Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 26 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

26 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

26 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
21
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-20 of 25 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 25 total reviews
1-20 of 25 reviews
awesoooome!
6/28/2011

Customer review by xtine234

5.0 stars 6/28/2011 by xtine234
by xtine234

Most of my life I've had darker hair. I had been bored with it for awhile so I decided that I needed a change. I called around salons and the prices for some little highlights they gave me was so unbelievable, so i decided to take a chance and do it on my own. I was SO nervous but it look absolutely great. I love it. I've gotten many many compliments, and everyone says it looks professionally done. I would recommend this to anyone and everyone wanting highlights, just get a buddy to help you get that hair on the back of your head pulled through that cap. ;)

Was this review helpful? (53) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
xtine234
Panama City, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
easy, inexpensive highlights
10/30/2011

Customer review by GeezAllTheGoodNamesRTaken

5.0 stars 10/30/2011 by GeezAllTheGoodNamesRTaken
by GeezAllTheGoodNamesRTaken

This kit is amazing. It was so easy and looks great, looks professionally done. I agree that you need a little help with the back, I did it myseld and it took a long while with no help to get hair pulled through all the holes. There was no leak through on the cap at all, the bleach mixture was very thick and easy to spread (I did with fingers instead of the spatula so I wouldn't push the bleach through the holes in the cap and onto my scalp). I actually used this on color treated hair, my hair is a darker brown and I use a high lift brown to make my hair a light brown shade, and these highlights look amazing. I used the full hour development time to eliminate any brassy tones. It also helps to really blend in and hide any grays.

Was this review helpful? (38) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GeezAllTheGoodNamesRTaken
Midland, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great highlighting kit for beginners!
6/21/2013

Customer review by norahhxx

4.0 stars 6/21/2013 by norahhxx
by norahhxx

I bought this highlighting kit two weeks ago, i had previous highlights in my hair that were starting to look horrid and began growing out. I picked it up on a whim, and im so glad i did! It is true that pulling hair through the cap will take HOURS. It took me 4 hours all together to finish. I thought that it was easy at first but the back took me an hr and a half alone. I had my brother help me and point out sections I missed. After that i just mixed the powder and liquid together and applied it generously on my head, making sure i put more on my ends since they were darker. I kept it on for a little over an hour since my hair is dark and has red tones in it. I got in the shower and washed the product out then slid the cap off. When it dried i couldnt help but stare at my hair. It came out REALLY good. This is definitely something to use for beginners. I did thinner highlights using the side labeled "A" on the little tool in the package. The only downfall was how long it took, and that some parts did come out a little more blonde than others but it may be because my hair was already highlighted. I would definitely buy this again!

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
norahhxx
San jose, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Love It
4/7/2012

Customer review by Trouble41267

5.0 stars 4/7/2012 by Trouble41267
by Trouble41267

I've been steaking my hair for the last 12 years. My mom does my hair and this is the kit that she always uses. My natural color is dark brown and when I leave it on for 60 min it comes out bleach blonde. After it's streaked we always use whatever blonde hair dye I buy, so I get the shade that I want. While I was in college I had my hair streaked a few times at a salon but it didn't look as good as what it does when my mom does it. Not to mention the price is a lot cheaper. I would recommend this product to anyone that wanted streaked hair.

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Trouble41267
Warfield, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Top 500 contributor
USING THIS PRODUCT FOR YEARS
12/11/2013

Customer review by shopping2013

5.0 stars 12/11/2013 by shopping2013
by shopping2013

This is an excellent hair product but the results are not guaranteed because each time you use it, the lightness in hi-lights varys. This is because of the timing factor. Sometimes I have used it for 25 minutes and barely see the hi-lights and other times you will find that some parts of your hair appear much lighter. In any event, practice makes perfect. Hair salons have resulted in my hi-lights being way too blond for me and by using this hair product, I can control the level of brightness. Also, depending on whether or not your hair is a much darker color, your hi-lights will vary. But, in most cases, read the instructions carefully to determine just how light you prefer your hi-lights to be, and you should be very happy with the end results. There is no other product out there, for this price, that will give you these types of professional grade hi-lights. I have found the hair products that allow you to simply brush on your hi-lights, end up with brassy looking hi-lights and not blondish.

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shopping2013
Springfield VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very time consuming, but better than the salon!
6/27/2012

Customer review by Jess8484

4.0 stars 6/27/2012 by Jess8484
by Jess8484

This product is well worth the price, but it is VERY time consuming to pull hair through the cap. I would definitely recommend having a friend nearby to help you pull strands through the back. Took me about two hours to get all hair pulled through (not including dye process). I left color on for about 35 minutes because my hair "pulls" color easily. Some pieces pulled a very nice, light blonde, while others pulled a more brassy tone. This may have been my fault though, I have very long hair and almost ran out of dye so it is possible that some strands were more thoroughly soaked than others. Overall, I would definitely recommend this product as long as you have someone to help- its well worth the saved money from skipping the salon, and other than the few pieces that turned out brassy, it turned out just as well!

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jess8484
Columbia, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Big bang for a few bucks
1/29/2013

Customer review by fangirl1

5.0 stars 1/29/2013 by fangirl1
by fangirl1

After reading dozens of reviews I decided on this kit to help blend the grey into my very dark brown hair. I suppose you could do this by yourself, but I would suggest another set of hands. I punched the holes in the cap ahead of time. It was easy to pull the hair through the cap and easy to apply the mixture. Here's a trick for getting the cap off without a tangled mess. Rinse your hair in the shower and before taking the cap off work a dollop of conditioner through your hair. Rinse again and the cap will slip right off, no problems. The grey in my hair REALLY picked up the blonde. the rest of the highlights were a lovely golden caramel color. I had my hair cut the next day and the girl commented on how pretty they were. So, overall a wonderful experience and I've already picked up another one so that I can do the holes I didn't do this time.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fangirl1
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I was amazed!
4/5/2014

Customer review by jaguarteacher

5.0 stars 4/5/2014 by jaguarteacher
by jaguarteacher

Growing up I had natural dirty blonde hair, but as I got older it turned darker and darker. So for the past 6 years or so, I have always gotten my hair highlighted at a salon. Recently I decided I wanted a change so I asked my stylist for a natural ombre style. Well what I ended up with is very dark brown hair on top and my blonde hair at the ends. It was pretty bad. I went home and realized what I wanted was balayage ombre. After doing some research (youtube) I decided to buy this kit. I did not use the cap but instead applied with my hands making sure I blended between my darker roots and blonde ends. It turned out soo good! Nobody believes it came from a box! I was planning on buy a toning shampoo, but not needed because there is no brassiness probably because I left in on for about 40 min.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jaguarteacher
Clovis, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
11/15/2012

Customer review by chall2130

5.0 stars 11/15/2012 by chall2130
by chall2130

I have brown hair with different shades and wanted some highlights and when I tried this my hair turned out AMAZING! It turned out great on me and i would prefer this over going to a salon, It's great quality and way cheaper!! Will definitely do it again!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chall2130
Reading, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Really easy & WORTH it!
4/10/2013

Customer review by Shoppermommy1001

5.0 stars 4/10/2013 by Shoppermommy1001
by Shoppermommy1001

I am completely unskilled at doing my own hair but local prices are over $130 for highlights. I was really nervous but the instructions were easy and the cap made it simple. I only took very small segments through the holes and my hair looks really natural & GREAT!!!!! Everyone thinks I went to the salon, I can't believe I did this myself... Hubby is happy, saved a lot of time & money.... My advice is to take your time with the cap, use small pieces, and don't leave the dye on for too long, maybe 7-10 minutes.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shoppermommy1001
santa Cruz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Looks natural
1/23/2014

Customer review by Stephrey

5.0 stars 1/23/2014 by Stephrey
by Stephrey

Love it, even used it on my already blonde hair.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stephrey
Nyack, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great results
11/17/2012

Customer review by treasurevine

5.0 stars 11/17/2012 by treasurevine
by treasurevine

Value: for less than seven dollars, this kit gives me great highlights. Saves $60 and up compared to beauty salon highlights. The holes in the cap are darkly outlined, so it's easy to see them when pulling the hair through. I've used this product for ten years. Walmart always has the lowest price for this product.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
treasurevine
Okemos, Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/9/2013

Customer review by titan101

5.0 stars 8/9/2013 by titan101
by titan101

This product works great! May need a friend to pull the hair through the cap for you but the color was not brassy. A real pretty blonde on light brown hair. I will use again. And the price is great.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
titan101
Quad Cities, Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Longtime User
6/27/2014

Customer review by fyregirl1972

5.0 stars 6/27/2014 by fyregirl1972
by fyregirl1972

I have used this product for years and years. I used the cap ONCE! I have very dark brown, thick long and wavy hair. The reviews are not kidding when they say that pulling hair through the cap TAKES HOURS!! I apply directly to hair and scalp with no problems. I DO ADVISE DOING AN ALLERGY TEST FIRST THOUGH!!! I love the results this product gives.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fyregirl1972
Lowell,MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
7/19/2013

Customer review by debi500

4.0 stars 7/19/2013 by debi500
by debi500

I used this product for the first time. I'm very pleased with the golden highlights.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
debi500
80014
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/4/2013

Customer review by Standbeside1

5.0 stars 9/4/2013 by Standbeside1
by Standbeside1

My favorite brand to high light my hair. Still use it today.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Standbeside1
Brier Creek
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Does great lightening darker hair
8/14/2014

Customer review by RVA86

5.0 stars 8/14/2014 by RVA86
by RVA86

I didnt realize what a great dye this was until i tried to ombre my hair with a different dye. This highlighting kit worked excellent for ombreing my hair. Its easy to use and really does a good job lightening darker hair (I have medium brown). The blonde looked natural and it was easy to do.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RVA86
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Try it, you will like it
3/31/2015

Customer review by Peconic

5.0 stars 3/31/2015 by Peconic
by Peconic

Very happy., You must be careful in pulling the hair through the holes in the cap, so there are no loops. I Recently colored my hair with the E-salon color, it was a little too dark, so I applied the frost and glow product. I feel it looks professional. If you are a little hesitant, go ahead and follow the instructions, just do the front if you are leary, I think you will be thrilled, like me, with the results.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Peconic
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1st Time Highlighter - Happy with my choice!
4/11/2015

Customer review by Aprilx0x

5.0 stars 4/11/2015 by Aprilx0x
by Aprilx0x

Okay so im kind of embarrased to say that this was the first time I have ever highlighted my hair. I have wanted to many many times... but I didnt. My mom gave me a gift card code for Walmart and told me I had to spend it on myself and no one else. Im a mother with 3 boys and a husband so I normally dont spend much to anything just for me. Mothers everywhere know this story lol. "Where do I even start?" What popped out at me is the packaging for this. I guess it was the Gold/Tan with the RED letters that just popped out at me. But this Highlighting kit popped out at me and I heard in my head... "BUY ME! BUY ME NOW!" No joke! :) I thought that I might have some difficulties once I went to use it on my hair but I didnt have the slightest problem! GO ME!!! The instructions were really straightforward and easy to understand. So... I get started with it and the whole process was a breeze!!! It was really easy to pull the strands of my hair through the holes in the cap. The tool thats included with the kit did very well holding my hair while I pulled it through. Everything was just simple and no-fuss. My hair turned out so amazing. I cant believe I waited so long to try a store bought kit like this one. I was very pleased with Revlon's Frost & Glow Honey Highlighting Kit. I loved the my whole experience with it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Aprilx0x
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
better than salon for dark hair!
7/15/2015

Customer review by kandidly

5.0 stars 7/15/2015 by kandidly
by kandidly

I used to pay a salon or many salons over the years to frost my hair which is naturally dark brown. sometimes it would be orange, yellow or something in between it was embarrassing and once in a while it would come out light yellow which was the best i thought it would do. I had to use a grey rinse to make it appear blond, then one day they came out with frost and glow for dark hair and i tried it, my mom pulled my hair thru the hat and applied it and we left it on the longest amount of time knowing how my hair always took the longest time possible and let me say it was beautiful! it looked a little yellow until we washed it out and it was perfect! a blond a real blond color from my dark brown hair! i have not used anything else since that day many years ago. my problem is now since my mom passed i can't do it myself and no salons will let me sign a waiver and let them just pull the hair thru. they won't do it. sigh! i did break down and try a salon again thinking in 15 yrs maybe they had discovered this magic but no they had not the best the salon could do was a dark yellow it seems to have gotten worse! anyway if you have hard to dye hair this is the product for you!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kandidly
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1-20 of 25 reviews