Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 55 reviews | 2.2 out of 5

2.0 stars

55 reviews | 2.2 out of 5

2.0 stars

55 reviews | 2.2 out of 5

0%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
7
4 stars
6
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 stars
29
1-20 of 55 total reviews
0%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 55 total reviews
1-20 of 55 reviews
racoon eyes
11/16/2008

Customer review by nicolieOlie

3.0 stars 11/16/2008 by nicolieOlie
by nicolieOlie

i liked the color and the built in sharpener, but it smudges easily and it wears off veryyyy quickly. it runs under my eyes.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nicolieOlie
bonney lake, wa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Bold
8/20/2012

Customer review by anj5035

5.0 stars 8/20/2012 by anj5035
by anj5035

If you want a bold, rich eyeliner, then this is the eyeliner for you! I absolutely love this product, it makes my eyes pop and lasts all day! Also, the smooth application and consistency of the product makes it easy to apply.

anj5035
Love it!
9/30/2012

Customer review by Lette913

5.0 stars 9/30/2012 by Lette913
by Lette913

I love this eyeliner. The smudger always falls off the end on the first use, please fix this.

Lette913
Best eye liner ever!
7/6/2013

Customer review by Barbi26

5.0 stars 7/6/2013 by Barbi26
by Barbi26

There are four women in our house...and define-A-line is the only liner you will find in any of our make-up cases! Even though between us we have three different eye colors we all use deepest black liner, each in her own way. I always keep an extra new one handy...you never know when one of us is going to need it! Especially during the school year since two of my daughter's go away to College and you never know what they will need to take back to school on those quick weekend visits home!

Barbi26
Best liner
7/31/2013

Customer review by Babs4104

5.0 stars 7/31/2013 by Babs4104
by Babs4104

I love this in the chestnut brown as I'm blonde and fair-skinned and don't ever use black. This liner goes on so easily and smudges if you want to. I do put a brown powder over it to keep it in place. Please never stop making it. I buy one almost every time I go to the store so I'm never out!

Babs4104
BEST eyeliner ever - and so much more...
10/9/2014

Customer review by CACC

5.0 stars 10/9/2014 by CACC
by CACC

I absolutely love the texture, size, and colors of this eyeliner. It goes on like butter. However, Maybelline is missing the boat: it's fabulous as an eyebrow pencil. I just need blond or light brown for my brows. What do you say, Maybelline??

CACC
myFAVORITE
12/16/2014

Customer review by CsThRuH2O

5.0 stars 12/16/2014 by CsThRuH2O
by CsThRuH2O

This is my all time favorite cosmetic tool product and formula above all others. I cannot live without this one. This is the one and only liner that I use on my Lash-line.

CsThRuH2O
LOVE IT!!
4/28/2015

Customer review by Nicoda

5.0 stars 4/28/2015 by Nicoda
by Nicoda

I've been using this eyeliner for years and love it ... The only eyeliner that makes my eyes look so good :))

Nicoda
Smooth to apply, but smudges.
9/6/2012

Customer review by Wintersangel32

4.0 stars 9/6/2012 by Wintersangel32
by Wintersangel32

It was greatly dark, went on super smoothly. I wish it didn't smudge as badly. Waterproof version, please? :)

Wintersangel32
A Good Beginner Product.
12/29/2012

Customer review by Skyler

4.0 stars 12/29/2012 by Skyler
by Skyler

I like this product because of how thick and easy it is to use. It does not smear for me because I am so particular but it doesn't last forever! Personally I don't need it for long, so I still like it!

Skyler
Yes, It does smudge...
12/31/2012

Customer review by AquaMarie

4.0 stars 12/31/2012 by AquaMarie
by AquaMarie

It does smudge. But personally, I love it. And the pencil is really nice. You can make nice thick lines; or nice thin lines.

AquaMarie
Classic Eyeliner
9/29/2012

Customer review by bnich02

4.0 stars 9/29/2012 by bnich02
by bnich02

I have used this eyeliner for years. It is great for a bold, thick eyeliner. I however have problems with smudging or running. If you use it on your top lid only with eyeshadow that will minimize the running. I don't recommend for bottom lashes. But it's a classic, tried and true! 4 Stars for Smudging.

bnich02
WORST EVER FALLS AND SMUDGES
5/28/2013

Customer review by hollywoodgirl

4.0 stars 5/28/2013 by hollywoodgirl
by hollywoodgirl

this was the worst eyeliner ever. I got the darkest which was bad, it would fall down and stay under my eye to make it look like i was a raccoon. WILL NEVER PURCHASE THIS EVER AGAIN.

hollywoodgirl
Really like but...
7/27/2014

Customer review by HERU1234

4.0 stars 7/27/2014 by HERU1234
by HERU1234

I like this liner but it smudges quite easily. But I love the smooth application and the slim lines it creates. Don't use under the eye but is great for a subtle line on the lash line. Maybe a waterproof formula would make it better

HERU1234
Only good use is for your waterline.
3/7/2013

Customer review by anyxoxo

3.0 stars 3/7/2013 by anyxoxo
by anyxoxo

This eyeliner is not for me. Unfortunately this is the only eyeliner I own at the moment, so instead of wasting this product I use it for my waterline. I tried to make a nice cat eye on my lash line area but it just smudged like crazy and it is hard to "define the line." I see where Maybelline was trying to go with this but I personally don't like it. I gave it three stars because I can at least still use it in a way.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
anyxoxo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Has formula changed? Having allergic reaction ...
1/7/2013

Customer review by tclark211

3.0 stars 1/7/2013 by tclark211
by tclark211

I've been using the define-a-line eyeliner pencil for years, but now I'm having an allergic reaction within a few hours of putting it on. At least three times now I've opened a new eyeliner and within hours start having symptoms similar to conjunctivitis (itching, burning, red, mucus that keeps coming back). I thought maybe there is some coating that I'm reacting to because it always happens after I first use a new one, so I opened one today, used a napkin to hopefully get past the coating, then applied. Now, a few hours later I'm having the symptoms again. Did they change something about the formula recently??? I love the way it goes on, but it does smear easily, and now with this reaction I will have to switch brands.

tclark211
It was ok...
8/8/2012

Customer review by Lola

3.0 stars 8/8/2012 by Lola
by Lola

This was a pretty good liner but i got raccoon eyes by the end of the day :/

Lola
Easy to apply but does smudge
1/29/2013

Customer review by Krispi

3.0 stars 1/29/2013 by Krispi
by Krispi

This is definitely precise and easy to apply. I have no problems with it smudging on the top, just my lower, I am constantly dabbing the corners of my eyes all day because it makes it way down and out.

Krispi
it's ok...
5/10/2013

Customer review by tegan1102

3.0 stars 5/10/2013 by tegan1102
by tegan1102

I wasn't huge on it because it sumdges, and mine kept breaking and smearing all across my face.... I would check the liner before you buy it!

tegan1102
Eh
2/20/2015

Customer review by jensblush

3.0 stars 2/20/2015 by jensblush
by jensblush

Nothing to necessarily complain about, but there are way better products out there. I would still use this, but definitely would not repurchase.

jensblush
1-20 of 55 total reviews
1-20 of 55 reviews