Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 36 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

36 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

36 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

60%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
18
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
11
1-20 of 36 total reviews
60%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 36 total reviews
1-20 of 36 reviews
amazing but with a downside :(
5/8/2012

Customer review by ericalove

4.0 stars 5/8/2012 by ericalove
by ericalove

i have never had problems with any hair color before. i love this hair color. so absolutely beautiful! but, when i bleached my hair last year i had a couple problems with parts of my hair, so parts of it had to get bleached twice, a year later i wanted to change my color so i bought this. for the most part my hair took the product and it came out wonderful. but those couple pieces that i had problems with aren't taking the color. so i have dark purple with some white hair in the back where it didn't take. my advice, if you have problems bleaching your hair this isn't going to work. BUT it did work on the rest of my hair. so i will still give the product itself a 4 out of 5. however, if your hair is healthy and not damaged by color or salon products, this will fade out completely in about a week. i did my sister in laws hair with it, she is 22 and this is the first time she ever put any hair color in her hair and it looked great but it definitely didn't last. i would buy this again if my hair agreed with it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ericalove
Great product
2/17/2011

Customer review by JR78

5.0 stars 2/17/2011 by JR78
by JR78

My Mom uses this product and this particular color looks great on her. It is very easy to use and does not fade as quickly as other haircolors. Her hair is naturally medium brown and this color is very intense for the first few washes and then gradually becomes a little lighter, but does not look faded.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JR78
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Unusual results
6/27/2012

Customer review by pete359

5.0 stars 6/27/2012 by pete359
by pete359

Though my hair was originally a dark brown, as I got older the whole crown of my head went white. Well, having never been one to lean towards the expected, I have experimented with a lot of different semi/demi permenant colors that all seemed to fade into really funky orange shades. My hair is fairly long, well past my wing blades, so I really don't want to use a color that will dry my hair out. I came across one of the other colors available (from Garnier) and liked the results. Eventually I had trouble finding the same product and purchased Nutrisse 42 Deep Burgundy/Black Cherry...whatever. All I can say is "I love it." I work in a heavy truck dealership...yep, the tractor trailers that run the road...and the drivers that come in always tell me how much they love what I did to my hair. Over the white, I get this incredible eggplant kind of purple that is just great. Even when it fades out and is time for a retouch, it is still a kind of pink, not the fugly orange I got from Paul Mitchell's "amethyst" shines. Thank you! You have made getting old a lot easier!

pete359
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Love it!
10/13/2015

Customer review by Eliza

5.0 stars 10/13/2015 by Eliza
by Eliza

I absolutely love the black cherry color! I've used it for years and have received a ton of compliments. I have natural dark brown hair and it dyes perfectly. When I first dye my hair, it almost looks black with a purple tint in the light. My hair dresser cannot believe how pretty my hair looks and feels knowing I use a store bought dye. Even after the color starts fading it turns into a beautiful red tone color.

Eliza
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
7/22/2011

Customer review by josidg

5.0 stars 7/22/2011 by josidg
by josidg
Walmart associate
Staff sparks

Great hair color product for the money. Does not dry my hair out like other brands. The conditioner that the user adds, which is provided, to the color treatment works wonderfully.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
josidg
San Mateo, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Staff sparks
Purple Hair...
8/31/2015

Customer review by Sampeeps

1.0 stars 8/31/2015 by Sampeeps
by Sampeeps

I have currently used the product above, and I always use Garnier. It is a wonderful product... The Dark Cherry...has turned my hair PURPLE!!!!

Sampeeps
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Color Blind ?!?
11/13/2012

Customer review by LacyJane

3.0 stars 11/13/2012 by LacyJane
by LacyJane

Dear Garnier Fructis hair-color-namer : For future reference, BURGUNDY and EGGPLANT are two very different colors... Burgundy being RED based. Eggplant being PURPLE based. That being said, I have been trying to find a true shade of Eggplant since... well... it's been about 12 years now. Who knew I would find it mislabeled as a deep and vibrant shade of red. Anyone ever consider consulting a color wheel, as oppesed to just drawing color names out of a hat ??? (Just a suggestion) And before comments get snippy - the color on the box was illustrated as RED based as well. This beautiful, almost black shade of purple, came as quite a shock !! I'm rating this a 3 because it's not the color shown on the box -- even though I love it now... and all of the reviews seem to say the exact same thing !!!!!

LacyJane
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Not very good.
6/11/2013

Customer review by Briannnnna

1.0 stars 6/11/2013 by Briannnnna
by Briannnnna

I bought the Deep Burgundy hair dye, and I had my mom put it on. I had bought two bottles just because one bottle is never quite enough. My hair is only shoulder length, so two bottles was a bit much but one wasn't enough. My hair was completely covered, and it took forever to wash out. But when I dried my hair, the roots were extremely bright and the length was still brownish (like you can still see my natural light brown hair color). I am very dissatisfied, especially because I got two bottles and it was more than enough. This was my first time using Garnier, and I probably won't being using it again. It was quite a waste, and I don't know what to do to my hair because its half brown and burgundy. Its going to be 70 dollars to get it color corrected. I am extremely bummed out.

Briannnnna
Alachua, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
6/5/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/5/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Walmart associate

It would've been nice with a little more shine. Over all it is a good color.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Walmart associate
All Washed Out
2/2/2012

Customer review by MrsSpruiellio

1.0 stars 2/2/2012 by MrsSpruiellio
by MrsSpruiellio

I really liked the color, although I expected a more burgandy than a "black Cherry" but I was still willing to go for it. I dyed my hair many times before and never had this problem. I went and did the whole rinse and condition and the color didnt take to parts of my hair. Parts of my hair were purple, parts were my previous red and my roots (even though i just dyed it) looked like grow out. I really wanted to love this product because I use their shampoo and conditioner all the time. But I have to say I dont love that my hair couldnt be all one color like it was suppose to. Now just 1 week after dying it everyone says Im back to my previous red, that it doesnt look like I dyed it at all. I wanted to change my hair color for a long period of time, not for 1 day...

MrsSpruiellio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Worst hair color EVER!
10/10/2014

Customer review by blantonkendall

1.0 stars 10/10/2014 by blantonkendall
by blantonkendall

I bought two bottles of the burgundy #62 for darker hair. My hair is dark brown and I was expecting at least a little tint. I wear extensions in my hair and the color was able to lift on my extensions (very little). The color did not take in my natural hair at all! I literally have streaks of burgundy color in my hair! I would think that for hair that actually has follicles, it would lift more than the hair without! I am completely unsatisfied with the result of this product, and now I have to wait about a week before I can change it. I will never use this hair color again! great hair care products, horrible color!

blantonkendall
Would recommend to a friend? No
Beautiful Color!
2/26/2012

Customer review by Frizzball96

5.0 stars 2/26/2012 by Frizzball96
by Frizzball96

This particular brand of permanent hair dye leaves my hair soft, rather than damaged and frizzy like others. The product is very high quality, and the color is beautiful!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Frizzball96
Hood River, Or
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Total different color as final result!
1/5/2012

Customer review by Momof4

1.0 stars 1/5/2012 by Momof4
by Momof4

I have medium brown hair and have colored my hair with very similar shade (dark burgundy) in other brands with no problem. I purchased this brand the last time I colored b/c I love all the other products. I purchased the Deep Cherry - Burgundy and my hair was PURPLE after washing the color out! Good thing I am a fan of purple and that I'm also a stay at home mom! I left the color on for about 6 weeks before I recolored with a different brand (same color). It very well could have been a mistake at the factory when mixing the color but I was really in shock upon drying my hair and seeing the final result.

Momof4
Greenwood, SC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
This has been the best hair color for my hair.
1/14/2012

Customer review by msi3cdman

5.0 stars 1/14/2012 by msi3cdman
by msi3cdman

I have been coloring my hair for about 25 years. I started using Garnier Nutrisse several years ago and it has been the best hair color, my hair loves it, and it leaves it softer and smelling better than any other color that I have tried. I regularly use the #42-Black Cherry, although it is getting harder to find since many of the stores where I have purchased it have quit carrying it. I love this color, the way it sort of glows in the sunlight. It only looks really purple in certain light, mostly it's a dark reddish brown color. I love it.

msi3cdman
Albion, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Two colors with "cherry" = Not the same at all.
4/4/2012

Customer review by mememe

2.0 stars 4/4/2012 by mememe
by mememe

I had previously used chocolate cherry (452) on my dark blonde/light brown hair. When the shelf was empty at the store, I tried 42 dark cherry, thinking it was the same thing. Not at all! This cherry is really a dark purple on my hair color. My roots looked like a certain purple dinosaur and the rest was a brown/purple blend. I don't think this a natural-looking color in any way. The chocolate cherry previously mentioned was a pretty shimmering medium brown with slight red highlights. Much more natural looking, in my opinion.

mememe
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Terrible
6/17/2014

Customer review by seanthebegger

1.0 stars 6/17/2014 by seanthebegger
by seanthebegger

I am always pleased with Garnier they are my favorite and only hair product I have EVER used. This color is so untoned at places. It gave me such a vibrant bright color at the top like the color on the box but had faded into a brownish color at the middle to bottom. I am so unpleased with this. I am hoping you guys could tell me how to fix this. i followed every instruction on the box as I always do. Ever other hair color I have used with this product I had no problem with.

seanthebegger
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Good color... Just NOT for me.
11/15/2012

Customer review by Sarah2221

3.0 stars 11/15/2012 by Sarah2221
by Sarah2221

I started with a reddish brown color and wanted to achieve a more red result. I love garnier products and if I am ever self coloring, I will always turn to this brand. Since the regular box I buy was not available, mistakingly I thought this one would get me that result.my hair turned near black with purple under tones. Needless to say, it was my fault for buying a deep burgundy dark cherry color, but its all in trial and error. If you like the dark/ purple tones color this is for you!

Sarah2221
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Loving it!
3/8/2012

Customer review by Whiterose298

5.0 stars 3/8/2012 by Whiterose298
by Whiterose298

It was time to color my hair again and I suddenly realized I had kept the same colors for about 5 years, it was time for something new. I had deep Auburn red for most of my hair and White Blonde for the front. Loved it, but after a bit everyone was doing it. Time to change. My sister had a Black Cherry that she gave me, I gave it a shot on a whim. I totally fell in love! Purple bangs and sides and deep, deep red in the back! Couldn't have been happier! Rocking it now for 3 months.

Whiterose298
Anchorage, AK, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Hair Colour Fail
6/9/2012

Customer review by Wunnie

1.0 stars 6/9/2012 by Wunnie
by Wunnie

I coloured my hair using a permanent hair colour "42 - Deep Burgundy (Black Cherry)", after Garnier had been recommended to me by a few people including the shop assistant. I was very pleased with the initial result but when I washed my hair for the first time 2 days AFTER the colouring the colour ran. A week and half later it still running. I have colour stains on my towels and also on my pillowcases. I am very disappointed and I doubt I will be using this product again.

Wunnie
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Colors my grays!
1/14/2012

Customer review by jillbo1961

5.0 stars 1/14/2012 by jillbo1961
by jillbo1961

I used to have thick brown hair with some auburn color in it! I am 50 not and my hair is grayer and thinning and have been coloring for 10 years or so. I found your product and i L-O-V-E it! It colors my grays and keeps them colored longer then the other products! I think my hair seems fuller as well, maybe it is your awesome shampoo I use too! I get compliments all the time and let them know I use your products! I am so glad I found it, thanks!

jillbo1961
Rockwell, Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
1-20 of 36 total reviews
1-20 of 36 reviews