Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 165 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

165 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

165 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
125
4 stars
16
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 stars
12
1-20 of 142 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 142 total reviews
1-20 of 142 reviews
As always Rival skillets are very reliable
6/8/2009

Customer review by Bacow1

5.0 stars 6/8/2009 by Bacow1
by Bacow1

This probably the sixth Rival skillet I have purchased in my forty years of marriage. their product is always good and the newer ones have kept improving.

Was this review helpful? (127) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bacow1
Philly
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Amazing skillet! Especially for the price!
7/12/2009

Customer review by ChynaDoll91185

5.0 stars 7/12/2009 by ChynaDoll91185
by ChynaDoll91185

My boyfriend and I have had this skillet for more than 2 months now and it has made our lives 100 times easier. He was living in a place with no kitchen and the landlord did not allow hot plates (ugh) so we tried out the skillet. He used it everyday and now that we've moved into an apartment with an actual kitchen, we still prefer to cook in this. Like another review said, it cooks better than the stove! We were going to get a microwave, but decided that this is better. So now need for the bulky appliance anymore. Great for a couple! If you are hesitating, stop. Just buy the darn thing already.

Was this review helpful? (81) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChynaDoll91185
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Product!
6/9/2009

Customer review by FiveFootTwo

5.0 stars 6/9/2009 by FiveFootTwo
by FiveFootTwo

I have one of the FIRST models of these, and it still works great after all these years. I have never had any problems with it. I use it for everything...stir fry, grilled sandwiches, hotdishes, roasts, swedish meatballs, chicken breasts, burgers, sloppy joes, pancakes, sausage, eggs, bacon, french toast, swiss steak...you name it, I've made it in there. This is a die-hard skillet! Because of this, I just ordered one for my friend's son & girlfriend who got their first apartment. I KNOW they will love it as much as I do. Easy to use, easy to clean, dependable!

Was this review helpful? (71) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FiveFootTwo
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Faster than a microwave!
1/12/2009

Customer review by brainout

5.0 stars 1/12/2009 by brainout
by brainout

I've owned this product for maybe a month now. It cooks faster than a microwave! And then, of course, you can leave the food on "Warm", so you save energy versus using the microwave again. It's many appliances in one: you can use it like a frying pan, a slow cooker, a conventional saucepan; it's great for cooking rice, so replaces a rice cooker, too. I'd bet you could bake cornbread in it, or a small chicken. Honestly, I'm really thrilled with this product. It's easy to clean. Be SURE to follow its instructions on first seasoning it. I used olive oil (was all I had), heated the skillet to 300 and then let it cool down, per the instructions. Then I just wiped it dry with a paper towel. Cleanup thereafter is a snap. You can't immerse the skillet, but you won't need to: just use sudsy hot water: I use one of those sponges on a stick and hot water. Then dry it. The temperature gauge would seem to be confusing -- until you read the instructions. They tell you what temperature to use for common foods, so it's easy to 'translate' what level of heat or microwave power becomes what 'temperature' on the skillet. Was always chary of electric skillets, but with this one you can remove the heating element. You can be sure when the heating element is off, because you can't turn the dial left any longer. Then let it cool before unplugging. If you know anyone who's not good at cooking, get them this skillet. One slight con: there is no spout built in on the side. I'd rather have a small spout for pouring, than the hole they built into the lid to let steam escape. Else, I can't think of anything negative to say!

Was this review helpful? (72) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
brainout
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
Great Skillet
11/16/2009

Customer review by DebbieVegas

5.0 stars 11/16/2009 by DebbieVegas
by DebbieVegas

For the price this is a great skillet my husband and I use this several times a week. It's fast to heat up and easy to clean up. I did a lot of shopping around and for the money this was the best deal out there.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DebbieVegas
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Mini Frypan for Two!
12/21/2008

Customer review by ShopGreenGal

5.0 stars 12/21/2008 by ShopGreenGal
by ShopGreenGal

If you are cooking for only a couple of people this is an awesome little electric skillet. It's the perfect size - food doesn't get "lost" in this pan like it does in the larger versions of this skillet. You can use less oil or butter when cooking with this pan and still cover the bottom of the pan. Great finish, doesn't scratch even using metal utensils. Temp control a wonderful benefit - you can keep the pan on warm and your food will stay hot!

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShopGreenGal
Jacksonville, FL.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Worse than the cheap cookware I already have
10/5/2011

Customer review by Lukeonia1

1.0 stars 10/5/2011 by Lukeonia1
by Lukeonia1

I originally bought this electric skillet because my apartment has a ceramic-coil stove, and my thin cookware heats too unevenly on it to cook very well; food sticks and burns to the spots where the pan touches the coil. Little did I know this skillet has the same problem, only MUCH worse. First, the heating element is just a ring set into a thin plate of aluminum on the bottom of the pan. This does nothing to spread the heat evenly, so you get a scorching-hot ring on the bottom of the pan, while the rest of the pan barely gets warm. This is fine if you're cooking something that needs to be stirred constantly, but if the food gets too dry or you let it sit for more than a few seconds, it'll burn. You can't sear anything or brown anything because only a small part of the pan heats up. And you certainly can't simmer anything either, unless you want a ring of burned food on the bottom of the pan. Second, it doesn't heat steadily; the temperature dial actually only controls how frequently the heating element cycles on and off. So while the element is on, your food is burning, and while the element is off, it's not cooking at all. The only positive things I can say about this electric skillet are the fact that the entire thing is dishwasher safe, and that the nonstick coating really is incredibly nonstick. Your food may burn to charcoal on the bottom of the pan, but the charcoal wipes right off. I can't say much about its durability, other than that it seems reasonably sturdy. It doesn't matter to me though, because this thing is going back tomorrow. Maybe I'll invest in some good heavy cookware after all.

Was this review helpful? (17) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lukeonia1
Would recommend to a friend? No
This Little Electric Skillet Works Great!
7/31/2009

Customer review by IntrepidSnail

5.0 stars 7/31/2009 by IntrepidSnail
by IntrepidSnail

Like most people here, I read the reviews before buying the Rival 11" Electric Skillet. I was like, for heaven's sake, these people are going ga-ga over a skillet... Count me in! Here's the thing, this smallish skillet is the perfect size for 1 or 2 or a small family. It's light in weight yet feels very sturdily manufactured. Because it's aluminum, it heats up nice and evenly and holds heat well. Its ability to maintain a certain temperature is worth the price of admission alone. But with the non-stick coating on the inside *and* outside the this little guy's a cooking champ. A quick shot of cooking spray ensures that clean up is practically painless. Plus it's FULLY SUBMERSIBLE, when absolutely necessary - sometimes I just wipe the inside with cheap napkins and it's ready for the next cooking task. I'm sold.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IntrepidSnail
Santa Fe, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Non stick surface has gone
5/27/2010

Customer review by shop4thebest

2.0 stars 5/27/2010 by shop4thebest
by shop4thebest

I don't see anyone else with this problem but I am very upset because my skillet is unusable now. I have a large whitish ring on the black coating which corresponds with the round element directly underneath the pan. I don't know where the coating went but probably in my food. I want to get another one but am reluctant because of the non stick coating coming off again. I have used this skillet about one dozen times. I use a non scratch spatula and usually did a quick stir fry in it and gently cleaned it. Has anyone else noticed this?

Was this review helpful? (13) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shop4thebest
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Never buy another rival product
12/5/2010

Customer review by cooksforone

1.0 stars 12/5/2010 by cooksforone
by cooksforone

I replaced an electric skillet I'd had for 3 years with this product six months ago. Today, as I was cooking bacon, I noticed that as I turned the bacon, much of the pan's teflon coating was coming off on the bacon. I used my original skillet daily, sometimes for 3 meals. The Rival product I used maybe every other day as have been avoiding fried foods in my diet. I had a craving for bacon today and thought I'd fry some up with my Rival skillet but instead I'll be going to target to get another skillet. Guess what brand name I won't be considering?

Was this review helpful? (10) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cooksforone
Fortville, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Amazing!!!
7/27/2011

Customer review by LiveLearnLoveLaugh

5.0 stars 7/27/2011 by LiveLearnLoveLaugh
by LiveLearnLoveLaugh

I just moved into a basement apartment which doesn't allow stoves. So I decided to shop around for hotplates and came across the skillet. So there was definitely a debate between the two. But the skillet had better reviews than the hotplates I looked at. However, I was still a little skeptical about the skillet. But since it was so reasonably priced Ii gave it a shot. Tonight was the first time I used it (broiled chicken) and OMG I was amazed. The skillet got hot faster than a lot of people mentioned it would (instantly - in my case). It didn't take much to get it working which was an absolute plus. Overall, I am very happy. I made the right choice! Now if I can find a rice cooker that's just as great! :)

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LiveLearnLoveLaugh
The Oranges, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
I love this skillet! But be careful...
1/5/2011

Customer review by daddio1

5.0 stars 1/5/2011 by daddio1
by daddio1

This skillet is so versatile. I tried the Chicken Cacciatore recipe from the instruction booklet which turned out great! I have prepared so many meals on it. The last meal was prepared almost totally with this skillet cleaning it between each portion prepared. It heats up much faster than my electric stove and does not burn things like the stove does. It even boils water fast for cooking rice and pasta! The temperature control keeps you from burning anything. I wish it did supply constant heat in some instances and DO NOT use metal utensils because it will scratch the surface. Otherwise, I am very happy that I bought this skillet and I hope that the price stays low because I may get a second one.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
daddio1
Cleveland, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love it
8/12/2010

Customer review by Pinky0204

5.0 stars 8/12/2010 by Pinky0204
by Pinky0204

This is great! Have had it for a couple of months and I would die without it. The size is perfect. We have 6 mouths to feed, and we always have left overs. Haven't had one problem with it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pinky0204
Edmond Ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
non-stick coating failed
11/4/2011

Customer review by Melilem

1.0 stars 11/4/2011 by Melilem
by Melilem

I purchased this at Walmart for $21 to replace my ancient Rival skillet, which I loved. After the first use, the non stick coating became dull, now after the third use it has white spots where the coating has come off. I am very disappointed. As I mentioned, I have previously owned a nonstick electric skillet and know better than to scrub it, use abrasive cleaners or use metal utensils with the skillet. This was not my doing, the coating was defective.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Melilem
Would recommend to a friend? No
Exactly what I needed
1/15/2012

Customer review by Glasgowshopper

5.0 stars 1/15/2012 by Glasgowshopper
by Glasgowshopper

This is the perfect electric skillet for a couple or small family. It easily holds 4 burgers, pork chops, chicken breasts etc. Not too much excess surface if you are only cooking for 2. It cleans in a snap. I have a standard double sink and the skillet fits all the way down into the sink for washing. The glass lid is vented and allows you to see what you are cooking during the process. If you are looking for a high domed lid this this is not for you. I happen to love the standard glass lid as it makes storage much easier. The truly non-stick surface allows me to cook with just a small amount of cooking spray to save on fat and calories. As with any non-stick surface you should use non-metal utensils. I put small pieces of foil over the handles when cooking to avoid the spatter problem you tend to develop with electric skillets. The price for this skillet is excellent. I am extremely pleased with this purchase and have given away my old oversize skillet to someone who has a larger family and more storage space.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Glasgowshopper
KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
use almost daily
12/31/2009

Customer review by vincentll

5.0 stars 12/31/2009 by vincentll
by vincentll

due to no teeth eat a lot of soft foods especially hamburger helper which frying pan is PERFECT size

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vincentll
South Fallsburg,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Outstanding for everyday use
6/23/2012

Customer review by Squicken

5.0 stars 6/23/2012 by Squicken
by Squicken

This is an excellent value, I have been using it "almost" every night. I thought it would be easy for pancakes and eggs also grilled cheese (I don't like frying on my new flat top stove) and this has turned out to be so useful for so many things. Just watch the temperature control and start out low as it heats up fast. But is the best thing since sliced bread.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Squicken
Sebring, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great for small space.
9/30/2011

Customer review by h2oplease

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by h2oplease
by h2oplease

I use a microwave or this skillet for all my indoor cooking. Very happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
h2oplease
south Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
I Love This... Love, Love, Love!!!
7/22/2012

Customer review by MissSophie

5.0 stars 7/22/2012 by MissSophie
by MissSophie

This skillet is so much fun to use & it gets extremely hot!! I prepared one of my fav's (Chicken Alfredo Parmesan) & it took less than 10 minutes as oppose to my regular black stove skillet which may take up to 20-25 minutes just to slow cook. I love this device & use it a lot! Great Buy

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MissSophie
Detroit, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
excellent pan
11/26/2010

Customer review by IndyCooker

5.0 stars 11/26/2010 by IndyCooker
by IndyCooker

Next to my crock-pot slow cooker, my rice steamer, this fry pan is the best buy I've made in years. In fact, now these are the only cooking items I use period. The Rival fryer is just the right size for my teeny-tiny-minute studio kitchenette. And it is a dream to clean up. The heating element is really fast and accurate on settings. Don't let the low price fool you either...you know they say, you get what you pay for? With this, you get superb for less!!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IndyCooker
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 142 total reviews
1-20 of 142 reviews