Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 154 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

154 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

154 reviews | 4 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
79
4 stars
33
3 stars
17
2 stars
6
1 stars
19
1-20 of 153 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 153 total reviews
1-20 of 153 reviews
Rotten Tomatoes
12/8/2015

Customer review by Andy

1.0 stars 12/8/2015 by Andy
by Andy

I have been buying these salads regularly for over a year, and I have been noticing a steep decline in the quality of the salads, specifically the tomatoes and the lettuce. The last 7 salads I have purchased over the past two months have all had atleast one rotten tomato. I have kept the salads refrigerated at temps colder than the store, and I am eating the salads at least 1-2 days BEFORE the expiration date (they usually don't have dates much further out than that). I have also noticed a lot more rotten lettuce, mainly under the dressing container. Quite frankly, for the price, the quality simply isn't there. I am about ready to stop buying these salads all together because it is obvious there is a severe lack of quality control. Needless to say, I am very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Andy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Poor Quality
8/26/2015

Customer review by KLHS

1.0 stars 8/26/2015 by KLHS
by KLHS

I used to purchase quite a few of these salads. Recently purchased this one. Purchased on 08/25/15. Best sold by date of 08/27/15. On 08/26/15 I decided to eat my salad. It was clearly within the time of expiration, and only purchased the day before. Upon opening my salad, it was clear it was going to be a disappointment. Walmart has cheeped out and now does not separate the the ham and cheese from the lettuce. This in turn makes for one heck of a soggy mess. I proceeded in plucking out the soggy mess. Was left with a sick feeling in my stomach that I would even consider eating the rest. They have also changed the way these salads are sealed. Anyone could pick up a corner of the lid and put whatever in it. Who knows some kid might put a bugger in it. Walmart bad call. Bad packaging and bad product.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KLHS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Definitely not what I was expecting!!
3/3/2015

Customer review by Steve

2.0 stars 3/3/2015 by Steve
by Steve

I stopped at Walmart today and purchased a marketside 15.5oz Chef Salad (Date Code 03/06) for lunch. This is the first time I purchased something like this from Walmart. The salad looked good in the packaging, however taste was a whole different matter. The salad was extremely bitter tasting as were the two small cherry size tomato's. I enjoy a good salad every once in a while, but this was by no means a good salad. It's possible that maybe I just a bad one, but based on this experience I can not recommend the Marketside Chef Salad to anyone and certainly won't buy another one.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Steve
Would recommend to a friend? No
Save your money and make your own
6/5/2016

Customer review by HappyMom

1.0 stars 6/5/2016 by HappyMom
by HappyMom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought three of these, all three were several days from the best by date on the lid. I got home and opened one up and all the vegetables were wilted and brown. The cheese was dried out . I opened a second one and it was the exact same thing. I did not even open the third. I will never buy them again.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HappyMom
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Quick Night
12/25/2008

Customer review by mommybusy

4.0 stars 12/25/2008 by mommybusy
by mommybusy
Top 100 contributor

When it comes to a quick night this is where we go. Me,my husband, my oldest daughter get one. The two youngest share a salad.

Was this review helpful? (14) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mommybusy
Utica, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Top 100 contributor
Good salad
12/14/2015

Customer review by 3olives

5.0 stars 12/14/2015 by 3olives
by 3olives

My kids loved this salad. I would like to be able to choose dressing flavor. Although I love chef salad, I do not like Ranch. I would rather have Italian. I know some salads are better with a specific type of dressing and I realize it is impossible to please everyone but on a salad such as the chef, choices in dressings would be nice.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
3olives
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Marketside Chef Salad
12/14/2016

Customer review by Janet

1.0 stars 12/14/2016 by Janet
by Janet

The quality was poor and we would not purchase another. The lettuce was old and sometimes black, the pieces were huge, the other foods, carrot slices, tiny bit of ham and turkey, very sparse. All in all, it was very disappointing.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Janet
Would recommend to a friend? No
salad was ok
2/22/2016

Customer review by ngla

4.0 stars 2/22/2016 by ngla
by ngla
Top 100 contributor

This salad was ok, not the best I have ever had........... but ok. It was pretty much mostly lettuce, but the tomatoes were fresh and not squishy. It was much better once I added a bit of my own cheese and ham. (My cats liked the ham that cameon the salad.) One good note-- it did not contain Bleu cheese........... which many people are allergic to - because of the blue mold contained in bleu cheese.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ngla
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Top 100 contributor
Easy lunch meal
11/1/2015

Customer review by SHELLY13045

4.0 stars 11/1/2015 by SHELLY13045
by SHELLY13045

I like to take salad to work often for my lunch. These have more than just lettuce in them. There are other veggies and I like to select ones with meat in them. They are not stinggy with the meat but not heavy handed either. I find the cost to be fair as well. My only complaint is that I wish we could select our own dressing as I am not partial to ranch dressing and that seems to be in many of the salads.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SHELLY13045
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dressing out of date
4/29/2016

Customer review by Ckohler

4.0 stars 4/29/2016 by Ckohler
by Ckohler

The sell by date was the day after I went to eat it for lunch. I opened it and the lettuce looked old and to top it off the dressing expired two month earlier. That made me believe the salad date was false. I can't rate the taste I throw it away. Wasn't worth my time returning it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ckohler
Would recommend to a friend? No
Marketside Chef salad
4/8/2016

Customer review by bushcompound

2.0 stars 4/8/2016 by bushcompound
by bushcompound

Of late the lettuce in these salads are either wilted due to too cold refrigeration or the lettuce was old. We actually had to take the lettuce out and replace it with some we had in our crisper. I am not sure if this is just this location or sent to our Wal-Mart in this condition.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bushcompound
Would recommend to a friend? No
Quality lacking
4/19/2016

Customer review by Saladeater

1.0 stars 4/19/2016 by Saladeater
by Saladeater

The lettuce was old and spoiled and the sale by date was for 2 more days. I would feel sorry for the person who bought this salad 2 days after me. I couldn't eat half the salad. I would have never bought it if I could have seen the bad lettuce, but it was buried.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Saladeater
Would recommend to a friend? No
What, no egg?
4/27/2016

Customer review by Tbow

2.0 stars 4/27/2016 by Tbow
by Tbow

Limp lettuce and low quality meats doesn't make this chef salad an appetizing choice. I give it two stars only because if your on a tight lunch time it will fill the hunger pains. Just don't expect your restaurant quality salad.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tbow
Would recommend to a friend? No
chef'snsalad
5/3/2016

Customer review by SISSY

5.0 stars 5/3/2016 by SISSY
by SISSY

I bought this salad a ciuple of weeks ago and haven't stopped buyingnthem since the first one. These salads are fresh, filling and have a very generous portion to them. I will defenitely reccomend these to my friends!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SISSY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Limp bowl of lettuce
4/30/2016

Customer review by Robert

1.0 stars 4/30/2016 by Robert
by Robert

This was basicly a plate of questionable lettuce that was browning at the edges and a container of ranch sauce which i dislike. There were a couple of flakes of shredded cheese and a couple of chunks of ham. Very poor

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Robert
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best salads around!
2/25/2017

Customer review by Mprovenzo

5.0 stars 2/25/2017 by Mprovenzo
by Mprovenzo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

These salads have been pretty much our entire diet for the last month. Walmart has taken the salad game, no joke. Although the picture does need updated compared to the tub of salad we have been receiving. I'm not complaining because my husband and I have been thoroughly enjoying them and all the tasty ingredients added in.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mprovenzo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very fresh
4/9/2016

Customer review by Kathy

5.0 stars 4/9/2016 by Kathy
by Kathy

Delicious, fresh, great value!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kathy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good food
10/20/2015

Customer review by ShawneeBelle

4.0 stars 10/20/2015 by ShawneeBelle
by ShawneeBelle

I love this salad !!! A little bit of everything in one bowl. Although I wish they would be able to make product last longer.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShawneeBelle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
EXCELLENT!! FRESH!!
6/8/2016

Customer review by waquin

5.0 stars 6/8/2016 by waquin
by waquin
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very delicious fresh salad! Enough for three meals! Enjoyed it immensely! Will purchase it again!

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
waquin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent
6/13/2016

Customer review by Alda

5.0 stars 6/13/2016 by Alda
by Alda
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Love this salad!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Alda
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 153 total reviews
1-20 of 153 reviews