Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.5out of 5 stars
3.5 out of 5 | 1828 reviews
5 stars
659
4 stars
515
3 stars
174
2 stars
127
1 stars
353
Sort by: 
1-20 of 1515 reviews
1-20 of 1515 reviews
Excellent value.
8/30/2010
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Appearance: I bought the purple unit, and I like to see realistic photos in reviews for color comparison, so I provided one; it's fairly different from the online photo. This MP3 player is surprisingly small and lightweight, which I love, but it does feel and look quite cheaply made, but that's to be expected for such an inexpensive MP3 player. Audio: I have no complaints even with the headphones it came with. The voice recording quality isn't amazing, but the fact that it even has that feature is one of the biggest perks for this MP3 player. Even an 8GB iPod Touch doesn't have a built-in microphone, and this is $150 cheaper. I tried recording lecture in one of my college classes, but it's not much help unless you happen to sit in the very front row. Also, the FM tuner is an incredibly cool feature, and the sound quality is great! If you're big on radio, this is the perfect MP3 player for you, because you can even record songs right off the radio for free if you like. Video: The screen quality is incredibly cheap looking - like circa 1999 technology, but again should be expected from a $25 MP3 player. Definitely not useful for videos at all. Interface: This is the biggest downside for this MP3 player. I bought this because it had a screen, and so I assumed that I would finally be able to browse through my music on a listed interface, instead of having to press "next" through your 1000+ songs to hopefully find it. Well, that's exactly what you have to do with this MP3 player. I suggest when you put music onto your MP3 player, put the songs in alphabetical order for easy navigation. Also, when a song is actually playing, the whole title doesn't even fit on screen. The text scrolls PAINFULLY slowly, and you have to wait through all of the information for like 30 seconds for the title to pop up again. It's a huge pain. Overall: If you just want a simple MP3 player and don't care to just listen to songs at random, or you're a big radio person and you'd just like to listen to radio on the go, this MP3 player is hands down perfect for your needs. For people like myself however that prefer to have an interface to browse through music, I'm afraid you'll have to spend some more money for a better MP3 player.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (47)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It's cute and works
12/28/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Yes it's a little generic, but it is cute, the colors are great , i got the blue and green for my youngest girls. It has a rechargable battery in it, which is great, and for a 9 and 7 year old just starting out with electronics these are perfect, low investment but decent results is always a winner for me! If they break, well I don't have to cry like I would if it was an iPod, lol, but seriously it is good for the money has enough storage even if a grown up just wants something little to bring along with them, shoot, I would use it if I didn't have my iPhone, and they are very light weight, comes with everything you need to get started.. Look a little cheap, but again, you are buying a little less expensive model and my girls love them! that's all that matters! And I gave it 5 stars because it does meet my expectations to the quality and such for the price! Of course I got them over CHristmas on Cypber Monday for $25 each...I would have been upset had they cost more and were this same quality.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
For the price you can't beat it.
8/7/2009
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I had little to no expectations when I purchased this product. I have an Ipod and two other MP3 players and a BlackBerry that can suffice my need to watch videos; however, from a price perspective this is a great buy. I was caught off guard with how small the monitor is to view video's; however, the dimensions of the player are mentioned in the product review so I am guilty for not just paying attention. I bought it to watch more music video's rather than listen to MP3's. However, I use it to serve both purposes and I am pleasantly surprised at the sound and video quality. One suggestion; invest $10 and get a better pair of ear buds, the ones that come with device make the audio sound horrible. I didn't use the ear buds that came with it until about a week after using the player with a better pair of ear buds, when I decided to try to the ones that came with device I noticed a huge difference in sound quality. The battery life isn't the best but for the price point and overall quality of audio and video; how can one complain?
Was this review helpful?
Yes (644)No (72)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Will be returning this ematic 8GB MP3 player
9/1/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This MP3 player has no ability to 'select' the album or song you want to hear. If the song you want is #55 in your list to get it you have to push the 'forward' button 54 times!!!!!! You can put music in 'folders', but then you have to wade through the menu to find them. The screen has writing that looks like poor quality typing and you can't see the whole song or band name, it has to 'scroll' across. This was a huge disappointment as it came just days before my anniversary (it was a gift for my computer unfriendly husband.) I had to go buy a better quality product and load in all his music in a short time. Altogether a disappointing purchase and while I accept a good part of the blame, the product specs and description left out the critical 'can't select' info. If I had wanted a 'shuffle only' MP3 player I would have picked one. Do your self a favor and go into the $35-55 range and get a higher quality better function user friendly MP3 player.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (91)No (15)
Report
Was this review helpful?
amazing what something so small can do
12/31/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
All functions work well. Some may find it easier than others to learn how to work it but if you follow the manual that comes with it and on screen instructions it does what it says it does. It took me a couple of tries before I got it right but I think that is because I'm not as familiar with such technology as some younger folk, but I did get each function to work as described once I learned how to do it. The only difficulty I really had as getting the proper software for the audio, video and ebook conversions but that was not the fault of the ematic. Once the proper software was downloaded and installed I was able to convert and import audio, video and ebooks. I did not load any pictures yet but am sure from working with the more complex features that photos should not be a problem. Even the voice recorder works though I did not try to record off the radio yet. For the money and size it is truly amazing what this unit is capable of doing.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (56)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awesome
7/2/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I am usually a person who does not read the instructions unless I have too. I felt when I read the instructions, they were very clear in the explanation. Currently I use this with another device that plays over the radio in my car. The audio quality is much better than the previous mp3 that I had. One thing I did not like about this was the fact that when I turn the device back on, it does not go to the last song that I played. It started over from the top of my playlist. I found out how to get the tracks to shuffle and that fixed the problem of having to skip through the tracks to the last song you play. I have not added pictures or videos because I am only interested in playing music while I am driving. I have almost 500 tracks on here and I have barely made a dent in the amount of space that is on here. I have not used the headphone that came with it, I use a pair that I already own and this sounds really good to me with my current pair.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (82)No (17)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great starter mp3 player for kids
12/30/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I got this player because my 8 yr old son wanted to be able to listen to music we downloaded. He absolutely loves it! The player doesn't allow you to select songs but puts the song in order of the file name. When I was loading the songs, I put a number in front of the song name for the actual file name (not song title) and got it to play the songs in order of my son's favorites. The main problem I had was that the mp3 player does not support songs downloaded from iTunes so I had to burn cds and reload the songs onto my computer from the cds into an mp3 format. It was very time consuming but worth it with how much my son uses the player. We have not tried to load videos and probably won't try it. The screen is entirely too small to watch any videos on it. It is a great starter player if you don't want to pay ipod prices and have most of your songs in a mp3 format (or don't mind the work to get them into the proper format).
Was this review helpful?
Yes (134)No (18)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not very good
2/26/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The only positive thing about this MP3 player is that you can record songs off the radio. I really liked that about it. However, the sound wasn't very good and the earbuds broke after the third day. After about having it 3 weeks it would turn off just at random times, which was super frustrating. Also, after about having it 5 months, when I would press the play button, it said Disk Error, leaving the only FM radio available to listen to. It wouldn't let me listen to my songs, watch movies, look at pictures, record, or go onto Ebook. Also it takes about 1 whole minute to turn on, which was inconvenient and annoying. Another bad thing was that it doesn't let you select the album or song that you want to listen to, so if you want to go to song #100, you would push the button 100 times!! I was very disappointed in this product and do not recommend buying it. Since I wanted to listen to my downloaded songs and not just the radio, I am buying an MP3 player elsewhere.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (45)No (17)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A lot of features for the price!
9/6/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I originally purchased this strictly because of the FM radio; I had a CD player with a radio I had been using that died. AS LONG AS YOU READ THE INSTRUCTIONS, this is a great little unit! Surprisingly light, and I use the radio at work for 8 hours or so a day. A full charge will last a full day plus well into a second day. Charges quick, and there's no special software or interface to download. If you have a music library already on your PC, all you have to do is drag and drop. Tons of storage! I also have had great luck with reception, and although I am not using top end ear buds, the sound is just fine. Take the time to learn all the buttons and functions, and this is a great little unit for very little cost!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good Mp3 Player
6/9/2010
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Top 500 contributer
Last Christmas a recieved the pink ematic mp3 player. The actual pink color is a lot darker then the picture but its still very cute. It's small enough to fit in my pocket but it's not 2 small that I can't read anything on it. The sound quality is really good, the ear buds kinda hurt my ears but you could always buy different ones. Something that was really important to me was being able to search through songs while the music was still playing. Although many reviews i read before buying it said that you couldn't, I discovered that you CAN. Just hit (don't hold) the power button once while you are listening to a song, go to file, and you will see all of the folders with your songs in it. From there, you can browse through the songs until you find another song that you want. Something that I found confusing was transfering video from my kodak digital camera (it uses quicktime video) to the mp3 player. After messing with it for a few days i finally figured it out. The instructions aren't very helpful. They are located on a cd that comes with the mp3 player. I was kinda left to figure stuff out on my own but if you are just using this mp3 player for music, its very simple. You can use Windows media player or "drag and drop" files. I download songs from walmart. They are a few cents cheaper then itunes and they have a free song available every week to download. Here is their website: http://mp3.walmart.com/store/home Overall, this is a good mp3 player.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (858)No (59)
Report
Was this review helpful?
This Is Bang 4 Your $
11/29/2008
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Top 1000 contributer
I was really unsure about buying this MP3 player as I was not familar with the Ematic Brand Name, and it just seemed too good for the money it cost. Other MP3 players had the same features, (except FM radio), but were double the price. But I was very pleased when I finally received it. This MP3 Player is very small but not tiny and extremely lightweight. It holds up to 1000 songs so you have a great rotation on your music, and downloading your MP3 formatted music from your computer to this player is quick and simple. It also has a graphic equilizing feature that makes the sound of the music do justice to your favorite songs. The battery lasts long and easily charges from the USB port on your CPU. This MP3 player also has extras like FM Radio that tunes in very clear, mic/voice record, video playback that supports various formatting including MP4, & (etc...). One badside I feel is that it lacks a playlist feature where you can put the songs you have downloaded on your player into different playlists. That is something I would've liked particularly because of the amount of songs this MP3 player can hold. But with that said, I started out really not knowing the ins and outs of MP3 players, and was completely lost on what to buy. All I knew was that I just wanted something cheap, small, simple, and easy to use, so I can just listen to my favorite songs when I'm out doing whatever. So with that, I am very pleased with what I bought, and definitely recommend this MP3 player. I do hope this review was helpful to you.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (913)No (61)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not worth the time or money
2/12/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This player is not worth the money it costs or the incredible amount of time it takes to try to get it to work right. As another reviewer noted, it repeats the same song many times and will not go on to another folder, so even when you set it on random, it only plays what's in one folder, then you have to force it to go on to another one. There's not much point in having an mp3 player if you're going to have to change the music every few minutes. The menu is difficult to use--I had to press the buttons many times to get to the desired functions--and the owner's guide is laughably uninformative. There is also no contact info in the guide to get hold of the manufacturer directly with questions. Yes, this is an inexpensive player, but it should be able to at least play all of the music loaded on it in a convenient manner, and there should be instructions for dealing with problems that actually occur or a source to contact for help.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (24)No (18)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Sound is good but file/song management very poor
6/17/2014
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Good price, pretty good sound (if you replace the earbuds with a better headphones). Rip the CDs to computer using something like MS Media. Then using the USB cord just drag and drop into the device. That part is easy. Unfortunately, the device starts at the same spot each time you turn it on, you can't pick playlists from what you've loaded, and it is fairly clumsy as far as moving between songs and albums. If the revue had an ease of use line, it would rate a 1 out of 5. I have read that you can get some folder info by hitting power, but that is very hit/miss. The instruction book is not helpful at all as far as file management or moving around the songs loaded. My suggestion is to load it with just the songs you want to listen to for the day - at most. If EMATICS is reading any of this, they need to improve the file management/song list selection, then document how.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
SO very bad.
7/25/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I loaded all my songs in .mp3 format. I looked at 20 songs. The player gave me "format error" on 7 of the 20 songs. I listened to 5 songs and one had high pitch squealing noise which was not on my old MP3 player or on my computer copy. All my songs are listed as "singer-song" but 3 of the 20 songs appeared "singer-songXYZ". The XYZ looked like a few letter off the album which I did not want and never appeared on my old MP3 player or my computer copy. I then tried to delete all the songs and reload them. I could not delete all the songs. I could song by song and by folder but not all at once. I highlighted all the songs and deleted which it said deleted but still appeared. Obviously they were still there because when I tried to reload the second time the player gave me "insufficient memory" error. I returned the MP3 player the next day. Stupid design error in my mind is that the pause and play button is also the on/off button on the side. You also have to push the side on/off button and then the "M" button to get to the folders/albums.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (11)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great MP3 for the price
5/2/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have been very happy with this MP3 player. Pros: This product is so lightweight and easy to use. The songs are easy to sync from your computer using Windows Media Player & your XP system. All you have to do is click on Sync, edit your playlist for whichever CD or MP3 downloads you want to download to your MP3 player, click on each song to download, then Sync...SUPER EASY even for a non-techie like me. The one thing that I ABSOLUTELY RECOMMEND for new owners of this MP3 is to READ THE MANUAL that comes on the micro-disk!!! Ear buds are o.k. if you're not looking for concert level decibels or perfect sound. For better sound more suited to your likes or dislikes, make sure you CUSTOM EDIT your EQ...it will sound A LOT BETTER. Cons: Kinda hard to get into the mode of adjusting your playback order or selecting a certain song from an album without accidentally turning off your MP3 player. Also, if you are looking for an armband for this player...GOOD LUCK. The only one I've found was at Walmart - the Case Logic Neoprene SP3 Sport Case, but I decided to stick the player in my fannypack instead...for easy access. Overall, I am VERY, VERY happy with this player and plan to buy one for my husband and for my 6 year old son.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (116)No (30)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Execelent Mp3 player for cheap!
5/24/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I got this mp3 player for my mother (we all walk... ALOT), her and I originally had Creative ZenStone 2gig mp3 players (the cute pink one with the built in speaker), but alas several years of use and abuse and a toddler later her's broke finally. So we bought this for her birthday.... The buttons take some getting used to, as the M (or center "menu" button) doubles as main menu, and select, the fast foward buttons double up as selection buttons to flip through songs...and the button lables are on the back of the mp3 player rather than the front.... so there are a few TINY annoyances to the mp3 player, but overall its an execelent player for the money spent on it. I'll warn you though, compared to my Phillips 4gig mp3 player with 1.5in screen, this mp3 player feels extremely light (almost like its poorly built its so light weight), but thus far, it holds up nicely. (READ THE INSTRUCTIONS!!!) I would recomend new earbuds or better headphones tbh, the ones that come with it dont have that great of sound quality. But the volume and sound quality of the mp3 player itself it beautiful!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Cute little bugger
11/18/2008
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Overall this 'little' MP3 player packs a lot of punch for the dollar. It's very compact so the controls may be a little difficult for someone with big hands. I got this for my husband and he doesn't seem to have any problems. The FM radio gets great reception in our area (rural east Tx). To view movies or videos you have to first download a video converter file from the web. No big deal, but it would have been nice for them to tell you this upfront. The only downside is the battery life. You only get about 4 hours of play on a full charge; Plus, it does not have a lithium ion battery so you have to be careful not to overcharge it. Otherwise, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (33)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great for Kids!!!
3/20/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased 3 of these for my daughters, ages 6, 5 and 3. These MP3 players are very light weight, small and it does the job. The variety of colors that they offer are a plus! Uploading music was not hard at all and it came with free credit ($17.00 worth). The material does feel like it's plastic, but what do you expect? It's only $25!! The only dislikes (but no biggie) I have about this MP3 is 1. the ear phones that are supplied are rather bulky, hard and too big for children's ears (I had to buy earphones with a better fit and comfort). 2. You can only charge the player through a USB, so it will have to be charged through the computer OR if you have an adapter that fits a USB, then you can plug it into the wall. Other than that, I recommend this product for boys and girls ages 3-11. Can't beat the price!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very satisfied, only one oddity
4/21/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have used this product almost every day for about 9 months (to the point where the buttons paint has worn off on the edges) and it still works well. It endured great heat from being left in the car under the California sun with no damage. I use it almost exclusively for playing music. - As for battery life, I usually have it on a USB car charger while I use it, but I know it lasts at least 4 hours even after all the overcharging. Charges reasonably quick just like the manual claims. - After many months the volume buttons became slightly less responsive and now need to be pushed a little firmly, very minor issue. - It skips through tracks quickly and fast-forwards at a very agreeable quick speed. About 1 minute of sound for 3-4 seconds of fast forwarding. If one fast forwards through 2.5 minutes of sound without releasing the button it will begin to fast-forward at a very very high rate. Perhaps 2 minutes per second. - I enjoy that it turns on quickly and doesn't auto-shut off (like my last one after 15 seconds of being paused). - The only annoyance is the file arrangement system. Loading files is easy, but when you play music it throws everything into one list. You can not select among the folders you may have uploaded. When you add more songs, it adds them to the end of your song list, sometimes... If you delete files sometime the new songs you add will go into the lineup of where the deleted songs were previously placed. This means you might load 10 songs to your 300 songs and not know where they might be (what track number they were given). When I load a group of songs all at once they stay together. - It's only a small issue in light of how much money you will save compared to other players. - Didn't mess with the video much, but it seems to play fine. Still, the screen is 1.5 inches. Too small to be very enjoyable save for an occasional funny video to show a friend. - It plays music, still works, and so I'm happy.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (578)No (66)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great for young kids
1/9/2013
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
My 7 yr. old grandson asked for an Ipod for Christmas, but we felt he was still too young to start with a $300.00 Ipod. We purchased this MP3 player for him and his sister after Christmas. It is very small and fits their hands perfectly. I didn't realize that even though the instructions say you can drag and drop songs from your computer, they had to be in MP3 format and all our songs from ITunes, etc. are MP4's. So, be aware that all your songs have to be converted to MP3 format before they will load. However, once all the converting was done, it worked great and they love them. I would not purchase this for an adult but it's cheap and works well for kids. They are dancing around the house singing with their earplugs glued to their heads. One thing that annoyed me was that I paid double for the red one so they had separate colors and could distinguish one from another, but I don't feel that you should pay double for a color. The black one was $17.99 and the red one was $29.99.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642864, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-