Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 13 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

13 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

13 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-11 of 11 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

2/8/2013

Customer review by JEJJ

5.0 stars 2/8/2013 by JEJJ
by JEJJ
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was going to use this CB in my truck but decided to make it into a base station. It works fantastic I have picked up people from Oregon, Florida, upper New York State even picked up one person from Hawaii Islands. Of course you cannot do that all the time the atmospheric conditions have to be just right for the signal to jump from there to here. But I'm totally satisfied with the radio and it's done everything I wanted to do and if I decide to make any long trips all I have to do is unplug it and install it into the truck to have it with me.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JEJJ
Pasadena TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
works as expected
4/19/2009

Customer review by THEORIGINALTINMAN

5.0 stars 4/19/2009 by THEORIGINALTINMAN
by THEORIGINALTINMAN

works very well, delivery time very good!

Was this review helpful? (35) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
THEORIGINALTINMAN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Works great,has good sound and range,
10/19/2012

Customer review by HELLBOUNDTRAIN

5.0 stars 10/19/2012 by HELLBOUNDTRAIN
by HELLBOUNDTRAIN

Good radio,haven't had much chance to use all its functions yet,but need a better mobile antenna, although the one I bought for it, the Cobra HG A 1500 has pretty good range. And I plan to use it as a base station also,with a directional antenna...

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HELLBOUNDTRAIN
S.Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
The Ultimate in High Class
2/4/2016

Customer review by Dirt Rider

5.0 stars 2/4/2016 by Dirt Rider
by Dirt Rider

The Cobra 148 GTL is the King of the Cobras. It is the gold standard for ALL mobile CB radios. I still have my first one and it is 22 years old! Never been modified or serviced. Now that is what reliability is all about!

Dirt Rider
Elmira, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
this is a great radio for anyone
9/21/2013

Customer review by littlebluemack

5.0 stars 9/21/2013 by littlebluemack
by littlebluemack
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love my cobra radio. I don't think I would want any other c-b at this time. It really works great.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
littlebluemack
Olathe, ks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great cb radio
1/8/2015

Customer review by War Wagon

5.0 stars 1/8/2015 by War Wagon
by War Wagon
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought one of the new cobra 148gtl cb's with the front mic jack in may 2011 and a cobra m75 power mic to go with it and i have been really happy with both of them i have talked to a friend 14 miles away on sideband using a 4ft firestick antenna on the roof of my van he was shocked when i told him i was using a 4ft antenna as he was using a 9ft ss whip antenna. The 148gtl has been in several vehicles of mine and at the moment serves as a base station powered by a 12 volt power supply.

War Wagon
Elmhurst, IL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
can not find a replacement mike anywhere
1/12/2015

Customer review by jack rabbit

1.0 stars 1/12/2015 by jack rabbit
by jack rabbit
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

ft from Lordsburg New Mexico to Lubbock Texas for a replacement mic for the GTL 148 you cannot find one

jack rabbit
Lubbock, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Outstanding Radio
10/14/2014

Customer review by Retro

5.0 stars 10/14/2014 by Retro
by Retro
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have bought 3 of the newer 148 GTLs over the course of the past couple years with the front facing mic plug and they've all 3 been outstanding radios. I have one in my pickup truck, one on my wife's car, and one in the house set up as a base station with an AC to DC power supply and a Solarcon A-99 base antenna. They have all 3 performed great and I always get good audio reports and compliments on how great it sounds. The SSB works great and the built in SWR meter is dead on with my external meter. The NB/ANL seems to work pretty good, although the radio does not seem to be terribly sensitive to interference compared to some other radios I've used, and I like the knobs a lot better than the small ones on the Cobra 29 LX. This is about as good as a CB radio gets. For those that like the newer looking digital CB radios though like the Cobra 29 LX or the newer Uniden radios, this might not be the radio for you. It has the classic chrome front face with chromed buttons and an analog meter. It doesn't have built in talkback or echo, and the clarifier (called Voicelock on Cobra radios) does not adjust your transmit frequency, only the receive(although this is because of FCC regs, not because of an intentional lack of capability). It also doesn't have channel scan, instant channel 9, or an antenna light, although it does have a built in SWR calibration/check function so if you're curious about your antenna condition you can check your SWR, and even leave the meter on that function if you want to keep an eye on your SWR while transmitting. Overall though, they don't get much better than the Cobra 148 GTL if you want a reliable, professional grade CB radio, especially considering the relatively low price. Just look up any CB radio club or forum and ask people what they think about the Cobra 148 GTL. It's a great looking classic style CB radio with good sounding audio both sent and received even on single side band, and enough major features to make anybody happy. After owning various other radios from other manufacturers, there's a reason I run nothing but these radios in both vehicles and in my house, and I would recommend them to anybody.

Retro
Salyersville, KY, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great service
8/27/2013

Customer review by kc7mwr

5.0 stars 8/27/2013 by kc7mwr
by kc7mwr
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Item well packaged and arrived on time, well pleased with Walmart service and prices.

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kc7mwr
Mesa, AZ.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Somethings just work better, this is one of them.
1/4/2014

Customer review by IdahoJohn

5.0 stars 1/4/2014 by IdahoJohn
by IdahoJohn
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great price, very reasonable shipping. I knew what I wanted and this CB was it. The perfect combination of Price, Shipping, and Product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IdahoJohn
Moscow, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
best price you will find
12/7/2013

Customer review by timsaviking

5.0 stars 12/7/2013 by timsaviking
by timsaviking
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great price for this cb anywhere. And great shipping to.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
timsaviking
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.