Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 18 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

18 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

18 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

67%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 stars
2
1-16 of 16 total reviews
67%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

A Good deal
1/5/2009

Customer review by WeLoveGoodDeals

5.0 stars 1/5/2009 by WeLoveGoodDeals
by WeLoveGoodDeals

We bought this humidifier hoping that it would be quiet. I hate noisy ones. I had never used a hot air humidifier before. I always used cool mist. This has worked exactly as expected so far. It is easy to clean. To be honest I am not cleaning it every day as they say but quite often because it is so easy. No filter is key. It was hard to get started the first time. If I had read correctly I would have known to wait the 2 minutes when refilling the tank so that the water can trickle to the heating chamber. But now that I know that I have not had a problem and I leave it on all day now. Its quiet as can be other than some bubbling noises when I hear the water drop to fill the tank as its being used up. I am already over that. I am sure if I moved it a bit farther away from the bed I would not hear a thing at all. No more raising the TV volume to hear the TV with the humidifier on! Yea!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WeLoveGoodDeals
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A great Humidifier
2/19/2009

Customer review by mlcspouse

5.0 stars 2/19/2009 by mlcspouse
by mlcspouse

We bought this unit because my son has a sinus infection and we have low humidity in our house. It is easy to fill and the humidity has gone up 4% in the few hours we have had it. We are very happy with this product. The negative comments make me shake my head. Yes it bubbles but it is not loud. I would recommend this to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mlcspouse
Big Rapids, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great product
1/24/2009

Customer review by Tael

5.0 stars 1/24/2009 by Tael
by Tael

I much prefer a warm mist humidifier to a cool mist one. This product worked perfectly. It is basically unheard (super quiet - typical for warm mist humidifier) and it works great. It humidifies my whole apartment practically. I definitely recommend this product. I like that it has a built in humidistat, too. It is also really nice that it shuts off when the water runs out. It's really helpful when you're not home.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tael
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A Great Purchase
1/28/2009

Customer review by MomRob

5.0 stars 1/28/2009 by MomRob
by MomRob

This warm mist humidifier is just what we needed for these winter months. It really puts out the moisture in the air, and it does it quietly. It's right outside our bedrooms, and we can't hear it at all. The warm air is a lot more soothing than the cold blast of air.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MomRob
Fort Wayne, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product!
2/2/2009

Customer review by breatheasy

5.0 stars 2/2/2009 by breatheasy
by breatheasy

This humidifier works very well and is actually easier to clean than the directions might suggest. It's dishwasher safe (parts of it anyway), and the heating element doesn't have any weird cracks that are hard to reach. I highly recommend this product if you are looking for a humidifier that doesn't have the hassle of a filter and works wonderfully!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
breatheasy
Laramie, WY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
works veary good
12/31/2008

Customer review by feathers52

5.0 stars 12/31/2008 by feathers52
by feathers52

Bought this for my husband that has copd and emphiazema . He can berath much better .the only down fall is the tank size. I wish ie were larger

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
feathers52
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/1/2008

Customer review by 1234sam

5.0 stars 12/1/2008 by 1234sam
by 1234sam

I've had the humidifer about 1 week. It seems to work well, on the lower setting it will go 24 hours. Its much easier to clean than my previous Holmes which was very much like this one.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1234sam
Northern CA foothills
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
good
12/26/2008

Customer review by Charlie

4.0 stars 12/26/2008 by Charlie
by Charlie

we use this type in the hospital very effective

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Charlie
45368
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Is the cleaning EVERY NIGHT worth it???
12/21/2008

Customer review by Dee24

3.0 stars 12/21/2008 by Dee24
by Dee24

I bought this because I couldnt find any other warm mist humidifier with a bigger water tank. I previously purchased the medium room one and the water ran out in 6 hours on the high setting. I must say this one is very good if you need something on high setting lasts at least 10 hours if you fill it ALL the way completely. My BIG problem with this is the DAILY cleaning of the TRAY and HEATING ELEMENT which i didnt know at first that the heating element needed to be cleaned around everynight because it gets gross scale on it and the humidifier WILL NOT WORK if it is not CLEANED PROPERLY. Dont know if the other customer that wrote a review realized that might be the reason it didnt work sometimes. And let me tell you it is SOOO DIFFICULT TO CLEAN AROUND THE HEATING ELEMENT , the way it was made you cant even fit your fingers in one corner to clean it PROPERLY AND EVERY NIGHT HAVE TO CLEAN IT WITH A FEW Q-TIPS AND EVEN THE Q-TIPS ARE HARD TO GET IN THE CORNER AND AROUND THE CIRCULAR PART OF THE HEATING ELEMENT , I DONT KNOW WHO CONSTRUCTED THIS MACHINE, but i get mad everytime i have to clean it and my fingers don't fit enough to swipe the cirucular area with the q-tip of the heating element. In the book it just says, to wipe heating element with a damp cloth , but that is bull ---- because it gets alot of build up around that circular part that MUST BE CLEANED. Then on a weekly basis you must clean the tray with undiluted Vinegar which i couldnt even find at my supermarket and was the tank with bleach and of course clean that heating element. So every night to remember to clean the stuff has been a really BIG PAIN. its up to you if you want to save the money on the filter.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dee24
Everett, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
LOUD HUMIDIFIER
1/28/2009

Customer review by JAFRF

3.0 stars 1/28/2009 by JAFRF
by JAFRF

This humidifier would be fine if I could sleep through the noise. It sounds like an old fashioned coffee pot that percolates at a very noisy percolating. It even kept my wife awake & she sleeps through most anything

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JAFRF
Poughkeepsie, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Holmes Humidifier
2/1/2009

Customer review by CSDG

3.0 stars 2/1/2009 by CSDG
by CSDG

The tank is a little difficult to fill, as it does not sit level while filling. Also the tank can be misaligned easily when reinstalling it. Overall, the humidifier performs as expected.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CSDG
Eau Claire, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great idea, works fine, but lots of cleaning
12/2/2008

Customer review by NattysMom

3.0 stars 12/2/2008 by NattysMom
by NattysMom

I was so excited to see that this didn't need a filter--those things get expensive! It is nice, quiet, and works well. The 2 drawbacks: 1) You have to clean it EVERY day--the whole bottom part gets covered in this "silt" from the water and you have to wash it (only takes 2 minutes, but it's still a pain to remember every night). 2) It's weird--if you don't do things in the proper order (turn on, turn off, wash, unlock, fill with water, wait 2 minutes, etc...), it won't run... which wouldn't be so bad, except you can't TELL it's not running (the light is on, looks good to go)--so I turn it on in my son's room, say goodnight, and since it takes 10 minutes to warm up and start working, some mornings I'll go in there and it hasn't worked all night!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NattysMom
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Possibly a defective unit
12/19/2008

Customer review by kansascitykid

2.0 stars 12/19/2008 by kansascitykid
by kansascitykid

I purchased both the HM5602 (medium rooms) and the HM5250 (small rooms) as I did not want to purchase a portable whole house evaporation unit. (Note: The HM5602-U description states it is intended for large rooms). The smaller unit worked right out the box. In 10 minutes I had vapor,but the HM5602 did not work. I filled the water tank, put it on the unit and nothing happened. I checked to see if the bottom pan was in the locked position, turned the machine, on, off, low, high, and finally reset. Dumped the water started over twice. I also waited over the required 10 minutes for vapor, before starting over again. I went out on the internet and read other reviews which said it was tempermental and that you had to move the gauges in a certain order, so I did. I found if I advanced the moisture setting gauge, the humidifier said it needed resetting. This should only occur, if the humidifier runs out of water (the reason I tried it several times before giving up). The bottom of the unit was hot, but no vapor was released. When I finally had given up, I found the heating element had some type of white substance that had grown on it? This did not occur on the smaller unit. As I have owned other name brands cool evaporation units, I did not want to have the continuous investment of water solutions (to prevent bacteria) and replacement filters (they become contaminated). The advantage to a warm mist is that the water is boiled to prevent bacteria and this specific unit did not require additional filter purchases which was my reasons for buying it. The disadvantage is its capacity of small or medium rooms. If I try another unit and find successful, I will write another opinion, as the smaller unit has worked very well.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kansascitykid
Fort Dodge, IA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Not What I Expected
1/12/2009

Customer review by hightealady

2.0 stars 1/12/2009 by hightealady
by hightealady

I have used Holmes products before and was very satisfied with them. This time, however, the product gave a lackluster performance. I thought I was reading and following the instructions for the product, but it never provided the humidity I needed in my apartment.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hightealady
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
dont buy beware
12/27/2008

Customer review by damitche

1.0 stars 12/27/2008 by damitche
by damitche

The first time I went to use this item it leaked. Then the second time I tried to use it was stuck on reset and nothing I did could get it to work. I plan to return it. Beware of this item.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
damitche
moyock nc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
2/1/2009

Customer review by attentiontodetail84

1.0 stars 2/1/2009 by attentiontodetail84
by attentiontodetail84

This item is loud! Keeps me up at night bubbling like boiling water. Also, the output of steam compared to my cool mist Holmes unit is much less. (I have the humidity level detector). I do not recommend this item especially for the price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
attentiontodetail84
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never