Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 300 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

300 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

300 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
203
4 stars
32
3 stars
16
2 stars
15
1 stars
34
1-20 of 299 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 299 total reviews
1-20 of 299 reviews
8/21/2014

Customer review by HairDyeToDyeFor

1.0 stars 8/21/2014 by HairDyeToDyeFor
by HairDyeToDyeFor

My mom and I were at the store Ulta Beauty looking for a product to highlight my hair to get a new summer look. When I saw this product on the shelf, I thought it looked easy and right for my hair. So I bought the truffle shade of this product because my hair is a dark chestnut brown. When I got home, I opened the box and followed the instructions carefully to make the lightening mixture. Then my mom grabbed the wand and put the mixture on to it, and then started highlighting my hair piece by piece. When she was done, I waited ten minutes, wiped off a piece, put the mixture back on that piece, and waited 15 more minutes. My mom and I then went to the shower and then I rinsed it. Horrible things happened!!! Ok, first, my hair was white! (I even left the product on less time then the box actually said too) Second, it only died the top of my head (and my mom put the dye in piece by piece) third, the company didn't give enough of the color mixture. I don't recommend this product, it ruins your hair!

Comment from - 8/26/2014

We are sorry to hear about your color result. We can help! Call us at 800.631-7358 Monday-Friday 9-7 EST Give Rep reference # 7541002

HairDyeToDyeFor
Would recommend to a friend? No
2 thumbs up
2/23/2010

Customer review by escaladee

5.0 stars 2/23/2010 by escaladee
by escaladee

I have been using this product for a couple of years now. color 8.2 warm blonde. w/highlights. It makes my hair soft and shiny. It took a couple of trys to get the highlights in the corret way but am a pro at it now. I paid around 120-140 dollars for beauty shop and they turned me into a red head and had to return on 2 occasions. Now I pay like $12. or so and I love it. My friends want me to do theirs...no thanks but thanks! remember to do a pre-test . Some times we have coler in our hair that doesn't come out until we color it. I was afraid of it being brassy as this is what I was use to with home color/lighter...I was happy with the results and use it every 2 month and it also covers my gray.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
escaladee
portland,OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
1/19/2014

Customer review by Cynthia Rose Rosario

4.0 stars 1/19/2014 by Cynthia Rose Rosario
by Cynthia Rose Rosario

I have been using this for years and won't use anything else. However I do have a big complaint on 1 thing that has become an issue for myself and wonder if other users experience the same issue. As my hair grows the product isn't enough. It was great when my hair was shoulder length but now its long I have to make it stretch and still don't have enough. Please make a product with more product for longer hair. Other than that People ask where I get my hair done and are surprised to hear the answer is myself. Then I'm being asked how much would I charge to do their hair. I let them know what I use and the way its packaged is goof proof. Its a wonderful product and idea. And will get a 5 star when I am able to buy a box of french eclair for longer hair and the product is back in stores like it used to be. Please don't discontinue. I like so many other women need this product. And I'm sure there are thousands more who feel the same way. Please hear your customers requests and fix our issues. Thank you!

Cynthia Rose Rosario
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
9/14/2012

Customer review by sammycammy

1.0 stars 9/14/2012 by sammycammy
by sammycammy

I will never use this product again. I have always done my hair, and other peoples hair. I've done highlights and just regular all over color. I have a lot of experience using home hair dyes.. I used this product in 2007 and it was the Chocolate Cherry Mousse. My hair looked seeeexy. I guess they changed something in the product...or maybe my hair changed after I had my daughter in 2010...because I used Vanilla Icing, and my hair looks like a salon threw up! I know how to do highlights, and I did them the right way, I mixed everything correctly, like I said I've been doing my hair on my own since I was 14, and the highlights didn't go all the way down. They are fine at the top and an inch down, they stop! I used the wand, and the finger applicator, which kept slipping and created even more of a mess! My hair still is soft and smells great, the dark ash blonde came out almost right, but the highlights did not. I will never go with this color again! My birthday is in two days and my hair looks a hot mess!

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sammycammy
27320
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
12/5/2015

Customer review by Dalytful

5.0 stars 12/5/2015 by Dalytful
by Dalytful

LOVE this product and color! I have been using it for years and have switched between Almond Rocca and French Eclair, but find the French Eclair fades and starts showing gray roots faster.My hairdresser is very impressed that I do it myself and I receive many compliments on how natural it looks. Thank you and don't discontinue this product. I do touch up my roots with Excellence Lt Brown between colorings and am considering trying Mousse Absolue - Pure Light Brown for touch ups - anyone try this?

Dalytful
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it !!
4/6/2010

Customer review by tjtm

5.0 stars 4/6/2010 by tjtm
by tjtm

This is a great product I have used it for years. Just take your time and it works every time. I did try a new product and had a hat on for two weeks, LOL Went back to this one and am very happy !!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tjtm
Ft Myers Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
8/2/2015

Customer review by Pattylou

5.0 stars 8/2/2015 by Pattylou
by Pattylou

This is a great product. I have never highlighted my hair myself. My husband helped me with the back but otherwise it was really simple. The highlights are gorgeous. Came out just like I wanted. I will definitely use this product again. Got professional results without paying an arm and a leg.

Pattylou
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
11/20/2014

Customer review by ElizabethL

5.0 stars 11/20/2014 by ElizabethL
by ElizabethL

I have had my hair colored and highlighted in medium to higher end salons for years now. I left one salon because the colorist just wasn't doing a great job for the price I paid. The more recent colorist went out on disability right before I was to see her for my regular 8 week color. I decided to save some money and color my own hair. After doing a lot of research on box hair color, I decided on this one in 5.0 Medium Brown. I cannot tell you how pleased I am with this product. Easy to use, half the time I would normally spend sitting in a salon chair, the medium brown was a perfect match for me and the highlights were so easy to put in. Even my kids commented on how professional my color looked. So happy I ended up choosing this hair color product!

ElizabethL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
4/9/2015

Customer review by Laura Grey

5.0 stars 4/9/2015 by Laura Grey
by Laura Grey

It seems like you've discontinued this color? I'm heartbroken. I once got a fairly expensive haircut ($150) in Chicago, where the colorist asked me where I had gotten my hair colored. I thought he was going to chastise me, and I told him I did it myself with this exact shade, and he told me that he could have only done a tiny bit better for a ton of money, so I should always do it myself. Also the shade is perfect for me because it is essentially my early childhood hair color, and so only a shade or two off of my natural shade. I can't find it anywhere any more. So sad! Please tell me if the same shade can be found repackaged elsewhere.

Laura Grey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1/21/2014

Customer review by Eden Gifford

5.0 stars 1/21/2014 by Eden Gifford
by Eden Gifford

I have been using Couleur Experte for years and couldn't be happier with both the color results and the ease of use. No one believes that I'm actually completely grey under there! My hair smells nice when I'm done (a huge improvement over previous color products) and feels soft. I actually continue to use the conditioner periodically between colorings as it leaves my hair feeling so silky! I feel I could never go back to a plain, flat color again, but I'm a little worried because this product appears to be getting scarce. Target has been reliable for about 8 years, and suddenly, it's gone! Please L'Oreal, do not discontinue this product! There's really nothing else like it out there, and for those of us over 40, who not only want to successfully cover grey but also have some depth of color, you're our only hope! Anyone reading this to decide whether you want to try this product: try it! You won't be disappointed. The highlights are so natural, and you can experiment with different ways of doing them to find what works best for you. The best part is, even when I have 'messed up,' gotten a glob of highlighter somewhere and didn't notice, the end results blend fine and are not noticeable at all. So there is really no down side.

Eden Gifford
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
6/26/2015

Customer review by MMoore

5.0 stars 6/26/2015 by MMoore
by MMoore

This is getting harder and harder to find, I hope to the heavens you don't discontinue I love this coloring and sing its praises always!

MMoore
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
11/21/2013

Customer review by Trash2treasure

5.0 stars 11/21/2013 by Trash2treasure
by Trash2treasure

I have used this many times and really love it! Every time I use it people have asked me the name of my hairdresser so they can get their hair colored by "her." They can't believe I do it myself! The color and highlights always complement each other unlike some "professional" jobs I have seen. Although the package doesn't say to do this, I have had great results using aluminum foil with some of my highlights. I start with the pieces that I want most lightened and place the pieces on a square of foil and use the spatula and coat with the highlight paste. Then I wrap and squeeze the foiled pieces shut. Then I use the brush wand and brush the paste on individual strands all over throughout my hair. The result is multi-tonal.

Trash2treasure
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
2/24/2014

Customer review by Nina Galen

1.0 stars 2/24/2014 by Nina Galen
by Nina Galen

I had a terrible experience with 8.2 Iced Meringue. I had a medium, golden blonde with paler blond ends to begin with and wanted to unify the two colors with a new base color, then add highlights. The box is NOT KIDDING when it describes this as a cooler base color. But in NO WAY does it come out as a medium blonde. My result turned out an extremely UGLY ASH BROWN, best described as the dreaded MOUSEY BROWN and veering towards GRAY in the regions where my former pale blond highlights were. One would have to put in many, many all over highlights to redeem this color. It completely aged my look and is just a dreadful color. Don't be fooled by the cool blonde on the box. THIS IS THE MOST UNFLATTERING COLOR EVER!!

Nina Galen
Would recommend to a friend? No
6/8/2014

Customer review by Meamsie

4.0 stars 6/8/2014 by Meamsie
by Meamsie

This is a follow-up to my one-star review of Mousse Absolue. L'Oreal contacted me regarding that review, and issued a refund. I used the refund to purchase CouleurExperte Express in Ginger Twist. This product is wonderful! The color was fairly true to the pictures, although I think more of the highlighting was used than I did. It covered all of my grey, gave my hair lots of shimmer and body, and looks very natural. I would have rated this five stars, but the brush/wand that was included bent too easily. There was another implement to use for highlighting, however I found it easier to simply dip my gloved finger in highlighter and apply. Thanks L'Oreal....my faith in your company has been restored! :)

Meamsie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
7/14/2014

Customer review by Carmel Glaze

5.0 stars 7/14/2014 by Carmel Glaze
by Carmel Glaze

Had to find a cheaper alternative to my salon. THIS IS IT! I've been using Couleur Experte for about four years. Still go to the salon for cuts and everyone compliments me on how pretty the color is. The instructions are clear and the times are accurate. Very easy to use the product. Please, please, please never stop making this kit!! I was a little disappointed when i could no longer find the warm colors but the 5.0 is very nice too. i highly recommend this product. It does what it says, covers subborn gray hair and the highlights help hide the new growth even on brown hair. Kuddos to L'Oreal for putting such a beautiful product with complimentary colors and highlights in one kit on the market!

Carmel Glaze
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1/19/2014

Customer review by karen mulhern

5.0 stars 1/19/2014 by karen mulhern
by karen mulhern

Why is it getting hard to find Couleur Experte?! I started using this hair dye wayyyyyy back when it first came out (at least 10-12 yrs ago?) and for awhile I got away from it. Not liking my results using "Preference" recently, I decided to spend the extra money for Couleur Experte but guess what???? I had to drive all over town before I could find the 7.0 shade I'd used in the past Finally I tracked down a battered box shoved to the back at a CVS somewhat off the beaten track. What gives??? Is this being discontinued? If so, I HOPE you will make a similar dye/highlight combo kit! Everyone always raves about my haircolor when I use it (even the hairdresser!) and I'd hate to go back to looking ugly!

karen mulhern
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
8/13/2013

Customer review by Gingy

4.0 stars 8/13/2013 by Gingy
by Gingy

I Liked how easy it was to apply the all over base color but when it came to doing my highlights; I had a hard time trying to figure out what highlighted look would best suit me and my features....although the instructions were quite clear that came in the box. I have natural red hair and I used kit 6.4 to brighten my natural color. I searched all over this website to seek advice on different ways to highlight my hair and couldn't find much help. I wish a how-to section on highlighting to create different looks could be added somehow. Over all I'm pretty pleased with this product but not so much what the 'Tools & Consultations' link on this site has to offer.

Gingy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
3/3/2015

Customer review by Allie28

5.0 stars 3/3/2015 by Allie28
by Allie28

This is the best hair color EVER! I have used this product now for 4 - 5 years. I am 65 and get so many complements on my hair color, even from hairdressers who are cutting my hair. I have gone to so many hairdressers who had my hair in the most terrible colors. One had me looking like a yellow canary. The Loreal Couleur Experte looks so natural and pretty! I absolutely love it! In my opinion this is the best hair color product that Loreal makes!

Allie28
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
2/11/2013

Customer review by Nanrobb

5.0 stars 2/11/2013 by Nanrobb
by Nanrobb

I was worried about coloring and highlighting my own hair but once my hair stylist raised her prices over what I can afford, I decided to try it. I did some research and looked over the website and thought it wouldn't be as hard as I thought. So, I bought this product and did exactly what the directions said. Well, I was shocked at how easy it was. I chose to use the brush included in the kit as the finger tip kept falling off. My hair looks FANTASTIC!! I loved the base color and when I added the highlights it looked even better. My hair is soft and shiny. It looks like I have been on a sunny vacation. Easy and beautiful. I couldn't be happier!!!

Nanrobb
Would recommend to a friend? No
7/20/2014

Customer review by Diane Napolitano

5.0 stars 7/20/2014 by Diane Napolitano
by Diane Napolitano

This is an easy to use and professional looking hair color. I've used L'Oreal Paris Couleur Experte Express for years now and go between three different shades to mix it up a little. I've spent MUCH more money at the hairdressers who have absolutely ruined the hair color results. Ever since then, I've been using this L'Oreal product and get compliments all of the time on my hair color, even from hair dressers when they cut my hair. This product makes it affordable especially as a single person on a budget. My only fear is that this product/color will be discontinued. I LOVE this color, it's easy to use and affordable.

Diane Napolitano
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 299 total reviews
1-20 of 299 reviews