Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 81 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

81 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

81 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
42
4 stars
14
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 stars
16
1-20 of 75 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 75 total reviews
1-20 of 75 reviews
Home A1C Kit
10/19/2009

Customer review by Texasdiabetic

5.0 stars 10/19/2009 by Texasdiabetic
by Texasdiabetic

Your diabetes specialist/general practitioner normally only want to take a A1C test every 90-180 days. To me, that was way too long of an interval to see what short term progress I may be making with changing diabetes treatments. Although the A1C test is designed to test your average glucose reading over the last 90 days, it is important to know that, due to cell death patterns, the test is heavily weighted towards your level over the last 30 days. I use the home test every 30 days because the test of just so inexpensive and the service is top notch. I can always count on hearing the results directly within a week. Discovering my A1C level every 30 days gives me a much better reading on progress and allows me to stay on track for better short term results. This kit is excellent and the results are always consistent with what I receive from my doctors office. An outstanding deal for any diabetic who is serious about getting things under control.

Was this review helpful? (145) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Texasdiabetic
Coppell (DFW), Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Cheap, easy and reliable
2/15/2009

Customer review by Guptaji

5.0 stars 2/15/2009 by Guptaji
by Guptaji

At $9.00, this test is cheaper than most insurance co-pays. If you've been a lifelong diabetic, you already know what you've to do to manage your sugars (adjust insulin delivery rate, etc.).. all you need the doctor is for your A1C level. I got my result emailed in 3 days and it seemed pretty accurate. Next time I have to see a doctor, I will get an A1C done there and do another one of these tests at home. I will then compare the results and post another review.

Was this review helpful? (110) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Guptaji
MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
A1C
4/20/2009

Customer review by brenda1615

5.0 stars 4/20/2009 by brenda1615
by brenda1615

I just got my bill from my doctor's office for an A1C test and was floored. $86. I won't go that route again. I've used Reli-On before and was surprised how easy it was. Walmart - start carrying this product at more stores.

Was this review helpful? (76) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
brenda1615
Grand Junction, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Money saving test
12/6/2008

Customer review by Bigfoot1955

5.0 stars 12/6/2008 by Bigfoot1955
by Bigfoot1955

Being a diabetic for 8 years had my doubts as to accuracy of this test. When I was e-mailed my results they were totaly in line with what my A1c results always run. Mailed my test in on Monday and results were e-mailed to me Friday. I will use this test again and highly recommend it. If you have ever had blood work done you can easily see how much money this test can save you.

Was this review helpful? (51) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bigfoot1955
Texarkana,TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
ALL Diabetics need this!!!
3/28/2010

Customer review by somgop

5.0 stars 3/28/2010 by somgop
by somgop

For less than $10, you get a fast and accurate A1c. I have used this kit twice by drawing blood for the kit within minutes of having my blood drawn by Quest Labs. Both times, the results differed by 0.1 - REMARKABLE!!

Was this review helpful? (30) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
somgop
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Expected results received in 10 days. Inexpensive.
1/24/2014

Customer review by TeaEarleGreyHot

5.0 stars 1/24/2014 by TeaEarleGreyHot
by TeaEarleGreyHot

I found the A1c kit easy to use and the instructions clear. Received results (from their website after getting the email notice) 10 days after mailing the sample. I expected a result very close to what was determined, so I am fairly confident in the accuracy. (However, I would prefer if the mailing envelope was better sealed, hermetically--it's just a paper envelope!) It is very important to wash your hands in warm water or shake them a bit, to stimulate blood flow, as you will need about four large drops. ***Be certain that you check the expiration date on the box before you buy it! I encountered many boxes at multiple Walmart stores that were well over a year past expiry. The lab cannot process your sample if the kit is expired! This may account for the large number of reviews here complaining about no results.

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TeaEarleGreyHot
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Extermley Easy to Use
8/3/2010

Customer review by GreatBlueJedi

5.0 stars 8/3/2010 by GreatBlueJedi
by GreatBlueJedi

I wanted a cheaper way to keep tabs on my AC1 without having to pay the $15 copay just to have the dr take my blood. For $9, and the fact I can do this at home and have the results sent to me via US mail OR email, this is great. The test results, give or take half a percentage point, is on par with the results I get from my dr. This product comes with everything you need including a prepaid envelope. Fast results and simple to use.

Was this review helpful? (26) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GreatBlueJedi
Auburn, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Incredible!
4/30/2010

Customer review by Mitochondrion

5.0 stars 4/30/2010 by Mitochondrion
by Mitochondrion

Walmart ought to be congratulated for making this terrifically important test available for under $10.00.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mitochondrion
Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Affordable
7/29/2012

Customer review by ValueConsciousShoper

4.0 stars 7/29/2012 by ValueConsciousShoper
by ValueConsciousShoper

Pros: Convenient, readily available at Walmart with no prescription needed. Affordable, good choice for those without insurance. Enables a1c test to be done more often or in-between doctor visits for better glucose control. Pre-paid mailer enclosed with no extra expenses of any kind beyond purchase price. Results are received via mail or email within a reasonable time. Cons: The two lancets provided are one-time use only and cannot be re-set for repeat use should more than two sticks be needed to obtain an adequate amount of blood to completely fill the test circles as instructed. Even by carefully following directions, some people may find it difficult to maintain the necessary blood flow to completely fill the test circles with a single application of blood. Multiple applications of blood are allowed as long as one drop of blood is not placed on top of another although some overlapping is impossible to avoid completely. I wonder how much, if any, this would affect test accuracy.

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ValueConsciousShoper
Arab, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Great test kit
3/12/2014

Customer review by anon49a

5.0 stars 3/12/2014 by anon49a
by anon49a

Better than Bayer. Cheaper that your co-pay for lab work for most insurance. Service as promised. And it means you can bring your results to your doctor rather than coming back for a second visit. Be careful about covering the circles with blood drops. Follow instructions exactly, which means some people with poor blood flow, shaky hands or poor motor controls might have problems. Still, after I messed up the first test, they sent me a free replacement kit -- WITHOUT my asking. Much more than I expected.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
anon49a
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It does what it says but...
5/12/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 5/12/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

There is a ton of packaging for what is a simple blood test for a diabetic user. I wish they would put 2-4 tests inside rather than just one in the same box. We already have the lancets and wipes that are included as well. A very good value and it allows me to get monthly A!c tests cheaply. If i could buy the same box with four tests for $30, I am all in!

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Waste of time and money
9/10/2012

Customer review by CaliCat74

1.0 stars 9/10/2012 by CaliCat74
by CaliCat74

DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT! It requires you get two dime size drops of blood to send in for analysis. When using a lancet it is nearly impossible to do unless you bleed heavily. If you put multiple drops to cover the area, they will send your results back you saying it is not acceptable. A complete waste of my time and money. Take your $9 and apply it towards purchasing the A1C test by Bayer. It costs $29.99-49.99 but you get instant results (no mailing to lab) and it doesn't require so much blood.

Was this review helpful? (16) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CaliCat74
Sacramento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Good option for A1c Testing
6/6/2012

Customer review by Linus2012

4.0 stars 6/6/2012 by Linus2012
by Linus2012

Overall, for the price, it's worth it. The most difficult part was trying to get enough blood sample to fill the appropriate area of the form. Once that was done, then it was simple process of mailing the results in a pre-paid envelope (another plus) and waiting to get the results either through e-mail or regular mail. The results arrived within 5 days after mailing and was very accurate. Although it's a bit inconvenience to mail in the sample to get results, it's better than relying on devices that provide instant results but may not be accurate. Considering that if you do A1c testing every 3 months, the price for 4 kits is unbeatable. I would recommend this. The only reason for not giving 5 stars is the amount of blood needed. The amount that's needed is more than single blood drop taken for typical blood glucose. However, it's much less than the vials taken at doctor's office.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Linus2012
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Took Longer Than Expected to Receive Results
11/6/2013

Customer review by OMyStarz

4.0 stars 11/6/2013 by OMyStarz
by OMyStarz

After reading the product description I was expecting to receive results very quickly (within 5 days) but it took 13 days from the day I mailed my sample for my results to be receive by me via email. This is tolerable if it is expected, however, I had emailed them and was told they were never received and I had assumed they were lost at the post office level. In retrospect, I assume the test was physically delivered via the post office but had not been officially checked in. This would explain why they had not marked the test as received even though I (and others here) had expected it to be received days before I had contacted them. Also, it seems that others here have the idea that the two circles need to be completely filled. They did not in my experience. I used slightly more blood than I do for my glucose monitor, but I only filled the circles about halfway. I read and re-read the instructions and nowhere do they say to fill the circle completely with the blood sample, but there is an illustration that shows the two circles completely filled. Perhaps that is where the confusion came from. I put my blood drop in the center and as I said, it filled the circle halfway from the center to the outside, and I received results with no problem.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OMyStarz
Americus, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Requires alot of blood
5/31/2014

Customer review by dme100

3.0 stars 5/31/2014 by dme100
by dme100

A seriously huge drop of blood is needed. About 10 times as much as the biggest drop you use for a Glucose meter.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dme100
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A1C
6/13/2009

Customer review by asp696

4.0 stars 6/13/2009 by asp696
by asp696

For $9.00 + S/H a real bargain. It was within 6% of the lab my insurance uses.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
asp696
Miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
11/29/2011

Customer review by diogenes123

1.0 stars 11/29/2011 by diogenes123
by diogenes123

I have used this kit twice now and both times I got Quantity Not Suffiicient, no reading. The instructions are almost impossible to carry out. They tell you to fill both circles with blood BUT do not overlap. Try filling a circle with circles with no overlap. And the quantity of blood required is unbelievable. The lancet they give you simply cannot produce enough blood for their sample. If you are going toi use this kit you will probably need to use a scalpel.

Was this review helpful? (15) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
diogenes123
Would recommend to a friend? No
First-time user...
8/20/2014

Customer review by OneEye1942

3.0 stars 8/20/2014 by OneEye1942
by OneEye1942

I didn't use the 2 lancet devices that came with the product. What I did was use my Accu-Chek Softclix and just cranked it up a couple more clicks. I usually lance at the edge of my finger...but in this case I lanced at the very end of my finger so that I could milk the blood into the circles. About 3 drops in each circle filled them to the edges. A different poke for each circle. I sent the test off on a Friday...got an e-mail my test result was ready Tuesday night. I wasn't that thrilled with my test result...but that was no fault of the test kit or those who compiled the test results. The results are displayed in .pdf format...which you can download and save. I'll probably purchase another A1c test kit in another 3 months.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OneEye1942
Oroville, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Below Expectations
6/7/2014

Customer review by NoA1c

1.0 stars 6/7/2014 by NoA1c
by NoA1c

I sent my test in on Sunday 06/01, and requested my results by e-mail. I received an e-mail today 06/07 letting me know my results were ready. I followed the link I was given to get my results, and received an error message telling me that my results were not available at this time. There was a phone number to call for problems. I called the number and received a message telling me that calls were only accepted Mon thru Fri. Not very professional. Not waht you would expect when dealing with a medical test.

Was this review helpful? (12) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NoA1c
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The jury is still out
10/14/2010

Customer review by ZooKeeper73

2.0 stars 10/14/2010 by ZooKeeper73
by ZooKeeper73

I have not yet been able to use this product because the blood needed is much more than I can get using standard lancets (two one-use preset lancets are provided). Two 0.5 inch diameter circles on a paper sheet are to be completely filled. Instructions call for "free flowing" blood allowing a LARGE drop to be applied to each circle. Am considering negotiating with a health care provider to achieve this, which will negate some of the value of the product.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ZooKeeper73
Wilmington, DE
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 75 total reviews
1-20 of 75 reviews