Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 36 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

36 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

36 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
21
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 stars
5
1-20 of 35 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews
Good, but DO NOT BUY On-line.
9/5/2016

Customer review by USCGRetired

4.0 stars 9/5/2016 by USCGRetired
by USCGRetired
Top 500 contributor

Very good. However, I recommend you go to the store and buy the cans there. DO NOT BUY ON-LINE. Online, the cans arrive heavily damaged and dented to the point I had to call Walmart.com and get cans for replacement. The cans appear as if they were used in a football game or dropped repeatedly from a altitude of 20-30,000 feet. In fact, in one order delivered over the course of two days, 13 different cans including these, soups, beef stew, green beans, and Chef Boyardee were damaged and had to be replaced.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
USCGRetired
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Top 500 contributor
Tastes Great
8/10/2016

Customer review by T742

5.0 stars 8/10/2016 by T742
by T742
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Just as good as the name brand but much cheaper.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
T742
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Value Luncheon Meat 12 oz.
8/18/2016

Customer review by RockForever

5.0 stars 8/18/2016 by RockForever
by RockForever
Top 1000 contributor

I just made some slices of the Great Value Luncheon Meat fried in my old cast iron skillet and I used the Great Value Butter Flavored Non Stick Spray. Browned up nicely and made a few sunny side up eggs, so gooood! I will definitely be ordering more.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RockForever
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Top 1000 contributor
Why buy it???
7/11/2016

Customer review by conjureman

5.0 stars 7/11/2016 by conjureman
by conjureman
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor

Well now it's way cheaper'n Spam. Want to know what I do with it. Cut it up into about 5 long way slices Put in a frypan with bit of oil and some sliced onions on high. Get good and brown on both sides. Put couple of slices with the onions on a split and toasted Kaiser roll, slice of any cheese is optional. As good as any burger you might fix. Makes lot of other good stuff too.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
conjureman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor
just like spam
8/1/2016

Customer review by lonewolf92

5.0 stars 8/1/2016 by lonewolf92
by lonewolf92
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Just like spam but cheaper. who pays extra for a label name

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lonewolf92
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Value: Luncheon Meat, 12 Oz
9/17/2016

Customer review by 75ER

5.0 stars 9/17/2016 by 75ER
by 75ER
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great Value products are naturally my choice as I shop Walmart ,I continually cart their items when available & request notification when not found! Great Value luncheon meat is ideal cold, fried & chunked for salads or used as an extender to additional dishes! I actually pomade this for frying which saturates the meat and holds the flavor well! If your baked macaroni & cheese skills are up to par you may want to try this Great Value Luncheon Meat with your cheese mac!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
75ER
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
g v luncheon meat
9/25/2016

Customer review by SmarrowsGifts

5.0 stars 9/25/2016 by SmarrowsGifts
by SmarrowsGifts
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

very happy

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SmarrowsGifts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
spam reject
8/16/2016

Customer review by dartley

1.0 stars 8/16/2016 by dartley
by dartley

from the reviews, maybe i got the bad can, but after pouring out the water (that's cheating on weight), found it mushy and fatty

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dartley
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ok but not as good as Spam.
8/4/2016

Customer review by PhilP

1.0 stars 8/4/2016 by PhilP
by PhilP

I always give stire brands a chance but this is one that failed.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PhilP
Would recommend to a friend? No
RE salt & Spam
9/27/2015

Customer review by TomM2

5.0 stars 9/27/2015 by TomM2
by TomM2

Come on folks, Spam has ALWAYS had lots of salt — after all it IS a preserved meat (Pork) product originally intended to feed troops in the field. I have a Spam slicer (looks like an egg slicer on steroids) to speed up slicing a can into perfectly even slices, so that cooking is uniform. BTW, Hawaii is the Spam capital of the USA, half of all Spam manufactured is consumed there. There are even Hawaiian Cookbooks devoted to Spam. Many like it right out of the can; I like to fry the slices until nicely browned. However, I try not to do it often, as once you eat one slice you want the rest.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TomM2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Classic SPAM
10/21/2009

Customer review by tbt10f

5.0 stars 10/21/2009 by tbt10f
by tbt10f

A few years ago, Hormel changed the classic SPAM formula to include potato starch. They apparently added it to reduce the formation of aspic, the Jell-o like ooze found on the top and sides of a slab of SPAM. As a kid, I always thought that the SPAM Jell-o was the best part of opening up a fresh can of SPAM. Since then, I've been on a quest to find a replacement that included this tasty and unique feature. For a product that contains only 5 ingredients and was invented in the 1930s, you would think my quest would have been an easy one. It was not. I've scoured shelves high and low, from my local Walmart to the dollar store, to no avail. I've popped the top on at least half a dozen different varieties trying to find a replacement, to no avail. I was delighted to find this product sitting on the shelf at my local Walmart a few months ago. The price was right, at nearly half the price of genuine SPAM, and a comparison of the ingredients list and nutrition facts shows that, other than the potato starch, the two products are identical. I purchased 2 cans and a can of SPAM for a control. A blind taste test confirmed that they are indeed identical, from the taste down to the pink and slightly grainy texture of the meat. In conclusion: I love you Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (22) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tbt10f
Central Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good
12/7/2015

Customer review by Cindy

4.0 stars 12/7/2015 by Cindy
by Cindy

I use this product on my 15 year old dog (as a supplement when she will not eat ) and my kids love it fry in pan for a quick snacks.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cindy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Salt of the Earth!
3/23/2016

Customer review by SweetSpirit

1.0 stars 3/23/2016 by SweetSpirit
by SweetSpirit

With this type of canned meat product, I expect a somewhat high sodium level. However, this product is "extremely, extremely" salty, even when cooked. I purchased two cans, and I hate throwing food away. Hoping to cut the salt shock experienced with the first can, for the second can I sliced the loaf and boiled the slices three times. With each boil, I began with fresh water. After the final boil, I fried the slices adding no oil or fat to the skillet. This method did decrease the extreme saltiness to a degree, but it was still too salty. I will not purchase this item again.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SweetSpirit
Would recommend to a friend? No
Really good!
1/15/2016

Customer review by LeonardVegas

5.0 stars 1/15/2016 by LeonardVegas
by LeonardVegas

Tastes like Sp*m!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LeonardVegas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
this is Spam
11/20/2015

Customer review by 5847027

5.0 stars 11/20/2015 by 5847027
by 5847027

buy a can of Spam and one of these and see if there is a difference. Spam kept me alive in the service. This is made by Spam

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
5847027
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
makesagreatfriedlunchonandcheesesandwich.
1/6/2016

Customer review by wkjr

5.0 stars 1/6/2016 by wkjr
by wkjr

Makes a great friedlunchonandchheese sandwich.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wkjr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
If you like salt.
9/25/2015

Customer review by WalmartLover

4.0 stars 9/25/2015 by WalmartLover
by WalmartLover

Make no mistake about it, I love Walmart and all that it has to offer but this product is way too salty. I would suggest you boil this product before you cook it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WalmartLover
Would recommend to a friend? No
Luncheon Meat
1/31/2016

Customer review by DuckyA

5.0 stars 1/31/2016 by DuckyA
by DuckyA

Good ready to eat!!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DuckyA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Value Great Taste
7/20/2016

Customer review by Flyspeck

4.0 stars 7/20/2016 by Flyspeck
by Flyspeck
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I like this canned meat better than Spam Treat ect and a lower price !!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Flyspeck
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
meat
4/27/2016

Customer review by bandett

3.0 stars 4/27/2016 by bandett
by bandett

Taste is better than I thought it would be. I really like Spam AND THIS TASTES CLOSE TO SPAM. But it is way too salty.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bandett
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews