Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 43 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

43 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

43 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
25
4 stars
14
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
2
1-20 of 42 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 42 total reviews
1-20 of 42 reviews
Good, But Not Perfect
2/13/2011

Customer review by DaPhilster39

4.0 stars 2/13/2011 by DaPhilster39
by DaPhilster39

Well, if you ever need to expand your LEGO Train layout this is a must, whether to create a parallel track to your main line or make an entirely different route. It opens up so many possibilities. However, it could be better. With this switch track, you can only make a track that curves back to the main line. (See the first picture. Sorry they're a little sloppy.) This is pretty limiting. I would like to see switches that you can make to form a 90 degree turn away from the main line (see second picture). One easy way to accomplish this is to make the last half-section of the curved part of the switch track able to come off. That way, you could make it a larger curve, or a curve like it already is. (see third picture) If you are planning to expand your LEGO Train layout, this set is a must. You can make parallel tracks with ease. If LEGO could consider my last suggestion, that would be great. (Oh, and for some reason, this review box I'm typing in keeps scrolling up and down really fast every time I type. I don't know why, but it's pretty annoying.

DaPhilster39
Lindon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
essential but lacking in handling of the curve
1/5/2013

Customer review by mndad

2.0 stars 1/5/2013 by mndad
by mndad

This is a must have to make layouts fun. One of our favorite uses is to make a simple "balloon loop", so we can run the train out to "far" destinations and have it come back without having to stop it and back up. Unfortunately Lego messed up the switch design. Normally a switch turns out from the straight direction, in a continuous arc. Sadly Lego's turn out has another arc turning back towards the switch slightly. This forces the train to curve out, then back, which means the train slows down somewhat (more friction) and more wiggle of the train, increasing the chance of derailment. Since Lego offers so few track options, and buying more track is so important to making this a fun toy, I hope they offer a better switch. They should take a trip to the hobby shop and study the shape of hobby train switches. If they really want to offer the "turn back" arc or whatever it is called, that should be a separate short curve track. The Lego trains are more fun than expected, and we'll probably buy a fair amount of track over the next few years. Lego should improve their track options.

mndad
Minneapolis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LEGO city switch tracks 7895
5/27/2016

Customer review by Momoftwo

5.0 stars 5/27/2016 by Momoftwo
by Momoftwo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this for my grandsons birthday. He's going to love it with the train set as an addition. Thanks Walmart. It arrived before the due date.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Momoftwo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The "Must Have" expansion
5/22/2011

Customer review by Suspet

4.0 stars 5/22/2011 by Suspet
by Suspet

Any trainset needs at least one set to make the play interesting. The more the merrier, you can hardly get enough switches/points on your train layout, if you have more trains, you'll need more switches. Design could have been improved with different geometry, but still cool (and easy) to use. The only thing that would make me like this product even better ...... I still think there should be power-conducting METAL on top of the rails. Being a hard headed 9volt fan, I would LOVE if the 9volt track series got a revival, including tracks and motors. This system was far to good to end production. The RC and IR trains ar brilliant, but extremely costly to feed with batteries. This problem never was an issue vith 12volt or 9volt trains, getting their power transformed right out of the wall socket. I like this product a lot, but I LOVE the 9volt tracks.

Suspet
Humlebaek
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome set of Tracks!
1/10/2016

Customer review by Mompicksuplegoagain

4.0 stars 1/10/2016 by Mompicksuplegoagain
by Mompicksuplegoagain

We bought these to go with a set of straight train tracks and a set of Flexible Tracks (which are also awesome!). My only problem turned out to be that we didn't consider that the number of track pieces we purchased limited the size of the track he was able to build. I thought the switching track would connect with the amount we bought. The boxes the tracks come in have great instructions on how to build tracks, but I didn't notice this on the website when I order the sets...otherwise I would have bought 2 or 3 as suggested. So, right now, the Hogwarts Train has to back up after driving up the one section of switching track or it will crash. On the upside, now he has something to save allowance for.

Mompicksuplegoagain
St. Thomas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Rosie
12/27/2015

Customer review by Rosie

5.0 stars 12/27/2015 by Rosie
by Rosie

Very usefull for extention

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rosie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not compatible with 9v motorized Lego trains
1/20/2012

Customer review by mattorr11

1.0 stars 1/20/2012 by mattorr11
by mattorr11

I have a very very difficult time submitting anything negative about Lego... also classifying myself as a Lego parent. I have been a huge fan since I first snapped my first two bricks together, over 30 years ago. Introducing my daughter to Legos has been one of the great joys and a true connection to my childhood. A few years back I purchased the first Lego 9v electric train I saw. Then this year for Christmas I purchased the Hogwarts train for my daughter (she is a huge Harry Potter fan). The tracks we had were not big enough to go around the tree. So I emmediately back ordered this set of tracks and switches as well as the set with curves and flexible track. So excited!! Even though we had to wait several weeks. The only complaint is that these are not compatible with the 9v. I should have read the note that these were not compatible. If these were available in the electric compatible version I would be busy ordering rather than typing this complaint. It breaks my heart to complain about my favorite toy growing up. Please PLEASE make more electric 9v compatible tracks. Especially straight tracks. Thank you so much for all the years of fun. Hope you hear my plea and look forward to expanding our train collection!!

mattorr11
Seattle
Would recommend to a friend? No
Nice to have Extra tracks
2/10/2016

Customer review by SWLegoJedi127721

4.0 stars 2/10/2016 by SWLegoJedi127721
by SWLegoJedi127721

Recently purchased both the Cargo Train and Heavy Hauler Train. Enjoy both very much. It is very nice that Lego sells two types of additional extra railroad track pieces/sets. I combined the 2 sets plus these extra pieces to make a larger set up.

SWLegoJedi127721
Seattle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This Set is Important
10/10/2011

Customer review by Pikman01

4.0 stars 10/10/2011 by Pikman01
by Pikman01

It doesn't matter if have 116 Straight tracks, 64 Curve tracks, or even 5 stations. If you don't have these pieces, your layout is mediocre. Switchtracks are important if you want to build a complex, dynamic railroad. without these, all your trains are required to run in one direction, whereas with them, you can have multiple Passenger Lines and Frieght lines, with multidirectional trains and many sidings for the extra rolling stock. I would assume the extra curves are for more advanced builders (No, not the ones who cut up and modify their peices), who can use the extra curves to intigrate the switch into a curve, or elsewhere on their layout. in any case, this set is MANDATORY if you want a nice layout.

Pikman01
-Unknown-
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
cheap than 9v
1/5/2011

Customer review by ZCR15

3.0 stars 1/5/2011 by ZCR15
by ZCR15

The best way to mod Lego train track, Because they are cheap $25.00 AUD. Wish the AUD was higher so I could get more. They’re very hard to make into an auto switch. Come on Lego get with the program and give us more train options, track, trains and sets. But if you are on 9V person and it too expensive to get the real stuff use aluminum tape to add a conductive surface to the rails. 9v poeple stick with the old system it was the best but 12v were better becaues of the amount of parts and they were like a real train set that why we liked the 9v/12v system.

ZCR15
Australia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
You'll buy more!
6/10/2009

Customer review by Dave77

4.0 stars 6/10/2009 by Dave77
by Dave77

Drop this into a simple layout and your imagination will take over. Soon you'll realise, as I did, that you'll need more than just two. The switchtracks work out at about £5 each which isn't bad value for money although my set seems to be accumulating more curves than straight from buying the add-ons. Suggest that lego sell Straight peices and Curved Peices seperately? The action on the switchover can be rather stiff and I did feel like I was forcing them a little hard to get them to move. Don't be put off by this though as the action eases over time.

Dave77
Nottingham, UK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for any Lego Railway
6/25/2010

Customer review by Turner

5.0 stars 6/25/2010 by Turner
by Turner

If you have too many turn peices, this is a great way to use all of them wthout using up too much space. With these you can create another track that is parallel to your original track. And if you do it right, you are saving straight tracks and using more curves, as that seems to be a pandemic in today's lego trains.. It's also good if you have 2 or more trains, that way you can run trains in opposite directions without them crashing. Getting 4 switches will allow you to make 2 seperate loops that don't overlap.

Turner
Lindon, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Extras
12/27/2015

Customer review by gme6281

5.0 stars 12/27/2015 by gme6281
by gme6281

Wasn't sure what I needed for the big set to so I added this to the cart...switch track is great!!!! My little guy loves it, had no idea what a great addition this set would be.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gme6281
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
awesome but what do you get
8/13/2011

Customer review by citybuilder543

4.0 stars 8/13/2011 by citybuilder543
by citybuilder543

this is a great set no doubt in my mind or probably anybody elses but what do you actually get? well two switching points so lets say they are £5 and you get two so £10 and four corners so lets say £2 for four so £12 so if this was the price then you would save £3 which isnt massive but if you are planning on building a big city the savings can all add up to quite a reasonable sum of money otherwise a brilliant set peace out citybuilder543

citybuilder543
nottinghamshire
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A must for any train collector
8/2/2012

Customer review by mapaxe1990

4.0 stars 8/2/2012 by mapaxe1990
by mapaxe1990

Well, as my title says, it is a must. You can make a racquet shape as the one I'm showing. This way the train goes back to the same track and you save lots of meters - or yards, if you will - of tracks! Having said this, I do have some thoughts... Why does it come with curve tracks???? Aside of Emerald Night and Maersk, you get them with any train set!!! Add straight track instead of curved! That's why I give it 4/5 and not 5/5

mapaxe1990
Queretaro
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Simply a Must-have
2/21/2015

Customer review by amazed78

5.0 stars 2/21/2015 by amazed78
by amazed78

The title says it all: this set is a must-have for the person who wants their trains to do something other than go round in circles (pun intended). I'm very glad that these switching tracks are included in the cargo train sets. The yellow handle seems a bit flimsy, but so far I haven't broken any, so I assume appearances can be deceiving.

amazed78
Muurame
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great to extend possibilities!
9/23/2012

Customer review by AJlegoman

5.0 stars 9/23/2012 by AJlegoman
by AJlegoman

with these you can make loops conect to other loops, aviod train colisions, and create a web of tracks all over a city. an all around great product and a definite yes for all Lego Cities. the only way it could be cooler is if you had elecric / remote controll, auto switch so your trains can switch tracks from any were in the room. but the switch trackes are a need for all train collecters.

AJlegoman
Okemos
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good purchase
6/8/2010

Customer review by math

5.0 stars 6/8/2010 by math
by math

I got this switch pack for christmas.I like that you get two switchs and four curves because i have the 2006 cargo train,2006 passenger train,2010 train station,three stright and curve packs and one more switch pack.you also get atrack idea book.Now to the pros and cons. pros lot of track idea book great for building a city cons none great pack.I will give it a ten out of ten.

math
bristow, va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I finally got these!!!
10/10/2012

Customer review by Daniel13

5.0 stars 10/10/2012 by Daniel13
by Daniel13

After saving my allowance for weeks, I had my mom order these on October 5 2012 and they came today. Since I was finished with my school, I set up my cargo train deluxe and maersk train with these and they worked great. I built a cool track with 4 sidings. One featured a double crossing with the 7936 and 7898 crossings. Thanks for reading!

Daniel13
Covington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Lego Switch Tracks
2/23/2011

Customer review by Moore202

4.0 stars 2/23/2011 by Moore202
by Moore202

I got these and i had nothing planed for them then i thought dont you hate it when there are to trains coming at each other well i thought for a while an found a way to do that all you need is just some of the flex track and then take them and make it as long as your train and just turn it to oppsite sides and watch them go by each other.

Moore202
Apopka
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 42 total reviews
1-20 of 42 reviews