Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 20 reviews | 2 out of 5

2.0 stars

20 reviews | 2 out of 5

2.0 stars

20 reviews | 2 out of 5

25%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
12
1-19 of 19 total reviews
25%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

It's annoying
11/2/2008

Customer review by Viktoria

3.0 stars 11/2/2008 by Viktoria
by Viktoria

When I first got the product in the store, it was ok and worked fine. But then after a couple months it started making some weird noises when we turned up the volume. We would have to turn it off for a min, then turn it back on, then it would start up again a while later. Certainly a pain when you're trying to watch a DVD/Movie. I therefore would not recommend this. Durabrand I guess is not a brand you can rely on ... :\

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Viktoria
SLC, UT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
damaged
1/4/2009

Customer review by pepsigirl1953

1.0 stars 1/4/2009 by pepsigirl1953
by pepsigirl1953

i bought this on line when i received it, it was damaged had to return it to the store for another purchase

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pepsigirl1953
Would recommend to a friend? No
Perfect!!
2/21/2009

Customer review by adrbro

5.0 stars 2/21/2009 by adrbro
by adrbro

Works fine. AND IF YOU NEED TO, YOU CAN EXTEND THE REAR SPEAKER CORDS, Unlike the other review said you couldn't. Bass is great,and the sound is perfect Works well with BIG rooms too.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
adrbro
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good for computers
1/29/2009

Customer review by Daygall

5.0 stars 1/29/2009 by Daygall
by Daygall

I have had this system since October 08 and after tweaking the individual speaker volume to there highest and upping the preamp , and setting the graphic equalizer the speaker perform flawlessly. I use these speakers for gaming , music and movies (none of the speaker are more than 3 feet from me) after tweaking the equalizer the bass response was awesome and the treble was crisp and clear. this system wont break your ears but it will definitely make you notice it. I am more than happy with these speaker. when ever my computer is doing something boring like a system scan i watch a movie on the included dvd player. side note these speakers are not powerful enough to fill a large room with allot of soft materials in I.E thick rug and many pieces of furniture, a small space is needed to enjoy these speaker at there full potential

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Daygall
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
It's...so so
12/28/2008

Customer review by PaulieHasTenToes

3.0 stars 12/28/2008 by PaulieHasTenToes
by PaulieHasTenToes

Ok, first off you gotta understand that this isn't a high end home system obviously. I'm not a big tech kinda guy. So this unit fits my needs sorta. I have it in a medium size room, and it's loud enough for me. Alot of people in the room talking might over power it. But I'm a pretty simple guy so I don't have to many complaints. It's easy to hook up, and tweak, and all that. My only problem is that I couldn't hook up more than one outside unit to the thing, ie: I have my xbox 360, but I can't hook up my tv. It only has one output on the back. Maybe radio shack or walmart has some cords that can help, I don't know. And the dvd player seems...pretty cheap ya know. I gave it three stars cause it kinda fits what I needed it for, and I'm on a budget, and the sound quality isn't great, but it's not really bad either. So if you have a small to med/small room, on a budget, and looking for something kind of basic, then I would say, ehh, give it a try, maybe. I'm not disappointed, I knew it wouldn't be super great. But for me, it works out, kinda. It just doesn't have that kick I wanted, but I don't plan on taking it back. Whether or not this help you, I have no idea. Like I insinuated, this unit is some where between kind of good, and not good at all. Worth the money? Well... just not quite. I think the price is a tad high for what it is. I don't think your getting ripped off though. All in all, I'm almost happy with it cause it suits my needs. Hope this helps ya. I wish you all good health and luck.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PaulieHasTenToes
Atoka, Tn.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not bad
11/30/2008

Customer review by IMHOMyThoughtsMatter

3.0 stars 11/30/2008 by IMHOMyThoughtsMatter
by IMHOMyThoughtsMatter

Depending on what you want it for. I got this system for the kids TV and video games. For that, the system serves its purpose fine and if the kids happen to do damage to it, its not the end of the world. If you are looking for a system to complement a large screen, plasma and other high end components then you'll want to get a high end sound system as well. Not this one.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IMHOMyThoughtsMatter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not a good buy (or me, anyways)
11/10/2008

Customer review by AlbieZ

2.0 stars 11/10/2008 by AlbieZ
by AlbieZ

I bought this product online here and I am extremely disappointed. First of all the product I received is silver not black like the picture shows. The DVD player and all of the speakers are made of silver plastic and don't match my TV at all. Ever since day 1 the rear surround speakers constantly make a "ticking" noise, like a clock ticking. It's not a loud ticking, but it is loud enough to be annoying while trying to watch a movie. Now one month later the subwoofer stopped working. The sub makes a loud pop when the system is turned on or off but no sound at all from the sub while playing a DVD. I wouldn't recommend this system to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AlbieZ
NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Looked Good, But has some Drawbacks
11/30/2008

Customer review by vdavisoh

2.0 stars 11/30/2008 by vdavisoh
by vdavisoh

Very nice looking system with a decent remote control. I think I would have kept the cheap system if the speaker wire for the rear speakers was longer. I bought it for my guest bedroom. I must warn you that the bass on the system is not very strong, but the sound quality was good. I returned the item after reading ther reviews that indicated that system developed problems rather quickly. I'll keep looking for now.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vdavisoh
Cleveland, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Walmart associate
sorry i brought it
1/5/2009

Customer review by tafero

1.0 stars 1/5/2009 by tafero
by tafero

where do i start this is not a good prodcut you can not get this away for free i will not tell anyone to buy this it. it is easy to install but it does not play loud it is a very poor product

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tafero
albany ga
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
horrible product
12/23/2008

Customer review by slimslow1971

1.0 stars 12/23/2008 by slimslow1971
by slimslow1971

all of the speakers dont work except for one.. when its been on a while... i hear static in them... it no longer reads dvds ... i wish the company would do a recall.. glad im only out 60.00 but as always you get what you pay for ...

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
slimslow1971
trinity nc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
12/26/2008

Customer review by stshadow

1.0 stars 12/26/2008 by stshadow
by stshadow

Speakers all do not work, DVD skips, and could not run the sound thru the tv. Taking it back.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stshadow
Ocala FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
60 bucks is to much
12/27/2008

Customer review by kegndag

1.0 stars 12/27/2008 by kegndag
by kegndag

speakers already making static noises. u cant play through tv if had known it wouldnt play thru tv wouldnt have bought

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kegndag
ia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
WASTE OF TIME & MONEY
1/19/2009

Customer review by LauraJean429

1.0 stars 1/19/2009 by LauraJean429
by LauraJean429

This product looks very nice but the speakers go in and out and has a very fuzzy sound quality. Not worth the effort of setting it up. Returned to store after one day.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LauraJean429
Sugarloaf, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
very poor
11/16/2008

Customer review by grantarianbabe

1.0 stars 11/16/2008 by grantarianbabe
by grantarianbabe

i bought this product about 3 months ago now i understand thats a long time but only after a few weeks of owning it it started having problems now its to the point where i can put a brand new dvd in it and have a hard time getting it to read it and sometimes i have to unplug it and plug it back in, to get it to even let me get the dvd out i would NEVER recomend this product to anyone

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
grantarianbabe
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
DON'T BUY THIS!
1/29/2009

Customer review by Thompson3913

1.0 stars 1/29/2009 by Thompson3913
by Thompson3913

This is the worst surround sound system I could think of. I bought a durabrand home theatre system a couple years ago and I've never had a problem with it. All the chords were regular speaker wires hook up through the sub woofer. Unfortunately this model has all the wires hooked up through the dvd player..and you can't expand the wires b/c there is a special plug for it to be plugged into dvd player. The wires are short, and it is really a waste of money....in this case, pay a little bit more and get a better system.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Thompson3913
Richmond Hill, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Looks Can Be Decieving
1/30/2009

Customer review by DiosEsUno

1.0 stars 1/30/2009 by DiosEsUno
by DiosEsUno

At first when I seen this product I compared it to Durabrand HT-3918 60 watt, but I seen the Durabrand 5:1 100 watt, for 20 dollars more I'd get a DVD player, plus I'd get 100 watts of power. I was excited but that was short lived. I was very disappointed with this product, when the volume gets loud the picture quality gets distorted, the DVD player has limited features, & the speakers don't have anything on the back to help you hang them up, I'd have had to drill holes or do something more to mount them on the wall. I've tried both systems side by side, don't waste your time purchase the 60 watt system instead, it blows away the 100 watt system, & you wont have any of the problems I run in to.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DiosEsUno
Tracy, California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
WORST THING I HAVE EVER BOUGHT
3/25/2009

Customer review by just2ducky

1.0 stars 3/25/2009 by just2ducky
by just2ducky

IF YOU WANT TO HAVE TO PURCHASE ANOTHER DVD PLAYER EVERY 3 MONTHS THEN THIS IS THE DVD PLAYER IS FOR YOU. AND THE NUMBER ON THE BOOKLET IS NOT THE NUMBER SO YOUR GOING TO HAVE TO BREAK DOWN AND PURCHASE ANOTHER ONE. NOT WORTH THE TIME OR THE MONEY

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
just2ducky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Don't Waste Your Money or Time
1/1/2009

Customer review by ppaakk

1.0 stars 1/1/2009 by ppaakk
by ppaakk

Out of the box....pretty easy to set up. Played a CD fine. The positives stop there. The DVD player would only pick up a portion of the sound from DVD's, not the voices. The picture quality was terrible. It wasn't the cables. Our $20 DVD player does a much better job. It was interesting reading the 9 reviews here. All but 1 were negative. I was going to try and swap the DVD player at Wal-Mart, but will simply return it instead. Avoid the hassle and frustration.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ppaakk
Would recommend to a friend? No
Sound ... isn't
1/3/2009

Customer review by KansasGma

1.0 stars 1/3/2009 by KansasGma
by KansasGma

I purchased this item to use with an overhead projector. Everything hooks up easily, which is as good as it gets. When I played a DVD, the sound was extremely low - even on its highest level. I'm pretty easy to please, so I wanted to appreciate this for what it was - a low end system. (I bought it at Walmart without reading the reviews first) But, since my TV plays much better and louder than the speakers, I can't really recommend this to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KansasGma
Lakin, KS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never