Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.5out of 5 stars
3.5 out of 5 | 169 reviews
5 stars
84
4 stars
20
3 stars
8
2 stars
13
1 stars
44
Sort by: 
1-20 of 161 reviews
1-20 of 161 reviews
Was good... Not anymore
9/6/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have worn this eyeliner (waterproof one) in onyx daily for almost 6 years. Everyone would complement me and ask how my eyeliner would stay put all day, and I wouldn't hesitate to mention this product. In the past few months however, I've noticed something has changed. I know that Maybelline insists that the formula is the same, but I feel like QA must have changed or something else, because this is certainly NOT the same product. My eyes are very watery, and this used to be one of the only eyeliners I could use that would stick the first time and wear all day. Now, the color is very weak and poorly pigmented. It takes me forever to apply enough on, and if my eyelids are the least bit watery, the eyeliner will actually begin to remove any product I have already applied, leaving bare skin (and leaving no eyeliner behind-- like an eraser). I'm so upset and disappointed, I've found myself having to redo my eyeliner 3-5 times every morning because I cannot get it to stay or look right; I'm tired of wasting so much time in the mornings. On the rare occasion that I get it to look decent, it will flake like crazy throughout the day and wear off-- nothing like how it used to. I'm on the verge of giving up; this was a favourite product and it's almost not worth keeping at this point.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I'm insanely upset
9/15/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Like everyone else on this website, I've used this eyeliner for over 10 years. Even though Maybelline keeps saying that the formula has not changed, this is 100% false. After 10 years, I can confidently say that I know this product. And it is not the same. Yesterday, I COULD NOT get this eyeliner to take to my eye. It just would not go on. I'm so insanely upset by this. This was by far the best eyeliner on the market, including high-end eyeliners as well. Now, I'll be throwing out the rest of my stash. I'm so, so sad.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
add me to the list
9/5/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've used the Unstoppable for a decade, and over the past few months it has absolutely changed. I've tried four new pencils, and they are all the same. Now it takes multiple applications to get even close to the dark color onyx used to have, and it's almost painful to put on. It also wears off after about two hours, when it used to last all day. I am so disappointed - I have used this and only this eyeliner for so long, and recommended it to so many, but it has definitely changed within the past few months.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works incredibly!
12/23/2008
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The only eyeliner I'll use! It really does stay put all day, and it's not difficult at all to remove when you want to. Love the fact that you don't have to sharpen it. I choose the onyx color because it's not as harsh as the black. Great for thin or thick lining. Definitely recommend this product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (82)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
My Favorite Eyeliner Ever!
12/15/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love this eyeliner for the following reasons: 1. The Onyx Black is really black like I wanted. I don't have to go over the line again to make it darker 2. It's glides on very easily. 3. It's NOT totally waterpoof, but it does stay on better than other eye pencils. 4. I love that it's self sharpening, so you don't need a pencil sharpener with it. 5. It's easy to line the inner lower rims of the eyes. There's nothing that I don't like about it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (29)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Differences Experienced
8/21/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've been using this product for years and love it. It's colour is vibrant and true. It applies very smoothly and is long wearing. That's only when I purchase from a drug store. I've purchased from "discount" stores and experienced all of the issues described by other customers. I frequent these stores for other products but stopped buying this product from them as the eyeliner is thinner, harder and off colour. Not sure why this is, it just has been my experience. Overall, wonderful product!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Change in product
8/19/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This was my favorite eyeliner for years. Used it everyday. Recommended it to people all the time. But for the past couple months the quality has been horrible. I don't know know if the formula was changed or what, but this is not the same eyeliner I used for YEARS. It's no longer bold and it is far from smudge proof. It flakes off as I'm trying to put it on. It doesn't want to go on, let alone stay on. Now I have to be on the search for a new eyeliner, which is very disappointing. This eyeliner used to be my ride or die.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
my new favorite
12/30/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
bought this product because my covergirl eyeliner was out of stock and discovered that this one is WAAAAYYYY better....it glides on smooth and smudes perfectly...i will use no other :)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (35)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Just brought it and how broken I have no idea.
8/24/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Did not like it , I don't know how it happened not gonna buy any more
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
stunning! :)
5/10/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
WOW. this liner is amazing. i have very oily eyelids and such, so if i put eyeliner on my top lash line it will smudge and give me ugly creases and them smudge all around my eyes. my water line is pretty wet. so i put this on my waterline and this actually stayed on for an incredible time. i wear contacts. i dont have sensitive eyes. to me it dries to a really dry finish. and i really like that b/c other liners r like wet..and smudge in like two mins due to my oily eyelids. anyway im so happy i picked this up!!! (:!! i have big brown eyes and i got this is black, makes my eyes look amazing! :D anyway i love this liner <3!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
An okay makeup item.
5/28/2010
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I used this product and it was okay compared to some other Maybelline eye liners I have used. It is mostly smudge-proof, but definately not as water-proof as I thought it'd be. When using this product on the lower lash line, if you'd cry, then the eye liner would almost be wiped off entirely. Sometimes the eye liner would break off too. Otherwise, it is a good product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (26)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Product
1/28/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have tried many eyeliners and this is by far the best. I sell marykay and have for a few years now. I tried their eyeliner but quickly went back to my unstoppable. I first started using this eyeliner a few years ago and have never turned back. It is wonderful. It doesn't smudge or fade and i can even fall asleep with it on and wake up the next day with my eyeliner still perfect. I am a busy mom of 2 and i dont have all day to keep updating my makeup. With this eyeliner, i put it on at 6am and even when i wash it off at 9-10pm its still looks like i just put it on. For those who wear eyeliner and are busy like me this is a must.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Stays on all day!
7/25/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Lasts longer than department store liners! Great quality. Will never buy department store liners again
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Onyx Unstoppable eyeliner
7/12/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I used to LOVE this eyeliner. I had to have it but lately I've been putting it on in the morning and two hours later I have to reapply because its wearing off and by the end of my day its almost completely gone. I work in an air conditioned office, so the weather is not a concern. If its not broken don't fix it. It was so much better before. Thank you :)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Can't live without it
4/26/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've been using this eyeliner since high school, so maybe like 13 or 14 years. Before that I hated pencil liners because I never knew where the sharpener was, I hated sharpening them anyway because I'd leave the mess on the counter for days, not to mention how many times I'd jab the wood of the pencil in my eye. This liner changed my world. I've tried other liners when this was out of stock, I do like Maybelline's gel liner as well for when I want a winged look but this one is my everyday go to. It will literally stay on for days, believe me, in college I tested this. I've at least made it through a whole weekend with the same eye liner, mostly in place with no touch ups.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
simply the best!
8/14/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
i have tried a ton of eyeliners, looking for the right one for me, and i finally found it with this product. i love this eyeliner, it is very easy to use and not messy at all, you can create a bold look, or make it subtle with this eyeliner. it's really great and cheap, i strongly recommend giving it a try.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Its okay, not bad.
12/13/2009
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I still have this one but I haven't been using it. Sometimes when I put it on the top, it breaks. Then when I put it on the bottom, it doesn't go on very black. So its OKAY, because sometimes it stays. I'll probably use this once in a while.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very disappointed
7/1/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've used the unstoppable onyx liner many times before and always loved it. But I just purchased a new one and was very disappoint. I don't know what changed, but it's not the same as it used to be, it's supposed to be dark black, but it barelu shows up. Not happy
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
doesn't apply well
6/25/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
product doesn't apply dark at all, even if you go over the same place, back & forth, lots; it doesn't go on heavy. if you like to have an eyeliner that only applies very faint & light (VERY light), this is a great liner. i can't tell if it is actually smudge- or waterproof because it is far too light to wear
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good value
11/17/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This eyeliner goes on very smoothly. I am very satisfied with it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640679, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-