Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 425 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

425 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

425 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
280
4 stars
91
3 stars
16
2 stars
11
1 stars
27
1-20 of 369 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 369 total reviews
1-20 of 369 reviews
A pleasant surprise
11/4/2009

Customer review by allwall

5.0 stars 11/4/2009 by allwall
by allwall

This bed is very well thought out, easy to put together and extremely sturdy. I am not one to usually purchase large items like this without seeing them because if they do not work out it is a big hassle, but the price was right and Walmart beds were getting good reviews so I did it. I am so happy we did! One of my favorite features is the height. I love that I can still tuck my daughter on the top bunk in at night because it is slightly shorter than others we looked at. It is also safer that way. This leaves less head room for the bottom bunk sleeper but it does not bother us. The wooden slats are exposed underneath for the bottom sleeper to see which may be standard on all bunk beds but to prevent splinters and just for fun we stapled a pretty fabric up and it looks great. We liked the fact that in the future we can separate the beds and have two identical beds. My reason that I gave four stars on expectations was for three reasons which may be small but I think it is good FYI information; First because it is not a pure white bed. It is slightly off white. I know it sounds picky but my girls room is accented with pure white and it would have been nice. Now that it is all set up I don't notice it. Second reason was the ladder steps are thin and they hurt my feet going up. They do not bother my seven year old and she is the one who uses it most so I just wear shoes when changing the sheets. Third was my husbands thought which was that he would have liked to see pop in covers over the screw heads because they are exposed. I personally did not notice this but again good info. To be completely honest, don't get caught up on my little FYI facts unless they really bother you, I had no idea we could buy a bed at this price (a weekly grocery bill) a be this happy. These beds will be in our home for years and will probably go off with the girls. They are solid, attractive and we are very happy.

Was this review helpful? (526) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
allwall
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
SOLID, STURDY BED but NOT TRUE WHITE!!
2/14/2010

Customer review by 2lilprincesses

4.0 stars 2/14/2010 by 2lilprincesses
by 2lilprincesses

First thing we noticed when we got the boxes home was that the color stated HUSK WHITE. After immediately opening the headboard/footboard box, it was clear that they were definitely not a true white.... more of a yellow- based white. More of an off-white. My daughter's furniture is bright white so up against their dresser it IS noticeable, however, once we got them put together, the color difference is not that bad. I am VERY particular about this sort of thing and i think it ended up blending okay. The beds were easy to put together (took my husband only about 45 minutes) and they seem very well-made and very sturdy. I was very pleased with the overall quality. A few things I was wondering when ordering the beds were: Do they require a box spring? no, and I wouldnt recommend using one. Especially on the top matress. We were planning to use our daughter's bunkie board from her previous bed (9the flatter box spring used with beds that have a trundle underneath) and even that made the top mattress way too high. This may be a non-issue if your child that sleeps on the top bunk is older, but my daughter is only 5 and I wasn't comfortable having the mattress that close to the rail... almost level with it. We also tried to use the bunkie board on the bottom bed as well and it too made the mattress sit too high so there was hardly any space to sit up on that bed without hitting their heads on the bottom of the top bunk. We ended up using the mattress only on both bunks - and its still just as comfy. Can you put a trundle underneath? No. we tried to place my daughter's trundle under the bottom bunk and the bed isn't high enough to give the mattress clearance to pull in and out. This was a big bummer =( A few other side notes - things I didnt think about when I purchased the bunk beds... You can't use a dust ruffle on either bunk. Because of the ladder you can't get a dust ruffle to hang properly. Making the top bunk is a big pain and you have to keep it tucked in (on the sides and under the bed) when its made so that the quilt/sheets/comforter don't hang down. This is not going to be easy on me to make everday, esp considering Im 6 mos pregnant! Overall, the quality and sturdiness outweighs the cons. I think its a good bed and we are happy with our purchase. And our daughter's LOVE it! Im only giving it 4 stars b/c the color factor. I think the maufacturer should indicate on the description the color descrepancy.

Was this review helpful? (163) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2lilprincesses
Dallas Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
GOOD BUNKS FOR THE BUCK
3/1/2010

Customer review by LOTSOFLAUGHS5

4.0 stars 3/1/2010 by LOTSOFLAUGHS5
by LOTSOFLAUGHS5

After searching on Craigslist for some good sturdy wood bunks someone told me that they had bought a good set from Walmart. (Yes, I was surprised and skeptical!) After reading all the reviews, I decided to take the gamble. I'm glad I did. The bunks arrived well packed and were SIMPLE to put together with or without directions. I actually left the entire project for my 13 year old daughter and her friend. They had no trouble (granted, they are smart girls:) and even had fun with the project. To add my two cents to the white vs. cream debate...no they are not "pure as the driven snow" white. They are not beige/cream either. I am not a matchy-matchy person and like an eclectric room, so it was not a big issue to me. If you are a "must match my white Pottery Barn accesssories" kind of person, they may not work for you. I think the color is very nice. The bunks are fairly sturdy, though I have some doubts about the two facing boards lasting throughout the years. They are not thin, but not rock solid (like some of our other stained wood late 70's models are boys sleep on) and these bunks take a lot of "hopping" on the bottom bunk to spring to the top. Of course, they are not so heavy to lug around like the older style either. Anyhow, I plan to report back in a 6-12 months and let you know how they have held up. I think these are a good value for the money. I also noticed that the Target web-site has the EXACT bunk set (picture is identical) for over $150 more. Mmmmm. I have never bought a pc. of furniture from Walmart but won't be so scared to in the future. :)

Was this review helpful? (87) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LOTSOFLAUGHS5
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
cracked headboard
1/18/2010

Customer review by Goranski

4.0 stars 1/18/2010 by Goranski
by Goranski

It did arrive 10 days earlier.It is a beautiful WHITE bed, but one of the headboards arrived cracked. I am returning it right away to the local store since there is no phone to call , just email... ....that was 15mins ago....Walmart customer service called right away after the email...which makes me feel good about this... they requested a new part from the manufacturer and gave me a direct number to them... Called the number and the customer service rep. asked me to open all the boxes see what is missing or deffective and they will ship everything in 7-14 days. Hopefully everything is going to be OK. Bed is beautiful ,but because of this and two unopened boxes to go this purchase is getting 4 stars from me...

Was this review helpful? (51) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Goranski
Lemont Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good looking-Lower Bed head room too low
7/22/2010

Customer review by chinnasrini

3.0 stars 7/22/2010 by chinnasrini
by chinnasrini

Bought the bed and got it shipped to store. Came in reasonable time. The bed really looks good once assembled. It feels sturdy despite being light, and has very thin posts as all the bed support cross members are screwed to the side rails. The Bed supports are not real wood which I am fine with. The price is really good too. The main bad part is the head room on lower bed. This too low. The gap between lower frame to upper frame is about 27 inches, but when we put Mattress on lower bed, the gap gets to less than 23 inches. Think of how short it is, even my 7 year old can not sit up or raise, rather has to slide out. Our previous bed has enough head room for me to sit up and our 2 year old to stand up. Now, I thought of doing some modification by adding some spacers between lower and upper posts, but that does not work as the ladder is screwed to the lower bed side rail. Now, I disposed my old bed, and can not modify this, I am with out options. They could have provided 4 more inches of clearance between two bed, then it would have been ideal.

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chinnasrini
Would recommend to a friend? No
NOT WHITE ~ IS is called HUSK WHITE~
2/7/2010

Customer review by Mommaof2boysand1girl

5.0 stars 2/7/2010 by Mommaof2boysand1girl
by Mommaof2boysand1girl

This bed is not pure white. It is HUSK WHITE. And that is different then WHITE. Its a little off white. Arrived at store with in 4 days after ordering. Easy to put together. But still goes good with white.

Was this review helpful? (28) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mommaof2boysand1girl
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Both headboards are CRACKED!!!
3/26/2011

Customer review by Dontpurchasethesebeds

1.0 stars 3/26/2011 by Dontpurchasethesebeds
by Dontpurchasethesebeds

We just got my girls these bunkbeds. I went to tuck my 6 yr old in, when I noticed something on her headboard. Upon closer inspection, I noticed it was a huge crack that went all the way through to the other side. I inspected the bottom bunk, and sure enough, a bunch of small cracks. A total of 7!! I am so upset, I do not recomend these beds at all. They look beautiful in my girls room, but they're falling apart in less than a week. My daughters are going to be absolutely heartbroken, when I tell them I have to send these back. Read other reviews, you will see some are similar to mine. Again, I do not recomend this product, but if you decide to purchase anyway, make sure you do an inspection, especially on the headboards!!!

Was this review helpful? (27) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dontpurchasethesebeds
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Solid construction, love them!
12/26/2011

Customer review by Carrie52683

5.0 stars 12/26/2011 by Carrie52683
by Carrie52683

I was so nervous about buying these because of the previous reviews about some pieces being cracked but we went ahead and purchased them for our daughters ages 5 and 3 for Christmas along with the Spa Sensations 6" memory foam mattress. I am happy to say that all of the pieces were in perfect condition with no cracks. My husband said they were packaged very nicely so maybe they've changed the packaging since they were having some cracking issues during shipping. I am very surprised at how sturdy these are for the price. I couldn't find anything anywhere near this price range and I feel like the quality is excellent. The only thing I would like to add to it is some sort of covers for the brass bolts on the outside. I know manufacturers can't include them because they are a choking hazard if they come off, but I think I will go to the hardware store and see if I can find something to cover them up. Overall, I am very happy I purchased these from Walmart and not for 2 or 3 times as much elsewhere. Some other reviews didn't like the space between the bottom and top bunk but I think it's plenty of room for my 3 year old. I snuggled in there with her to read books and it's just fine! I also like being able to reach the top bunk (I'm 5'5") to kiss my older daughter goodnight and tuck her in without having to climb the ladder. I think we will also end up putting a piece of plywood or partical board underneath the memory foam mattress on the top bunk. The slats are close enough together to not need a bunkie board, but with the memory foam I think it will start to conform to the slats and I would rather it not do that so a thin board will do the trick. It didn't take my husband any time at all to put together, maybe 1.5 hours from box to finish, with no help.

Was this review helpful? (26) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Carrie52683
Danville, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Looks Good, Does't Last Long.
1/2/2012

Customer review by CB12112

1.0 stars 1/2/2012 by CB12112
by CB12112

Once assembled the bed looks great. Nice height. Please note however, the bed is not white but cream colored. Also It is not made of wood but chip board. We were pleased for the first few months, but over time started to notice hair line cracks all over. My kids are both under 40 pounds and we only allow them to sleep on the bed, not play or jump. The other day my husband tried to move the bed slightly and the one leg snapped. He had to reinforce it with a 2 by 4. After less than a year the bed is now trash. We are saving up for a better quality one with real wood.

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CB12112
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Several boards have broken
4/25/2010

Customer review by RonnieT

1.0 stars 4/25/2010 by RonnieT
by RonnieT

The side board on the bottom bed has broken and one of the boards on the bottom of the top bunk has broken. This happened within 2 months of purchase. Very CHEAP materials.

Was this review helpful? (17) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RonnieT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Ok- not very strong
12/27/2011

Customer review by Waynnay

1.0 stars 12/27/2011 by Waynnay
by Waynnay

Bought this bed a year and a half ago. Has done ok, but just gotten broken last night by my kids plopping down too hard on it. Obviously, they should have been gentler, but children rarely are! It is not very strong, in my opinion. Even brand new it shook when my child climbed up to the top bunk. Now we have a broken bed, and manufactor's info is non-existant in the paper work that was with the bed. Waste of money.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Waynnay
York Pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
3/4/2011

Customer review by kermitthefrog12345

5.0 stars 3/4/2011 by kermitthefrog12345
by kermitthefrog12345

Very good buy for the money! They're alot shorter than regular bunk beds(height wise), but I knew that from others reviews. I like that because I can still get to my 4 yr old on the top bunk. Because of the height of the beds, there isn't a whole lot of room between the top and bottom beds, but I have a 2 yr old on the bottom, so its fine. They are very sturdy, thankfully!! Like I've said, good buy for the money spent and I am very happy with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kermitthefrog12345
MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome!!! LOVE IT!!!!
4/5/2011

Customer review by ty89

5.0 stars 4/5/2011 by ty89
by ty89

I love it. The beds are very well made and sturdy. No cracks or scratches of any kind. It only took my husband an hour to put together. The trundle that we had with our daughters day bed fits perfectly under the beds. I was worried that they would be flimsy, but it is very very soild. Great bunks for low bucks. I looked and did a lot of research, so glad I went with this bunk bed!

Was this review helpful? (15) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ty89
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A Great Product
9/28/2010

Customer review by Newhomeimprover

5.0 stars 9/28/2010 by Newhomeimprover
by Newhomeimprover

This bunk bed is very cute and was very easy to put together. I didn't need any help. It's also very sturdy and worth every penny. My 5 and 2 year old daughters love it. It really brings life to their room.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Newhomeimprover
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1/25/2011

Customer review by Jessy4

5.0 stars 1/25/2011 by Jessy4
by Jessy4

This Bunkbed is Excellent.......... My Daughters love it....... Not much head room on bottom but my girls just use it to sleep so is ok........ I reccomend this set for kids it's Great!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jessy4
Allentown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
My daughter loves it!
1/7/2010

Customer review by BBMD1105

5.0 stars 1/7/2010 by BBMD1105
by BBMD1105

This was easy to assemble. I did it myself while my husband was at work. My daughter loves the bed and I love that I can convert it into two twin beds easily! Very nice!

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BBMD1105
Baltimore, Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not what I expected
3/31/2010

Customer review by Tammy2M

2.0 stars 3/31/2010 by Tammy2M
by Tammy2M

My husband and I purchased this bed for our little girls. It was a good price, made of wood and it was cute, but that's where the good qualities for this bed ends. After spending hours putting it together my husband and I discovered that no one over 3 feet could sit up in the bottom bunk. Our 2 year old was constantly hitting her head every time she sat up in the bed. So in order to make it work we took out the bottom bunk slats and in its place used a twin bed frame with a bunkie board to support her matress.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tammy2M
Clinton Twp, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
elise bunk bed, soft white
1/16/2011

Customer review by smartshopper723

5.0 stars 1/16/2011 by smartshopper723
by smartshopper723

this i a great bed. not only for the price but i am definitely satisfied with my purchase. a lot of the reviews state that it is not white, which it isnt but the title says soft white, the box says husk white. color wasnt a big deal for me. my kids love it though, i have a 5 and a three year old, so its prefect for them. its short enough to where my daughter can stand on the top bunk and we have low ceilings too. there isnt much room on the bottom for them to stand but theres plenty of room. its a very sturdy bed, came in three boxes, and came in 4 days of ordering. i ordered a 6inch matress for the top bunk, still waiting for it to come though, i got free shipping to my house for the bed and site to store shipping for the matress itself. seems to be holding up very well so far, despite some of the other reviews for it being a cheaply made bed. i think its great. would definitely reccommend this and i hope it does last long enough so i can eventually separate them send them off with my kids years down the road.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
smartshopper723
skaneateles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
DONT LISTEN TO THE NAYSAYERS!!!!!!
3/19/2011

Customer review by Setfree1090

5.0 stars 3/19/2011 by Setfree1090
by Setfree1090

This set of bunk beds is sturdy and alot nicer than expected. Not alot of space on bottom bunk to sit up BUT that wasnt a deterrent for me since I dont want the kids hangin out on it, I wanted it for sleeping (turns out they like hanging out on the top bunk better anyway). I didnt put it together myself, hubby did it while I was at work but I got the impression it was easy to assemble. I am impressed. I thought....walmart...ok.....it will have to do cause im not spending any more money than this. I have to say its actually really nice. I was expecting something a little more rickity that wouldnt last but I can tell this is going to last a long time.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Setfree1090
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great, especially for the price!
12/13/2009

Customer review by Amber15lyn

4.0 stars 12/13/2009 by Amber15lyn
by Amber15lyn

Overall, this bunk bed is suprisingly sturdy and will be great for my daughter. It's not as tall as some bunk beds, but we don't mind that. (didn't want it to go to the ceiling or anything anyways!) Directions are straightforward, and it was really easy to put together. I would recommend using a power drill with an "allen wrench" attachment. I couldn't imagine having to twist all the screws & bolts with the allen key. My one MAJOR complaint, which could deter some from buying this bed.... when I opened & unpacked the last box which contained the head & footboards, I realized that one of the headboards was cracked on a piece. I didn't think that it would be able to be fixed well enough for safety reasons. There is no # to call the manufacturer directly for replacement parts. You have to call walmart, and all that they can do is replace the whole bed. I wasn't about to attempt to pack everything back into the boxes and return it to the store and wait on the replacement. Luckily my husband could fix the piece well enough that it will work for us. So that's really the only down side of this purchase. There doesn't seem to be any service after the fact. If something breaks, I guess we'll just have to fix it ourself.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Amber15lyn
FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 369 total reviews
1-20 of 369 reviews