Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 237 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

237 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

237 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
157
4 stars
34
3 stars
16
2 stars
9
1 stars
21
1-20 of 197 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 197 total reviews
1-20 of 197 reviews
Too Delicate to be Shipped
9/2/2010

Customer review by Katmeow5

2.0 stars 9/2/2010 by Katmeow5
by Katmeow5

I had veggies from my garden that were ready to be canned IMMEDIATELY and none of the Walmart stores in my area had any canners in stock, but I found this one online and had it shipped. I was quite surprised and pleased at how fast it arrived at my home. I was NOT at all happy with the condition it was in. There were big chips in the lid and in the pot itself, and had I not needed to use it immediately, I would have returned it because it will most assuredly rust in the chipped spots. But when compared to the inexpensive price and my immediate need, I decided to keep it and if it rusts later on, I'll just replace.

Was this review helpful? (28) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Katmeow5
Elkins, WV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Granite Ware 21.5 Quart Porcelain Canner with Rack
1/13/2016

Customer review by Lois

2.0 stars 1/13/2016 by Lois
by Lois

I had to return it due to the pot cover being damaged. I bought the Stock Pot to replace it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Must Have Canner
4/21/2009

Customer review by pencilwoman

5.0 stars 4/21/2009 by pencilwoman
by pencilwoman

The Granite Ware Canner is an excellent choice for the budget minded person. Being able to can wholesome foods will be much easier with this Granite Ware canner. It holds 7 quart jars, making each canning session economical.

Was this review helpful? (177) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pencilwoman
Cherryville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
perfect for canning
7/23/2009

Customer review by Steph71421

5.0 stars 7/23/2009 by Steph71421
by Steph71421

Exactly what I needed. Just wish i could have found it in the store. Its big though and fits tightly on my stove. Its deep and wide so pint jars can even fit double layered (with a second rack). A great value.

Was this review helpful? (75) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Steph71421
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Exactly what I wanted
5/28/2010

Customer review by Thadicus

5.0 stars 5/28/2010 by Thadicus
by Thadicus

Great value and exactly what was advertised. I used this on my Kenmore glass top stove with no problems. Site to Store was perfect.

Was this review helpful? (31) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Thadicus
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Nice Pot
12/27/2010

Customer review by Gadel

4.0 stars 12/27/2010 by Gadel
by Gadel

I actually bought this product for canning and when I got it I came to realize I cannot can meat and vegetables with it. So now I will have to get the pressure cooker since this would be the type of canner I can use for both kinds of canning. If you are only interested in canning fruits and jelly this pot would be great to use. It is a pretty pot but as far as durability, I am not so sure that you can do this with this pot. However for making large batches of soups of beans that you do want to can, you can cook large batches in it and then use the pressure cooker to can the food. I love the size of the pot as it actually came in handy for me just last week when I made a large pot of soup. It is great for this: making large batches of soup and beans or even punch. Just remember to get a pressure cooker canner to do meats and vegetable--canning these things.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gadel
Norman, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
6/3/2009

Customer review by lalady913

5.0 stars 6/3/2009 by lalady913
by lalady913

its just a canner, nothing fancy, just a pot to give jars a water bath..Has rack and the box came with 2 canners giving space for 14 jars instead of 7 (that was a BIG plus)

Was this review helpful? (102) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lalady913
los Angeles Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Real nice canner for the price
7/9/2014

Customer review by coolsalli

5.0 stars 7/9/2014 by coolsalli
by coolsalli
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am sorry to say I had to return this canner as it was everything I wanted. When I opened the box and read the fine print it said "Do Not Use On Glass Stove Tops". I have a glass stove top. I sure wish it would have worked out. It was very nice and for a good price!

Was this review helpful? (28) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
coolsalli
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good value
10/8/2009

Customer review by RennMan

4.0 stars 10/8/2009 by RennMan
by RennMan

Good value product. The only negitive is that the wire basket will not hold half pint jars.

Was this review helpful? (51) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RennMan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great canner for the money
5/20/2012

Customer review by Snoopybaby

5.0 stars 5/20/2012 by Snoopybaby
by Snoopybaby

I love my canner! This was the first piece of canning equipment I ever bought and it's still going strong. The inside is a little water stained from the hard water we have here but it still works perfectly. I have never has any issues with it and I would definitely recommend it to others. It is rather heavy when filled with water so I suggest not moving it around when full of water but you can easily get all 7 quarts in with no problems. I have never had a jar not seal that was processed in this canner.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Snoopybaby
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great Water Bath Canner
8/10/2009

Customer review by bluesloversrv

5.0 stars 8/10/2009 by bluesloversrv
by bluesloversrv

I bought this, so I could make pickles this year and store them. The canner holds 7 quart sized glass jars and has a nice rack. The rack can set on the sides so you can put the 7 jars in before they go into the boiling water, and it lowers real easy. I had no problems canning this year usinig this product. Well worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bluesloversrv
Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
very good product
11/23/2010

Customer review by cannerjr

5.0 stars 11/23/2010 by cannerjr
by cannerjr

I'm not a frequent canner and this product made my project very easy. I used it on a glass top stove and it worked just fine. I'm grateful to have a product that was so reasonably priced and easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cannerjr
San Antonio, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Porcelain canning pot is a must for canning!
12/11/2015

Customer review by Itsmeeh

5.0 stars 12/11/2015 by Itsmeeh
by Itsmeeh

Purchased to can applesauce - used it to sterilize jars and use for canning. Worked great! Handle is awesome to lift jars from water and hooks on rim of pot for easy removal of jars. cleans like a dream!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Itsmeeh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for Canning and more
12/11/2015

Customer review by YellowSix

5.0 stars 12/11/2015 by YellowSix
by YellowSix

I love the large size and light weight. It holds 7 quart jars for home canning. I do a lot of water bathing, so I have two for cooking and another one for scalding the fruit to remove the skins.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
YellowSix
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
not for glass/ceramic cooktops
8/28/2010

Customer review by canner27

3.0 stars 8/28/2010 by canner27
by canner27

I never got to use this canner because it had ridges on the bottom, which I cannot use on my glass/ceramic cooktop. I need to find a flat-bottom kind.

Was this review helpful? (19) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
canner27
Would recommend to a friend? No
Bought On-Line Picked-Up @ Store
7/31/2014

Customer review by SiouxCityBoy

5.0 stars 7/31/2014 by SiouxCityBoy
by SiouxCityBoy

As the title above says, I bought this on-line and then picked it up at the local Walmart the same day. A review on the Canner: The Good News: The canner is well made, though not as heavy as the heritage ones that everyone's great grand mother may have owned. It is made in the USA and does the job perfectly. The canner included a rack which has no dividers which is good in that one can fit various sized jars on the rack, more pint or half pint than the ones with dividers which are essentially designed for the quart sized jars. It worked well on my Jen-air stove which has a special raised canning element just for large pots and canners. It cleaned up well after use and is now on my pantry shelves. It is really a great value but is not something one can bang around as it is porcelain coated on both the inside and outside and as we all know porcelain is easily cracked when the pot is miss-treated. The Bad: The canner is light-weight, at least lighter than heritage ones. It is subject to damage, I suspect rather easily, if it has been abused either on the shelf or in shipping. Since it is real porcelain, rather than simple cheap enamel, it is easily damaged. Be sure and carefully check the condition PRIOR to leaving any Walmart Store or quickly upon arrival. My local Walmart manager had trouble finding one that did not already have existing damage because of rough handling either at the store or perhaps while shipping.

Was this review helpful? (13) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SiouxCityBoy
Rural Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
something everyone needs
4/14/2009

Customer review by mamajudy

4.0 stars 4/14/2009 by mamajudy
by mamajudy

This canner is a product everyone needs if they like to cook and preserve foods. Easy to use and very durable. Times are such that everyone should be learning how to preserve their own foods for nutrition and sanitary purposes. I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mamajudy
Armuchee, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
LOVE IT!!
5/14/2012

Customer review by heytrouble

5.0 stars 5/14/2012 by heytrouble
by heytrouble

I love this canner. I am totaly new to canning. I bought it and made 2 batches of Strawberry Jam 3 days apart. I just got a book followed the directions and bought this canner. The price can't be beat!! I would recomend it to any one thinking of starting down the canning path. Easy to load and it's big!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
heytrouble
Clarksburg, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great Product
7/26/2011

Customer review by cookie470

5.0 stars 7/26/2011 by cookie470
by cookie470

I had never tried to do any canning before, but found a good cookbook and this canner with a rack and I was off and running. It did everything I needed it to do. It's big enough to do 7 or 8 pints of goodies at a time. It was the perfect pot for me and I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cookie470
Bastrop, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very nice canner pot for the money
6/18/2014

Customer review by ColumbusGal

4.0 stars 6/18/2014 by ColumbusGal
by ColumbusGal
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This pot was larger than anticipated and a very good find for the price considering it came with its own rack. However, it is a bit "thinner" made than your usual Porcelain pot. Edges were a bit rougher and unfinished, vs the nice smooth edges on an expensive pot, but has a good fitting lid. For the price, it is a very good deal. Please keep in mind this is not a canner that is going last thru 8, 10 or 12 canning seasons, but it will get you thru the first 2 or 3 just fine for the price!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ColumbusGal
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 197 total reviews
1-20 of 197 reviews