Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 23 reviews | 2.3 out of 5

2.5 stars

23 reviews | 2.3 out of 5

2.5 stars

23 reviews | 2.3 out of 5

35%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
15
1-20 of 23 total reviews
35%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 23 total reviews
1-20 of 23 reviews
Just Plain Bad Milk
5/6/2014

Customer review by MommaB03

1.0 stars 5/6/2014 by MommaB03
by MommaB03

This is the second time I have gotten bad tasting Great Value milk from Walmart. I bought the milk on 5/5/14 with an expiration date of 5/17/14. I took the milk straight home from the store and put in the fridge within minutes of walking through the door. When we poured the milk into glasses for dinner that same night, the taste was disgusting - not spoiled, just bad tasting. We could not even cover it up with Nestle Quick chocolate powder. I am going back to buying all my groceries at Dillon's. Nothing is cheaper if you have to throw it out because you can't use it. This is not something that happens with every gallon of Great Value 2% but I am not willing to keep taking my chances. Walmart needs to check into what is changing the taste of the milk. Might be the cows nutritional program, dairy farm management practices or problems in handling/shipping. Whatever is the cause, I'm done with this milk. BTW it's only getting one star because there are no negative stars.

Was this review helpful? (26) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MommaB03
Wichita, KS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Lives up to it's name.
8/5/2013

Customer review by LJPinNV

5.0 stars 8/5/2013 by LJPinNV
by LJPinNV

My wife and I always try to find the best deals on just about everything. In this case, we once compared milk prices. Store brand (Great Value) versus Name brand (in this case Model Dairy). The price was approximately $1.00 less for the GV versus Model. Expiration date at the time was about 5 to 7 days further beyond the Model Dairy. Size was identical. But the most telling thing found? The plant code on the top of the container. It was identical between Model and Great Value. This means that each brand of milk was packaged AT THE SAME PLANT! Proof positive to me that many times over, one pays for name only. As a result we always buy the GV brand. Never once has one of these gone bad for us. I can't speak for others but we always keep ours in a fridge that is suitably cold.

Was this review helpful? (28) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LJPinNV
Dayton, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
No Problems
3/21/2013

Customer review by WantstobeCheap

4.0 stars 3/21/2013 by WantstobeCheap
by WantstobeCheap

I have never had a problem with this milk spoiling the next day or any time before the expiration date. Overall its a good buy.

Was this review helpful? (27) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WantstobeCheap
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Why the bad ratings?
10/7/2014

Customer review by JKT1832

5.0 stars 10/7/2014 by JKT1832
by JKT1832

I do not understand the bad ratings. We got this when my kids were younger, the taste is fine and the price is even better. The quality was consistent. What more can you ask for? I don't understand the low ratings. We now get the skim and still feel things are great.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JKT1832
Iowa, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Top 10 contributor
What's wrong with Walmart milk?
3/3/2014

Customer review by Chiennoir

1.0 stars 3/3/2014 by Chiennoir
by Chiennoir

As a die-hard fan of the Walmart customer experience, all our grocery purchases are made at Walmart-with the exception of milk. I do not know whether it is a result of distribution chain issues or an issue with the supplier, but Walmart milk-be it whole or fat-free-will NOT keep, no matter what. After throwing away yet another carton gone rancid 3 days before the sell-by date, we learned our lesson. Oddly, a grocery chain in our area also has the same "volatile" milk issue. There is another chain in our area that we now use; the milk stays fresh days beyond sell-by. Love most of the Walmart fare, the meat and everything else, but we no longer buy their milk. Incidentally, you the reader may be curious as to why we don't just buy the "national" brand milk, i.e. Pet. We just don't like paying for a name when the item is the same.

Was this review helpful? (20) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chiennoir
Charleston, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Awesome Value and great Milk
9/14/2013

Customer review by Eshaac

5.0 stars 9/14/2013 by Eshaac
by Eshaac

I've been buying this for Years now and I do mean yearssss and I've never ever had a problem with it going bad before date.. I usually buy 3 to 4 gallons every 2 weeks and sometimes more.. Best price around. Beats others by at least $1 or more. I pay $2.89 a gallon where I live.. Thanks Wal-Mart for keeping a great product at the best price around...

Was this review helpful? (15) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Eshaac
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Milk spoiled well before expiration date
6/11/2014

Customer review by TessandraFae

1.0 stars 6/11/2014 by TessandraFae
by TessandraFae

Jun 10 and June 17th batches of milk spoiled when I brought it home a week before expiration date and tasted it. Do not buy.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TessandraFae
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Milk
5/6/2014

Customer review by TTwentyFive

5.0 stars 5/6/2014 by TTwentyFive
by TTwentyFive

I've been purchasing Great Value milk for years. Always fresh.

Was this review helpful? (7) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TTwentyFive
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
BAD MILK
5/18/2013

Customer review by funtodecorate

1.0 stars 5/18/2013 by funtodecorate
by funtodecorate

Milk went bad even before the sell by date. What a waste of money.

Was this review helpful? (16) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
funtodecorate
Manteca, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Goes bad way before expiration date
7/10/2014

Customer review by UsinFlorida

1.0 stars 7/10/2014 by UsinFlorida
by UsinFlorida

We have been buying Walmart milk for years but over the last 1-2 years, the milk has been horrible. It always goes bad before the expiration date. Always. We have started buying our milk from other grocery stores in the area that cost a little more but least we get to drink the entire container. Walmart needs to look into this issue if so many people are complaining.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
UsinFlorida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Clumpy, Bad Milk BEFORE Expiration
7/16/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 7/16/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

My milk went bad several days before the expiration date. It looks like I'm not the first to have this issue. I went to pour it into a bottle and, instead of liquid milk, I got clumpy milk. I was appalled. I had a gallon of 2% and whole milk. Both have the same issue and both have several days before the expiration date. The whole milk doesn't expire for another 4 days! How can I even think of giving questionable milk to my children. I will not be buying my milk from Walmart again. I expect to have good, drinkable milk at least until the expiration date.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Is it the delivery process?
11/20/2014

Customer review by AnotherNeighbor

1.0 stars 11/20/2014 by AnotherNeighbor
by AnotherNeighbor

My husband LOVES everything Walmart... so when he shops, he shops there. He is highly particular to things being or at least appearing "clean" and getting products with ample 'sell by' dates. I was raised on fresh cow's milk so I rarely drink the milk bought in the stores of today... it doesn't taste anything like milk to me. He is of the low-fat age and prefers 1% or 2% but will get whole milk when our grandchildren are coming. The point being is that he will only buy a 1/2 gallon at a time - he will drink it within a couple of days, or a week at the most but it is almost always "smelling a little funny" by then to me or I've already thrown it out because he won't even touch it and there is still a week left on the sell by date!! I keep trying to get him to buy milk elsewhere (cream too... for we've had the same problem with that... just not as badly). He will only buy from any store if that is all he is getting. So, here we are again... with our fingers crossed... hoping the milk will last. I hope they correct the issue soon!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AnotherNeighbor
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good taste, "Great Value"!
4/6/2014

Customer review by unotmeir

5.0 stars 4/6/2014 by unotmeir
by unotmeir

Regardless of what kind of milk you buy or where you buy it, if you will add a "pinch" of salt to it when you open it, it will stay fresh much longer than the expiration date. Try it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
unotmeir
Temple, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Goes bad within a week twice.
8/17/2013

Customer review by Sanra124

1.0 stars 8/17/2013 by Sanra124
by Sanra124

I usually purchase gallon of a milk every week. Since last two times it goes bad within a week, though it has best before after one week. Let me provide you the exact dates, I had bought on 08/10 and it goes bad on 08/15. And it has best before date of 08/20. Walmart should really work on this issue to maintain standards and to keep its reputation intact.

Was this review helpful? (11) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sanra124
Consohocken PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I switched from Safeway because it's cheaper
9/25/2014

Customer review by chainschains

5.0 stars 9/25/2014 by chainschains
by chainschains

I have not felt the Walmart milk worse (seems about the same as the two brands I also buy from time to time at Safeway).

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chainschains
windsor,ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Bad Milk
9/5/2014

Customer review by JhbR

1.0 stars 9/5/2014 by JhbR
by JhbR

This is the 2nd time this has happened. I bought a gallon of milk on 8/30/14. I went straight home from the Neighborhood Market which is less than 5 minutes from my house. The expiration date on the milk is 9/15/14. On 9/3 I started to pour my son a glass of milk. It smelled terrible & was very "chunky". Only 4 days after purchased & 12 days before expiration date! I will not be buying milk or any dairy products from walmart again.

Was this review helpful? (4) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JhbR
Would recommend to a friend? No
MIlk not GV by any word
8/3/2015

Customer review by botdriver

1.0 stars 8/3/2015 by botdriver
by botdriver

If your going to buy milk go to your local store you'll probably find it s .50 cents less or a bit more, the place we go it's 1.97 and it's good milk. so it's better top buy near than something that's been transported a way's

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
botdriver
Would recommend to a friend? No
Milk got spoiled before 10 days best specified
3/6/2013

Customer review by rockygreat

1.0 stars 3/6/2013 by rockygreat
by rockygreat

Milk got spoiled before 10 days best specified.This happened with 2 milk cans and very frequently these days happening a lot.Its waste of money and time.Because I usually go every 1 week to buy a milk can.2 Successive weeks it happened the same.Walmart people should take care of it. I AM NOT GOING TO USE THIS PRODUCT ANYMORE

Was this review helpful? (19) (35)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rockygreat
fayetteville
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Tastes great - Good value
6/26/2015

Customer review by thriftyTXshopper

5.0 stars 6/26/2015 by thriftyTXshopper
by thriftyTXshopper

I could not believe the number of negative reviews for this product. We have used Great Value milk for years and have never had a bad experience. The only time our milk has gone sour is if we went off on vacation and left some behind for a length of time. We have three teenage boys, and we go through multiple gallons a week. This milk tastes exactly the same as the Oak Farms or Borden milk which we buy occasionally when we run out and have to make a quick trip to the corner convenience store. We think it's great!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thriftyTXshopper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
9/26/2013

Customer review by 3flower

1.0 stars 9/26/2013 by 3flower
by 3flower

Last 3 or 4 gallons have spoiled before the date stamped on the milk. Today is 9/27 and the milk is spoiled. The date on the milk is 10/1.

Was this review helpful? (8) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
3flower
Huntersville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
1-20 of 23 total reviews
1-20 of 23 reviews