanting it to vacuum out your food i.e. bread then don't put the bag as far into the machine as directed, this will bypass the vacuum and then seal it for you.)

Was this review helpful? (46) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
reddokc
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Pleased as Punch
3/7/2009

Customer review by HarHarHar

5.0 stars 3/7/2009 by HarHarHar
by HarHarHar

We purchased the Seal-a-Meal from a Walmart store and brought it home. It was lots of fun practicing making different size bags and sealing our stuff to keep it fresh. We'll be using it for all SORTS of things. It's so easy to use! We're pleased as punch and would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HarHarHar
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
LOVEIT!
3/3/2009

Customer review by LOVESFO

5.0 stars 3/3/2009 by LOVESFO
by LOVESFO

I'M HAVING A BLAST USING MY NEW SEAL A MEAL. THE FIRST DAY I SPENT THREE HOURS USING IT. RAN OUT OF BAGS. HAD SO MUCH FUN. I WASN'T EVEN HUNGRY! IT'S MY NEW TOY! I WENT TO THE STORE TO PICK UP MORE BAGS. IT'S THE BEST INVESTMENT I HAVE MADE. I CLAP AND YELL YIPEE WHEN THE SEAL LIGHT GOES ON!

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LOVESFO
PHOENIX, ARIZONA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love this product
1/15/2010

Customer review by Lydaly

5.0 stars 1/15/2010 by Lydaly
by Lydaly

This is the best thing for keeping food fresh I have ever had. It does everything it says that it does. I buy the rolls of bags and make my own perfect size bags. Love it.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lydaly
Cartwright, Ok.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very disabled product.
7/7/2009

Customer review by DJBork

1.0 stars 7/7/2009 by DJBork
by DJBork

I bought this product a week ago. It didnt have much suction at all. Would not seal the bags at all. So I thought I may have bought a defective one. Went and exchanged it and ran into the same problems. Your bag needs to be HUGE for the product to suck or seal and cannot handle anything even remotely wet. I returned the second one and sport the extra $50 for the Food Saver brand and it worked perfectly on the same item I was sealing in the same size bag. This prodect is seriously underpowered and should not be even sold.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DJBork
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great idea. Time will tell the results.
12/24/2009

Customer review by RockerAtHeart

5.0 stars 12/24/2009 by RockerAtHeart
by RockerAtHeart

I like to fill my freezer with baked goods, but always had to throw a lot of things out because of freezer burn. I guess time will tell whether this machine and its bags will prevent freezer burn in the foods I preserved with them. It's extremely simple to use, both with pre-cut bags and custom bags made from the rolls. If you intend to freeze liquids or sauces, or things that might squish or lose their shape when the air is sucked out, I recommend freezing them overnight in regular ziploc bags to keep their shape, then transferring them to the Seal-A-Meal bags to use in this machine. For example, I took a homemade pumpkin pie, froze it whole to maintain its shape, then cut it into wedges with a big sharp knife. Each wedge is in its own Seal-A-Meal bag in the freezer, its shape intact and perfect for portion control for a single person, and leaves no leftover pie sitting in the fridge to tempt overeating (or absorbing nasty fridge odors!) Just take the pie slice out of the bag before thawing, or it will become soggy from the trapped moisture. I've sealed up meats for the freezer with this equipment too, adding BBQ sauce to marinate the meat before sealing the bags. So far the Seal-A-Meal is a great product. My only complaint is that it doesn't like trying to process narrow tube-like bags that don't span the whole width of the rubber suction gasket.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RockerAtHeart
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Missing some basic functions
11/6/2010

Customer review by OutToSea

2.0 stars 11/6/2010 by OutToSea
by OutToSea

I live on a boat, and need to ensure long-term storage of a number of food and non-food items that is waterproof. I use a vacuum sealer to do this. When my old one broke, I purchased this one on-line, thinking it would have the same basic features of my previous one. However, it is missing one of the most basic, which is allowing the user to seal a bag, independent of vacuuming. This allows me to create bags of any size from a roll, seal a bag without vacuuming for delicate items, such as crackers, chocolate or pasta, and seal with a partial vacuum. Without this feature, it requires you to use individual bags, instead of the roll, which makes the on-going cost much more expensive. Also, fragile items either can't be sealed or they will be crushed. I would strongly recommend you look elsewhere for your food sealing alternative.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OutToSea
Hampton VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Sealed With A Kiss
11/10/2010

Customer review by Recondog

5.0 stars 11/10/2010 by Recondog
by Recondog

My girlfriend and I just sealed about 30lbs of fresh deer links. We used 22 quart sized bags without any issues.This machine worked each time / every time.Took us about an 1/2 hour to do it all.The only thing we did to help the process out was to, flip a plate over / upside down so that the bag sits level with the machine. Would highly recommend this to any hunter,fishermen.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Recondog
Rochester,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
seal a meal
7/12/2009

Customer review by skadvm

3.0 stars 7/12/2009 by skadvm
by skadvm

this product cannot be used with other bags. it wont vacuum if you dont use the seal a meal bags and there are none sold in walmart stores. buy one that has bags available where you shop!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
skadvm
Would recommend to a friend? No
What a piece of garbage!
8/23/2010

Customer review by countrynurse10

1.0 stars 8/23/2010 by countrynurse10
by countrynurse10

After reading all the rave reviews on the Seal-A-Meal, I had to check to see if I had bought the same item. This sealer was a major disappointment! Do not waste your money on this piece of garbage! Here are the cons: 1) The maximum width of bag is only 11" which is much more limiting than I anticipated. Until I started trying to seal food, did I realize how much I couldn't do with it. For example, homemade pies won't fit. 2) You can't seal anything with any kind of moisture content in it...it simply won't seal. I tried sealing garden peas after blanching and draining to freeze for the winter and no luck. 3) The sealer is very tempermental as to if and when it will seal at all. I had to keep pressure on the lid throughout the process to increase my chances of success. I learned to ignore the "hands free" indicator quickly. I wasted an enormous amount of bags with all the trial and error! Not exactly environmentally friendly or cost effective! 4) There is no manual control on the vacuum. This means that baking (I tried homemade banana bread) is crushed by the sealer and ruined. The manufacturer recommends freezing softer foods first, then sealing them. I'm looking to remove steps to the process, not add them. Neither am I looking to have to backtrack once food hits the freezer! The unit's going back tomorrow! I'm shopping for another sealer!

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
countrynurse10
Would recommend to a friend? No
suck-it-to-me
11/10/2009

Customer review by packrodent

5.0 stars 11/10/2009 by packrodent
by packrodent

Fine product, I concur with all of the positive reviewers... I use sealer to seal and compact items in emergency/first-aid kits. Adapters allow user to use "zip-lock" bags and other containers. Nicest feature is the S-A-M canisters (from seal-a-meal), they are cheaper, better and stronger than other makes!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
packrodent
Albuquerque NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Smoked Salmon
9/24/2009

Customer review by WhiteWolf1

5.0 stars 9/24/2009 by WhiteWolf1
by WhiteWolf1

I've been having good luck on the river and now have a freezer full of smoked Salmon, sealed the same day it was pulled from the water! It works with the roll so you can make your own size bags. A real plus. It took a little longer to do all the bags that I had because you have to wait between bags so it has the time to cool down and I had to push on the top hard to get it to come on. I guess that is normal. But the bags stack in the freezer nice and neat!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WhiteWolf1
Sequim, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Better than expected
2/7/2009

Customer review by Seahawklover

5.0 stars 2/7/2009 by Seahawklover
by Seahawklover

Works fine. Will save money buying in bulk.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Seahawklover
Portland, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great for the price
12/9/2009

Customer review by Cooksalot61

5.0 stars 12/9/2009 by Cooksalot61
by Cooksalot61

This product is very user friendly and does the job. My only concern is that I tried to seal some homemade spaghetti sauce and it seeped out while I was sealing it. But I think it was definitely my mistake in that I filled the bag too full. Other than that I am very happy with this food saver!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cooksalot61
Ashland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Foodsaver v 106
3/26/2010

Customer review by Gproshopper

5.0 stars 3/26/2010 by Gproshopper
by Gproshopper

After about a month of reviewing vacuum sealers I decided to go ahead and purchase this model. If it didn't work, it could returned since I bought it a wal-mart and are store is very good about accepting returns so I would not be out my money. Well im certainly glad I did. This is so worth the money and performs exactly how I had hoped and was at a price that was very affordable. If this sealer only last a yr, I will have gotten my moneys worth, and would gladly purchase another one. Although you have to cut the bags it really isn't an issue with me, since its not a big deal to cut and seal them on the end.I just don't see how you could go wrong with this vacuum sealer at a really good price. Although i have only had this for a few weeks, I am vacuuming the heck out of everthing and it seem to be holding up well. Love it!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gproshopper
Portland, In
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
just perfect
5/31/2010

Customer review by GrandpasGramma

5.0 stars 5/31/2010 by GrandpasGramma
by GrandpasGramma

I purchased this sealer as a mothers day gift for my 76 year old mother who is on a fixed income. It provides a way for her to save money by buying in bulk and making large meals and sealing/freezing individual meals for use at a later date. She has no trouble using it and has had no complaints so far. Its small enough to use in her small apartment and stores well.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GrandpasGramma
Ravenna, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Walmart associate
Great Product, Great Value.
4/25/2009

Customer review by rose00

5.0 stars 4/25/2009 by rose00
by rose00

We were getting ready to butcher a Pig and I didn't want to use trditional freezer paper. I had bought another vacuum sealer and it didn't work as advertised. I researched online and went to the store and bought this one. It works great. the hands free is especially good. When it's finishing you can get the next package ready. It comes with an accessories hose,so I can seal up leftovers for work and they stay fresher than they woul in any other container.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rose00
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Fit for a Queen!
12/9/2009

Customer review by QueenyB

5.0 stars 12/9/2009 by QueenyB
by QueenyB

I received this for a Christmas present from my husband in 2008. I was so happy that he listened to my request for a change. It has saved us a bundle of money. I purchase the long roll and make my own size bags. I like to freeze my home made soups in the winter. That way when ever the mood strikes, my husband can have a bowl of home made soup at his finger tips. He just places the bag in a bowl in the microwave or use it a a boiling bag on the stove. I do Chicken noodle, Vegtagle, and chili this way. There are just the two of us left at home know so I buy the large packages of meat and devided them which makes the servings cheaper.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
QueenyB
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 49 total reviews
1-20 of 49 reviews