Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 39 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

39 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

39 reviews | 3 out of 5

49%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
12
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 stars
13
1-20 of 39 total reviews
49%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 39 total reviews
1-20 of 39 reviews
Worth the price.
3/18/2009

Customer review by heresthetruth

4.0 stars 3/18/2009 by heresthetruth
by heresthetruth

I am currently using this pump on three fish tanks. 2 10 gallon and 1 30 gallon. I have the pump resting on a piece of cardboard and there is barley any noise from the pump. I have had the pump for just a little under 1 year and it still works great. I noticed other reviewers complained that the pump stopped working after just over 1 year. But like another reviewer stated, that for the price I paid for it, it would still be a good buy to replace it every year.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
heresthetruth
Putnam New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not good for prolonged use
4/21/2009

Customer review by CritterKrazy

2.0 stars 4/21/2009 by CritterKrazy
by CritterKrazy

This pump will suffice or be good enough as a temporary solution for your aquatic needs, not for permanent usage. I have bought three of these pumps and each pump has failed (stopped producing air bubbles). At first the pump works well enough with some noise, which can be fixed by placing pump on a towel. After some time, one outlet stops producing air and within a few days the other outlet does the same. When I took it apart to locate the problem, I found the diaphragms were broken. This last pump only lasted one month! The other two continued working for about two to three months and each gave out in the same manner.

Was this review helpful? (22) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CritterKrazy
Would recommend to a friend? No
great if used right
7/18/2010

Customer review by monchies11

5.0 stars 7/18/2010 by monchies11
by monchies11

READ THIS WILL HELP at first i thought it was horrible i only had a air stone connected to each port and it was loud, big mistake that i believe is being made by all the people that are complaining because i noticed when i disconnected it was silent so i went and bought a air stone strip and connected it on one line and connected the 2 balls in the other and it was silent and worked great better than before i believe the people that are complaining did that mistake and blame it on the product ;) HOPE IT HELPS

Was this review helpful? (25) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
monchies11
pomona ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Wonderful
8/12/2009

Customer review by Bubbles999999999999999999

5.0 stars 8/12/2009 by Bubbles999999999999999999
by Bubbles999999999999999999

I LOVE THIS PUMP! For Christmas i got my mom a betta and a cute 2.5 gallon LPS tank and the air pump would always die on me. So instead of wasting $15 on another 10-20 gallon air pump I got this 20-60 gallon double outlet for $12! Very useful when having two tanks next to each other too!

Was this review helpful? (13) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bubbles999999999999999999
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best dollar value on the market
9/1/2011

Customer review by Goby222

5.0 stars 9/1/2011 by Goby222
by Goby222

In 43 years of fish keeping I have owned and repaired many pumps. This produces 2800cc at a high pressure. I have one running 2 years in 24" water, and it will run 2, 12 inch airstones. The valve body is centralized and so far the diaphragms are good. I hope tetra is using better rubber because all the whisper pumps I owned in the past needed repair every 6-8 months like clockwork. Well at $0.99 it used to be cheap to own a whisper air pump. Today the repair kits are $6.00. This Aquaculture pump has had some bad reviews, surely any pump will fail if you don't have a bleed valve to let off exess pressure. Although I run 12 inches of air stone at 24" of depth I use no bleed valve. I clean stones in vinegar monthly, and replace when I can't blow through them by mouth. This is the most trouble free pump I have ever owned, Sorry Tetra you Whispers don't compare.

Was this review helpful? (14) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Goby222
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
did not last
6/17/2010

Customer review by dintouch

1.0 stars 6/17/2010 by dintouch
by dintouch

This pump was loud at first, after just a couple of weeks it quieted down but lost its power. I opened it up to see if there was anything I could do to save it and found cracks in a plastic part that has to take on the movement required to compress the diaphragm. I am not an engineer, but DUH!

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dintouch
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Steer clear of this inferior quality pump
11/6/2008

Customer review by hunt4valu

1.0 stars 11/6/2008 by hunt4valu
by hunt4valu

I've had several aquarium pumps throughout the years, most lasting many years in continuous service, and I've never had them break as quickly as this brand's. I bought my first bad pump in the late spring 08, and within a couple months one of the two air nipples broke off. I quickly returned it in exchange for another. Within 5 months this one failed the same way. I carefully inspected the pump to find the plastic block the nipple was attached to was cracked with several stress fractures. I'm thinking it's probably due to the continuous heat and vibration. Adequate design but inferior materials.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hunt4valu
OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
JUNK
10/4/2009

Customer review by DAYCAREMOM25

1.0 stars 10/4/2009 by DAYCAREMOM25
by DAYCAREMOM25

NO GOOD DO NOT DO IT ABSOLUTE JUNK WE WENT THROUGH THREE IN A MONTH

Was this review helpful? (7) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DAYCAREMOM25
INDIANA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great at any price
6/13/2009

Customer review by bannh

5.0 stars 6/13/2009 by bannh
by bannh

I was given a couple of these used and was so pleased I got a couple of more new ones. No problems with diaphragms and they produce a great deal of air.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bannh
MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
Junk
7/18/2009

Customer review by WaterBoyTx

1.0 stars 7/18/2009 by WaterBoyTx
by WaterBoyTx

The pump has not lasted me more then 2 weeks at a time. Wal-Mart has replace the pump without any trouble each time. The replacement pump number 3 just went out and I am on my way back to Wal-Mart to get a refund, but this time I will not get this model or brand!

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WaterBoyTx
Dallas/FtWorth, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works great
2/7/2009

Customer review by MrRaider09

5.0 stars 2/7/2009 by MrRaider09
by MrRaider09

I'm using it for my 55 gallon fish tank i have to different water stones connected to it. They are both 18 inch and that lil pump is pushing them great!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrRaider09
Kansas city,KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/6 cost and far better than fancy one
7/16/2010

Customer review by ozonator

5.0 stars 7/16/2010 by ozonator
by ozonator

For $11 bucks, I took a chance as my Rena Air 400 was broken. The little pump did better than the new Rena Air in the same tank set up, made less noise, and was about the same price as a new Rena part and shipping + handling.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ozonator
Baton Rouge
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not durable
9/12/2009

Customer review by WallyMarty000001

2.0 stars 9/12/2009 by WallyMarty000001
by WallyMarty000001

The pump diaphrams are dry rotted in about 6 months. I've had others that have lasted more than 5 years.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WallyMarty000001
Opelika, AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Inexpensive but doesn't last
9/23/2010

Customer review by Flytier

2.0 stars 9/23/2010 by Flytier
by Flytier

Inexpensive pump, but reliability is important with an aquarium. Can't have one stop working when you are out of town. That is precisely what this one did. Internal plastic cracked (unrepairable). Of course, I haven't found a good, reliable pump yet for even 5X this price. Need the reliability more than the price. Noisy, too.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Flytier
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not worth it
4/4/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 4/4/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

My smaller pump wouldnt push air for the stones so i bought this one like 4 months ago.. it quit working so I took it apart to find that the rubber has already cracked out on both sides of the pump.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Aqua pump
11/11/2008

Customer review by thomas42

1.0 stars 11/11/2008 by thomas42
by thomas42

Like the other person noted with this pump I have also had two of these and they do not last long only got 1 year out of both of them. Would not recommend buying this brand

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thomas42
Janesville Ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Noisy and not durable
9/17/2009

Customer review by CaptainNemo1234

1.0 stars 9/17/2009 by CaptainNemo1234
by CaptainNemo1234

This product is not worth buying. Lasted less than a year and was noisy. Can not get parts to fix. Needs a 15 cent rubber membrane which is unavailable unless you live in China, I guess.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CaptainNemo1234
Would recommend to a friend? No
it is quite loud would not buy
1/29/2014

Customer review by mowhawkman

1.0 stars 1/29/2014 by mowhawkman
by mowhawkman

I was at wall mart lookin for some random things and i found this, i thought it would be worth a try. i got home i was kinda excited to put this in my 20 gallon tank and if i liked it i would move it to my 55 gallon. i pluged it in for not even 5 seconds i unpluged it shoved it right back in the box. It is louder than any air pump i have ever seen, way les preasure than i expected fo a air ump rated for a 60 gallon tank. if noise doesnt bother you than i guess its okay but fo a bed room tank i wouldnt run it for than a muinet of being in the room!! VERRY LOUD!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mowhawkman
texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
not worth the time to hook it up
5/19/2009

Customer review by sobeyett

2.0 stars 5/19/2009 by sobeyett
by sobeyett

Thrid one I have owned all bust the diaphram, can not buy parts

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sobeyett
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Junk
9/13/2009

Customer review by nymamagirl

1.0 stars 9/13/2009 by nymamagirl
by nymamagirl

Bought this pump. Worked good for about a week before one diaphragm quit so it only pumps air out of one side. And at that, barely any pressure. Don't waste your money.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nymamagirl
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 39 total reviews
1-20 of 39 reviews