Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 39 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

39 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

39 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
24
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
5
1-20 of 39 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 39 total reviews
1-20 of 39 reviews
Easy, Not Smelly, and TAN!!
1/7/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/7/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I am very pale and have used a plethra of self tanners...at least 10 differnt brands and products This is the first product I would recomend to a friend (and I have). Normally tanner is sticky like lotion: this goes on like more of an oil or gel and soaks in very quickly...it also doesn't have that typical smell. I use it at night, and this morning when I woke up I actually looked tan....not even a hit of orange! Also...my hands, which usually come out splotchy, were simply looking tan. I would def. recomend anyone...especially pale people...to try it!

Was this review helpful? (46) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Framingham, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
The Absolute Best Self Tanner Ever!
5/9/2013

Customer review by NewYorkStateMom

5.0 stars 5/9/2013 by NewYorkStateMom
by NewYorkStateMom

I want to thank the previous reviewers for their comments. I have used an assortment of self tanning products over several years with mixed results. I purchased this product at my local Walmart and am thrilled with it---little or no smell, a nice consistency for application, dries fast, almost immediate golden brown color and no telltale brown grime in the creases of my arms and knees. I am very pale and now I look like I've been on a week's tropical vacation. I really haven't noticed the color on my sheets and clothes, but I really don't care because the tanner is so terrific. I plan on stocking up for the summer! Try it!

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NewYorkStateMom
NYS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Best self tanner I've ever used
4/11/2009

Customer review by charlestonkt

5.0 stars 4/11/2009 by charlestonkt
by charlestonkt

I love this product and when I can find it I always buy two bottles. It gives the best color, no glitter, none of that terrible self tanner smell. All of my friends use it as well! The Gelee is the best :)

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
charlestonkt
Charrlston, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love this product.
4/10/2012

Customer review by dzoe88

5.0 stars 4/10/2012 by dzoe88
by dzoe88

looks like a professional tan when applied the night before.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dzoe88
Independence, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
tan is natural looking
10/30/2015

Customer review by nash

4.0 stars 10/30/2015 by nash
by nash

Used at least 5 days in a row after exfoliating daily and let dry for at least 30 minutes. I like this product

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nash
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome Stuff!!!
11/30/2013

Customer review by bessyjean14

5.0 stars 11/30/2013 by bessyjean14
by bessyjean14

Great natural looking tan in a bottle! I have used Jergens 3 Days to Glow and was not impressed with the color and overall look of the tan. I searched again for good reviews on other self tanners and found Loreals sublime bronze gelee; I wanted to try it. After one application I got the color I was hoping for! I thought I wouldn't like the gelee as I am used to lotions but I actually prefer it now! This is some good stuff!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bessyjean14
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great product!
6/30/2013

Customer review by MarnEEE

4.0 stars 6/30/2013 by MarnEEE
by MarnEEE
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This product is wonderful! It smells great - not like tanning lotion at all - seriously! It goes on sooo smooth. No strange "gel like" feeling. It feels more like a dry oil - but no stickiness. It takes a minute or two to soak in after application. I have used it on my face several times and appears to be "okay" as far an no major breakouts. You may just want to apply where the sun would naturally hit such as cheeks, forehead, nose. I think the color is really nice too. I am very fair and this gave me a nice tan..not just a "glow" a TAN! I have my new "go to" product for the summer! ENJOY!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MarnEEE
Chesterfield, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/11/2014

Customer review by Valeriehz

3.0 stars 4/11/2014 by Valeriehz
by Valeriehz

This review is for L'Oreal Sublime Bronze Self-Tanning Gelee in Medium Natural Tan. I applied a thin layer of this self tanning gel to my body before bed. After 7 hours I woke up and inspected my tan in the sunlight and in indoor lighting and was disappointed to see that it was orange-yellow color! I did follow the instructions on the back. I did like that this self tanner absorbed quickly into the skin. Most self-tanners I've tried are very greasy! I have VERY pale skin (Fitzpatrick Type I)....my skin always burns and cannot tan. Every single self-tanner I have used (I've tried A LOT!) always leaves my skin looking yellow or orange. As a young woman who desperately wants to look tan and beautiful I am hoping that L'Oreal can come out with a self-tanning product that imparts a REAL tan color (brown with a hint of red). And, yes I am aware that temporary wash-off body bronzers do impart the type of color I am looking for but I WANT..no...NEED a more permanent solution. Please L'Oreal, have your scientists look for a compound or formulation that will satisfy the needs of women with my skin type. We are the ones who will benefit the most from such a product! If your company can formulate such a product I will be a customer FOR LIFE!

Valeriehz
Would recommend to a friend? No
great
6/24/2013

Customer review by LUVMYGMEN

5.0 stars 6/24/2013 by LUVMYGMEN
by LUVMYGMEN
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Apply this with rubber gloves & you can't go wrong. I would say it shows up within 12-24 hrs. Not bad for the price. Doesn't leave skin orange.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LUVMYGMEN
forked river, nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/29/2014

Customer review by YIKES

1.0 stars 5/29/2014 by YIKES
by YIKES

Awful! Once again, L'Oreal has disappointed me with their formula changes. I wonder if they ever actually test their products before putting them into mass production and inflicting them on the public. First of all, the fragrance is so overwhelming that its almost intolerable. It smells like a combination of men's aftershave and an overpowering women's fragrance from the 1970's. Second, if you plan on being out in the heat while its on your skin, be prepared for the tiniest bit of perspiration to turn it into a brown dripping mess that will rub off onto your clothing. Third, what's with the glitter? Yes, I said GLITTER! Not a good look for a grown woman. This stuff is getting returned for sure.

Comment from - 5/29/2014

We value your opinion and will be sure to share your comments. We would like to speak with you regarding this experience. Give us a call @ 800.322.2036 M-F 9a-5p ET and give ref #7449753. We hope to speak with you soon!

YIKES
Would recommend to a friend? No
6/21/2015

Customer review by Kati33333333333

5.0 stars 6/21/2015 by Kati33333333333
by Kati33333333333

I have fair, sensitive, and sometimes dry skin. I have used many, many different brands and types sunlessunless tanners in search of one that I absolutely loved. I thought I was out of luck until I saw this on a clearance shelf. I quickly read some reviews to make sure it wasn't a total waste of time. After going home and testing it out I was absolutely stunned with the results! A little bit of this goes a long way. It has kind of an oily feel go it which threw me off at first, but once it dried it didn't leave an oily residue left over, and made my skin very soft. I've read a lot reviews on the product complaining about the fragrance of it. I do not agree with them whatsoever...there are some truly terrible smelling sunless tanners out there. I'm a rather impatient gal, so the application process (no gloves, no mitts, no brown stains all over everything you own). I think that the greatest part of this product is that it works really well for your face. No more buying extra kinds for your face! I've been doing this for years so I thought I'd share my steps and tips/tricks of accomplishing at sunkissed glow..without the oompa loompa look. 1.Shower go get your skin clean and deeply exfoliate your entire body (I prefer the gloves to scrubs). 2.After you dry off completely apply a small amount of lotion into dry areas of your skin (I usually start at my feet and tan up so I'll rub lotion into my feet/ankles >> knees >> elbows >> face). 3.Let the lotion set in for a minute or two and now you're ready to apply the tanning gel. 4.The gelee spreads very well so I will put only a small amount into my hands. Spread around like you would any lotion, in circular movements. Make sure you have applied a thin even layer all over. The thicmer you put it on, the longer it takes to dry the more likely the tan is to be streaky or uneven. 5.Wash your hands immediately after application. What I do to get tan feet and hands without them turning bright orange is: after washing hands put a small amount of lotion in your and then a drop of the gelle. Mix it together and it into your hands and feet like you would any lotion. This dilutes the tanner down for less intense color. I tried too be as helpful as I could! Enjoy your new sunkissed glow!

Kati33333333333
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
5/30/2015

Customer review by tobe88

4.0 stars 5/30/2015 by tobe88
by tobe88

I love this product it don't make you feel sticky or slimy it lasts longer even in water

tobe88
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
7/9/2013

Customer review by Libby

5.0 stars 7/9/2013 by Libby
by Libby

By FAR, this is the BEST self tanner I have ever used and believe me when I say I have tried absolutely everything from Victoria secret, to dove, above and beyond! I have been using self tanners for 6 years( Im a red head and have fair skin). Thanks for giving me NATURAL looking tanned skin. Ive never had a lotion look so perfect, THANKS Loreal! Now I have perfectly tan skin and feel great about myself , NOT to even mention I can avoid skin cancer from tanning :) All my friends ask what I use in the "tanning bed" and I'm not afraid to tell them that I use this sunless tanning product because it is SO flawless and even makes my skin silky smooth!:)

Libby
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great natural tanner
8/30/2013

Customer review by wilsoncdub

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by wilsoncdub
by wilsoncdub
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've been using this product for 5-8 years? Unlike other tanning products, this one provides a natural look and doesn't irritate my skin. Many other tanning lotions make my skin itch. This one is easy to apply (although you should let it dry 1/2hr at least) and feedback from friends seem to indicate it looks natural. Oddly enough several men have said I smell good after I've applied it and asked what it is...kinda funny, "uh, my tanning lotion". A rush job can result in uneven application/tan and you have to be careful around knees/ankles/wrists (a light wipe with tissue after applying to these areas helps). I recommend this product and hope it never goes off the market.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wilsoncdub
Montana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not what I ordered!!!
7/13/2014

Customer review by sunnysky2u

1.0 stars 7/13/2014 by sunnysky2u
by sunnysky2u
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Ordered Sublime Medium-Deep online because I CANNOT find the deep in stores anymore. I hate the brown streak free stuff, I think it streaks more than the gelee'. Picture showed Medium deep but I got medium natural tan, not happy about that!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sunnysky2u
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/24/2014

Customer review by K Boston

5.0 stars 1/24/2014 by K Boston
by K Boston

I LOVE this self tanner. Nothing makes my skin feel so soft, smooth, and HEALTHY! It doesn't streak and absorbs into skin quickly. After air drying it doesn't ever feel greasy, sweaty, etc. I am very fair skinned and have literally tried every product out there and this is the best. I don't know what I'd do if you guys stopped making this! Also it is never orange. There are brownish hues as well as tones of orange that give a natural but glowy tan. Similar to the claims of ppl who love st tropez....but not as dark.

K Boston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wooooooah...STOP THE PRESSES!
8/31/2010

Customer review by 2friendsinlove

2.0 stars 8/31/2010 by 2friendsinlove
by 2friendsinlove

I've used almost every product out there for bronzing and this one will go into the OMG bin too.use only if you like waiting up to an hour sticky wet and then finally after drying putting on clothes and going down to be with family wondering "what is that smell?" and being sniffed out as the stink! They all agreed I smelled like a piece of meat..it was so bad I had to go take another shower and had to lather up twice to get it off..sorry L'oreal ..this is a bad product!LOVE YOUR OTHER PRODUCTS!

2friendsinlove
Would recommend to a friend? No
The best I've tried so far.
3/14/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 3/14/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I'm a redhead and fair skin is natural. I've tried several different self tanners and this one is my favorite. It smells great and has lasted through workouts, shaves and showers. The shimmer is a bit too much to for me but to help cut it back, I'd put the tanner on at night and then in the morning I'd put on my regular lotion which toned it down. I truly love this product and it came just in time for beach and all the weddings I have to attend! Thanks :)

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love the natural looking color
6/14/2012

Customer review by OhEmGee234

5.0 stars 6/14/2012 by OhEmGee234
by OhEmGee234

I am very fair skinned and I was afraid this would turn me orange, but it did the opposite! It Gave me a nice bronze glow that is not too dark or too fake. It looks like I spent a day in the sun. It's great to use on the body and face even if you are acne prone because it is a gel and doesn't make my skin greasy. It does not contain shimmer, which I like because it makes it look more natural. I will definitely buy from the Loreal self tanning line again.

OhEmGee234
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
3/6/2013

Customer review by Felix

5.0 stars 3/6/2013 by Felix
by Felix

Wonderful! Never thought I would say that about a self tanner, not to mention a tinted one. Easy application, excellent results and easy to wash off your hands. I used this product about and hour after my first Lorel Pro Deep Spray Tan and both times my skin, esp. behind my knees and on my face, felt 'sticky'. It wore away in a couple of hours but I wouldn't apply it in the morning before I put make up on. Overall, LOVE IT!

Felix
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 39 total reviews
1-20 of 39 reviews