Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 11 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

11 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

11 reviews | 3 out of 5

45%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
5
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 stars
4
1-11 of 11 total reviews
45%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Delicious, Not Salty, Excellent Value
11/18/2011

Customer review by JParis

5.0 stars 11/18/2011 by JParis
by JParis

We had this ham over the weekend with turkey, dressing, greens, etc. I have had so many compliments on this ham. I used the barely remaining pieces in beans this week. Can't say enough good things about the ham. Good value for the price. Thank you Wal*Mart for having this conveniently available.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JParis
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Delicious and Moist!
12/27/2012

Customer review by carol601

5.0 stars 12/27/2012 by carol601
by carol601

I will admit, I was a bit worried about how this ham would taste after I purchased it at my local Walmart. It was intended for Christmas Day dinner and I was having guests, so of course, I wanted everything to be the best, and since this ham isn't a "big name" brand, I wondered if maybe I should have spent the extra money to get another brand instead. Last Christmas, I purchased a Smithfield spiral sliced ham, paid twice what I paid for this SC ham, and it dried out a bit when I tried to reheat it (even though I did not keep it in the oven for as long as was directed and had the oven only on 325 degrees). This SC ham? I lined a roaster in foil, poured the juice from the package into the pan and put the ham cut side down on top. Then I covered the ham in foil tightly and put it into a 325 oven for 25 minutes. THEN I turned the oven up to 350 for 15 more minutes. When I took that ham out and opened the foil, I was shocked at how MOIST it was! I did not use the enclosed glaze packet and this ham does not need it, it has a wonderful sweetness to it already and it was a HIT! A 10-lb ham and we were left with only enough to make ham sandwiches the next day (which is actually wonderful, ha ha). I would highly recommend this ham and while they're on sale, I'm going to grab another and pop it into the freezer for Easter dinner!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
carol601
Delaware
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Good Ham but no directions
4/24/2011

Customer review by ShopWithFist

5.0 stars 4/24/2011 by ShopWithFist
by ShopWithFist

It is a good thing that this was not my first ham. Even though the label says to lift for directions, there were none. They should really include them for first time ham cookers. Other than that, it was good.

Was this review helpful? (8) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShopWithFist
West Salem, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Best Ham I've ever made!
12/17/2013

Customer review by AndreaWV

5.0 stars 12/17/2013 by AndreaWV
by AndreaWV

My husband and I host a Christmas dinner with close friends and family each year and I prepare all of the food myself. I started purchasing the Sam's Choice Brown Sugar Glazed Hams two years ago, and it was a huge hit. Everyone loved it! The directions on the package where very simple to follow both for the ham and for the separate glaze. I've never had an issue with the ham becoming too dry even after reheating leftovers in the microwave. It's a great value and I wouldn't waste my time on any other brand. A big thanks to Walmart for providing this product at a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AndreaWV
Canvas, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Terrible Directions
10/24/2010

Customer review by hrad319

2.0 stars 10/24/2010 by hrad319
by hrad319

Ok I know how to read directions and on the glaze package that comes with the ham it says to glaze ham to remove from oven...Evenly apply glaze over the ham. Then under it has directions for stove top and microwave glaze. Again as an educated cook, I read thi to mean if you want the glaze on the ham just open and cover the ham, I thought the powdery glaze would mealt with the heat from the oven and if you did not want the glaze on the ham but on the side you used he stove top or microwave directions. Wow was I wrong and now I had a terrible powder covered ham. I am so disapointed in the directions. Maybe they should write to prepare the glaze first!

Was this review helpful? (12) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hrad319
Tampa, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Slimy - Yuck!!
11/29/2013

Customer review by Spotsy4va

1.0 stars 11/29/2013 by Spotsy4va
by Spotsy4va

I read the reviews on this before taking to the in-laws for Thanksgiving. Most of them were positive, so I figured I had a good chance at success. Wish I had bought a different brand. While this was very moist & flavor was ok, it was extremely slimy! The spiral cut was not all the way through & stopped about 4 inches from the end, so about 2/3 was cut. I followed the directions both on the package & with reviewers tips. VERY DISAPPOINTING!! I will NEVER buy this brand again. It would have been worth the extra money to get a more well known name.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Spotsy4va
Spotsylvania, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Do not buy!!!
4/15/2014

Customer review by NADJE

1.0 stars 4/15/2014 by NADJE
by NADJE

I bought this ham for a brunch I was having and I was so embarrassed I kept apologizing to my guests for the fatty terrible ham.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NADJE
Would recommend to a friend? No
Horrible cooking instructions
4/24/2011

Customer review by djomom

2.0 stars 4/24/2011 by djomom
by djomom

The label instructs you to pull the top left corner to reveal the cooking instructions.....mine was stuck tight on the foiled part so it was impossible to peel the part with the instructions on it. Why would you post the picture of the label on your site and then blow up the label WITHOUT printing the cooking instructions.........hope it tastes good -- tried to make an educated guess of how to prepare it.....as there were no instructions for the half ham size on your website

Was this review helpful? (6) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
djomom
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Lean, flavorful, firm, moist, deliscious ham!
4/23/2014

Customer review by webfootedshopper

5.0 stars 4/23/2014 by webfootedshopper
by webfootedshopper

Delighted with this ham for Easter dinner with my wife's family, and so were they. Got a 13 pounder for about $25 and it was great. Very little fat, firm, moist, flavorful and good directions. Directions are on the back of the label and more on the attached pouch of extra glaze. I earned my way through college cooking at Stouffer's Top of the Hub restaurant in Boston so I know something about meat and cooking. This ham was good right down to the bone which I'm using this morning for homemade ham bone soup. I would buy it again and recommend it highly. It is a good value just as it is, but especially so when compared to the fancier brand names in the supermarkets or the Honey Baked Ham stores. Why pay more when you can get great tasting quality ham for less than half the price? Try it, you'll like it!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
webfootedshopper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Full of fat and Gristle
2/16/2014

Customer review by Fish15690

1.0 stars 2/16/2014 by Fish15690
by Fish15690

This is the worse spiral ham I have ever had. Had guests over very embarrassing to serve. Do not buy

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fish15690
Vandergrift PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Terrible ham
3/31/2013

Customer review by Iahawkeyefan85

1.0 stars 3/31/2013 by Iahawkeyefan85
by Iahawkeyefan85

This is the worst ham I have ever had. Most of the ham was fat I would never buy this brand ham again.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Iahawkeyefan85
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never