Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 58 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

58 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

58 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

67%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
25
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 stars
15
1-20 of 54 total reviews
67%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 54 total reviews
1-20 of 54 reviews
Good choice for the price
1/15/2009

Customer review by Zanzaini

4.0 stars 1/15/2009 by Zanzaini
by Zanzaini

We bought this humidifier yesterday.It worked very well, increasing from 16% to 38% the humidity inside our bedroom(it took several hours).However, read the instructions first (I didn't). Yes, I just filled the tank with warm water, and it didn't produce any mist. So I realized that you have to fill the unit with COOL WATER. Another thing you have to do is: leave the base where you want it and take ONLY the tank to be filled. It avoids the leaks people are complaining in other reviews. In other words, you can't walk with the base and the tank for some reason I didn't understand very well, but if you follow this instruction, it won't leak (at least, it worked with me). Well, all these things are written in the instructions and in the FAQs. So far, I didn't see the layer of dust in the furniture that I read in the reviews below. I left the unit in a safe distance from the TV and the closet. ( I think there's something in the instructions about it too). Let's wait now,I hope it lasts for long time. If I have some future problems with the unit, I tell you. Enjoy! :-)

Was this review helpful? (38) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Zanzaini
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
does what it says
1/4/2009

Customer review by onefrugalgranny

5.0 stars 1/4/2009 by onefrugalgranny
by onefrugalgranny

I tried another product and it was so noisey but the Holmes Ultrasonic Tower is quiet and easy to use, easy to clean and we love it.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
onefrugalgranny
Greenfield, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
I own 5 humidifiers
8/25/2015

Customer review by Connor

5.0 stars 8/25/2015 by Connor
by Connor

Yep. I'd like to consider myself an expert. I suffered from horrible nosebleeds 2-5 times a day due to the dry Los Angeles air. At the doctor's recommendation, I bought a Vicks humidifier, but it made a whooshing noise that was just too loud and obtrusive to sleep with. I then started purchasing every different kind of humidifier, and they were all badly designed, hard to fill, or too noisy. I saw this on a demo at a neighborhood Do It Center, and immediately knew it was special. It produces a flow of fog (like a Halloween fog machine, but evaporates instantly) and is as silent as they get. I have owned it now for 4-5 years and use it all night, every night. The tank also lasts at least 3 nights of running at half power. The only issue I found with it is that it gathered a scaly buildup of minerals from the extremely hard tap water I put into it. A bottle of CLR and a scrub brush fixes the problem once a year. I came back to the website to buy another one for my college dorm. Thanks for making a great product!

Connor
Los Angeles, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Love it just to fine a parts for the tank
3/29/2017

Customer review by Elvira

5.0 stars 3/29/2017 by Elvira
by Elvira

I need a small rubber piece to hold the water in at the bottom of the tank

Elvira
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Ackward to fill . . . Now can't get parts!.
3/19/2017

Customer review by rsandbot

1.0 stars 3/19/2017 by rsandbot
by rsandbot

The tank fills from the bottom. Since the top isn't flat, it can't stand by itself when you're filling it. You have to keep it upright. I filled ours in the bathtub with a shower wand. (It's too tall for the kitchen sink.) Holding the tank with one hand & manipulating the wand and faucets with the other took some practice. The plug is in the tank--not in the fill cap. When the plug gasket goes, you have to buy a new tank. Oh wait, that part is No Longer Available, meaning you have to buy a whole new unit when the plug gasket inevitably fails.

rsandbot
Pennsylvania, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
a great buy
1/28/2010

Customer review by Audreyanna

5.0 stars 1/28/2010 by Audreyanna
by Audreyanna

This is the second one we've purchased. We have one in the living room and one in the bedroom. So you know we have to be very happy with them. Keep the dial on medium and the vapor will not dampen anything around the unit. White rubber stopper is easy to keep clean by putting some bleach and water in tank and shaking it up, then rinse.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Audreyanna
Tullahoma,TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Excellent!
12/16/2008

Customer review by MNA08

5.0 stars 12/16/2008 by MNA08
by MNA08

We tried and returned so many humidifiers. Either they were too loud or didn't do anything.We found this in the store. Finally it looks like we found the right one. I hope it lasts but we don't have any stuffy nose anymore and it is so quite that you don't even realize it is working. No filters needed. Excellent.Thank you Walmart. I recommend this to anyone. We are thinking to get another one for another room.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MNA08
Mundelein, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
works great with distilled water
10/4/2010

Customer review by wendish

5.0 stars 10/4/2010 by wendish
by wendish

had the same problem with white residue so i cleaned it out and stopped using faucet water and bought cheap distilled water and it works great now with no white film on anything

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wendish
chicago ,il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
works well
1/15/2011

Customer review by df401

5.0 stars 1/15/2011 by df401
by df401

works very well in my 600 sq.ft. apartment. i keep it on medium and it goes through a gallon of water a day, i never turn it off. i use distilled water and haven't had any white dust or even had to clean it. sounds like a very small fish tank, but it's minimal sound. really helps my skin. it's my first humidifier so i can't compare it to anything else,but i'm very happy.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
df401
lansdale,pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Product is very noisy and leaked
12/26/2016

Customer review by genpar

1.0 stars 12/26/2016 by genpar
by genpar

The unit has a high pitched whistle sound that stays at the same intensity no matter what the control level setting. It also leaked all over the counter through what appears to be a strange overflow opening that overflows out of the back of the unit onto the surface that it is sitting on. Note that we had an older model for several years that was quieter and did not leak. It simply stopped working but lasted long enough for us to order another one. But quality of the new unit is not even close to what we need. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

genpar
Seattle, WA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 week
Leaks!
1/9/2017

Customer review by headedwest

1.0 stars 1/9/2017 by headedwest
by headedwest
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I used this humidifier for the first time last night. The tank leaked from the bottom, and at one point there was NO mist coming out of the unit, though I had filled it with one container of distilled water. I am very disappointed with this humidifier.

headedwest
Dallas, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy to fill
1/8/2017

Customer review by Mr fish

5.0 stars 1/8/2017 by Mr fish
by Mr fish

Had it for a few days.Love it so far. Easy lift and fill being I'm disabled.Very quiet compared to my old humidifier and love that there's no filter. Used to buy so many in one season. More cost efficient.

Mr fish
chicagoland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 week
Unfortunate early failure, but great customer serv
1/7/2017

Customer review by bobr

4.0 stars 1/7/2017 by bobr
by bobr
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought my third of these. But it failed. Holmes was great w/ customer service, and is sending me an upgrade replacement! I consider the failure to be an oddity (bad bearing in the blower motor?, causing noise).

bobr
Colorado
Length of ownership:1 week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Keep looking for a better humidifier
12/4/2009

Customer review by humidifier

1.0 stars 12/4/2009 by humidifier
by humidifier

I've had this product for one week and will be shopping for a different model. After being on over night the floor was wet all around the humidifier. I only think it disperses moisture in the immediate area and has little if any impact on actually altering the humidity in the room.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
humidifier
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
not good
11/16/2016

Customer review by susieq

1.0 stars 11/16/2016 by susieq
by susieq

I bought this 2 days ago worked good for about 6 hours then started leaking water from bottom. tried it again the next night made sure everything was in right still leaked. Taking it back today......

susieq
Stuart, IA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 week
disappointed
12/17/2008

Customer review by Totegoat

2.0 stars 12/17/2008 by Totegoat
by Totegoat

I bought this product at a local Walmart, not online. It does keep the humidity at the desired level, but the white dust on the furniture, tv and windows is the worst I have seen. We clean it daily, but will return and use our cheap littole Sunbeam Ultrasonic which does require a filter. Have had it for 4 DAYS.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Totegoat
Marshfield, Wis
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:65 or older
Good but creates white dust
12/26/2008

Customer review by WalmartShopping1234

3.0 stars 12/26/2008 by WalmartShopping1234
by WalmartShopping1234

Humidifier works well, very quiet and very less cleaning required. Only bad part is the white layer of dust on the furniture. Not sure if there is any way to fix this.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WalmartShopping1234
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:25 - 34
GREAT Product Overall
1/24/2011

Customer review by KuttuP

5.0 stars 1/24/2011 by KuttuP
by KuttuP

I have had this model humidifier for 1 year and absolutely love it. It's easy to set-up, use, fill and clean and is quiet and reliable. I recently purchased a second unit of the same for another room and it arrived right away (with $.97 shipping!) Great overall product at a great price! I would like to share one trouble-shooting tip I learned: if you move the unit while there is water in the base, the vent somehow gets blocked and although steam is being produced at the base, it won't come out of the spout. The solution is to drain the base and let it air dry overnight. It worked perfectly the next morning. It look me countless attempts and several online searches to find the solution but I'm glad it was a very easy fix.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KuttuP
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Best one I've ever had
3/21/2016

Customer review by Arid in Arizona

5.0 stars 3/21/2016 by Arid in Arizona
by Arid in Arizona

I've had 5 different humidifiers over the past 8 years --- the ones with filters were an expensive pain to clean and the drugstore brands were noisy or minimally effective. This Holmes Ultrasonic is by far the best. I bought it at Sears in 2013; it lasted 3 years when it quit misting, although the motor would run. Couldn't find another one locally, so bought a Homedics which I returned the next day due to a high pitched whistling sound it made. Found my reliable Holmes online at their website and ordered it. Great customer service. It is relatively quiet as humidifiers go and makes a not unpleasant white noise type sound. The variable mist control is a plus.

Arid in Arizona
Tucson, AZ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Moisture everywhere!
11/19/2009

Customer review by lmcrrc

1.0 stars 11/19/2009 by lmcrrc
by lmcrrc

Used this for the first time last nite. Read all the instructions carefully. Woke up this morning with cloth on table completely soaked and carpet around and under table completely wet. Moisture was surrounding the entire unit. Will return immediately!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lmcrrc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
1-20 of 54 total reviews
1-20 of 54 reviews