Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 96 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

96 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

96 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
58
4 stars
18
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 stars
10
1-20 of 84 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 84 total reviews
1-20 of 84 reviews
FANTASTIC!
9/4/2009

Customer review by HarleeJo

5.0 stars 9/4/2009 by HarleeJo
by HarleeJo

I have an American Eskimo that has sever separation anxiety. I started out with a wire crate and she ate futons, pulled curtains off the wall, moved the cage up to four feet. Crazy! I decided to try this cage thinking well this plastic thing wont last long with her. WRONG! She loves it. She walks right in and hasn't destroyed one thing. She hasn't been able to chew through it or move it. We were very surprised considering all of the damage she caused in her really heavy wire cage. I would recommend this cage to anybody! It makes my day 100% easier knowing she can't tear up the house through her cage.

Was this review helpful? (127) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HarleeJo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Exceptional Product and a qualification
8/19/2010

Customer review by Roxnroses

5.0 stars 8/19/2010 by Roxnroses
by Roxnroses

My dogs have all been large breeds - Rottweilers, American Bulldogs, AmStaffs - and this crate easily stands up to any one of them. High quality plastic, fairly strong door, good locking pins to secure both halves. Note: The locking pins should be put in from the UNDERSIDE because they are designed to lock in from that position - as a careful study of the mounting on the crate will show clearly I use this carrier for dog safety while traveling in my minivan so I cannot attest to how this crate stands up to airline travel. However, from the looks of it and the extreme sturdiness of the materials, I would guess there would be no problems at all. I would feel completely confident putting my dogs inside for airline travel. Two points of contention: The dimensions given for these crates are very misleading because they are all OUTSIDE dimensions. So be careful when you are purchasing! After measuring the XL, I found the inside dimensions are as follows: L=35 inches W=20 1/2 inches H=30 inches Large inside dimensions: L=30 1/2 W=20 1/2 H= 28 If you are going to order sizes other than these, find out what the dimensions are.

Was this review helpful? (76) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Roxnroses
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Rugged Value
9/29/2010

Customer review by DoggiePilot

5.0 stars 9/29/2010 by DoggiePilot
by DoggiePilot

I'm a private pilot for Canine Rescue Flights. I bought 5 of these crates to use in my airplane. They are lightweight, rugged, easy to break-down and set up, and they collapse to 1/3 their size when not in use. I have not had any problems with dogs chewing them or damaging them in any way. The price was the best around! They are simply the BEST value I could find. They do the job. I was, at first, concerned with the little polypropylene clips that secure the top to the bottom. But I have not had one problem... and they actually make it VERY easy to assemble and disassemble without tools. The door is the standard spring-latch door you find on any of these crates -- it works. The crate has additional holes at the half-seams, should you want to reinforce it by putting ty-wraps through them. Weight is issue for me, and these crates are light but sturdy. They are also a little bit flexible.. which is a good thing, they are not "brittle" and prone to cracking like some crates can be. They are simple to sanitize, without fancy but pointless curves or edges to clean. Nice flat, solid bottom is comfortable for the pet but prevents any "accidental" leaks. This is a case where simple is definitely better. My crates see a lot of use, and these things stand up to the task... for a real bargain price. This is the Fischer-Price of dogs crates. Simple, Rugged, Reliable, Affordable.

Was this review helpful? (38) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DoggiePilot
St. Petersburg, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
worked great
12/30/2008

Customer review by cockerspanielrescue

4.0 stars 12/30/2008 by cockerspanielrescue
by cockerspanielrescue

Our rescue bought these for sending dogs to adopters, they work great. These also come with Live Animal Sticker Labels, and a food/water dish that attaches onto the bars which was PERFECT. The only thing i would change about this product is a lot of airlines REQUIRE that crates be put together with nuts and bolts, so we did end up having to buy hardware (not difficult, nut, bolt, and 2 washers for 8 out of the 14 holes) and used zip ties for the other 6) But these are great! You can't beat the price, if you buy a crate this size at Petco/Petsmart you're looking at spending at least 100 dollars. The only reason i didn't give it 5 stars is because it technically isn't (all) airline approved without modifying with nuts and bolts) Even if your airline states that it doesn't need to be put together with nuts and bolts i would highly suggest it, what holds this particular crate together is just little plastic pieces that can be easily broken.

Was this review helpful? (41) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cockerspanielrescue
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Does the job
12/5/2008

Customer review by STLEVV

4.0 stars 12/5/2008 by STLEVV
by STLEVV

We bought this for our German Shepherd/Hound puppy. I knew he would outgrow it, but wanted something that was his size for now, so I didn't want to spend a whole lot. This worked out great. The plastic is a little thin, and the door can be a little tricky to get the pins in the right holes, but it does the job. I would reccomend this for someone looking to not spend a lot, but get a decent crate. You can certainly find higher quality crates, but for the price, this can't be beat.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
STLEVV
Evansville,IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Two Different Models
4/13/2011

Customer review by eshop

4.0 stars 4/13/2011 by eshop
by eshop

There seems to be two different molds for making these crates, and one is superior to the other. One mold comes with built-in handles in the sides, and it has larger clips (to assemble the top and bottom), and the plastic seems thicker and more sturdy. The other mold comes with no handles, smaller clips, and seemingly thinner plastic. I purchased the Large from a local Walmart, and loved it. It had the handles, large clips, etc. I wanted another to keep at the beach, but could not find another locally. I purchased a Large online, and the mold with no handles and small clips was received. I returned it, and I found an X-Large locally with the handles, so I purchased that. If I never saw the difference in person, then the one without handles would probably have suited me fine, but knowing there is a difference, I wanted the better one. Pros: - Flat Bottom compared to other brands - easy to assemble, disassemble (for cleaning) - Price - Better ventilation then some competition

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
eshop
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Spacious
1/16/2010

Customer review by japo5889

5.0 stars 1/16/2010 by japo5889
by japo5889

We have a 5 month old pitbull puppy; she tears up everything when we leave her alone. We received the large crate as a gift and love it! It is very roomy and fits her, her bed, and a couple toys with room to spare. Since we started putting her in the crate when we leave she has actually taken a liking to it, we leave the door open for her at night and she sleeps inside. Best of all,she has not torn up anything since we got this! Very sturdy, safe, and comfortable.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
japo5889
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Large ASPCA Crate
2/17/2010

Customer review by buckshot1950

2.0 stars 2/17/2010 by buckshot1950
by buckshot1950

I have always purchased my crates at Walmart. I went to Walmart to find they had changed manufacturers for their dog crates 3 out of 4 crates were damaged with large cracks and this crate is recommended for airline traveling. When pointed out to the associate they were removed instantly. I did take the one they had in good shape but I fail to have the confidence to send a puppy in the crate, so will be returning the crate. Find it hard to think ASPCA would want to benefit from this poor quality product. Call Kennel-aire, no return call from the company.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
buckshot1950
Vassar
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
ASPCA DOG KENNEL SIZE LARGE
4/21/2010

Customer review by SMTREPTOW

1.0 stars 4/21/2010 by SMTREPTOW
by SMTREPTOW

I Love this product. We purchased this product at our local WalMart for 56.97 + tax on April 15th from our local WalMart. Ours was the last one in stock. We have a 18 week old Labrador and purchased this kennel to replace an N2N kennel purchased from Petsmart. I have to say this may have been the best purchase for our Lab ever. She absolutly loves it. There is plenty of room for her to move around and for her blanket and toys. Another plus is that this kennel will also fit her as an adult. The price compared to other carriers makes this one the best choice hands down. If you are going to travel however you will need to invest in a compact food and water dish because this kennel does not come with them. Also do pay any attention to my rating above these stars would not go above 2 when I clicked on them.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SMTREPTOW
Muskegon, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This kennel is extremelly heavy for an Air Travel!
10/26/2009

Customer review by JacksonvilleWalmart

1.0 stars 10/26/2009 by JacksonvilleWalmart
by JacksonvilleWalmart

I just bought one ASPCA Kennel, The Large size recommended breeds for Lab Retrievers... the price was good, I have a Labrador Retriever his weight is 78 Lbs. I bought it because I wanted to bring my dog with me in an International Flight on vacations to visit my family. I made all the Travel requirement to bring the dog with me, but for my surprise when I went to the airport my dog in his Kennel was over weight the total weight was 110 lbs. For the airline company was too heavy they only allowed 100Lb or less. So... I mess-up everything, I lost my flight, I had to cancel my hotel reservations, everything was wrong because the kennel was extremelly heavy for the trip. I didn't know only the empty kennel weight was 32Lbs!!! I will have to make new arrangements for this trip in the next weeks but the damage is already done. New paperwork for my pet and the rest as well. RECOMMENDATION: Weight your Dog first, then do the Math, If the airline company allowed you to bring your Dog with nothing over 100Lbs just buy a Kenell based on the differential weight of course with the correct size. Doesn't matter how cheap the kennel was, cost like for time the price to pay for everything again, I lost my time, I got upset, I waste my money for nothing. Do not go for the cheap, go for the correct. My bad experience will help another person. Good luck!

Was this review helpful? (36) (49)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JacksonvilleWalmart
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Pet Carrier
4/6/2011

Customer review by AZtoPA

5.0 stars 4/6/2011 by AZtoPA
by AZtoPA

We were moving from the west coast to the east coast. In order to fly our dog, we needed an extra large pet kennel that was ASPCA approved. The airline required it, and we have a big dog! Our dog had a great trip. The crate was great, and traveled really well on the plane. It is very easy to dis -assemble to fit in the car. Great product! Thanks!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AZtoPA
Scottsdale, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No Replacement Door
12/2/2010

Customer review by MPK333

1.0 stars 12/2/2010 by MPK333
by MPK333

One of the only major kennel manufactures that you can not purchase replacement doors for... Go with another brand.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MPK333
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good Price, Horrible Durability.
11/3/2010

Customer review by LaxDfns15

3.0 stars 11/3/2010 by LaxDfns15
by LaxDfns15

I got this hoping to help out with my 6 month old rescue cope with me leaving my apartment. Being a student, I would have to leave for up to 3 hours at a time and he would tear up anything and everything that was not too big to move. He's 25 pounds, and was able to bend the metal bars that hold the door in place to escape, even with the crate against a wall. Once I made NEW, stronger bars myself, he chewed a hole in the side because he was able to get his teeth around the vents. Maybe it's because he's a rescue and just has not has good experiences with crates, but this thing was nowhere near strong enough.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LaxDfns15
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
No Water/food bowls
3/16/2010

Customer review by Deneb

2.0 stars 3/16/2010 by Deneb
by Deneb

I have always bought my shipping crates from Walmart. In the past few years they have gone from faily good to very bad. Now they have even taken out the food and water dishes. Beware if you need to ship and get home to get ready you will need another trip somewhere to find these also! Talked to the comapny and they say Walmart requested they not include them anymore so you have to buy the 6.00 ones they sell. I think not!

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Deneb
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Walmart Model Numbers Wrong
1/31/2012

Customer review by OldBass

2.0 stars 1/31/2012 by OldBass
by OldBass

Intermediate size is shown as Model RA28 in Item Description and picture shows an ASPCA Kennel; however, the model number in the Specifications is shown as TA28G, an Travel-Aire Kennel. I have ordered two different times thinking I was ordering the ASPCA two-tone kennel as shown and as described. What I got both times was the TA28G (Travel-Aire) 28 (Grey). Notice two other recent reviews had the same problem. Notice reviews dated 11/10/2011 and 12/30/2011. Other sizes might be ok but you're taking a chance until Walmart fixes their erronous model numbers.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OldBass
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
12/30/2011

Customer review by scc5807

2.0 stars 12/30/2011 by scc5807
by scc5807

I ordered the one that was on WAL MART web site which was •Attractive tan bottom and white top . I was shipped aq solid gray crate...not pleased

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
scc5807
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great price, a little flimsy
7/12/2010

Customer review by MGSalpi

3.0 stars 7/12/2010 by MGSalpi
by MGSalpi

I wish I would have spent a little extra on larger sized kennel or metal collapsable. This was a good price, but the kennel is not incredibly industrial. My puppy seems to be claustrophic and according the the kennel dimensions, it should be a good size for a standard poodle. She is not even 20lbs at 3 mos old and this is not spacious at all for her.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MGSalpi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Horrible!
6/22/2010

Customer review by Detailsmatter

1.0 stars 6/22/2010 by Detailsmatter
by Detailsmatter

The "unbreakable" plastic fasteners broke within a few days causing the top to break. The last kennel like this lasted 10 years and this one only lasted a few days! Do not waste your money. The company will not cover any warranty claims or ship replacement parts without a lengthy approval process.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Detailsmatter
Topeka, KS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very disappointed
9/22/2010

Customer review by TCcustomer

1.0 stars 9/22/2010 by TCcustomer
by TCcustomer

I bought this because my dog was breaking out of his metal crate. Well, first he broke the door latch. I got that fixed. Then he chewed his way through the back of the crate and crawled out. We came home to a mess! He's not even that big of a dog, he's only about 40 lbs. What a waste of time and money!

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TCcustomer
Traverse City, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not as good as it used to be!
7/31/2011

Customer review by BLKBRD

1.0 stars 7/31/2011 by BLKBRD
by BLKBRD

A few years back I got one of these and it was well made and had a heavy door. I now own an animal rescue and bought some more of them because of past experience. What a waist of money it took about 10 mins for a 35 lbs. dog to destroy the door. Way too flimsy now. you can't by replacement doors for them.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BLKBRD
Tulsa, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 84 total reviews
1-20 of 84 reviews