Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 93 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

93 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

93 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
60
4 stars
20
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 stars
6
1-20 of 91 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 91 total reviews
1-20 of 91 reviews
Delicious
5/6/2014

Customer review by Tallulah77

5.0 stars 5/6/2014 by Tallulah77
by Tallulah77
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This cheese is a nice surprise. It is every bit as good as Velveeta, and a lot easier on the pocketbook. Here in Va. depending on the store, Velveeta costs anywhere from six to eight ninety eight. Which is insane. This cheese is a wonderful alternative. It tastes and acts like the name brand, and is much more affordable. We love it for grilled ham and cheese sandwiches, melted on a hamburger, melted on vegetables. We especially love it melted with potatoes. You can also melt it with a can of Rotel's spicy peppers and tomatoes, or salsa, for a wonderful dip with nacho chips. My husband and kids inhale that stuff. Whenever I go to the store, I buy a box of this. I always have one in the pantry and one in the fridge, because I don't ever want to be without it. You can also melt this with milk and butter to make your own CheezWhiz. The possibilities are endless and so are the bargains. Do yourself a favor, buy this, and save some money. You will love this.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tallulah77
Suburban D.C.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
better then velvetta
12/9/2012

Customer review by nama9012

5.0 stars 12/9/2012 by nama9012
by nama9012

Im not a huge fan of vevetta cheese but i really like block cheese like that becuase it mets nicer than pre packaged slices do. I either get this or smooth and cheesy from hyvee, either one has a good wholesome cheese taste and it melts easily in dishes. my mom personally likes to melt it by itself and add some salsa to make her own cheese dip but me i could just cut a slice off and eat it plain, its that good. The price is reasonal because its not quite as much as velvetta but is basically the same thing, i just prefer this taste better, it seems more cheesy. Its good on spaghetti, and tator tot hotdish, its great for making homemade cheesy noodles and really good in chilli. So many options. if you can't get our kids to eat their brocolli or califlower, try melting a few slices of this in there and then giving it to them. They get all the same nutrients just have a better flacor.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nama9012
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good on the palate and great for the food budget!
8/22/2011

Customer review by Pinky212

5.0 stars 8/22/2011 by Pinky212
by Pinky212

I use this cheese to add cheesyness to boxed mac and cheese, and when I make mac and cheese from scratch. It melts wonderfully for grilled cheese sandwiches, too. I'll melt it over brocolli, cauliflower, and baked potatoes, too. It's also great melted over a hot dog in a bun or slice of ham in a sandwich. There's no need to buy Velveeta when this product is just as good -- if not better -- and saves you money, too. I have to agree with topdogsq that the packaging could be more eye catching, but hey! It goes along with the WalMart way of providing great value without the frills for the consumer to pay for, too. If we wanted to waste money on frills, we'd go to Byerlys, Lunds, and Macys!

Was this review helpful? (30) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pinky212
Midwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Not consistent!
11/13/2014

Customer review by groverox

3.0 stars 11/13/2014 by groverox
by groverox

I bought this mainly for making cheese dips - I have always loved adding chili or salsa to Velveeta! Bought this for the first time recently and probably won't buy it again. Actually used some in a casserole recipe first, and it was fine... would never have guessed it wasn't Velveeta! But then I used it to make salsa/cheese dip and was SO disappointed! I microwaved it for about 30 seconds, stirred it, then did another 30 seconds or so. Was almost but not quite completely melted, but seemed fine. So I popped it in for another 10 seconds, and I don't know what happened but it separated or something, and came out looking curdled and lumpy! It tasted fine, but the texture was awful. Thought maybe I had just overcooked it, so gave it another try again today, heating it for a shorter amount of time, and got the same result. I won't use it again for dips but seems to be fine for cooking. Will try in grilled cheese also, and just hope it doesn't break down again! Will probably not buy it again, which is sad because the price is great.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
groverox
Would recommend to a friend? No
Wow!
12/23/2008

Customer review by topdogsq

5.0 stars 12/23/2008 by topdogsq
by topdogsq
Walmart associate

I did not think it would be possible to beat Velveeta; the venerable ingredient that I have eaten for 50 years. But the folks at Walmart and Great Value have pulled it off. The packaging is terrible and would likely scare most people away from trying the product which is too bad because they should.

Was this review helpful? (33) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
topdogsq
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Walmart associate
As good as Velveeta
12/15/2016

Customer review by Vr4733

5.0 stars 12/15/2016 by Vr4733
by Vr4733
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is as good as Velveeta. It melts perfectly and tastes great.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Vr4733
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Like this more than Velveeta
1/8/2017

Customer review by Momoftwins

5.0 stars 1/8/2017 by Momoftwins
by Momoftwins
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Tried the store brand since it was more than a dollar cheaper than the national brand. I used it for a dip for a party and everyone raved about how good it was even my husband said it tasted better than the national brand.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Momoftwins
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Better than Velveeta
12/7/2016

Customer review by Heather

5.0 stars 12/7/2016 by Heather
by Heather
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Melt 'n dip is so soft and smooth, spreads on crackers, melts smoother and faster than Velveeta. My family loves this processed cheese. I bought it because I was trying to save money on every item I purchased that day...I will continue to purchase this Great Value brand item, I honestly like it better.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Heather
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
delicious
11/26/2013

Customer review by mommatocharlie

5.0 stars 11/26/2013 by mommatocharlie
by mommatocharlie

I will never buy Velveeta again. This product is so much better tasting, and melts so nicely for mac and cheese. I just bought it today, but I'm afraid I'll need to replenish my stores soon, it is that good. BUY IT!

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mommatocharlie
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
as good as others
1/29/2009

Customer review by cheaphunts

4.0 stars 1/29/2009 by cheaphunts
by cheaphunts

near me this is about 25-33% cheaper than Velveta, and tastes the same... just a plain slightly cheddarly, processed taste... not great on its own, but great in dips, soups, grilled cheese, etc.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cheaphunts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My tummy requires delicious Cauliflower & Cheese!
7/23/2012

Customer review by bayshopper

5.0 stars 7/23/2012 by bayshopper
by bayshopper

No, I don't want chocolate! & I don't want toffee or cream? ... MY tastebuds desire farm-fresh healthy Cauliflower & Cheese! And NOT just a little bit! (uh-uh?) Geez, and I don't want some tiny frozen block that get's zapped in the microwave? Great Value Easy Melt Cheese does the trick! You simply cannot taste the difference, once it melts into cauliflower! (delicious! - every time!) NOW, I can enjoy my UN-naughty Treat, *anytime! (munch-out!) for a fraction of the cost of American or Cheddar! What's not to LOVE! Hey - it's a no brainer! (yummy!)

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bayshopper
Mt. Shasta, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Start selling it again
1/19/2017

Customer review by westexaslawnman

5.0 stars 1/19/2017 by westexaslawnman
by westexaslawnman
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It is good cheese but last I checked you couldn't buy it online

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
westexaslawnman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It's okay!
1/12/2017

Customer review by mywalmartnc

3.0 stars 1/12/2017 by mywalmartnc
by mywalmartnc
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This brand is not bad, not as good as the real stuff but it will do the job! We use it as a dip with Tortilla chips, we add a can of chili no bean, it's delicious!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mywalmartnc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good cheese
5/28/2014

Customer review by classic1500

5.0 stars 5/28/2014 by classic1500
by classic1500
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This cheese is almost identical in taste to the more expensive Velveeta, at considerably less price. Melts easy.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
classic1500
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Surprisingly good, even if not melted
8/30/2014

Customer review by brainout

5.0 stars 8/30/2014 by brainout
by brainout
Top 500 contributor

Tastes just like American pasteurized cheese, and melts well with no separation. Take the brick, put it in the freezer for about 30 minutes, then slice it all up, putting individual slices into foldtop bags, keep in the freezer, remove as needed. Else, it's too soft at room temperature, to easily work with. It won't freeze fully, but the slices won't mold, either. I'm not sure you could shred it straight from the freezer, but it should break up decently, for 'scattering' prior to melting in the microwave (1 minute, perhaps 2 if frozen). Cheese can be refrozen without appreciable loss of taste, especially if you normally use it melted.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
brainout
TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Top 500 contributor
great for cheese dip
9/9/2013

Customer review by jamsman

5.0 stars 9/9/2013 by jamsman
by jamsman
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

if you like velveeta this is the same only half the price, it great melting cheese to add to what ever you make

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jamsman
Dunn.NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Compare to Velveeta
9/22/2014

Customer review by Bestdeal2014

5.0 stars 9/22/2014 by Bestdeal2014
by Bestdeal2014
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have made cheese dip for over 40 years, using the Velveeta brand of cheese, some milk, and a can of Rotel diced tomatoes. Recently, I have had to pinch pennies, and to save gas money (15 miles to nearest store), I tried the Site to Home with free shipping over $50.00. Along with other groceries I purchased the Great Value Melt n' Dip, and the Great Value diced tomatoes. All of my ordered items were delivered by Fed Ex in two days, and everything was perfect. I made my cheese dip as usual, and I have to tell you, the texture, and consistency of the cheese was exactly the same as the Velveeta brand, and my family thoroughly enjoyed chips and dip while watching Sunday football.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bestdeal2014
Chappell Hill, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just as good as that "V" brand
4/29/2013

Customer review by 3timesoccermom

5.0 stars 4/29/2013 by 3timesoccermom
by 3timesoccermom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor

Tastes good, does well in cooking, the price is right, what more could you want?

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
3timesoccermom
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor
EEEEWWWW!
11/24/2014

Customer review by MoseyOnHome

1.0 stars 11/24/2014 by MoseyOnHome
by MoseyOnHome

I've used this 'cheese' before, and its been ok, but the box I bought last week... OMG!!! That was the nastiest stuff I have ever tasted! Wouldn't melt either. Had the consistency of toothpaste. Don't know if they changed the formula or I got a bad batch, but I will NEVER EVER use this again.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MoseyOnHome
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent sub for the name brand
8/31/2013

Customer review by CNPS

4.0 stars 8/31/2013 by CNPS
by CNPS
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor

I enjoy this cheese and have worked into every recipe. It does seem a bit softer than the name brand, so setting out cheese cubes makes it a touch harder to work with ( thus 4 stars). However, flavor and use in recipes are great.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CNPS
San Jose Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor
1-20 of 91 total reviews
1-20 of 91 reviews