Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 222 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

222 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

222 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
149
4 stars
33
3 stars
15
2 stars
7
1 stars
18
1-20 of 182 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 182 total reviews
1-20 of 182 reviews
Must Have Canner
4/21/2009

Customer review by pencilwoman

5.0 stars 4/21/2009 by pencilwoman
by pencilwoman

The Granite Ware Canner is an excellent choice for the budget minded person. Being able to can wholesome foods will be much easier with this Granite Ware canner. It holds 7 quart jars, making each canning session economical.

Was this review helpful? (169) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pencilwoman
Cherryville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
6/3/2009

Customer review by lalady913

5.0 stars 6/3/2009 by lalady913
by lalady913

its just a canner, nothing fancy, just a pot to give jars a water bath..Has rack and the box came with 2 canners giving space for 14 jars instead of 7 (that was a BIG plus)

Was this review helpful? (99) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lalady913
los Angeles Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
perfect for canning
7/23/2009

Customer review by Steph71421

5.0 stars 7/23/2009 by Steph71421
by Steph71421

Exactly what I needed. Just wish i could have found it in the store. Its big though and fits tightly on my stove. Its deep and wide so pint jars can even fit double layered (with a second rack). A great value.

Was this review helpful? (71) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Steph71421
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Good value
10/8/2009

Customer review by RennMan

4.0 stars 10/8/2009 by RennMan
by RennMan

Good value product. The only negitive is that the wire basket will not hold half pint jars.

Was this review helpful? (46) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RennMan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Exactly what I wanted
5/28/2010

Customer review by Thadicus

5.0 stars 5/28/2010 by Thadicus
by Thadicus

Great value and exactly what was advertised. I used this on my Kenmore glass top stove with no problems. Site to Store was perfect.

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Thadicus
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Real nice canner for the price
7/9/2014

Customer review by coolsalli

5.0 stars 7/9/2014 by coolsalli
by coolsalli

I am sorry to say I had to return this canner as it was everything I wanted. When I opened the box and read the fine print it said "Do Not Use On Glass Stove Tops". I have a glass stove top. I sure wish it would have worked out. It was very nice and for a good price!

Was this review helpful? (23) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
coolsalli
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
very good product
11/23/2010

Customer review by cannerjr

5.0 stars 11/23/2010 by cannerjr
by cannerjr

I'm not a frequent canner and this product made my project very easy. I used it on a glass top stove and it worked just fine. I'm grateful to have a product that was so reasonably priced and easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cannerjr
San Antonio, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Too Delicate to be Shipped
9/2/2010

Customer review by Katmeow5

2.0 stars 9/2/2010 by Katmeow5
by Katmeow5

I had veggies from my garden that were ready to be canned IMMEDIATELY and none of the Walmart stores in my area had any canners in stock, but I found this one online and had it shipped. I was quite surprised and pleased at how fast it arrived at my home. I was NOT at all happy with the condition it was in. There were big chips in the lid and in the pot itself, and had I not needed to use it immediately, I would have returned it because it will most assuredly rust in the chipped spots. But when compared to the inexpensive price and my immediate need, I decided to keep it and if it rusts later on, I'll just replace.

Was this review helpful? (24) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Katmeow5
Elkins, WV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
something everyone needs
4/14/2009

Customer review by mamajudy

4.0 stars 4/14/2009 by mamajudy
by mamajudy

This canner is a product everyone needs if they like to cook and preserve foods. Easy to use and very durable. Times are such that everyone should be learning how to preserve their own foods for nutrition and sanitary purposes. I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mamajudy
Armuchee, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
not for glass/ceramic cooktops
8/28/2010

Customer review by canner27

3.0 stars 8/28/2010 by canner27
by canner27

I never got to use this canner because it had ridges on the bottom, which I cannot use on my glass/ceramic cooktop. I need to find a flat-bottom kind.

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
canner27
Would recommend to a friend? No
Bought On-Line Picked-Up @ Store
7/31/2014

Customer review by SiouxCityBoy

5.0 stars 7/31/2014 by SiouxCityBoy
by SiouxCityBoy

As the title above says, I bought this on-line and then picked it up at the local Walmart the same day. A review on the Canner: The Good News: The canner is well made, though not as heavy as the heritage ones that everyone's great grand mother may have owned. It is made in the USA and does the job perfectly. The canner included a rack which has no dividers which is good in that one can fit various sized jars on the rack, more pint or half pint than the ones with dividers which are essentially designed for the quart sized jars. It worked well on my Jen-air stove which has a special raised canning element just for large pots and canners. It cleaned up well after use and is now on my pantry shelves. It is really a great value but is not something one can bang around as it is porcelain coated on both the inside and outside and as we all know porcelain is easily cracked when the pot is miss-treated. The Bad: The canner is light-weight, at least lighter than heritage ones. It is subject to damage, I suspect rather easily, if it has been abused either on the shelf or in shipping. Since it is real porcelain, rather than simple cheap enamel, it is easily damaged. Be sure and carefully check the condition PRIOR to leaving any Walmart Store or quickly upon arrival. My local Walmart manager had trouble finding one that did not already have existing damage because of rough handling either at the store or perhaps while shipping.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SiouxCityBoy
Rural Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Great canner for the money
5/20/2012

Customer review by Snoopybaby

5.0 stars 5/20/2012 by Snoopybaby
by Snoopybaby

I love my canner! This was the first piece of canning equipment I ever bought and it's still going strong. The inside is a little water stained from the hard water we have here but it still works perfectly. I have never has any issues with it and I would definitely recommend it to others. It is rather heavy when filled with water so I suggest not moving it around when full of water but you can easily get all 7 quarts in with no problems. I have never had a jar not seal that was processed in this canner.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Snoopybaby
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great Water Bath Canner
8/10/2009

Customer review by bluesloversrv

5.0 stars 8/10/2009 by bluesloversrv
by bluesloversrv

I bought this, so I could make pickles this year and store them. The canner holds 7 quart sized glass jars and has a nice rack. The rack can set on the sides so you can put the 7 jars in before they go into the boiling water, and it lowers real easy. I had no problems canning this year usinig this product. Well worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bluesloversrv
Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great Product
7/26/2011

Customer review by cookie470

5.0 stars 7/26/2011 by cookie470
by cookie470

I had never tried to do any canning before, but found a good cookbook and this canner with a rack and I was off and running. It did everything I needed it to do. It's big enough to do 7 or 8 pints of goodies at a time. It was the perfect pot for me and I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cookie470
Bastrop, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
21.5 Qt Canner ith Rack
5/28/2012

Customer review by Kundalini

5.0 stars 5/28/2012 by Kundalini
by Kundalini

This is the second canner. The first one lasted 20 years. The rack hold 7 quarts. I use it for canning pickles and jelly. It is a very durable pot and works great for steam bath canning. You can't go wrong with the quality and price.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kundalini
Northeast Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
LOVE IT!!
5/14/2012

Customer review by heytrouble

5.0 stars 5/14/2012 by heytrouble
by heytrouble

I love this canner. I am totaly new to canning. I bought it and made 2 batches of Strawberry Jam 3 days apart. I just got a book followed the directions and bought this canner. The price can't be beat!! I would recomend it to any one thinking of starting down the canning path. Easy to load and it's big!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
heytrouble
Clarksburg, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
helpful
6/4/2010

Customer review by PioneerGrandma

5.0 stars 6/4/2010 by PioneerGrandma
by PioneerGrandma

I bought 2 of this very same item at a local hardware store for $7.00 over 30 years ago even the same brand. I have used them every year to can tomatoes and jams. Now my daughter borrows them to can tomatoes from her garden. They have dings but are still working great. I see them online for $39 at many online stores.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PioneerGrandma
Sand Springs, Ok.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
My mother was excited
7/11/2009

Customer review by holyokeman

5.0 stars 7/11/2009 by holyokeman
by holyokeman

I ordered this item for my mother and it was shipped directly to her, no hassles, left the warehouse quickly and arrived promptly. She was very excited when she got it and I do believe my X-mas gift this year will be pickles LOL

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
holyokeman
Holyoke,MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
returned
12/29/2013

Customer review by bbcc2

1.0 stars 12/29/2013 by bbcc2
by bbcc2

It was returned due to part missing and bend and break in porcelain.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bbcc2
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
needed it quick
8/23/2014

Customer review by angryomish

5.0 stars 8/23/2014 by angryomish
by angryomish

Not a top shelf product but it worked great for what I needed at a price I could afford. Worked fine on my glass top stove, plus Worked well with my smaller jars.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
angryomish
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 182 total reviews
1-20 of 182 reviews