Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 156 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

156 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

156 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

68%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
83
4 stars
19
3 stars
8
2 stars
13
1 stars
33
1-20 of 148 total reviews
68%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 148 total reviews
1-20 of 148 reviews
It stopped me
5/15/2017

Customer review by Ms Maria

1.0 stars 5/15/2017 by Ms Maria
by Ms Maria

I used this for years and cinnabar was my favorite because I love the color and the pencil was soft and applied easily. I used to buy these four at a time because they were hard to find. I have no idea what happened but this is not the same product. The pencil is so hard that it hurts trying to apply and even then it's hard to put it on. I tried to heat it a bit with the blow dryer and that didn't work either. The tip just snapped off. I just purchased three new and they are going back. What ever happened to if it ain't broke, don't fix it? Let me know when you come to your senses and change it back.

Ms Maria
California, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Eye color:Hazel
Skin type:Normal
Where is the non-waterproof?????
5/6/2017

Customer review by AlexandriaAnn08

1.0 stars 5/6/2017 by AlexandriaAnn08
by AlexandriaAnn08

Why is waterproof the only option now? It does not apply the same as the non-waterproof, and it's painful to even try to put on. I've tried several of your other eyeliners, and they just do not work the same. They smear and run horribly! It ends up a mess less than 30 minutes after applying my make up. Why the change? Is there anyway to purchase the non-waterproof? Do you plan to bring it back? What is going on??? That has been my go-to eyeliner for over 10 years. This is very disappointing. I had no idea what a painful, annoying, and expensive process finding a new eyeliner would be.

AlexandriaAnn08
Would recommend to a friend? No
Eye color:Blue
Skin type:Combination
Not the same product as it used to be
5/1/2017

Customer review by J_marie

1.0 stars 5/1/2017 by J_marie
by J_marie

I've been using this eyeliner for years and always recommend it to all those who ask what I use, until recently. I don't know if the formula has changed but I can only find the "waterproof" packaging and it is not the same product by any means. It essentially doesn't take to my skin anymore is more like a charcoal gray now rather than black. I visited home recently and found ONE without the "waterproof" packaging and was SO happy because I could tell immediately once I used it it was the "old" kind. That's ran out and now I'm back to finding a new brand because the "new" kind simply does not work for me.

J_marie
Manhattan, New York, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Eye color:Hazel
Skin type:Normal
What Changed?
5/5/2017

Customer review by paigeg98

1.0 stars 5/5/2017 by paigeg98
by paigeg98

I have used this eyeliner for years, it has always been my favorite! I use onyx, and it always went on smooth and dark. But over the past couple of months, the packaging changed and I can only find the "waterproof" version, which is absolutely horrible. It skips and almost hurts to apply because this formula is so dry. The color is barely grey instead of a bold black. So disappointed that I have to find something new to use. Really wish you would change it back to the original formula.

paigeg98
Indianapolis, IN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Eye color:Blue
Skin type:Normal
Works incredibly!
12/23/2008

Customer review by LLLD425

5.0 stars 12/23/2008 by LLLD425
by LLLD425

The only eyeliner I'll use! It really does stay put all day, and it's not difficult at all to remove when you want to. Love the fact that you don't have to sharpen it. I choose the onyx color because it's not as harsh as the black. Great for thin or thick lining. Definitely recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (81) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LLLD425
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
Why the change?
4/28/2017

Customer review by Steffie32

1.0 stars 4/28/2017 by Steffie32
by Steffie32

I used this religiously everyday for years, went on smooth and even. Never had a problem! About 4-6 months ago the packaging changed and the product quality changed as well. No longer applies smoothly or as dark as it used to. Something has changed, I'm sad to say this will no longer be my go to eyeliner :(

Steffie32
Salt Lake City, UT, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Eye color:Hazel
Skin type:Combination
My Favorite Eyeliner Ever!
12/15/2009

Customer review by adh1006

5.0 stars 12/15/2009 by adh1006
by adh1006

I love this eyeliner for the following reasons: 1. The Onyx Black is really black like I wanted. I don't have to go over the line again to make it darker 2. It's glides on very easily. 3. It's NOT totally waterpoof, but it does stay on better than other eye pencils. 4. I love that it's self sharpening, so you don't need a pencil sharpener with it. 5. It's easy to line the inner lower rims of the eyes. There's nothing that I don't like about it.

Was this review helpful? (27) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
adh1006
MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
my new favorite
12/30/2010

Customer review by candie88

5.0 stars 12/30/2010 by candie88
by candie88

bought this product because my covergirl eyeliner was out of stock and discovered that this one is WAAAAYYYY better....it glides on smooth and smudes perfectly...i will use no other :)

Was this review helpful? (35) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
candie88
fresno,ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
Used to be great
3/30/2017

Customer review by Ajd2897

1.0 stars 3/30/2017 by Ajd2897
by Ajd2897

I have been using this product for years and swore by it. I just bought a new one and noticed that the packaging was different - which is fine. My problem is that the Onyx color is no longer a dark black. It's more gray than anything now and I have to go over whatever line I make a few times now to darken it up. I never used to have that problem so they must have changed the formula which is very disappointing. It hardly stays anymore and getting it to stay on my water line is borderline impossible when it never used to be like that. I'm so unbelievably disappointed as a product that I've loved and sworn by is no longer.

Ajd2897
New York
Would recommend to a friend? No
Eye color:Blue
Skin type:Normal
Used to be amazing!
3/25/2017

Customer review by arigel

1.0 stars 3/25/2017 by arigel
by arigel

Wow I am so disappointed...this used to be my everyday eyeliner and was a smooth creamy formula with amazing pigment. Now I can only find this new onyx which seems to only be available in waterproof and they must have changed the formula because it's HORRIBLE! It's patchy and doesn't go over my eyeshadow anymore and if you try to touch up a spot it takes it completely off! It's made my eyes irritated because I have to press so much harder. Basically I've returned all of these packages and have tried to desperately find a replacement. So sad :(

arigel
St. Louis
Would recommend to a friend? No
Eye color:Brown
Skin type:Combination
What has changed?
3/22/2017

Customer review by sembrey87

1.0 stars 3/22/2017 by sembrey87
by sembrey87

I have used this product for years. I have always thought it was the absolute best eyeliner out there. I recently bought a new tube (last Saturday) and something has changed. I always buy Onyx but when I use it now, it goes on almost as a gray, if it even goes on at all. I have to continuously apply several times to get any sort of result, and it is still a disappointing result. I don't know if the formula has changed or what, but it's so frustrating because this was always the perfect eyeliner but now I have wasted money on this tube that I will not finish.

sembrey87
Owensboro, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Eye color:Brown
Tried for the first time and love it!
4/7/2017

Customer review by Delia

5.0 stars 4/7/2017 by Delia
by Delia

I love this eyeliner! It went on easily with no tugging and lasted all day.

Delia
San Angelo, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Eye color:Brown
Skin type:Normal
stunning! :)
5/10/2011

Customer review by froobest

5.0 stars 5/10/2011 by froobest
by froobest

WOW. this liner is amazing. i have very oily eyelids and such, so if i put eyeliner on my top lash line it will smudge and give me ugly creases and them smudge all around my eyes. my water line is pretty wet. so i put this on my waterline and this actually stayed on for an incredible time. i wear contacts. i dont have sensitive eyes. to me it dries to a really dry finish. and i really like that b/c other liners r like wet..and smudge in like two mins due to my oily eyelids. anyway im so happy i picked this up!!! (:!! i have big brown eyes and i got this is black, makes my eyes look amazing! :D anyway i love this liner <3!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
froobest
Sidney, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:14 - 18
An okay makeup item.
5/28/2010

Customer review by MissingNO

4.0 stars 5/28/2010 by MissingNO
by MissingNO

I used this product and it was okay compared to some other Maybelline eye liners I have used. It is mostly smudge-proof, but definately not as water-proof as I thought it'd be. When using this product on the lower lash line, if you'd cry, then the eye liner would almost be wiped off entirely. Sometimes the eye liner would break off too. Otherwise, it is a good product.

Was this review helpful? (25) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MissingNO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per year
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Age:14 - 18
Something Changed
3/23/2017

Customer review by NIlsabk

1.0 stars 3/23/2017 by NIlsabk
by NIlsabk

This product was my go to now I hate it. When I used to put it on, it was a bold color and stayed on forever. Now it barley shows up and almost looks grey. Horrible!

NIlsabk
Richmond, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Eye color:Brown
Skin type:Normal
Great Product
1/28/2011

Customer review by Lucy0709

5.0 stars 1/28/2011 by Lucy0709
by Lucy0709

I have tried many eyeliners and this is by far the best. I sell marykay and have for a few years now. I tried their eyeliner but quickly went back to my unstoppable. I first started using this eyeliner a few years ago and have never turned back. It is wonderful. It doesn't smudge or fade and i can even fall asleep with it on and wake up the next day with my eyeliner still perfect. I am a busy mom of 2 and i dont have all day to keep updating my makeup. With this eyeliner, i put it on at 6am and even when i wash it off at 9-10pm its still looks like i just put it on. For those who wear eyeliner and are busy like me this is a must.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lucy0709
Hattiesburg, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
Can't live without it
4/26/2016

Customer review by sweetiebabe05

5.0 stars 4/26/2016 by sweetiebabe05
by sweetiebabe05

I've been using this eyeliner since high school, so maybe like 13 or 14 years. Before that I hated pencil liners because I never knew where the sharpener was, I hated sharpening them anyway because I'd leave the mess on the counter for days, not to mention how many times I'd jab the wood of the pencil in my eye. This liner changed my world. I've tried other liners when this was out of stock, I do like Maybelline's gel liner as well for when I want a winged look but this one is my everyday go to. It will literally stay on for days, believe me, in college I tested this. I've at least made it through a whole weekend with the same eye liner, mostly in place with no touch ups.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sweetiebabe05
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
simply the best!
8/14/2010

Customer review by MakeupCrazy

5.0 stars 8/14/2010 by MakeupCrazy
by MakeupCrazy

i have tried a ton of eyeliners, looking for the right one for me, and i finally found it with this product. i love this eyeliner, it is very easy to use and not messy at all, you can create a bold look, or make it subtle with this eyeliner. it's really great and cheap, i strongly recommend giving it a try.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MakeupCrazy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Age:14 - 18
Not like it used to be!
2/26/2017

Customer review by Linda Marie

2.0 stars 2/26/2017 by Linda Marie
by Linda Marie

I have purchased the Unstoppable Liner in Pewter for years, and always recommended it to friends and family. Not any more! Something has changed besides the packaging! It now goes on dry, leaves crumbs, and there is hardly any pigment. It's also thinner. I have bought 3 of these recently with the same results. I am so disappointed! There was never a substitute for me as this WAS the perfect liner.

Linda Marie
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Eye color:Hazel
Skin type:Normal
Maybelline Eyeliner
3/16/2017

Customer review by Lela

3.0 stars 3/16/2017 by Lela
by Lela
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Smudges very easy

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lela
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 148 total reviews
1-20 of 148 reviews