Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 159 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

159 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

159 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
97
4 stars
42
3 stars
5
2 stars
7
1 stars
8
1-20 of 146 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 146 total reviews
1-20 of 146 reviews
Super value for the money
5/19/2012

Customer review by SmokingIsLove

5.0 stars 5/19/2012 by SmokingIsLove
by SmokingIsLove

I bought this smoker with high hopes because of positive reviews everywhere. I was not let down at all. This smoker is solidly built and the cast iron grates are much more durable than the standard grill. I followed the installation instructions exactly. There are a couple small details in the instructions that are out of date, like using screws in the side fire box to support the grate... The new model has welded supports for the grates. So it's an upgrade, which is good! This smoker has a large following and because of this there are lots of tips and tricks to get the most out of this particular smoker. Some of the most common changes people make are adding two thermometers on each side of the grill and modifying the chimney to keep the heat in longer. But even without these mods, this smoker is definitely built better than any comparable priced smoker hands down. One feature that deserves mention is the raised ash trays in both the main smoker and side fire box. This feature is something that I haven't seen in other smokers in the price range. This not only makes cleaning the ashes a breeze, it also will keep the bottom of the grill from heat related issues. I will recommend this smoker to anybody. The optional rotisserie is not a perfect fit though. But it can be mounted with the motor over the side fire box. The side fire box lid won't open if you do this, but you can load coals with the sliding ash tray anyway, so it's not a big deal. You also won't be able to close the lid fully even if you punch out the knockouts on the side of the main smoker chamber because the "universal" mount won't mount low enough with the side fire box attached without modifications to the mount itself. But that's ONLY an issue if you buy the rotisserie!

Was this review helpful? (51) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SmokingIsLove
Barrington, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Bargain Quality Performer
6/28/2014

Customer review by PookeiBehrBQ

5.0 stars 6/28/2014 by PookeiBehrBQ
by PookeiBehrBQ
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This chargriller smoker proves that you don't need a 400 500 or $800 "professional" smoker. The firebox adds an extra measure for true or indirect heat. I already seasoned it and was amazed because I was skeptical if it would be even heat or if Id have to babysit it every 20 minutes. The only gripe that I have is that the instructions for assembling it were a little vague/could've been written better. I challenge you to find a better price for value I think this thing is a bargain and have looked at many brands recently. MADE IN USA!

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PookeiBehrBQ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great smoker
6/2/2010

Customer review by SmokinDave81

5.0 stars 6/2/2010 by SmokinDave81
by SmokinDave81

If you are in the market for a smoker with a side box this is it. I looked a home depot, sears, lowes and at walmart. The char broil unit that walmart has for $159 is no where near as nice as this the build quality of Char Griller. Lowes sells this in 2 parts the cost is over $200 this is a much better buy go with site to store for free shipping and enjoy the BBQ!

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SmokinDave81
Cape Coral, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
10/22/2011

Customer review by planofolks1

5.0 stars 10/22/2011 by planofolks1
by planofolks1

It took a little time to put together but had good instructions. We went by the information how to season to protect the unit and the paint and everything was a-okay after using it twice. Seasoning is very important so do it right from the first. Fairly good price for a smoker that did what I wanted it to do.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
planofolks1
Plano,TX.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Arrived to the Store Beat Up and Missing Pieces
8/20/2012

Customer review by ModMommy7

1.0 stars 8/20/2012 by ModMommy7
by ModMommy7

This was shipped to our local store for pick up. It was scratched, dented, and losing paint all over the place as if it was either 1) Dragged and kicked across the ground a few times or 2) Used before being seasoned so the paint was coming off and other parts were quite scratched and dented. My spouse and I were even willing to let the cosmetic aspect go up until the point where, during assembly, we realized it was actually missing several pieces. I will not be able to attest to its usability as we will be returning it and buying a different one entirely. Attached is a picture of just one small part where it is scratched and dented. All-in-all it sounds like if you get one that isn't used or beaten up its a great grill/smoker combo but I guess we'll never know.

Was this review helpful? (12) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ModMommy7
California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Looked like it fell off truck
7/4/2014

Customer review by Bam711711

1.0 stars 7/4/2014 by Bam711711
by Bam711711
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Looks like feel off truck TWICE

Was this review helpful? (1) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bam711711
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Performed EXACTLY as anticipated.
11/27/2009

Customer review by Gawgagrey

4.0 stars 11/27/2009 by Gawgagrey
by Gawgagrey

Just smoked a 9+ lb. Boston Butt and a 3 lb venison roast for Thanksgiving and it performed exactly as described in other reviews. I have an old Brinkmann H2smoker and it has always been a real challenge to use. Hard to maintain an ideal temp and since it requires constant tending, I've stopped using the last several years. I cranked this badboy up at 10:00 last night , dialed in the 225 degree temp by 10:30 pm, and started the pig. Set a timer and checked it at 2:30am, again at 6:30am, (stuck the venison in under the pork at 10:00am). Everything came off at 12 noon We ate delicious pulled pork, etc. at 1:15. If I wanted to spend a GREAT deal more, I suppose I could have purchased a really "impressive" smoker or a big green egg, but I don't buy 'em to look at. I also cook steaks, burgers, etc. on a Weber Genesis gas grill and this is the perfect compliment. I did have to add charcoal every time I checked, but tending the fire was no where near as demanding as before. Easy slowwwww cooking and real pit bbq results.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gawgagrey
Deep South
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
What a cooker
8/17/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/17/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Although the package arrived looking like ten people had picked it over and then retaped closed, all parts were there(except for a couple of bolts which were easy to get at the hardware store). The instructions say it takes two people and that sure would've been nice but I did it myself. Being single with two housemates, I use the side fire box to grill for myself and a friend. I usually make enough for another meal or two during the week because there isn't always time for a nice dinner mid-week. So you're asking why such a big grill. Parties! Yes I had my first big Bar-B-que two weeks ago and smoked 8 racks of ribs, 3 chickens and 2 briskets. The cast iron grills are the best, they come seasoned so you don't have to do that part. Hardly any food sticks to them. All in all, I heartily recommend this grill. There are two other similar smoker/grills available and I shopped for the best deal and got it here.

Was this review helpful? (98) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great Grill
2/26/2012

Customer review by franswa3434

5.0 stars 2/26/2012 by franswa3434
by franswa3434

I have a number of friends who have this grill, and they all love it. And once I got it, I see why. I love this grill. Its big, its heavy, and it cooks evenly. The cast iron grates are thick, heavy, and add to the grilling experience. Also, the side firebox is great. I smoked a pork loin and ribs in the center of the main grill, and the fire and wood in the side box, all between 200 and 225 degrees, and they came out amazing! My wife, who's parents raise their own livestock and butcher their own meat, said they were some of the stuff she's ever had. The only downside to this, is it does NOT come with the warming rack. I will get it at some point, because you need a warming rack. I will also be getting the grill cover. Stay tuned for a review on that. All and all, I cannot say enough about this grill. I've only had it a few months, but my friends have had theirs for years, so if you take care of it, it will last a long time!

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
franswa3434
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Great product at a great price
4/24/2016

Customer review by Amoebaa

5.0 stars 4/24/2016 by Amoebaa
by Amoebaa

I was pleasantly surprised to see that this was the larger model at this price. The free shipping really made this purchase worth it and it helped that it got here quickly with no damage. Will be ordering again soon!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Amoebaa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome Grill!
7/19/2016

Customer review by Patti

4.0 stars 7/19/2016 by Patti
by Patti
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very large! Holds a bunch of food! It took a bit longer to put together than expected, but very nice!! Bought it for my son and daughter in law as a housewarming gift and they love it!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Patti
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Decent Value for the Money
6/6/2016

Customer review by cjwies

4.0 stars 6/6/2016 by cjwies
by cjwies
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Not bad to assemble. Pretty sturdy, but paint was peeling on the smoker box after the first use. The wheels seem cheap for a heavy grill. Lots of smoke leaks when you close the lid but seem s to keep the temperature where we need it when we use it as a smoker. So far so good.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cjwies
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
No heating rack??
6/8/2016

Customer review by Julz

4.0 stars 6/8/2016 by Julz
by Julz
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Love this smoker had the exact same one a couple years ago however this on didn't come with the heating rack.. A little bummed about that but still great for smoking..

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Julz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Product
5/5/2011

Customer review by WalMarvelous

4.0 stars 5/5/2011 by WalMarvelous
by WalMarvelous

I ordered the Smokin' Pro for delivery directly to my home (rather than for pickup at a store). I'd read other reviews of the box being in bad shape when they picked up at the store; I had no such experience. In fact, not only was the box in pretty good shape, it arrived earlier than I expected (although the FeEx driver did drop it while removing it from the truck). All the parts, pieces and hardware were accounted for. I assembled it by myself, using a chair to hold the side fire box in place while I attached it; I'd recommend having help on hand to hold the heavier pieces (firebox and smoker lid). The paint on the firebox did peel on first usage, but we were warned by Char-Griller and by other reviewers from this site and others. Only complaint is that the smoking chamber loses smoke at the rear where the lid meets the base. Both the paint and smoke loss issues are easily fixed, and again, if you are taking the time to read these reviews you have probably heard or read about certain modifications that are necessary. The rope gasket needed to fix that area is inexpensive and can be bought at a GOOD hardware store. The thermometer/temp gauge was pre-calibrated, but you should check (pre-heat oven to 250, place gauge in for 10mins--it should read 250). If you need to calibrate it use the nut on the back of the gauge. If you intend to smoke for long periods of time (more than 4 hours) YOU WILL NEED some sort of charcoal basket for the firebox, preferably a simple modification that allows you to remove the ashes without removing the charcoal basket (again, check online resources). Without the firebox modifications it will be difficult to maintain the temperatures you want. But the ribs I smoked tasted great, and I am a first-time smoker. Once I make the modifications I'd like to make, I intend to try smoking a brisket. Also, research something called the "Minion Method"--it should help you keep the temps up in your new smoker. This is a GREAT entry-level smoker for learning the craft.

Was this review helpful? (92) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WalMarvelous
Hazel Crest, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great smoker for the money
12/2/2008

Customer review by ReverendRazorback

4.0 stars 12/2/2008 by ReverendRazorback
by ReverendRazorback
Walmart associate

I used this smoker the day before Thanksgiving to smoke a pork shoulder. This smoker was great! The pork fell off the bone and was absolutely tastey. The heat stayed stable and was very easy to use. Previous smokers have had problems maintaining heat, or would not stay hot enough to cook - not a problem with this one. If you are looking for a cheap smoker that will get the job done. This one is the smoker for you.

Was this review helpful? (101) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ReverendRazorback
Bella Vista, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Walmart associate
Excellent Value
12/6/2009

Customer review by 62vair

5.0 stars 12/6/2009 by 62vair
by 62vair

This is the perfect entry level smoker if you want to get serious about smoking meat and veggies and have a lot of fun and impress your friends. Had mine for 5 years now and except for a few paint touch ups, it looks almost as good as the day I bought it. When it's new I recommend you season it well, it will definitely prevent rusting and burning off the finish.... also burn real charcoal chunks, not briquettes. This bad boy is fun and can certainly handle the food load, I've done 8 beer can chickens at one time, or 2 turkeys, or 9 strips of ribs... no problem. This is now my back-up smoker since I have moved up to a Bradley, but I still love to use it.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
62vair
Ontario, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Awesome
5/26/2016

Customer review by Smoker

5.0 stars 5/26/2016 by Smoker
by Smoker
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love it everything I asked for

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Smoker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome smoker!
6/8/2011

Customer review by NHHUNTER

5.0 stars 6/8/2011 by NHHUNTER
by NHHUNTER

This is my 3rd smoker and it has been the best! I made great food in my two vertical smokers but keeping the temp up was always an issue. This has been allot easier. Load the side smoker with charcoal and a nice chunk of wood and let it go. I do add some charcoal about every hour after its been going for a couple hours. Keep your food in the middle to end depending on what you are cooking (not to close to smoker end). Oh follow the instructions for the greats and u will be able to wash them off in the sink with just hot water. I always recoat them with veggie oil after to be safe and they still look like new. Hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NHHUNTER
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
absoluely great!!!!!!!!
7/8/2010

Customer review by jaejw1

5.0 stars 7/8/2010 by jaejw1
by jaejw1

I had been researching all the affordable smokers out there and finally came across this one, i wasnt sure of its size so i called CHAR GRILLER,, and after reading the many reviews and all the modifications done in message forums i was sold.. before i was cooking on a lil kingsford that i bought from walmart aswell,, and i just started getting into the indirect cooking and smoking.. the SMOKIN PRO made things so much eaier.. after visiting a well known bbq place here in southern california (BLUDSO'S) i recieved lots of guidance from the owner on what to do with it and how to season it,,, i bought the smokin pro for myself on fathers day,, i smoked a few things on it,, some came out ok and some didnt,, but after playing with it more and learning the temp gauge and how to keep the fire hot i decided to do my very first 18lb brisket and 3 slabs of ribs for the FOURTH,, following strict instructions that were given to me and also adding a few things of my own,, after 12hrs of smoke for the brisket and 5 hrs for the ribs,,, both ribs and brisket were an absolute hit for my FOURTH OF JULY party.. i was very pleased at my accomplishments and how easy (except for not getting any sleep) everythng was.. if you buy the smoker.. there are a few things to do to make things much easier,, tune the temp gauge by placing in your oven first,,, and removing the firbox grates and add a charcoal basket,,, use briquettes to get heat up and maintain heat by using lump coal (burn much cleaner)... i prefer to use logs or chunks for smoke and not chips... absolutely the best investment.. i hope you feel the same way... im still excited about my brisket eventhough it was all eaten that day..lol. btw it was fairly easy to put together.. not hard at all..

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jaejw1
aliso viejo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Good Value!
1/7/2009

Customer review by triciagirl65

4.0 stars 1/7/2009 by triciagirl65
by triciagirl65

This grill/smoker combo was a good value for the money as I looked at many others before making this selection. It cooks really nicely and smokes well too. The only issue I have with this product is the paint is now peeling off the top of the side smoker box after one use. It happened when the fire got too hot maybe. (Although in fairness, the manual says it might happen.) I just didn't expect it to happen the first time we used it. Otherwise, a great grill/smoker for the money!

Was this review helpful? (38) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
triciagirl65
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 146 total reviews
1-20 of 146 reviews