Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 51 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

51 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

51 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

71%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
23
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 stars
11
1-20 of 47 total reviews
71%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 47 total reviews
1-20 of 47 reviews
Good choice for the price
1/15/2009

Customer review by Zanzaini

4.0 stars 1/15/2009 by Zanzaini
by Zanzaini

We bought this humidifier yesterday.It worked very well, increasing from 16% to 38% the humidity inside our bedroom(it took several hours).However, read the instructions first (I didn't). Yes, I just filled the tank with warm water, and it didn't produce any mist. So I realized that you have to fill the unit with COOL WATER. Another thing you have to do is: leave the base where you want it and take ONLY the tank to be filled. It avoids the leaks people are complaining in other reviews. In other words, you can't walk with the base and the tank for some reason I didn't understand very well, but if you follow this instruction, it won't leak (at least, it worked with me). Well, all these things are written in the instructions and in the FAQs. So far, I didn't see the layer of dust in the furniture that I read in the reviews below. I left the unit in a safe distance from the TV and the closet. ( I think there's something in the instructions about it too). Let's wait now,I hope it lasts for long time. If I have some future problems with the unit, I tell you. Enjoy! :-)

Was this review helpful? (37) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Zanzaini
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
does what it says
1/4/2009

Customer review by onefrugalgranny

5.0 stars 1/4/2009 by onefrugalgranny
by onefrugalgranny

I tried another product and it was so noisey but the Holmes Ultrasonic Tower is quiet and easy to use, easy to clean and we love it.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
onefrugalgranny
Greenfield, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I own 5 humidifiers
8/25/2015

Customer review by Connor

5.0 stars 8/25/2015 by Connor
by Connor

Yep. I'd like to consider myself an expert. I suffered from horrible nosebleeds 2-5 times a day due to the dry Los Angeles air. At the doctor's recommendation, I bought a Vicks humidifier, but it made a whooshing noise that was just too loud and obtrusive to sleep with. I then started purchasing every different kind of humidifier, and they were all badly designed, hard to fill, or too noisy. I saw this on a demo at a neighborhood Do It Center, and immediately knew it was special. It produces a flow of fog (like a Halloween fog machine, but evaporates instantly) and is as silent as they get. I have owned it now for 4-5 years and use it all night, every night. The tank also lasts at least 3 nights of running at half power. The only issue I found with it is that it gathered a scaly buildup of minerals from the extremely hard tap water I put into it. A bottle of CLR and a scrub brush fixes the problem once a year. I came back to the website to buy another one for my college dorm. Thanks for making a great product!

Connor
Los Angeles, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
a great buy
1/28/2010

Customer review by Audreyanna

5.0 stars 1/28/2010 by Audreyanna
by Audreyanna

This is the second one we've purchased. We have one in the living room and one in the bedroom. So you know we have to be very happy with them. Keep the dial on medium and the vapor will not dampen anything around the unit. White rubber stopper is easy to keep clean by putting some bleach and water in tank and shaking it up, then rinse.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Audreyanna
Tullahoma,TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best one I've ever had
3/21/2016

Customer review by Arid in Arizona

5.0 stars 3/21/2016 by Arid in Arizona
by Arid in Arizona

I've had 5 different humidifiers over the past 8 years --- the ones with filters were an expensive pain to clean and the drugstore brands were noisy or minimally effective. This Holmes Ultrasonic is by far the best. I bought it at Sears in 2013; it lasted 3 years when it quit misting, although the motor would run. Couldn't find another one locally, so bought a Homedics which I returned the next day due to a high pitched whistling sound it made. Found my reliable Holmes online at their website and ordered it. Great customer service. It is relatively quiet as humidifiers go and makes a not unpleasant white noise type sound. The variable mist control is a plus.

Arid in Arizona
Tucson, AZ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Excellent!
12/16/2008

Customer review by MNA08

5.0 stars 12/16/2008 by MNA08
by MNA08

We tried and returned so many humidifiers. Either they were too loud or didn't do anything.We found this in the store. Finally it looks like we found the right one. I hope it lasts but we don't have any stuffy nose anymore and it is so quite that you don't even realize it is working. No filters needed. Excellent.Thank you Walmart. I recommend this to anyone. We are thinking to get another one for another room.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MNA08
Mundelein, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
works well
1/15/2011

Customer review by df401

5.0 stars 1/15/2011 by df401
by df401

works very well in my 600 sq.ft. apartment. i keep it on medium and it goes through a gallon of water a day, i never turn it off. i use distilled water and haven't had any white dust or even had to clean it. sounds like a very small fish tank, but it's minimal sound. really helps my skin. it's my first humidifier so i can't compare it to anything else,but i'm very happy.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
df401
lansdale,pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
works great with distilled water
10/4/2010

Customer review by wendish

5.0 stars 10/4/2010 by wendish
by wendish

had the same problem with white residue so i cleaned it out and stopped using faucet water and bought cheap distilled water and it works great now with no white film on anything

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wendish
chicago ,il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Problem
2/12/2016

Customer review by Bils6t3

3.0 stars 2/12/2016 by Bils6t3
by Bils6t3
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this about a month ago and had a problem with it on the first day. I ran it for about 8 hours and turned it off when I went to bed. Next morning water was all over the place. It seems when turned off the cap would leak water into the unit and spill out. Called a told them my problem and they sent out another cap. So far it is working fine however I keep in in a pan just in case.

Bils6t3
San Francisco, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy Operation
2/29/2016

Customer review by bailbusch

5.0 stars 2/29/2016 by bailbusch
by bailbusch
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this apx 6 weeks ago. The humidity level in my home is now very comfortable. Very easy to fill and maintain. It does seem to be noisy but after a couple days you get used to the sound. Overall this is a great product.

bailbusch
Ohio, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
No filters to change!
2/13/2016

Customer review by RonnyT

4.0 stars 2/13/2016 by RonnyT
by RonnyT
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Our first ultrasonic humidifier, and not our last. We have had the filter type humidifiers for years and are very pleased with the quietness and ease of operation of the ultrasonic unit. The only drawback so far is that the tank does not stand on its own when you are filling it. It can be quite cumbersome in the sink.

RonnyT
Tiverton, RI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Scam
2/11/2016

Customer review by Angry customer

1.0 stars 2/11/2016 by Angry customer
by Angry customer

DO NOT BUY! Buyer be aware! The unit was working ok for little over a year until a small o-ring gasket inside the water tank to regulate water release has completely disintegrated and in need of replacement. The Holmes support indicates they don't sell the part and I need to buy a whole new unit! wow!

Angry customer
Los Angeles, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Has worked great for years
1/28/2016

Customer review by ShankerD

4.0 stars 1/28/2016 by ShankerD
by ShankerD
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this in 2009 I believe and use it every winter season and it has held up really nice. No issues at all, so I decided to get another one when I saw the sale. The only issue I have is that the part/tunnel where the mist comes out of becomes moldy and then I have to clean it up. which becomes kind of difficult because of the shape.

ShankerD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Decent Humidifier/Better Customer Service
2/5/2016

Customer review by SmashingJ

4.0 stars 2/5/2016 by SmashingJ
by SmashingJ
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The humidifier does its job. I had an issue where the container cracked within 30 days from the inside, but after a ten minute conversation with customer service I had a whole new humidifier delivered within 5 days.

SmashingJ
Madison, WI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent features
2/12/2016

Customer review by Antony

5.0 stars 2/12/2016 by Antony
by Antony
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Excellent product bought last month and working great

Antony
Dallas, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:1 month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good
2/10/2016

Customer review by 508elaine

3.0 stars 2/10/2016 by 508elaine
by 508elaine
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It's good but make a high pitched noise, almost like A white noise.

508elaine
Massachusetts, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Keep looking for a better humidifier
12/4/2009

Customer review by humidifier

1.0 stars 12/4/2009 by humidifier
by humidifier

I've had this product for one week and will be shopping for a different model. After being on over night the floor was wet all around the humidifier. I only think it disperses moisture in the immediate area and has little if any impact on actually altering the humidity in the room.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
humidifier
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent overall
1/24/2016

Customer review by Bmodel

5.0 stars 1/24/2016 by Bmodel
by Bmodel

This is my second one and I think it is the best one around for the money. Had the 1st one 2 years running it every nite until it started leaking. Hope I get that kind of product this time.

Bmodel
Cleburne, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:3 months
disappointed
12/17/2008

Customer review by Totegoat

2.0 stars 12/17/2008 by Totegoat
by Totegoat

I bought this product at a local Walmart, not online. It does keep the humidity at the desired level, but the white dust on the furniture, tv and windows is the worst I have seen. We clean it daily, but will return and use our cheap littole Sunbeam Ultrasonic which does require a filter. Have had it for 4 DAYS.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Totegoat
Marshfield, Wis
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good but creates white dust
12/26/2008

Customer review by WalmartShopping1234

3.0 stars 12/26/2008 by WalmartShopping1234
by WalmartShopping1234

Humidifier works well, very quiet and very less cleaning required. Only bad part is the white layer of dust on the furniture. Not sure if there is any way to fix this.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WalmartShopping1234
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 47 total reviews
1-20 of 47 reviews