Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 11 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

11 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

11 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

60%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 stars
2
1-11 of 11 total reviews
60%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

EASY TO MAKE
12/3/2009

Customer review by RHONDAKD

4.0 stars 12/3/2009 by RHONDAKD
by RHONDAKD

THIS WAS AN EASY PROJECT TO MAKE, BUT THE BOX DOES NOT TELL YOU ALL THE THINGS YOU NEED TO BUY IN ORDER TO MAKE THIS CAKE. IT TELLS YOU IT IS ALL YOU NEED IN ORDER TO MAKE THIS CAKE. BUT YOU NEED WOODEN TROWELS TO MAKE THIS CAKE, OR IT WILL FALL IF YOU TRY TO MOVE IT. BUT OVERALL IT WAS VERY FUN TO MAKE WITH MY SISTER-IN-LAW AND FAMILY.

Was this review helpful? (46) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RHONDAKD
MAUD, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Do not recommend
4/13/2010

Customer review by LadyShylar

1.0 stars 4/13/2010 by LadyShylar
by LadyShylar

As a professional cake decorator I do not recommend this to anyone. It was very misleading. I thought the turrets were decorated, they were not, you had to decorate all the pieces. So, if you are a beginner this will be very time consuming for you. Also, the turrets are top heavy once they are assembled, so it makes for tough travel. Very disappointed and will not purchase again.

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LadyShylar
Madison Heights, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
not as simple as it should be
5/30/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 5/30/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

If you are making this cake be sure you do not have to move it once it is complete. If transporting be sure to put the outer towers on after moving. the plastic towers are not very stable. I made this cake for my daughters birthday and it was beautiful, but the towers had to be redone when the cake was moved from kitchen to patio.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Stunning cake!!
9/29/2011

Customer review by GigisMom73

5.0 stars 9/29/2011 by GigisMom73
by GigisMom73

This cake is not for the faint of heart but you don't need to be Braveheart either! As my first time ever trying my hand at cake decorating this was an ambitious project. What I found helpful was breaking out the steps into bit-size parts which helped me to better analyze and process the instructions. I strongly recommend attaching the dowels first to all the towers that need them then decorating all the towers (turn them upside down and set aside to completely dry#. By following the instructions, I actually needed to remove and/or rotate a few of the towers to decorate as they were difficult to get to once they were on the cake. Aside from that, STUNNING cake!! My girls #4 & 5) were absolutely enchanted with it and our party guests could not believe it was home-made!! The 4-year old sat staring at it for about half an hour and you could see her little mind just imagining herself "playing" in such a dreamy castle! If you have the patience and an eye for detail you will enjoy making this cake! :-) I posted the final castle on Facebook and received rave reviews, even got some orders!! :-)

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GigisMom73
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Castle Cakes
3/21/2011

Customer review by ppinkow

5.0 stars 3/21/2011 by ppinkow
by ppinkow

So far, I have used this kit twice and have had nothing but raves about the cakes. The instructions are clear and simple. The cakes turn out beautifully.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ppinkow
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Beautiful outcome
10/16/2010

Customer review by Kather

5.0 stars 10/16/2010 by Kather
by Kather

I've made two castle cakes and both turned out great for being a beginner. With some effort, this product enables you to have a very intricate and neat looking cake! I'm making a haunted castle for Halloween next, should be a lot of fun!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kather
Las Vegas,NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
needs to be modified if you plan on transporting
5/6/2012

Customer review by katmoon77

4.0 stars 5/6/2012 by katmoon77
by katmoon77

not as easy as it said. i make cakes for people as a side job and i had to modify it so it could be transported. i drilled holes into the bottom of each of the towers then hot glued dowels that went the length of the towers and the height of the cake into them to holed them in the cake. for the bottom towers i had to screw them into the bottom of the wooden board that i used for the base. it transported vary well after that. i have made this cake a few times and it has been a big hit.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
katmoon77
Beautiful but very difficult
7/31/2012

Customer review by KaeleesMommy

2.0 stars 7/31/2012 by KaeleesMommy
by KaeleesMommy

I bought this kit for my daughters first birthday and had my cousin make it. She had a very hard time putting the kit together. Had she not been AMAZING this cake would have been a flop. After the cake was assembled we couldn't move it. I would not recommend this to anyone unless they were prepared for a challenge.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KaeleesMommy
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
not what expected
6/7/2012

Customer review by Momof4ages6321

1.0 stars 6/7/2012 by Momof4ages6321
by Momof4ages6321

Its alright, however all it really is, is plastic pieces, you still have to buy the round cake pans to make the actual cake, all you do is decorate plastic and then wash it off, kinda pointless, I thought I was getting pans to make a castle cake...

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Momof4ages6321
Dixon, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
3/12/2013

Customer review by happylouisianamommy

5.0 stars 3/12/2013 by happylouisianamommy
by happylouisianamommy

my daughter turned 6 and is such a princess and this was the ultimate cake for her ...a MUST have !!! very pleased !!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
happylouisianamommy
youngsville , louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great for making child castle cake!
9/20/2012

Customer review by flakiscorajuda

4.0 stars 9/20/2012 by flakiscorajuda
by flakiscorajuda

This set is wonderful except it needs to be drilled with holes at the bottoms of each tower.These holes are for placement on the cake.In order for the towers to stand on the cake you must use wooden dowels otherwise they will fall. Other than that i really enjoyed this set and plan on using it several times. I used it to make a disney princess themed castle cake for my 2yr old daughter.All the guests loved it amd most importantly my daughter loved it. It was the first time i used it and fairly simple. It can be used for many diffrent style cakes, so the price was great.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
flakiscorajuda
chicago heights,IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female