Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 56 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

56 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

56 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

67%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
24
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 stars
14
1-20 of 52 total reviews
67%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 52 total reviews
1-20 of 52 reviews
Leaks!
1/9/2017

Customer review by headedwest

1.0 stars 1/9/2017 by headedwest
by headedwest
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I used this humidifier for the first time last night. The tank leaked from the bottom, and at one point there was NO mist coming out of the unit, though I had filled it with one container of distilled water. I am very disappointed with this humidifier.

headedwest
Dallas, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I own 5 humidifiers
8/25/2015

Customer review by Connor

5.0 stars 8/25/2015 by Connor
by Connor

Yep. I'd like to consider myself an expert. I suffered from horrible nosebleeds 2-5 times a day due to the dry Los Angeles air. At the doctor's recommendation, I bought a Vicks humidifier, but it made a whooshing noise that was just too loud and obtrusive to sleep with. I then started purchasing every different kind of humidifier, and they were all badly designed, hard to fill, or too noisy. I saw this on a demo at a neighborhood Do It Center, and immediately knew it was special. It produces a flow of fog (like a Halloween fog machine, but evaporates instantly) and is as silent as they get. I have owned it now for 4-5 years and use it all night, every night. The tank also lasts at least 3 nights of running at half power. The only issue I found with it is that it gathered a scaly buildup of minerals from the extremely hard tap water I put into it. A bottle of CLR and a scrub brush fixes the problem once a year. I came back to the website to buy another one for my college dorm. Thanks for making a great product!

Connor
Los Angeles, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Easy to fill
1/8/2017

Customer review by Mr fish

5.0 stars 1/8/2017 by Mr fish
by Mr fish

Had it for a few days.Love it so far. Easy lift and fill being I'm disabled.Very quiet compared to my old humidifier and love that there's no filter. Used to buy so many in one season. More cost efficient.

Mr fish
chicagoland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 week
Product is very noisy and leaked
12/26/2016

Customer review by genpar

1.0 stars 12/26/2016 by genpar
by genpar

The unit has a high pitched whistle sound that stays at the same intensity no matter what the control level setting. It also leaked all over the counter through what appears to be a strange overflow opening that overflows out of the back of the unit onto the surface that it is sitting on. Note that we had an older model for several years that was quieter and did not leak. It simply stopped working but lasted long enough for us to order another one. But quality of the new unit is not even close to what we need.

genpar
Seattle, WA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 week
Unfortunate early failure, but great customer serv
1/7/2017

Customer review by bobr

4.0 stars 1/7/2017 by bobr
by bobr
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought my third of these. But it failed. Holmes was great w/ customer service, and is sending me an upgrade replacement! I consider the failure to be an oddity (bad bearing in the blower motor?, causing noise).

bobr
Colorado
Length of ownership:1 week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
not good
11/16/2016

Customer review by susieq

1.0 stars 11/16/2016 by susieq
by susieq

I bought this 2 days ago worked good for about 6 hours then started leaking water from bottom. tried it again the next night made sure everything was in right still leaked. Taking it back today......

susieq
Stuart, IA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 week
Best one I've ever had
3/21/2016

Customer review by Arid in Arizona

5.0 stars 3/21/2016 by Arid in Arizona
by Arid in Arizona

I've had 5 different humidifiers over the past 8 years --- the ones with filters were an expensive pain to clean and the drugstore brands were noisy or minimally effective. This Holmes Ultrasonic is by far the best. I bought it at Sears in 2013; it lasted 3 years when it quit misting, although the motor would run. Couldn't find another one locally, so bought a Homedics which I returned the next day due to a high pitched whistling sound it made. Found my reliable Holmes online at their website and ordered it. Great customer service. It is relatively quiet as humidifiers go and makes a not unpleasant white noise type sound. The variable mist control is a plus.

Arid in Arizona
Tucson, AZ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
very noisy
12/11/2014

Customer review by notworthit

1.0 stars 12/11/2014 by notworthit
by notworthit

Bought this ultrasonic as I thought it would be easier to clean then my warm air humidifiers. While this tank holds a lot of water and I like that I don't have to constantly fill it, the noise bothers me. It's like having an old fridge running. The noise started right from the box, so it's not like I've ran it for a yr and then it got noisy. Sometimes after I clean it and start it again, it will actually make a rattling noise, but that usually go away. Also it's impossible to clean the spout where the steam comes out. Try a different model or brand, don't spend the extra $ on this ultra sonic.

notworthit
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 month
Problem
2/12/2016

Customer review by Bils6t3

3.0 stars 2/12/2016 by Bils6t3
by Bils6t3
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this about a month ago and had a problem with it on the first day. I ran it for about 8 hours and turned it off when I went to bed. Next morning water was all over the place. It seems when turned off the cap would leak water into the unit and spill out. Called a told them my problem and they sent out another cap. So far it is working fine however I keep in in a pan just in case.

Bils6t3
San Francisco, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
No filters to change!
2/13/2016

Customer review by RonnyT

4.0 stars 2/13/2016 by RonnyT
by RonnyT
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Our first ultrasonic humidifier, and not our last. We have had the filter type humidifiers for years and are very pleased with the quietness and ease of operation of the ultrasonic unit. The only drawback so far is that the tank does not stand on its own when you are filling it. It can be quite cumbersome in the sink.

RonnyT
Tiverton, RI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Has worked great for years
1/28/2016

Customer review by ShankerD

4.0 stars 1/28/2016 by ShankerD
by ShankerD
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this in 2009 I believe and use it every winter season and it has held up really nice. No issues at all, so I decided to get another one when I saw the sale. The only issue I have is that the part/tunnel where the mist comes out of becomes moldy and then I have to clean it up. which becomes kind of difficult because of the shape.

ShankerD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Scam
2/11/2016

Customer review by Angry customer

1.0 stars 2/11/2016 by Angry customer
by Angry customer

DO NOT BUY! Buyer be aware! The unit was working ok for little over a year until a small o-ring gasket inside the water tank to regulate water release has completely disintegrated and in need of replacement. The Holmes support indicates they don't sell the part and I need to buy a whole new unit! wow!

Angry customer
Los Angeles, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Easy Operation
2/29/2016

Customer review by bailbusch

5.0 stars 2/29/2016 by bailbusch
by bailbusch
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this apx 6 weeks ago. The humidity level in my home is now very comfortable. Very easy to fill and maintain. It does seem to be noisy but after a couple days you get used to the sound. Overall this is a great product.

bailbusch
Ohio, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Decent Humidifier/Better Customer Service
2/5/2016

Customer review by SmashingJ

4.0 stars 2/5/2016 by SmashingJ
by SmashingJ
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The humidifier does its job. I had an issue where the container cracked within 30 days from the inside, but after a ten minute conversation with customer service I had a whole new humidifier delivered within 5 days.

SmashingJ
Madison, WI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent overall
1/24/2016

Customer review by Bmodel

5.0 stars 1/24/2016 by Bmodel
by Bmodel

This is my second one and I think it is the best one around for the money. Had the 1st one 2 years running it every nite until it started leaking. Hope I get that kind of product this time.

Bmodel
Cleburne, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:3 months
Good
2/10/2016

Customer review by 508elaine

3.0 stars 2/10/2016 by 508elaine
by 508elaine
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It's good but make a high pitched noise, almost like A white noise.

508elaine
Massachusetts, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent features
2/12/2016

Customer review by Antony

5.0 stars 2/12/2016 by Antony
by Antony
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Excellent product bought last month and working great

Antony
Dallas, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:1 month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
works fine for me
1/3/2015

Customer review by katalina

4.0 stars 1/3/2015 by katalina
by katalina

I bought this about 3-4 years ago. I have used it in dry offices and, more recently, in my bedroom at home. In both settings, it produced\s visible mist which quickly disappears into the air and soothes my dry throat. I have never had another humidifier so have no comparison, but this one suits my needs and looks nice.

katalina
Washington, DC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
works great!
11/23/2015

Customer review by Loll

5.0 stars 11/23/2015 by Loll
by Loll
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am very happy with this humidifier it works great and is easy to operate

Loll
Kentucky, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Disappointed
12/24/2014

Customer review by Tari

1.0 stars 12/24/2014 by Tari
by Tari

Bought this a month ago for our bedroom because it advertised being so quiet. . It's not quiet at all and hardly uses any water although I see steam/mist coming out. I'll never buy another Holmes product and I can't return it to the store so I'm stuck. Might try calling the 800 number.

Tari
Mankato MN. USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 month
1-20 of 52 total reviews
1-20 of 52 reviews