Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 57 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

57 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

57 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
30
4 stars
21
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
2
1-20 of 54 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 54 total reviews
1-20 of 54 reviews
Great product and value
5/12/2010

Customer review by LindyLuLuV

5.0 stars 5/12/2010 by LindyLuLuV
by LindyLuLuV

Good price, very very sturdy item. My hubby can dunk on it for a second or two with no tipping. It does take a while to put together, a couple hours likely, however it's very easy. The instructions are simple and easy to follow. My hubby did it all himself with the exception of a couple things he needed help holding up to screw on. Filling the base takes awhile. We used sand and water to make it easier. It's sooooo heavy, it's not going anywhere. :) I love that it's adjustable, not many of the portable goals are. Our little boys can play at the low setting and hubby and I can have a game of horse with it all the way up!

Was this review helpful? (24) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LindyLuLuV
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent
11/21/2016

Customer review by Smilie

5.0 stars 11/21/2016 by Smilie
by Smilie

I bought this for my daughter and it has passed two hurricanes and it's still in pretty good shape. Highly recommended.

Smilie
Louisiana, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Water doesn't work
11/10/2016

Customer review by Jenney

4.0 stars 11/10/2016 by Jenney
by Jenney

I bought this for my son and his friends who use it all the rime. They only issue we've experienced is that water doesn't work. They boys seem to be able to knock it down so I filled the base with sand and it works wonderfully. I would recommend this product to any family but would suggest the use of sand instead of water.

Jenney
Vine Grove, KY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
good product for the money
6/26/2010

Customer review by Capecoach

5.0 stars 6/26/2010 by Capecoach
by Capecoach

We had a smaller version of this unit for seven years until the back board cracked, so we were very aware of the value this company could offer, especially given the constant use and the frozen winters we experience here on Cape Cod. This unit has a very large backboard area, and it is pretty solid. It took about three hours for me to put it together alone, though there were two times I needed help from my wife. The directions are pretty good if you are handy. You do need some tools, though the ads say you don't. It doesn't come with any. A good socket wrench set and some open end wrenches will save your day. The directions say not to fill the base with water because it can evaporate if it leaks and the unit will fall on you, but believe me, I put two hundred fifty pounds of sand in like they say to do, and it took three hours because the hole is so small. They show someone using a funnel in the directions haha, but that only works if the sand is very very very dry. I say use water and take your chances! This large backboard seems to create a louder thump when you shoot hoops than my previous 44 inch one, but that is very minor. Ordering from Walmart.com for only 97cents shipping was the best part, and I got it in just five days delivered to my door! All in all, this is really a top notch portable unit for not a lot of money, though I cannot vouch for slammin' and jammin' with it since nobody in my crew is that tall! You won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (29) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Capecoach
Cape Cod, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Value at a Fair Price
9/16/2009

Customer review by PrudentPurchasers

5.0 stars 9/16/2009 by PrudentPurchasers
by PrudentPurchasers

We appreciated the thoroughness of the web site description and the ratings. Shipping was efficient and reasonable in cost. Instruction booklet for assembly was very helpful. All parts were included. The height adjustment is accomplished more easily than expected. Family members and friends of all ages are enjoying this addition to our driveway. Very satiusfied with our first Walmart web purchase.

Was this review helpful? (35) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PrudentPurchasers
Turner, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
Solid product - good for a starter basketball hoop
1/15/2014

Customer review by HawaiianMcLovin

4.0 stars 1/15/2014 by HawaiianMcLovin
by HawaiianMcLovin
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This would have been 5 stars but the backboard was pretty significantly scratched from poor packing - they should have protected it better from the other metal pieces. But seeing that this will get a lot of use, and I already had to return the first one they sent (because that was poorly packed as well and one of the pipes had been scraped and dented during shipping) we just decided to keep it. My daughter didn't want to wait another 9 days to get a new one. That being said I was pleasantly surprised at how well written the directions were, and the diagrams were very detailed so it was easy to figure out how it all went together. Took me about 3 hours to assemble, but putting in the sand took another 1/2 hour. Once it was together I was also impressed at how sturdy it is - it is well made. The height adjustment is very easy. Once it is at a full 10 feet of height it is a tiny bit shaky but for the price and who's going to be using it (a 10 year) it is perfect. Overall very pleased with this and it is a solid product for $249.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HawaiianMcLovin
Portsmouth, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
You can do it
4/16/2011

Customer review by steeltime

4.0 stars 4/16/2011 by steeltime
by steeltime

I am not mechanically inclined. When I opened up the box for this goal I was overwhelmed. There are a lot of parts. A lot. But as I started to assemble the goal, I was surprised that it was fairly easy to put together. READ THE DIRECTIONS CAREFULLY. If something doesn't fit...TURN IT AROUND!!!! Each bag of parts takes you through a step of assembly, which is nice. As you're putting it together, you can tell that it is well made, solid, quality material. The manual is well written and easy to understand and the pictures help. LOOK AT THEM CLOSELY!!! You will need a second adult for a couple of the steps, but can do most of it by yourself. I heard sand was better than water, so that's what I used. Count on about 4-5 hours assembly time and you need tools (most steps call for two of the same size wrenches) Have fun!!!

Was this review helpful? (13) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
steeltime
Concord, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Basketball System
4/12/2011

Customer review by DJMon

5.0 stars 4/12/2011 by DJMon
by DJMon

We shopped at local stores and decided to purchase this sight-unseen from the website. We were not disappointed. It arrived in 3 or 4 days at standard shipping. It is a great quality product, similar to basketball systems many times more expensive at local stores. My kids can adjust the height very easily. It has withstood the strong winds we've had without falling over. Overall I am very pleased with this and have recommended it to my friends.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DJMon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Easy to adjust Basketball goal
4/14/2013

Customer review by littlebitlatshaw

5.0 stars 4/14/2013 by littlebitlatshaw
by littlebitlatshaw
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We really love this basketball goal. My sons are 8 and 14 and very different in height, so I like that they can both adjust it on their own to fit their play. It was pretty easy to put together...my 14yo did most of it by himself. Very satisfied with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
littlebitlatshaw
anderson SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Goal and Good Price
6/23/2010

Customer review by 2Jeb

4.0 stars 6/23/2010 by 2Jeb
by 2Jeb

This is a quality goal and I couldn't find it cheaper than at Walmart (by up to $225). Arrived faster than predicted as well. It does take a while to setup. In my case, I was able to build it in about 2 hours, with a little extra hand during a few steps from my 8 year old. Directions are reasonably clear - be sure to pay attention early on as you can attach a few parts backwards (this was easy to correct). Depending on your skill level, I can see where this might take a little longer to assemble. It is straight forward however. Incredibly easy to adjust the height of the goal, very sturdy, and good size backboard. My daughter has used it every day since we got it put up (3 weeks now!).

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2Jeb
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/9/2009

Customer review by asly

4.0 stars 12/9/2009 by asly
by asly

It took a while to assemble but there's been no problems to date. My son enjoys it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
asly
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent backyard system
4/13/2012

Customer review by 1DIYDad

5.0 stars 4/13/2012 by 1DIYDad
by 1DIYDad

This basketball system is ideal for its quality, functionality, and value. One feature I noticed with other models even from the same company is that sometimes the rims seem to be painted black in the pictures. I find that the orange rims are more professional in look and easier to see. This model was at a price point where all desirable features seem to be present, including the orange rim, a larger and sturdier base, an adjustable height, the polycarbonate backboard, etc. One word of caution: We apparently were among an unlucky group of buyers who received incorrect instructions regarding the pole assembly that were sent with some shipments of the product before the manufacturer realized the mistake. The result was an almost complete assembly before I realized that the entire system needed to be disassembled and redone which would have meant a difficult job of detaching pole sections let alone some risk of damage. To their credit, Lifetime acknowledged the error and shipped to my home brand new pole sections, leaving me only with the additional time investment to reconstruct the set. That being said, be very careful when attaching the poles and securing them with the two sets of screws. Each section has a lower and an upper hole at its end. The lower hole is the one that fits over the slot in the next section below. The poles should be aligned so that the upper holes - where self-tapping screws are inserted - are at the back side of the poles facing away from the hoop and backboard. Other than that issue, the assembly is straightfoward and the system seems very well constructed. One other word of advice: Fill it with sand, not water. Although it will take longer, it will be more more stable and there will be no risk of freezing in winter that could lead to expansion and breaking of the plastic base.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1DIYDad
Westfield, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I recommend this product.
7/21/2013

Customer review by Sincero

3.0 stars 7/21/2013 by Sincero
by Sincero
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Assembling the unit is not for the easily frustrated. The unit's assembly will have taken an additional two weeks by the time I'm finished because of missing parts I've had to order from the manufacturer. Thus far the manufacturer has been pleasantly responsive regarding the missing parts. Additionally, you will need many tools, which I have but was surprised to have to use so many different tools at what first appears to be a simple engineering design. The parts appear to be of good quality. I expect the unit to last a long time. As for the Owner's Manual/Assembly Instructions, I thought it to be satisfactory, easy to follow, and typical. The assembly, ignoring the delay due to missing parts, does take a while; for me, in excess of four hours by myself. Overall, I rate this unit as average + for the enjoyment I anticipate my family having once the assembly has been complete and its put to use.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sincero
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A good product - but tricky assembly.
5/6/2011

Customer review by Viktor100

4.0 stars 5/6/2011 by Viktor100
by Viktor100

This is a relatively good basketball system. I love playing ball on it. But a word to the wise, it is a tricky assembly process. I would advice to have at least 3 people who know what they are doing before assembling the system. Besides that, I have no qualms about recommending this to anyone who wants to shoot hoops on an amateur level. It is a 4-star buy!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Viktor100
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Already a neighborhood favorite
8/19/2010

Customer review by atpeace

5.0 stars 8/19/2010 by atpeace
by atpeace

The assembly was epic. Fortunately, my son (8) knows everything. So anytime I had a question, he had an answer (usually wrong). Nevertheless, we got the thing together and it is easily the nicest hoop on our block. The up and down is easy to use so the kids love it. My only tip for assembly: try to pick a day when the heat and humidity are less than 90 :)

Was this review helpful? (7) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
atpeace
Southwest Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Parts not labeled
5/22/2012

Customer review by SmokeNSqueal

4.0 stars 5/22/2012 by SmokeNSqueal
by SmokeNSqueal

This is a nice product once assembled. I really like the ability to adjust the height of the rim with one hand. And yes my 8 year old can also do it. My biggest complaint is that the parts weren't labeled. They were packaged for the steps but you had to actually look at the parts before figuring out what steps they were for. It added a LOT of time to assembly.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SmokeNSqueal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
just setup
5/22/2013

Customer review by cdnreview

4.0 stars 5/22/2013 by cdnreview
by cdnreview
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My 11 year old and I just set this up - great father son project. Sturdy for the most part. All the parts were there and assembly was a snap. Filled with sand - great project for the kiddos... We have only had it setup for 2 days, good rebound off the rim (not too flimsy), decent bounce of the backboard.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cdnreview
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Hoop for Kids
7/26/2016

Customer review by Ostate

4.0 stars 7/26/2016 by Ostate
by Ostate
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a pretty good hoop. Very sturdy! Was time consuming to put together. Overall pleased with product

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ostate
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great hoop.
4/11/2011

Customer review by EasyAsABC

5.0 stars 4/11/2011 by EasyAsABC
by EasyAsABC

Good product, assembly is not as bad as advertised. My 6 year old and I assembled it in a couple of hours. He loves it. It's easy to adjust the height. Good overall product. I would recommend it (and buy it again).

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EasyAsABC
Madison, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/15/2012

Customer review by momkdm

5.0 stars 5/15/2012 by momkdm
by momkdm

Bought this for my 11 and 13 year old sons. They love it. It is very sturdy and looks great. I hired our handyman to put it together and he did it in about 2 hours. He is very handy that way, I do believe the novice would expect to put in more hours than that. One helpful thing I saw him do was to prop the board on top of two large trash cans, therefore lifting the back end of the base up to make it easier to put the sand in. I had bought the largest funnel I could find but it was still very slow putting the sand in. We cut slits in the bottom of the funnel and this made the sand go in much quicker.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
momkdm
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 54 total reviews
1-20 of 54 reviews