Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.3out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 | 94 reviews
5 stars
61
4 stars
20
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 stars
6
Sort by: 
1-20 of 92 reviews
1-20 of 92 reviews
Delicious
5/6/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This cheese is a nice surprise. It is every bit as good as Velveeta, and a lot easier on the pocketbook. Here in Va. depending on the store, Velveeta costs anywhere from six to eight ninety eight. Which is insane. This cheese is a wonderful alternative. It tastes and acts like the name brand, and is much more affordable. We love it for grilled ham and cheese sandwiches, melted on a hamburger, melted on vegetables. We especially love it melted with potatoes. You can also melt it with a can of Rotel's spicy peppers and tomatoes, or salsa, for a wonderful dip with nacho chips. My husband and kids inhale that stuff. Whenever I go to the store, I buy a box of this. I always have one in the pantry and one in the fridge, because I don't ever want to be without it. You can also melt this with milk and butter to make your own CheezWhiz. The possibilities are endless and so are the bargains. Do yourself a favor, buy this, and save some money. You will love this.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (26)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
better then velvetta
12/9/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Im not a huge fan of vevetta cheese but i really like block cheese like that becuase it mets nicer than pre packaged slices do. I either get this or smooth and cheesy from hyvee, either one has a good wholesome cheese taste and it melts easily in dishes. my mom personally likes to melt it by itself and add some salsa to make her own cheese dip but me i could just cut a slice off and eat it plain, its that good. The price is reasonal because its not quite as much as velvetta but is basically the same thing, i just prefer this taste better, it seems more cheesy. Its good on spaghetti, and tator tot hotdish, its great for making homemade cheesy noodles and really good in chilli. So many options. if you can't get our kids to eat their brocolli or califlower, try melting a few slices of this in there and then giving it to them. They get all the same nutrients just have a better flacor.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good on the palate and great for the food budget!
8/22/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I use this cheese to add cheesyness to boxed mac and cheese, and when I make mac and cheese from scratch. It melts wonderfully for grilled cheese sandwiches, too. I'll melt it over brocolli, cauliflower, and baked potatoes, too. It's also great melted over a hot dog in a bun or slice of ham in a sandwich. There's no need to buy Velveeta when this product is just as good -- if not better -- and saves you money, too. I have to agree with topdogsq that the packaging could be more eye catching, but hey! It goes along with the WalMart way of providing great value without the frills for the consumer to pay for, too. If we wanted to waste money on frills, we'd go to Byerlys, Lunds, and Macys!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (37)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Wow!
12/23/2008
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Walmart associate
I did not think it would be possible to beat Velveeta; the venerable ingredient that I have eaten for 50 years. But the folks at Walmart and Great Value have pulled it off. The packaging is terrible and would likely scare most people away from trying the product which is too bad because they should.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (38)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not consistent!
11/13/2014
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this mainly for making cheese dips - I have always loved adding chili or salsa to Velveeta! Bought this for the first time recently and probably won't buy it again. Actually used some in a casserole recipe first, and it was fine... would never have guessed it wasn't Velveeta! But then I used it to make salsa/cheese dip and was SO disappointed! I microwaved it for about 30 seconds, stirred it, then did another 30 seconds or so. Was almost but not quite completely melted, but seemed fine. So I popped it in for another 10 seconds, and I don't know what happened but it separated or something, and came out looking curdled and lumpy! It tasted fine, but the texture was awful. Thought maybe I had just overcooked it, so gave it another try again today, heating it for a shorter amount of time, and got the same result. I won't use it again for dips but seems to be fine for cooking. Will try in grilled cheese also, and just hope it doesn't break down again! Will probably not buy it again, which is sad because the price is great.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Budget Velveeta
9/6/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Need easy to melt cheese, want Velveeta for less money? Here is your solution.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
delicious
11/26/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I will never buy Velveeta again. This product is so much better tasting, and melts so nicely for mac and cheese. I just bought it today, but I'm afraid I'll need to replenish my stores soon, it is that good. BUY IT!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
as good as others
1/29/2009
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
near me this is about 25-33% cheaper than Velveta, and tastes the same... just a plain slightly cheddarly, processed taste... not great on its own, but great in dips, soups, grilled cheese, etc.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
My tummy requires delicious Cauliflower & Cheese!
7/23/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
No, I don't want chocolate! & I don't want toffee or cream? ... MY tastebuds desire farm-fresh healthy Cauliflower & Cheese! And NOT just a little bit! (uh-uh?) Geez, and I don't want some tiny frozen block that get's zapped in the microwave? Great Value Easy Melt Cheese does the trick! You simply cannot taste the difference, once it melts into cauliflower! (delicious! - every time!) NOW, I can enjoy my UN-naughty Treat, *anytime! (munch-out!) for a fraction of the cost of American or Cheddar! What's not to LOVE! Hey - it's a no brainer! (yummy!)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (23)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Compare to Velveeta
9/22/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I have made cheese dip for over 40 years, using the Velveeta brand of cheese, some milk, and a can of Rotel diced tomatoes. Recently, I have had to pinch pennies, and to save gas money (15 miles to nearest store), I tried the Site to Home with free shipping over $50.00. Along with other groceries I purchased the Great Value Melt n' Dip, and the Great Value diced tomatoes. All of my ordered items were delivered by Fed Ex in two days, and everything was perfect. I made my cheese dip as usual, and I have to tell you, the texture, and consistency of the cheese was exactly the same as the Velveeta brand, and my family thoroughly enjoyed chips and dip while watching Sunday football.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Surprisingly good, even if not melted
8/30/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Top 500 contributer
Tastes just like American pasteurized cheese, and melts well with no separation. Take the brick, put it in the freezer for about 30 minutes, then slice it all up, putting individual slices into foldtop bags, keep in the freezer, remove as needed. Else, it's too soft at room temperature, to easily work with. It won't freeze fully, but the slices won't mold, either. I'm not sure you could shred it straight from the freezer, but it should break up decently, for 'scattering' prior to melting in the microwave (1 minute, perhaps 2 if frozen). Cheese can be refrozen without appreciable loss of taste, especially if you normally use it melted.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good cheese
5/28/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This cheese is almost identical in taste to the more expensive Velveeta, at considerably less price. Melts easy.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Just as good as that "V" brand
4/29/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
 Top 1000 contributer
Tastes good, does well in cooking, the price is right, what more could you want?
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great for cheese dip
9/9/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
if you like velveeta this is the same only half the price, it great melting cheese to add to what ever you make
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent sub for the name brand
8/31/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
 Top 1000 contributer
I enjoy this cheese and have worked into every recipe. It does seem a bit softer than the name brand, so setting out cheese cubes makes it a touch harder to work with ( thus 4 stars). However, flavor and use in recipes are great.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Better than Velveeta - but not as good as Pace
11/6/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Top 1000 contributer
It's hard to argue with that price when the product really does taste better than Velveeta (something that is not difficult to do in my opinion). However: it's only a little better than Velveeta - still something that I would *not* recommend for dishes like macaroni and cheese, dishes in which real cheese tastes SO much better. It's fine for cheap-and-quick chip dips (try mixing with Pace hot picante sauce and microwaving - mmmm). I like the flavor of Pace Cheesy Melt (another brick-like cheese substitute) better than this item, so on the VERY rare occasions that I purchase such an item, I will look for Pace before looking for Great Value.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Better than Velveeta
12/7/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Melt 'n dip is so soft and smooth, spreads on crackers, melts smoother and faster than Velveeta. My family loves this processed cheese. I bought it because I was trying to save money on every item I purchased that day...I will continue to purchase this Great Value brand item, I honestly like it better.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Like this more than Velveeta
1/8/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Tried the store brand since it was more than a dollar cheaper than the national brand. I used it for a dip for a party and everyone raved about how good it was even my husband said it tasted better than the national brand.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Cheese Product
10/11/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have ordered this several times and like this as well as name brand. I do prefer this regular fat better compared to the reduced fat. I have used for dips, etc. and all came out great.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great value great taste.
6/20/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Very similar to major brand version. I was hoping for this and am glad it met my expectations.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643931, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-