Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 39 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

39 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

39 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

62%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
16
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 stars
8
1-20 of 38 total reviews
62%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 38 total reviews
1-20 of 38 reviews
nice pump
6/19/2009

Customer review by cbeans

5.0 stars 6/19/2009 by cbeans
by cbeans

This pump works well for me, I've been using the same one for about three years with no problems. Good for about 5" of airstone, if your using a larger airstone, buy a larger pump. It circulates the water in my 10 gallon nicely, no complaints here.

Was this review helpful? (33) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cbeans
tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Price
3/3/2010

Customer review by Zalaha

4.0 stars 3/3/2010 by Zalaha
by Zalaha

I bought it to use with two turtles and it does make a little bit of noise, but it works great, i have had no issues with it and it is a great value!

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Zalaha
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Don't be Cheap
5/28/2009

Customer review by acenorm

2.0 stars 5/28/2009 by acenorm
by acenorm

I bought this for my 10 gallon tank in my office and it lasted about 5 months. The diaphragm has a tear in it. Looks like the screw that holds it on heated up and melted it. Spend the money and go with a better brand. Also can't find replacement parts or I would fix it myself.

Was this review helpful? (11) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
acenorm
Shamong, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Gets the job done, but not the best.
2/7/2009

Customer review by Thefishguy

4.0 stars 2/7/2009 by Thefishguy
by Thefishguy

You can't beat the price on this one, but it would be better to buy a tetra one. This one is pretty loud, and not very powerful, but it gets the job done. I would say it should be a 5 gallon max for this one, since it is in my 5 gallon and isn't very powerful.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Thefishguy
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Economy to the max
6/8/2013

Customer review by NotMee

3.0 stars 6/8/2013 by NotMee
by NotMee

"Standard Aquarium tubing" is 3/16" which this pump takes and you need some. The pump air output in GPH (gallons per hour) is 18 GPH It is very noisy, but then again if noise isn't a problem and you want a disposible pump, you won't go wrong for only $6. Who knows, it might work a few years. The problem area is on the plastic connector area. They get brittle and break all by themselves, so it's really the luck of the draw depending if your pump happens to be especially strong or weak around that area. The vibrations of the pump can lead to the breakage all by themselves, so don't feel bad if you get more than a year, and don'rt forget Walmart has a 90 day return policy if it breaks that soon and you want to wait in customer service for a refund or exchange for a do-over...

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NotMee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Nice little pump!
1/10/2012

Customer review by PrincessBonAmi

5.0 stars 1/10/2012 by PrincessBonAmi
by PrincessBonAmi

I bought this at my local WalMart & I think I'm going back for another one! It works great, puts out quite a bit of air & isn't too noisy at all. I use it to power a small corner/box filter with some DeNitrate in it to help remove nitrates from my goldfish tank & it's doing it's job well. Lots of bubbles!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PrincessBonAmi
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Cheaply made product.
12/27/2013

Customer review by 23Elle

1.0 stars 12/27/2013 by 23Elle
by 23Elle

I've had this just under 1 month and the plastic attachment that the air hose goes on has already broken off after normal handling and gently trying to remove the air hose. It pulled the plastic piece right off with no force. (No wiggling or anything, just a straight tug and it broke right off) It was actually stuck in the end of the air hose. Just for comparison, I also have another air pump on a separate tank that I do the same with, and I have had that same pump since the late 1990's and it still works just as well and has never broke. (It's an AQT3001). Other things about this filter is it's very loud and will also move across flat surfaces if you don't secure it, so I had to eventually put a cloth under it because of the noise and movement. For the loud rattle/vibration it has, it doesn't have that much power. Once again, the old, out of date air pump I have is stronger, but quieter and doesn't move, so that's saying a lot about a product that is less than a month old.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
23Elle
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Trust Me Dont Do It...
10/4/2009

Customer review by DAYCAREMOM25

1.0 stars 10/4/2009 by DAYCAREMOM25
by DAYCAREMOM25

We bought three of these pumps in one month and they all broke. There is a black sort of gasket on the inside thst pushes the air into the tank, it has ripped everytime...

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DAYCAREMOM25
INDIANA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Product at a Low Price
8/19/2009

Customer review by PetLover1980

5.0 stars 8/19/2009 by PetLover1980
by PetLover1980

I bought this pump to use with my 10-gallon aquarium. It is powerful enough to run my 10 inch airstone, and absolutely quiet. I'm so happy with it that I bought another one for my 5-gallon tank as well. The second one is just as quiet. I have never had any problems with either, and I've had the first one for well over a year.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PetLover1980
Brainerd, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Can't beat it for 6 bucks
3/26/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 3/26/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have had this thing running for 3 years non-stop and it shows no signs of wearing down. Its quiet if you mount it correctly and puts out real nice airflow. $6 can't buy you much, nevermind something that lasts years without worry.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Value that lasted
7/19/2009

Customer review by valueandpricehunter

4.0 stars 7/19/2009 by valueandpricehunter
by valueandpricehunter

Purchased product 3 years ago for my 10 gallon tank and the motor just burnt out. Not bad consiering price although it can be loud at times (just relocate it) but I'm on my way to buy another one!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
valueandpricehunter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
Not too great
11/15/2009

Customer review by tm72

2.0 stars 11/15/2009 by tm72
by tm72

Description on box states that it "is rubber insulated for quiet performance", not really too quiet. You can hear it vibrating against the wall, if hung, and/or on a shelf. The provided check valve did not work, no airflow through either end. Spend the money and buy a better product. You get what you pay for!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tm72
Would recommend to a friend? No
Tough
8/11/2010

Customer review by woolgatherer

5.0 stars 8/11/2010 by woolgatherer
by woolgatherer

This air pump is a tough little pump with plenty of power. I've been using this pump in my 10 gallon and 29 gallon aquariums for about 9 months and haven't encountered a single problem thus far. It is a little noisy, but if you wrap it in foam or an old sock with a rubber band, you can hardly hear it working. Excellent; cheap; you get more than you pay for.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
woolgatherer
Marquette, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works Really Well
1/7/2014

Customer review by pomapug2

5.0 stars 1/7/2014 by pomapug2
by pomapug2

I bought this air pump to use with my five gallon hospital aquarium. I use it to operate the air stone and it does the job very well!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pomapug2
SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect for 10 gallon tank.
6/15/2012

Customer review by tc62099

5.0 stars 6/15/2012 by tc62099
by tc62099

I have a bubble stone and ship deco running off this in my ten gallon tank. I would recommend putting a towel or something soft under it to make it even quieter!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tc62099
Cambridge, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Pump for a Great Price
4/9/2010

Customer review by CRRose

5.0 stars 4/9/2010 by CRRose
by CRRose

I bought one of these for a ten gallon fry tank and I am very satisfied with it. It was half of the price of the one I bought at a pet chain store and unlike that one, it is almost completely silent. You have to stick your head next to it to hear the faint hum it makes. I keep it on carpet, but the rubber feet make it silent on solid surfaces as well. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a pump.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CRRose
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Aqua Culture Air Pump Review
5/10/2010

Customer review by Logansmomma1228

4.0 stars 5/10/2010 by Logansmomma1228
by Logansmomma1228

This product is working very well for me. I have a 10 gallon tank and this pump aerates it very well. Decent price as well.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Logansmomma1228
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Sound is little annoying
6/13/2013

Customer review by sonu123

2.0 stars 6/13/2013 by sonu123
by sonu123

I bought this air pump with the expectations that it would be silent while running but its vibration is little annoying specially when there is no other sound in your surroundings. If you are looking for a quiet pump then look somewhere else.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sonu123
Englewood
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Horrible
10/5/2012

Customer review by TDB4926

1.0 stars 10/5/2012 by TDB4926
by TDB4926

This air pump is not a good value. It says it will run 2 bubble stones but it does not. It will run 1 bubble stone just fine but the 2nd one barely has any bubbles coming out of it. Information on the box should be checked before product is put out for sale. I still use this for one bubble stone but I have had to buy a 2nd pump for my other stone.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TDB4926
Salisbury, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
bad
3/13/2013

Customer review by testertwo

1.0 stars 3/13/2013 by testertwo
by testertwo

I put the tube under water no air put on top of water bubbles under water on air

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
testertwo
Rochester ny
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 38 total reviews
1-20 of 38 reviews