Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 952 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

952 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

952 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

51%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
362
4 stars
111
3 stars
77
2 stars
77
1 stars
325
1-20 of 951 total reviews
51%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 951 total reviews
1-20 of 951 reviews
6/23/2016

Customer review by isabella750

1.0 stars 6/23/2016 by isabella750
by isabella750

I have used L'oreal Feria for years as my only hair color. I just purchased and used what seems like the new Feria formula and packaging. First of all, the packaging is a pain. The small oil you add in to the color bottle used to be very easy to snap open. This time no matter how I tried I could not snap the oil open. I ended up having to get a scissors to cut it, and then didn't get all of the product because I smashed the container trying to snap it open. The mix is extremely runny now. Before it would only be runny when it was a hot day - and I mean very hot. At 55 degrees outside, and 65 degrees inside, I wouldn't expect it to be runny. It was hard to keep it from dripping everywhere this time. The coverage doesn't appear to be as good as before. Yes it is shiny but even after the max time on my hair I am still seeing some of my old color - which never happened with Feria before. PLEASE go back to your old formula and packaging!!!!

Comment from - 6/29/2016

We are sorry to hear this and would like to assist you! Please give us a call @ 1.800.631.7358 M-F 9AM-7PM EST and give ref # 1234688

isabella750
Would recommend to a friend? No
Worst box color I've ever used!
5/4/2015

Customer review by LOVEMYANGELBABIES

1.0 stars 5/4/2015 by LOVEMYANGELBABIES
by LOVEMYANGELBABIES

I hate to write bad reviews, but I feel like I need to for this product. I got the natural light brown color called crystal brown. My hair was already light brown with a tad bit of brassiness. I went with this color because I wanted to minimize the brassiness and boost my overall color without going darker or lighter. The end result is much lighter than I expected, nothing like the picture on the box, but the worst part is that it's red! This color turned my hair a light auburn brown. I am not happy. Hair color that is labeled "natural" light brown should have never emphasized red tones. This is way past gold brassiness, this is auburn. And this product is the only one I've ever used that ended with completely different results than what the color was supposed to be. So I do not recommend this hair color. I did check the bottles and they were labeled with the same color that was on the box. Unfortunately it lightened my hair so I can't look forward to it fading out. Ugh!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LOVEMYANGELBABIES
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love the color, no brassiness.
7/29/2016

Customer review by pamela

5.0 stars 7/29/2016 by pamela
by pamela
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

the color is great, no mess when applying it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pamela
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/7/2016

Customer review by Mjlove

1.0 stars 7/7/2016 by Mjlove
by Mjlove

My hair before was a med to light brown. My tips almost blond. I used this color R48 for a red all over. I haven't dyed my hair in 7 months to let it grow out. This color ruined my hair! Turning it black n purple! The only red is the dye left on my scalp from the little dye power pack that is suppost to give you a super red. Now I have to wait and deal with this dark blackish purple color, then pay someone to fix it! I really hope this doesn't happend to someone else and you fix your problem with the color. In no way should my hair turned black.

Comment from - 7/21/2016

Please call us @ 1.800.631.7358 M-F 9AM-7PM EST and give ref 1273754 so that we can assist you!

Mjlove
Would recommend to a friend? No
1/31/2014

Customer review by Lovehilift

5.0 stars 1/31/2014 by Lovehilift
by Lovehilift

Wanted to lighten my hair from Med Brown to Light Brown without having to go to the salon. Everything I read on the subject stated I would have to use Peroxide, etc which I just did not want to do. Using a lighter color was not an option either since you cannot use a color to lighten another. So I saw this little baby at the store and thought I would give it a try. Left it on a bit longer than I should have so I do have some breakage BUT.....the color turned out exactly as it is on the box which is exactly what I wanted! I am going to go ahead and assume that the developer contained peroxide since it did in fact lift the previous color off and I am okay with that as it was already in the developer and ready to go. I touch up my roots every couple weeks and my hair looks amazing. So if you want to lighten your hair and lift out old color, then this is the quickest and safest option without going to a salon. Watch your timing though. The thinner your hair the less time you leave it on.

Lovehilift
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1/10/2014

Customer review by SierraElise

1.0 stars 1/10/2014 by SierraElise
by SierraElise

I was absolutely thrilled to find this color in a box dye, especially one that doesn't require any bleaching. My hair is naturally a medium to dark brown, and after looking at the side of the box to see what the shade would be from my natural color, I was very excited to go home and try it out! I put it on my hair, very impressed by the richness of the red as it went on. Left it on the recommended amount of time, washed it out according to the directions...and.... Was shocked by my BLACK hair. Black. Not red. Not red velvet. BLACK. It was so incredibly dark that you couldn't tell there was supposed to be any red in it at all. It never even faded to anything even remotely close to what the box depicted. This was false advertising. It is NOT the color it says it is. Do NOT use this color unless you are ok with your hair being completely black. I was very upset by this. Not ok. I was stuck with a color that I was NOT happy with and couldn't fix it without seriously damaging my hair.

SierraElise
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great coverage
7/17/2016

Customer review by Jeanne

5.0 stars 7/17/2016 by Jeanne
by Jeanne
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great coverage, no red tint

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jeanne
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/26/2016

Customer review by AlyRose

1.0 stars 6/26/2016 by AlyRose
by AlyRose

I was so disappointed to the point where I was crying because it turned out so bad. I know my hair is fairly dark so I was not expecting full platinum, but I was expecting it to be even all over. The roots are a yellow then fades into an auburn and my tips and the back of my head didn't even change color. I have used boxed dyes in the past without issues of uneveness. I have not dyed my hair in a few months and even used color oops the weekend before to ensure my hair would be free of any possible residual dye. I'm at a loss what to do know to make my hair look pretty again

AlyRose
Would recommend to a friend? No
1/17/2016

Customer review by M Meier

2.0 stars 1/17/2016 by M Meier
by M Meier

I've dyed my own hair for a long time. I recently tried this hair dye for the first time, eager to see what it would look like. I have dark black hair, and I knew it wouldn't show up very brightly as on the box. I'm no rookie there. BUT sadly I was extremely disappointed in it barely sticking to my roots which are a much much lighter shade then the rest of my (very old dyed hair) I followed the rinsing instructions, which I believe was my mistake. It is natural to rinse the hair in the shower after the dye. But to then shampoo TWICE as per your instructions virtually strips all the color right out of the hair. So I in essence spent 25-30 minutes dying my hair to basically wash it all out. I understand it's an Intense dye, (I'm no stranger to bright bold colors) but this seems absolutely pointless. Sadly I'm very disappointed. If I do choose this color again, I will NOT follow the washing instructions, and may be that will leave the color in the hair. Regrettably, since most of it has washed out, I will be going back to black.

Comment from - 1/20/2016

Sorry to hear this and we would like to assist! Please give us a call @ 1800.631.7358 M-F 9AM-7PM EST. Give ref # 787469 We look forward to speaking with you!

M Meier
Would recommend to a friend? No
6/2/2016

Customer review by LexieM

4.0 stars 6/2/2016 by LexieM
by LexieM

I've tried various Boxed hair colour's and doing my own hair using various hair colour's products from Sally's. While most hair dressers can get the bright bold red I luv, I was never able to get the same from boxed hair colour's or from the hair colour's products from Sally's selections no matter what product I tried. I have light brown hair and one would think getting a bold bright red would be easy but it is not, Then I tried the Feria C74 Power Copper and it was very close to the colour the hair dressers can do and much cheaper, I do wash my hair with baby shampoo in cold water as this lessens the colour fadout While this is not the perfect colour I want, it is very close to it in boxed Hair Colour,

LexieM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
3/25/2015

Customer review by Gypsy

2.0 stars 3/25/2015 by Gypsy
by Gypsy

I bought R57 Cherry Crush & I am disappointed. The roots are red however the center of the strands are a light shade of brown & the ends resemble the shade R37 instead. Also the center of the strands which are a shade of brown are a bit blotchy. After finishing up & seeing the problem I thought perhaps it was the clip I used so I went about drying my hair & starting over (without clipping hair) however I had the same result. When I bought the product I referenced the chart on the side of the box that provides a color result for hair that is darkest brown however my result does not look much like that color cube at all. Perhaps a month from now I will chose a brighter shade than R57 in order to compensate for the dark & blotchy result. I have used Feria in yrs past without this problem. Also your site's choice for hair color "soft black" seems like darkest brown on the chart of the box. I would appreciate offered advice for my situation & perhaps a coupon for the next box.

Gypsy
Would recommend to a friend? No
3/13/2016

Customer review by PrinceofPride

2.0 stars 3/13/2016 by PrinceofPride
by PrinceofPride

This product gave the bleached portions of my hair a nice, smokey purple. It was a bit darker than the color on the box, but that was to be expected since my hair wasn't quite platinum blonde. What I didn't expect however was for this color to bleach the buzzed sides of my hair a bright orange! I figured since these are pastel dyes and you are required to have as light of hair as possible, I assumed the dye didn't have any bleach in it? I've seen customer reviews of this product on various blogs and youtube accounts applying these pastel dyes to darker hair and getting a slight purple/reddish tint to their darker hair, so I figured that's what would happen if it were to be applied to darker hair. I've also applied purple dyes to my hair in the past and have gotten similar results. But instead this dye ended up lightening all of my darker brown/black hair to a bright orange, and I ended up with a terrible orange/purple hair combination! The purple color itself isn't really that bad, but I wish I had known that this product apparently has some type of bleach in it.

Comment from Consumer Care Center - 3/18/2016

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you are experiencing an orange result on a portion of your hair. This product does not contain bleach, but does go through a lightening process where undertone that we have naturally in our hair is exposed. If applied on hair that is too dark, the color will not have enough pigment to cover over the warm tones that are exposed. If you have any questions, please give us a call at 800.631.7358 M-F 9-7 EST. Provide Rep with reference number 950598

PrinceofPride
Would recommend to a friend? No
6/23/2016

Customer review by Janilb

1.0 stars 6/23/2016 by Janilb
by Janilb

I was so excited to try this. I wanted to get a light brown/dark blonde so I went with this light color because my hair is medium brown. I knew I wouldn't have the same color as the girl has on the box but I didn't expect to see almost no difference. I'm so upset, my money was waisted and time. I wish I could undo this mistake.

Comment from - 6/29/2016

We would like to assist you with this. Please give us a call @ 1.800.631.7358 M-F 9Am-7PM EST and give ref # 1234867

Janilb
Would recommend to a friend? No
6/18/2016

Customer review by Calleeh

1.0 stars 6/18/2016 by Calleeh
by Calleeh

This is the WORST dye i have ever used in my life. The instructions say to leave it in for 20 minutes, and in doing so it insures you waste your time and money, i had to buy a second box because it did NOTHING on the first application and after applying a second box i acheved the color i wanted and was happy...until i washed my hair and all the color came out instantly. Worst product ever if i could go back in time i would never have bought it.

Comment from - 6/23/2016

We are sorry to hear about this and would like to assist you. Please give us a call @ 1.800.631.7358 M-F 9AM-7PM EST and give ref # 1219288

Calleeh
Would recommend to a friend? No
6/16/2014

Customer review by nikkif

1.0 stars 6/16/2014 by nikkif
by nikkif

Horrible color!!!! I have natural medium brown hair, I had dyed my hair about 10 months ago black, (I was prego, so I did not dye my hair the entire time) previous to that, I was a regular with feria boxed dyes every couple of months. The black always faded to a dark brown after about 2 months even with a good color retaining shampoo, I wanted something a little different and chose this violet black. Well, I expected it to be a little lighter on top, and the first couple of days it looked like I got it done at the salon, it had a light ombre look being that it was darker on the bottom. It was kind of a dark plum, close to the color on the box (except the top which was about 2 shades lighter) After 2 shampoos it was RED (I also waited 3 days for the first shampoo) .... all of my hair was red.... ugly burgundy red. It has now been 2 weeks.... not violet or black.... hideous red ..... I now have to die my hair back to black to cover this horrible color.... DO NOT USE UNLESS YOU HAVE VERY DARK HAIR .....

Comment from - 6/18/2014

Sorry to hear you are having such a tough time with the violet soft black shade you used. We'd like to help you correct it! Give us a call at 800.631.7358 Monday-Friday 9-7 EST. Give representative reference #7469926.

Comment from - 6/18/2014

Sorry to hear you are having such a tough time with the violet soft black shade you used. We'd like to help you correct it! Give us a call at 800.631.7358 Monday-Friday 9-7 EST. Give representative reference #7469926.

nikkif
Would recommend to a friend? No
6/24/2016

Customer review by NotBlondeOne

1.0 stars 6/24/2016 by NotBlondeOne
by NotBlondeOne

I was VERY disappointed. I was expecting my hair to be BLONDE when I was done, but no, it was light orange. I am trying to do a sunset ombre and needed my hair as light as possible. I thought this would work. Back to square one.

Comment from Consumer Care Center - 6/30/2016

We are sorry to hear about your color result. Let us help. Give us a call at 800-631-7358 M-F 9-7 EST Give the rep reference #1234868

NotBlondeOne
Would recommend to a friend? No
6/13/2016

Customer review by Karen S

1.0 stars 6/13/2016 by Karen S
by Karen S

I have very dark brown hair. I have been coloring my hair long enough to know that the color never comes out as vibrant as it does on the box. But this color was very disappointing. There is little if any red in my hair at all. It looks like I chose a shade close to my natural color, not a "power red". It covered my grays....that's about it. Back to Garnier Nutrisse for me! When they say "burgundy"....you get burgundy!

Comment from - 6/15/2016

We would like to assist you with this. Please give us a call @ 1.800.631.7358 M-F 9AM-7PM EST and give ref # 01202594

Karen S
Would recommend to a friend? No
9/12/2015

Customer review by crackheadclown

1.0 stars 9/12/2015 by crackheadclown
by crackheadclown

maybe it's the lighting in the store and in my house, but the color on the box looked bold, but possibly a natural red, like debra messing or julianne moore--however R68 does not come out looking anything like on the box. i've been coloring my own hair for over 20 years. it had been around 15 years since i tried feria. the last 3 times i colored (with other brands) i felt the color came out too subtle. i remembered feria tended to be a little bolder so i went for it. NEVER AGAIN!! my hair looks like ronald macdonald did some crack and went crazy with some kool aid. This is nothing close to what the box shows. i've read a few reviews complaining that the color washed out--well i hope it does. i hate to color again too soon, and risk damaging my hair. but at the same time, i don't want anyone to see me like this. i guess i'll just have to be a hermit, or wear a scarf on my head for the next 2 weeks, after which, i will go to Sally's and get this fixed.

crackheadclown
Would recommend to a friend? No
6/5/2016

Customer review by Jackie W

2.0 stars 6/5/2016 by Jackie W
by Jackie W

Was disappointed with this color honestly. I had high hopes. I've been wanting pastel pink hair for ages now! And here's the color! That will be going on my hair! And look pastel pink! Nope. Didn't turn out that way. I had my hair bleached nearly white when I used this. It turned out a light shade of strawberry blonde! I was so horrified and disappointed. Now, every time I revisit the hair color aisle in Walmart, I glare at this product. Not happy with it.

Comment from - 6/14/2016

We are sorry that this did not turn out the way you wanted however we would like to assist you. Please give us a call @ 1.800.631.7358 M-F 9AM-7PM EST and give ref # 1181792

Jackie W
Would recommend to a friend? No
6/13/2016

Customer review by Kiraptor

1.0 stars 6/13/2016 by Kiraptor
by Kiraptor

I'm in tears! My hair was a bleached to a pale blonde, but it's come out patchy and not the colour on the box at all. It looks terrible and I'm embarrassed to leave the house..

Comment from - 6/15/2016

We are sorry to hear this and want to assist you! Please give us a call @ 1.800.631.7358 M-F 9AM-7PM EST and give ref # 01202829

Kiraptor
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 951 total reviews
1-20 of 951 reviews