Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 21 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

21 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

21 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

71%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
8
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 stars
4
1-14 of 14 total reviews
71%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

decent handheld CB
11/23/2009

Customer review by katekebo

4.0 stars 11/23/2009 by katekebo
by katekebo

This is a very decent handheld CB radio. I have two and use them when hiking and as back up communication when travelling. The radio puts out full 4W when connected to externatl 12V power supply, and 2-3W when running on AA batteries. Transmission and reception is good even with the rubber duck antenna, and with a full-size magnet mount antenna it performs as well as a mobile CB. The weather channels are a usefull feature, especially when hiking / camping, but recenption with the rubber duck antenna is hanpered because it is tuned to a different frequency range. But overall, it is probably the best handheld CB you can buy, and the price is just right.

Was this review helpful? (61) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
katekebo
cincinnati, ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Cobra 38WXST
12/12/2009

Customer review by gr82bking

5.0 stars 12/12/2009 by gr82bking
by gr82bking

This is exactly what I thought it would be. They work very good for use around the house. Don't expect to experience a long range on ANY cb radio, but certainly they are useful. Need external antenna if you plan on using in a car. Features and ease of use could not possibly be better. Serves my purpose.

Was this review helpful? (27) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gr82bking
Ashburnham, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Easy to use
11/7/2011

Customer review by Wizsos

4.0 stars 11/7/2011 by Wizsos
by Wizsos

This radio works as expected, with the weather channel coming through clearly. It is easy to use. I hooked up my 80s era CB and used both at the same time to compare reception. This radio does not have the range of the regular CB, which I expected. But it does work fine and I think convenience and security (to hide when the car is unattended) are necessary and I can always carry this radio with me. I need to find an adapter to hook up an external antenna and test for range, but I suspect it will be as good as my other CB when hooked to a regular antenna.

Was this review helpful? (26) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wizsos
Houston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not worth the money
1/29/2010

Customer review by AudMom

1.0 stars 1/29/2010 by AudMom
by AudMom

The radios have very little range with the antenna it comes with. I don't know if another antenna would make it better but to pay all that money for something that won't range anymore than 100 feet is stupid. I'm hoping to take mine back.

Was this review helpful? (27) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AudMom
california
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Not for use in a vehicle
6/19/2014

Customer review by monsterjohn

1.0 stars 6/19/2014 by monsterjohn
by monsterjohn

Works okay outside but has a high pitched wine when inside or near a vehicle. The sound is so loud I had to buy another unit to use in my vehicle. Tried it in several vehicles with all the same results.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
monsterjohn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Terrible Reception
11/1/2014

Customer review by JeepRubucon

1.0 stars 11/1/2014 by JeepRubucon
by JeepRubucon

Nothing but static-no range.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JeepRubucon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Well built cb
6/21/2015

Customer review by rockotheman

5.0 stars 6/21/2015 by rockotheman
by rockotheman

I really like this handheld, Has features , like send/receive meter, weather and soundtracker noise reduction. Works good , I use it when I'm in the garage working or outside in the back yard.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rockotheman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Now ready
5/13/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 5/13/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Tornado May 20 2013 Oklahoma City, home destroyed, Ready now to call for help if there is a next time.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very convenient handheld
4/13/2015

Customer review by C Newton

5.0 stars 4/13/2015 by C Newton
by C Newton

I bought this radio about a week ago, mainly for being out and about (camping, etc.) and as a convenient way to test my other transcievers. It is set up with the stock rubber antenna and equipped with standard alkaline batteries. As can be expected, the range is not "great" with this setup, but is better than I expected. The built in weather function is very nice and receives well, very handy to have around the house in case of an emergency. Very pleased with this product myself, but would definitely recommend an actual mobile transciever for use in a vehicle.

C Newton
Owensboro, KY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
handheld
6/5/2015

Customer review by bob328

4.0 stars 6/5/2015 by bob328
by bob328

This is a capable handheld, but speaker often hard to hear. Make sure to get a good antenna or it is really limited in range. It is easy to use and helps when you get stuck on highway trips.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bob328
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Real happy
6/3/2015

Customer review by Paulski1

4.0 stars 6/3/2015 by Paulski1
by Paulski1

This has worked pretty decently for me. Beats having to lug around a larger set, fits in a travel bag nicely. Decently priced also.

Paulski1
Redlands, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
hand held cb radio by cobra
6/19/2015

Customer review by 62thespecialist

4.0 stars 6/19/2015 by 62thespecialist
by 62thespecialist

weather channel is nice to have ,works great!!! love the way it is styled. have not really had a chance to use the CB yet!! but I'm sure it works just fine? Of coarse with most radios they say they will reach 3-4 miles but I know you would be doing good if you got 1 mile . For what I bought it for it is a great little radio. If you are looking for any more than this you need to install a radio .

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
62thespecialist
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Falls Short Of What I Expect From Cobra
5/16/2015

Customer review by smitty03281964

2.0 stars 5/16/2015 by smitty03281964
by smitty03281964

I have owned this unit since 2003. Just recently tried using it. Really no reception at home with the supplied antenna. Went out on interstate with it and still really no reception. The weather feature works great. Maybe a better antenna is needed. I will get one and post the results. Also I don't think a owners manual came with the unit and I looked in the box

smitty03281964
Yeadon, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
not good.
8/2/2015

Customer review by turbo

1.0 stars 8/2/2015 by turbo
by turbo

It dose not work for what i need it to do can not communicate.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
turbo
Would recommend to a friend? No