Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 70 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

70 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

70 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

74%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
30
4 stars
15
3 stars
8
2 stars
9
1 stars
8
1-20 of 58 total reviews
74%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 58 total reviews
1-20 of 58 reviews
worth it / self installed in 2003 Navigator Linc
11/21/2010

Customer review by LARRYLOVE357

3.0 stars 11/21/2010 by LARRYLOVE357
by LARRYLOVE357

read the reviews and all had something to say about the sound being too low "but worth it" so I gave it a try and I had no sound at all coming out the player but I do have sound thru the wireless/FM and that sound is low but loud enough, just gets static on certain days (not often). I installed it my self and will try a hard wire from the audio out jacks to the speakers or radio to avoid the static completely. They should have done a better job of positioning the wires so that they dont stick out the back but if you make a hole under the unit in the headliner you can hide them but I didnt want any holes other than the ones for the 4 screws. The screws are too short so I had to use my own. I also combined the 2 red power wires together to the fuse box and the 2 ground wires together to a grounded screw next to the fuse box, then ran the last wire for the lamp to my dome light. The manual was no help with installation like the other reviews warned. Even with the draw backs I think if you read the reviews and have a heads up on what your getting into this is worth it for the price especially if you can install it yourself. The picture is perfect, very clear even from the outside of my truck. Good luck.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LARRYLOVE357
WEST HAVEN, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Poor Instruction manual
11/15/2010

Customer review by CaptainMinivan

3.0 stars 11/15/2010 by CaptainMinivan
by CaptainMinivan

Just installed the unit today. I'm very impressed with the quality of the picture and the value of this overhead DVD player (as compared to the price of name-brand models). As mentioned by other reviews I've seen, the installation instructions were too vague (three steps - mount bracket, screw unit to bracket, and wire). I normally enjoy doing stuff myself, but the wiring diagram didn't give much detail. I found some good basic installation instructions for overhead DVD players at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AbWCvnDRADU. All in all, I would recommend this product. However, if you don't feel comfortable tearing apart your car a bit, you may want to hire somebody to do the installation for you.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CaptainMinivan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
DVD player for Car
5/11/2009

Customer review by KJKJKJ

5.0 stars 5/11/2009 by KJKJKJ
by KJKJKJ

This DVD player has turned out to be a great product at a really good cost. If you are handy it was actually very simple to install. It took me 45 minutes to install in a Chrysler Town and Country and all three kids love it. It takes a little bit of time mounting it and running the power to the dome lights. The sound through the FM radio was a great idea because I didnt have to run any wires for it. I would recommend this player to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (74) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KJKJKJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A good cheap dvd player.
12/19/2010

Customer review by RMMULLINS

3.0 stars 12/19/2010 by RMMULLINS
by RMMULLINS

Most things about this DVD player are good. I was disappointed to find that most functions of the player "require" the remote. We'll be stuck watching the previews everytime within a couple of months. Other than that I have no complaints, the screen pivots to meet seating variations and changing radio stations is easy enough when local stations interfere with the broadcast sound. Oh, yeah, before you start to install it, i'd suggest you get longer screws for mounting the unit to it's base. If the base "sinks" into the headliner when you tighten it the screws may be to short..mine were.

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RMMULLINS
Fort Madison Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Questionable quality
10/28/2009

Customer review by Lumberman45

2.0 stars 10/28/2009 by Lumberman45
by Lumberman45

Installed this myself in the roof of my 2003 GMC pickup, installation instructions are nonexistent. You must hook up to both a switched ignition power source as well as constant battery source, or the clock and dome lights will not function properly. When hooked up properly, the clock display (red LED readout) stays on constantly, even with ignition off, giving me concern about battery drain. Within two weeks of installation the mode button stopped functioning (now I can only change mode from DVD to SD/USB with the remote). I'd love to exchange it through Walmart, but the only way to get it out is to pull my headliner and clip the wires, there's no plug-in for easy replacement. Just more trouble than its worth. The system frequently locks up and has to be restarted, and I cringe to think what feature will stop working next. I originally purchased this thinking It could double as a DVD player and MP3 player, and I would not have to upgrade the AM/FM radio in my truck. It indeed has this capability, but is rather painful to use. The only way to select songs/music is using the screen display and the remote, which is impossible while driving. The buttons on the unit, which would seem to be perfect for this function, are useless, so you cannot easily skip forward/back while listening without opening the display and looking at it. The FM transmit function worked quite well, although you have to turn the volume up quite high and get an unpleasant burst of loud static if you don't turn your radio off before the player. The only pleasant surprise was a "random" play mode for music on SD/USB devices; the manual did not mention this, and I only found it using the remote control. So it will randomly play songs from the music on SD/USB, somewhat alleviating my need to skip to the next song if I'm bored with it.

Was this review helpful? (38) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lumberman45
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good Value
3/4/2009

Customer review by KesterD

4.0 stars 3/4/2009 by KesterD
by KesterD

The unit was relatively easy to install in our Dodge Caravan although the instructions are somewhat limited and knowledge of vehicle wiring is necessary. The picture is very good however the sound is very low. You cannot hear this unit while driving using only the volume on the unit. We use the FM transmitter and it provides great sound. The wires for input and output hang outside the unit and look a little messy.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KesterD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Waste of money
8/31/2009

Customer review by Shoparoundmom123

1.0 stars 8/31/2009 by Shoparoundmom123
by Shoparoundmom123

I bought this in Feb for our kids to watch while on vacation. I saw it was under $200 and the reviews were good so I figured this would be great. Boy was I wrong! Let's start with the instructions...half misprinted or spelled wrong. They were not helpful what so ever. Luckly my husband knew what he was doing or it would have never been put in. When he finally got it in....you could not hear the volume....I mean it was turned all the way up and you could not make out what they were saying at all....then he hooked it up thru the radio...ha,ha...hang that it up. There was so much static on the only station it would allow you to put it on you mind as well not have had it on. So then we ordered the head phones thinking that would help.....WRONG AGAIN...the dvd player would not allow us to choose the opt to connect the head phones to the player....I mean these are the same brand and the ones they tell you to by for it! O and then it only tells time in the military. I tell you what when they say you get what you pay for they are right! We bought a $200 overhead light! I will never by this brand again!

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shoparoundmom123
Semmes,AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
It Does Have IR Transmitter
10/9/2010

Customer review by Motherof3crazykids

5.0 stars 10/9/2010 by Motherof3crazykids
by Motherof3crazykids

I contacted the manufactor and they said it does come with the IR transmitter. Activating the IR Transmitter Press Menu Buttons repeatedly until you see the IR, then press the V+ or V- to either On or Off the IR Hope this helps and if you really cant figure it out you could have on installated if you choose to have it professionally installed or you can buy and external IR transmitter and headphone set for a reasonable price, yeah hope this helps

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Motherof3crazykids
Canadian that loves shopping in the USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
it is ok
12/10/2010

Customer review by 2bChristlike

3.0 stars 12/10/2010 by 2bChristlike
by 2bChristlike

Easy to install, no install instructions, no helpline, no website, no address, no warranty. We chose this model over others for screen size and FM Transmitter. Although the Transmitter works alright the volume on the player is to the max as well as the van radio in order to hear over road noise, and still not loud enough. We had to buy a product from electronic store to block out all other FM transmissions to help the volume.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2bChristlike
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing quality for the price!!!
12/26/2008

Customer review by ExperiencedInstaller

5.0 stars 12/26/2008 by ExperiencedInstaller
by ExperiencedInstaller

I know you are probably thinking the same thing I was... is this worth it. My answer: YES!! I worked with car audio for over 10 years and couldnt believe the price when I seen this. The picture is GREAT! no complaints. The built in speakers are a plus.. however they arent the loudest.. but even the high priced Audiovox units I used to install didnt have built in speakers. The wireless RF modulator is a little weak but again I never had luck with the expensive units wireless versions.. If you want the best sound possible always pick up a wired RF modulator. I LOVE having the DVD player on the back of the screen. Makes changing movies from the front seat very simple, and the TV swivels from side to side so you can turn it and hit buttons then turn it back.. Perfect for my 3 & 2 year olds who cannot push the buttons from their car seats. Only thing I didnt like was the wires were not "hidden" under the unit.. It worked out good in my caravan because there was something to hide them into but some cars might see wires or need an extra hole made. Overall I give the unit 5+ stars... You cannot ask for anything more for $200. My kids love it, and I dont have to listen to the TV through the radio all the time with the built in speakers which makes me happy!

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ExperiencedInstaller
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
On second monitor in less than a month...
1/19/2012

Customer review by shinemomof2

2.0 stars 1/19/2012 by shinemomof2
by shinemomof2

I purchased this dvd player for my two children for travels over the holidays. I thought it sounded like a great value. However, often you get what you pay for. I had the first monitor professionally installed b/c I didn't want to have any problems and wanted it done right. Well, it lasted the 7 hours on the trip, then quit working. It would not read any disk. Tried every kind of troubleshooting possible. No luck. So, walmart sent me a replacement one. This time, my husband uninstalled the old and installed our second one. It is working so far, but I'm not keeping my fingers crossed. I did buy the extended protection plan for this product and I am happy that I did. If the monitor fails this time, I'm going somewhere else and a different brand. My remotes did not work with either dvd player.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shinemomof2
Owasso, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not Bad...Not Bad at All!!!
5/26/2009

Customer review by PLPNO

4.0 stars 5/26/2009 by PLPNO
by PLPNO

Purchased it online. Installed it at Best Buy which practically cost the same if you purchase the Installcard being offered here online with shipping and taxes plus we needed it installed ASAP (not available in stores - the people I asked at Hanover, MD location have no clue what the card is). We had it installed before our trip to OC for this Memorial Day weekend. Kept our 2 year old son distracted and my wife was glad that she didn't have to keep our son distracted. She was able to concentrate on her Kindle 2 unit as well. The screen clarity is great. We haven't tried installing a VCD yet or any other type of CD other than the movies purchased at a local store. The sound is ok - if you are parked. During our trip, we used the FM frequency feature. It actually sounded clear - very minimal "hissing". The unit itself does not look too bad - nice design. I would definitely buy an XOvision brand again!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PLPNO
Bowie, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Ok to Buy...
2/24/2009

Customer review by BigKev1

4.0 stars 2/24/2009 by BigKev1
by BigKev1

Ok so I bought a budget player and of course decided not to have it professionally installed. Scenario: 2008 Highlander Temp 30's Never installed anything in a vehicle. Results: After 2 days and a total of 8 man hours, later it was installed. Even my skeptical wife who freaked (lol) when I showed her the hole I cut from the roof of the truck... was impressed. Tools: * Nerves of steel (do not drill thru the outer layer of the truck) * Drill, drill bit, box cutter or Swiss army knife, * Screws for connecting the installation plate to the cross beam. Electrical wire (H.D $4*2) Conclusion: Player works good, volume not very loud as stated in previous reviews. I could not find the TV function. Still investigating. Note: If you are going to do this yourself plan everything out ahead of time. Make sure player works b 4 anything else. Pictures of finish product to follow. My 3 year old loves it. ****

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BigKev1
East,Stroudsburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
love it!!
2/22/2011

Customer review by MommaAbey

5.0 stars 2/22/2011 by MommaAbey
by MommaAbey

We've had this product installed in our car for a few now. We only bought it to fill the hole in the roof from the dvd player that was pulled out of our car before it was given to us. This dvd player has definitely surpassed our expectations for the price! Love the swivel screen and that it does have an IR transmitter for wireless headphones (not listed in product description). We mainly only use it for our short trips to and from town daily then our monthly trips about 2 hours one way, but it seems to be doing great!! would definitely recommend this product!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MommaAbey
Sandpoint, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
good price, not good player
5/3/2012

Customer review by gette24

2.0 stars 5/3/2012 by gette24
by gette24

bought this player to replace one that had come in our nissan rogue. the player arrived, we hooked it up to power and everything. it turned on, but wouldn't play a dvd. sent it back, deciding to give the model one more chance and when the new one arrived, it would play the dvd so we proceded to attempt mounting it. had trouble mounting it because there are so many cables attached to it that you have a difficult time trying to keep the cables hidden. the mounting screws were so short there was no way to get the player mounted to the bracket, we had to use different screws that what were supplied. then after getting it mounted (finally, and by the way not flush with roof, d/t cables not fitting well) the sound through the player didn't work at all. we read other reviews on the same player that said the speakers were quiet and could only be heard with the car parked, but we couldn't hear them at all. the sound worked ok through the fm transmitter, but we didn't want this to be our only option for sound as our daughter is too young to keep headphones on. we sent this second player back as well.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gette24
utah
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
Installed in 04 Odyssey - Great Quality & Function
2/20/2009

Customer review by HumSupLow

5.0 stars 2/20/2009 by HumSupLow
by HumSupLow

The XOVision DVD Player is a great value. The picture quality is extremely clear. The overall build quality and materials used is good. We paid $198.99 for this unit, and opted for an aftermarket Auxiliary Adapter that was purchased off EBay. This way, we could hard wire in the unit, and the sound qulity is AWSOME!!! I can't say much for the FM Modulator, but the built in speakers are HORRIBLE. If you were to do this, go with an Auxilary jack. You will be much happier. The install was pretty straight forward. Anyone that can install a head unit, can install this DVD unit. Do not rely on the instructions for anything more than the wiring diagram. The only down side I see to this unit is, there is more than 1 wiring harness, and they come out the back of the unit. This makes it hard to tuck the wires away neatly. However, if you install it correctly, you wont even notice them.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HumSupLow
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
This product is great!
4/16/2009

Customer review by GreatinOhio

4.0 stars 4/16/2009 by GreatinOhio
by GreatinOhio

This product is great! We had to have our last system taken out because it stopped working and were looking for a new system that was good but not expensive. We found this system online and decided to try it. Although the base was not as wide so that it didn't cover the hole that was currently exposed, our installer was able to construce a covering to fit the roof and hold the xovision system even with the same color interior which worked our great. The picture is very clear and the convenience of having the DVD open in the back makes it easy for us to change out the DVD ourselves. We've had the system now for two weeks and have had no problems yet.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GreatinOhio
Dayton, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
11/30/2008

Customer review by MstrPhotoGy

5.0 stars 11/30/2008 by MstrPhotoGy
by MstrPhotoGy

this thing works great in my vehicle. dont spend the money for some name brand when this works just as well

Was this review helpful? (7) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MstrPhotoGy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great DVD - Great Savings
2/17/2009

Customer review by trinkas

5.0 stars 2/17/2009 by trinkas
by trinkas

I had been looking at DVD for several months, holding out for a good deal. With the economy so bad I thought that a local store would at least wheel and deal... NO! Almost bought at costco and circuit city... really liked the one at CC but now out of business. Finally looked at Walmart and too my surpirse they had them... and for more that half the price. Why spend $700 and up, you get this great DVD plus buy the Install Card... Both with shipping $391. Great picture, swival monitor, built in speakers that are loud enough for your little one in the back. The FM transmitter works well for my area... I am so excited that I saved myself the cash that I did!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
trinkas
Lake Elsinore, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Ok.. But not what i expected..
1/16/2012

Customer review by huesos350

1.0 stars 1/16/2012 by huesos350
by huesos350

Bought for my daughter, recieved proptly, and installed a few days afterci recieved it.. Took a few hrs to install.. Spent more time chasing down the corrct length rca.. Bought as bundle with IR headphones.. Stated that it had an IR transmitter when ordered.. Not true.. Can bearly hear in fm tranmitter with stero is turned all the way up.. Works ok.. Keeps daughter entertained, not the wife, she wants to hear the radio and its tied up with the dvd and she is tired of little einsteins.. been reading about life use issues, nothing wrong yet.. Been looking on the walmart website for this product and its no longer availible, found thru history search..

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
huesos350
san diego, ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 58 total reviews
1-20 of 58 reviews