Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 263 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

263 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

263 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

65%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
109
4 stars
49
3 stars
22
2 stars
19
1 stars
64
1-20 of 237 total reviews
65%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 237 total reviews
1-20 of 237 reviews
Great signal from something so flimsy
8/9/2010

Customer review by CilantroToothpaste

5.0 stars 8/9/2010 by CilantroToothpaste
by CilantroToothpaste

I was skeptical paying $15 for this flimsy plastic thing when my $40 Philips antenna downstairs has some issues. But after seeing good reviews on Amazon, I figured why not? We needed this for our new 40" Samsung C670 model HDTV on the second floor. The assembly was awkward, and once assembled, the antenna looks like a Batman toy. Very cheap and flimsy, but once we hooked it up and scanned for channels, it found signals that my more expensive Sony Bravia with a more expensive antenna couldn't find. Totally impressed! It's important to note that I laid it flat (horizontally) behind the TV and it worked like a charm the first time. I expected to have to move it around a bit or change it's direction, but everything just works. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? (244) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CilantroToothpaste
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good If Installed Properly
7/16/2009

Customer review by hasan

4.0 stars 7/16/2009 by hasan
by hasan

Distance to Transmitters: 27 miles Terrain: Rural, No Obstructions, Rolling Hills This antenna has very good potential if certain precautions are taken. I expected it to perform very poorly, but was pleasantly surprised when I went to the effort to install it properly. First of all, do not install it sitting on top of a television as the picture on the box shows. There could be a poorer way to mount an antenna, but not much. All TVs radiate noise. The closer your antenna is to the TV, the more interference it will pick up. Secondly, mount the antenna so it is parallel to the ground (horizontal position). Do not mount it vertically. Keep it away from obstructions. Ideal mounting is in a large window broadside to the direction the signals are coming from. Get the antenna as high as possible. I mounted mine on a 2nd floor balcony railing (wood). If you are as far away as I am (or have obstructions or lots of surrounding trees/vegetation), then a preamp is required. The small $24 preamp sold in Wal-Mart was used for the test data provided below: 5.1 Low Band VHF Low Power: 3/6 bars 8.1 Hi Band VHF Moderate Power: 6/6 bars 11.1 Hi Band VHF Moderate Power: 6/6 bars 13.1 Hi Band VHF Moderate Power: 6/6 bars 17.1 UHF High Power: 6/6 bars 19.1 UHF High Power: 6/6 bars 23.1 UHF High Power: 6/6 bars This antenna when mounted away from obstructions and with a preamp, does a very surprising job. I compared it to all the other antennas at Wal-Mart, and the only one it did not outperform that covered both VHF and UHF is the $68 outdoor RCA small yagi. The most impressive aspect of the antenna is that it actually works from Lo-Band VHF (77 MHz in my case) to UHF. Since the change on June 12th, many people are having a horrible time receiving Channel 5.1 (Lo-Band VHF) with indoor antennas. What I can say is that with a preamp, and the antenna optimally placed, this antenna performs surprisingly well. If one ignores these factors (placement and preamp), then don't expect it to work very well. Mine is mounted about 14' high, with the preamp at the antenna (do not put a preamp at the TV end of a coax run, rather it belongs as close to the antenna as possible). I then extend the coax 12' to the TV. It is laying flat on a wooden rail. The bad: Assembly is minor, but aggravating. It comes in 3 pieces: two bat wings and a T-bar that have to be mounted in a clamshell case that holds everything together. This can be frustrating. My first assembly took about 10 minutes. The second one took 20 and the third took about 15 minutes. It looks like a two minute job, but it is mechanically awkward to hold the pieces together so you can tighten the three screws.

Was this review helpful? (205) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hasan
Ogden, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
May look like a piece of junk, but it's NOT
5/9/2011

Customer review by Texans123

5.0 stars 5/9/2011 by Texans123
by Texans123

My husband and I purchased 6 different antennas (some of them over $100), and NONE of them were able to pick up all of the main channels at once. Finally, we decided to try this cheap-o antenna which looks like a paper airplane and feels about as sturdy as one too. We stuck it up on the wall, and surprisingly it worked like a charm! We are finally able to get all the main channels without having to adjust the antenna. The picture is clear and the sound is excellent. I guess more expensive doesn't always mean better quality.

Was this review helpful? (117) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Texans123
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Can't believe it! But wow!
2/16/2013

Customer review by Dogmama13

5.0 stars 2/16/2013 by Dogmama13
by Dogmama13

After reading reviews on this flimsy plastic "bat' and how well it worked, I decided to give it a shot. We have a room not wired for cable and we have tried using a $50 antenna in there wth absolutely no luck save for a few stations that would come in grainy and static ridden and cut out sporadically. This little antenna was the last resort before we gave up and called the cable company to wire the room. Well, it arrived and I assembled it in less than 5 minutes, hooked it on to the TV and voila!! 31 channels, all super clear!! We had thought the other, expensive anntenna had not worked because we are in an urban area and near an airport, but this little "bat" does not seem intimidated by that at all;-) I placed it on the wall behind the TV and it works wonderfully. you may need to experiment a bit with positioning, but once the channels are clear, they are locked in! I rarely review, for under $20, this product definitely is a great buy! In fact, I ordered another one for a friend and she is just as pleased with the results.

Was this review helpful? (61) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dogmama13
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It does the job
2/22/2011

Customer review by midimatt

4.0 stars 2/22/2011 by midimatt
by midimatt

I decided to receive network television for when I wanted a break from Netflix. Since network TV isn't something I would watch often, I didn't need anything crazy...I just wanted to be able to watch the news or a show now and then. I therefore looked at the least expensive options. I read the reviews for this model, which were across the board... almost the same number of good reviews as bad reviews. When I got to the store I took a while deciding between rabbit ears and this flat model. I decided to go with this one because it would look better, and I figured that if it didn't work, I could just return/exchange it. I brought it home, put it together (lots of reviews say the assembly is tricky, but I didn't have any problem with it. If I had to assemble another one it would probably take two minutes). Anyhow, I hooked it up. It picked up all stations I was expecting and more. The local stations had great quality. I live within 20 miles of the city, so I'm within adequate range for good reception. Also, my first floor is about 6 feet above ground level, which probably helps a bit. The antenna does the job I wanted it to do, and I didn't pay a lot for it.

Was this review helpful? (67) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
midimatt
Saukville, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Best antenna I ever owned!!
1/28/2014

Customer review by fritz0895

5.0 stars 1/28/2014 by fritz0895
by fritz0895

I got rid of cable a few years ago and I have an hdtv and was using rabbit ears antennas but was constantly moving them around to get a clear signal. I finally got so frustrated that I decided to get this. Who would believe something so flimsy and cheapy looking would be the best antenna I have ever owned!! At first I positioned it close to the ceiling and I couldn't believe how many channels it picked up EXCEPT for my favorite news channel which I did get but lots of static. I thought I could live without that channel but I couldn't, so the next day I played around with the antenna again. When I took it down from the wall I was standing on the side of the tv and suddenly my channel was clear and perfect. Sure enough it doesn't not have to be high above the tv. I have a low shelving unit with a lamp next to the tv so I placed the antenna on the wall behind the unit so it is partially hidden and now I have all the channels and my favorite. I am so happy I bought this. I ordered another one. Thank you Walmart!!!

Was this review helpful? (29) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fritz0895
Pompano Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It did just what I needed it to do.
10/15/2012

Customer review by daDoodofOZ

5.0 stars 10/15/2012 by daDoodofOZ
by daDoodofOZ

When Direct TV dropped the local fox station, I had to get an antenna to attach to my LG flat screen. I got this unit, wondering if it would work. I got home and found that it demanded a bit of assembly. Two wings, side bar, and the central unit with the cable attached. All one needs is pretty good eyes to read the small print instructions and a small Philips screwdriver. 3 screws get loosened, the parts fit right in, and then tighten back up, and hook up the cable to the antenna jack in the back of the TV. I used 5.75" of silver duct tape to attach it to the top of the TV, where it's almost completely out of sight. After going through the menu on the TV, it scanned the antenna, and it located about 15 signals, of varying clarity. The fox station comes in 5 X 5. That means, it don't get no better. I am very happy with this unit. Unfortunately it's inaugural performance was tragic. Both the S. F. 49ers and the S. F. Giants lost. But I'm not going to return the antenna. There's always the next game.

Was this review helpful? (30) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
daDoodofOZ
Medford, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Exceeded expectations
3/15/2012

Customer review by DJLayZ

5.0 stars 3/15/2012 by DJLayZ
by DJLayZ

WOW! Is what I have to say, I'm kinda blown away by this product. Yes like most of these reviews, the product is flimsy! At first I thought to myself, "This is never going to work". I'm going to contradict what some are saying here and say that it was incredibly easy to assemble, and no I'm not some kind of electronics guru. The instructions were simple and the wings are clearly marked, "a" "b" and "c". You just follow the instructions and in 2 minutes you'll have the thing together. It's three screws and 4 parts, so I think it's simple to put together. We upgraded from a 'full on' rabbit ears amplified dish antenna which cost $50! The rabbit ears we're always getting in the way because we had to point them away from the TV to get a signal, so my wife and our dogs and I would always run into them. Further more whenever you moved, the digital signal would be interrupted, which was a pain in the backside when you wanted to get something from the kitchen. Also we had to move and play with the thing when we changed channel! I plugged in this new wing antenna and pointed it in the same general direction as the old antenna, and immediately got all the same channels as before and all came in crystal clear with no jittering. I was blown away! However some tips for you. For me I found it better to lie the antenna horizontally, not vertically. I first tried to place it in the window, but it didn't really work and barely got a signal, as soon as I laid it flat, it worked like a dream. If I had to critique, then I would say the cable is really short, and limits the range of placement options. I am going to buy a 6' extension cable so I can hide it a bit better. I would recommend you do the same. I would also say that I live relatively close to the transmission towers (after researching on antennaweb.org) so I'm not sure if this item would be practical if you live in the middle of nowhere! However for me, it's a great product with great results, and I highly recommend it. The price is exceptional at only $15, yeah it's flimsy, but it packs a punch!

Was this review helpful? (29) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DJLayZ
Polson, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Blown Away
1/13/2012

Customer review by HappyBroncosFan

5.0 stars 1/13/2012 by HappyBroncosFan
by HappyBroncosFan

The money I spent on this device is the best dollar for dollar value that I have ever spent in my life. I am not just saying this to be silly either. This product is outstanding. Prior to having this device I was paying Comcast 19.99 a month in essence to get my local channels. I hooked up the device, ran through the signal set-up within my TV and BINGO! More channels than I knew were floating over the air ways - 57. Granted a large portion of them are Spanish - which doesn't help me out - but nevertheless I can now watch my Broncos thump the Patriots tomorrow without the need to go over to a neighbors house. Great picture and great sound. Can't recommend it highly enough.

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HappyBroncosFan
American Fork, Ut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
After Storm
11/3/2013

Customer review by Jtnsami

5.0 stars 11/3/2013 by Jtnsami
by Jtnsami

I purchased this antenna after a storm knocked our satellite dish out of alignment on a Thursday and no repairman til Wednesday. WOW! Amazing picture quality, very easy set up, and great price! Took about 5 minutes from start to finish to get the television up and running. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jtnsami
Parkersburg, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Can't believe how well it works! Great value!
8/25/2013

Customer review by MD123456

5.0 stars 8/25/2013 by MD123456
by MD123456

Did not want to rent a set top box for a TV that we hardly ever use. Was skeptical about this, but decide to give it a try since it has gotten such great reviews (here and Amazon) and can't beat the price. I also got the GE amplified antenna (3x the price) to compare. It picked up 29 channels! Depending on where I put the antenna, I can pick up some other channels (the international channels), but then loses some. I compared this to the amplified. The amplified did not pick up any more stations (same behavior, depending on where I put it, it would pick up a slightly different set of channels). The amplified did *slightly* better in that the picture came in more 'clear' on a couple of the stations, so the signal I think is stronger due to amplification, but it didn't pick up any 'more' channels. I decide to keep this antenna and return the amplified because of the price and the pictures came in plenty clear on majority of the channels with this passive antenna. The additional cost was not worth the slight improvement on a couple of the channels and that we hardly ever use this TV.

Was this review helpful? (24) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MD123456
maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Surprisingly good
11/7/2013

Customer review by dferp

5.0 stars 11/7/2013 by dferp
by dferp

I bought this for my son & set it up & tested at my house (suburbs). I swear some channels came in clearer than on my cable. The setup instructions are klutzy, almost better off not reading them & just using common sense. When I initialized antenna channels on my TV, I got 1 analog & 13 digital channels. When I connected it on my son's TV the initialization process found 3 analog & 28 digital channels. He lives out in the sticks, so that was a pleasant surprise.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dferp
Webster, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
RCA Digital Flat Antenna
1/19/2009

Customer review by gflood

1.0 stars 1/19/2009 by gflood
by gflood

When I saw this product in the store I was quite excited that I could do away with the rabbit ear antennas that came with my kids TVs. I like the idea that this could be discreet and that you didn't have to fiddle with adjusting "the ears"--i.e. the signal receptors. - I opened the antenna after coming home, assembled it, and then connected it to the kids' TV. Still excited to see how it would work, I performed another channel scan on their TV and upon completion, there was only one channel that had a viewable demeanor. Sad to say, but the rabbit ears worked 1000x better. - I'm not sure if our location had anything to do with this, because we do live out in a rural area. Regardless, the OEM antenna did a better job in our area. Based on my experience with this item, I would not recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (53) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gflood
Greenville, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Fantastic Reception!
2/13/2014

Customer review by Gingertoo

5.0 stars 2/13/2014 by Gingertoo
by Gingertoo

Unscrew the base and attach "bat" wings and plastic strip as depicted on enclosed instructions. (Pictures and verbiage included). Screw on the back of set where cable would attach, set TV menu to "Antennae" reception and place antennae nearest to a window horizontally. Do your channel scan and you are good to go. Picture is much more clear than with cable as it is direct signal not on a broadband server. I placed mine on a wooden slat of a venetian blind in the window facing north and ran the attached wire along the wood slat and down the wall. Works beautifully. Instructions tell you everything and this little gem works the best out of the 3 I have had. Purchased more expensive ones, that do not work this well. I was certainly surprised! The previous reviews were right on the money!

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gingertoo
Orange City, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good for price
11/2/2008

Customer review by jbroyal

4.0 stars 11/2/2008 by jbroyal
by jbroyal

I got this because it was the cheapest digital antenna and didn't need to be plugged in. If it didn't work I would return it. I'm trying to save space on my power strip. I have it plugged into the tuner card on my pc and am able to stream hi-def OTA signals to my tv via a media center extender. I am 40 miles from San Antonio and was able to pick up all of the broadcast channels. Couldn't ask for more for that price.

Was this review helpful? (19) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jbroyal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
indoor antenae
1/15/2014

Customer review by reddeered

5.0 stars 1/15/2014 by reddeered
by reddeered

This antennae works well with my converter box. I was surprised by it considering that rabbit ears weren't successful. This item can be used anywhere.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
reddeered
Oxnard, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
RCA Digital Flat Antenna
11/29/2010

Customer review by DrLogic

4.0 stars 11/29/2010 by DrLogic
by DrLogic

This antenna is a suitable replacement for rabbit ears. Even so, there's a few things to be aware of before you buy it. PROs: Reasonable reception range, matches color and sheen of most of the new HD TVs, easy setup, fairly easy assembly, easy to mount. CONs: Not designed to be portable, flimsy, must be assembled (although only requires 4 steps), Not adjustable, must be kept away from interfering TV and other EM sources. I installed one of these for my sister-in-law in Dallas-Ft Worth area in Texas. Assembly was a tiny bit tricky. Just be sure to hold the enclosure on a flat surface with screws pointing up. Then lie the 3 pieces of the antenna in place one-by-one as the directions show (lining up letters A to A, B to B and C to C). Then put the top half of the enclosure over it and then flip and screw, but not too tight. A small nail is all it takes to hang it on the wall, since it's so light. Put it as high and as far away from TV set as possible. She now gets 31 crystal clear HD channels, but some channels do fade out every once in a while.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DrLogic
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Works well
1/19/2013

Customer review by sorphin

5.0 stars 1/19/2013 by sorphin
by sorphin

I was using a loop antenna, hooked onto the back of the TV (with a transformer). That worked fairly well, until the TV was wall mounted, then it got worse. I saw all the reviews on this, and figured I'd give it a shot. Every channel comes in flawless, even the channels that were marginal, no matter how the loop was aimed before. I'd definately recommend this antenna.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sorphin
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
worth for what we pay
11/19/2013

Customer review by gvgrao

5.0 stars 11/19/2013 by gvgrao
by gvgrao

Brought this item for $10 and it received 20 free to air channels in Columbus, OH. Five of them are HD channels.I am very much satisfied with my buy.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gvgrao
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
digital antenna
1/2/2012

Customer review by toadyumyum

5.0 stars 1/2/2012 by toadyumyum
by toadyumyum

this is an awesome product for a low cost. i would and have recommended this item to all of my family and friends who use converter boxes for better reception and more channels this item is it and u don't have to pay an arm and a leg for good reception. easy to assemble too!!

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
toadyumyum
Asheboro, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 237 total reviews
1-20 of 237 reviews