Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 21 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

2.5 stars

21 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

2.5 stars

21 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

48%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
8
1-20 of 20 total reviews
48%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Coppertone Sport Lotion, SPF 50
3/29/2014

Customer review by debkempf

4.0 stars 3/29/2014 by debkempf
by debkempf

I does stain clothes (especially the collars of white clothing and white towels) but it's the best sunscreen I have found. Would recommend with reservations because of the staining. I plan to get some Super Iron Out which is supposed to take out stains like these. I did notice that some of the other reviews also mentioned staining.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
debkempf
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Will Stain Your Clothes Orange!
6/10/2009

Customer review by Ardilla7

3.0 stars 6/10/2009 by Ardilla7
by Ardilla7

I have been using Coppertone Sport sunblock almost everyday for years (30 to 50 SPF) but about 6 months ago I started seeing orange stains that DO NOT come out, around my collar on my work shirts. At first I didn't know what was causing it but after a little research I found that I am not the only one. Apparently according to coppertone the "Avobenzone" is the culprit I have a bag of shirts that I am taking to the trash. unfortunately I have to find a new sunblock.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ardilla7
Bradenton. Fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works great
6/15/2011

Customer review by shelby60

5.0 stars 6/15/2011 by shelby60
by shelby60

Township road worker. Best stuff I have found. Not greasy and does not stain my light grey T shirts. I reapply ofter due to heavy sun exposure. I also reapply after wiping sweat. I have found nothing wrong with this product. The bottling is heavy enough to put up with being used at work. I would recommend this to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shelby60
Central Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
10/14/2011

Customer review by LooneyIAm

5.0 stars 10/14/2011 by LooneyIAm
by LooneyIAm

Quick delivery - product exactly as ordered.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LooneyIAm
Easton, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Fishing Protection
6/21/2012

Customer review by Gofish

5.0 stars 6/21/2012 by Gofish
by Gofish

Great product for fishermen. I recently fished the BASS Federation Nation Central Divisional bass tournament in Morgan City, La. We were fishing the Atchafalaya Basin swamp in the first part of June with temps in the 90's. Due to my schedule, I haven't been out in the sun very much this year. Each morning I applied SPF 50 in the motel room before I headed out to fish. I like to do this so I can use the mirror to make sure I don't miss any spots or leave globs of white on me. After fishing for 10 days straight, I never burnt at all. I didn't apply any more sunscreen all day, even my feet which hadn't seen sun all year. I've used Coppertone Sport for years and swear by it more than ever.

Gofish
Harrisonville, MO 64701, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Male
great product.
4/23/2013

Customer review by Celena

5.0 stars 4/23/2013 by Celena
by Celena

I really like the 50 spray because I have very fair skin.

Celena
California, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Female
COPPERTONE HAS THE FRAGRENCE OF THE BEACH
6/18/2012

Customer review by ANNIE

4.0 stars 6/18/2012 by ANNIE
by ANNIE

EVEN THOUGH GENERIC SUNSCREEN PRODUCTS MAY WORK AS WELL AS COPPERTONE I PURCHASE COPPERTONE BECAUSE I LOVE THE SCENT. IT TAKES ME BACK TO MY CHILDHOOD AND THE BEACH I JUST LOVE THE FRESH BEACHY SMELL OF COPPERTONE

ANNIE
NORTH CAROLINA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Female
Brian51
6/6/2013

Customer review by Brian51

4.0 stars 6/6/2013 by Brian51
by Brian51

I use this product for my face and it works very well, water soluble. I can't use it on my arms because I'm too hairy.

Brian51
St. Louis, MO, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Combination
Gender:Male
love the product
6/16/2013

Customer review by tw74

3.0 stars 6/16/2013 by tw74
by tw74

I play a lot of golf, needless to say I use your product quit a bit. The only problem I have is that all my white shirts now have yellow collars. Any suggestions??

tw74
The Villages, FL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Male
Coppertome Sport
8/10/2013

Customer review by greenteadea

3.0 stars 8/10/2013 by greenteadea
by greenteadea

This tanning lotion is great for all that play sports you do not havw to reaply as the other tanning lotions. It's nice and cfeamy and goes on nice and smooth .

greenteadea
Rochester, NH, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Female
Stains badly
7/16/2012

Customer review by tablerocklake18

2.0 stars 7/16/2012 by tablerocklake18
by tablerocklake18

Used this product on vacation at Table Rock Lake. Worked great from sunburning, however, it stained all my clothes that it came in contact with. Used stain remover and it came out of a few items but not all. I had to throw three tops away. It does say "may stain some fabrics" under Other Information. It stained all of my fabrics. This information should be on the front of the bottle!

tablerocklake18
Would recommend to a friend? No
Used to be the best product around
7/18/2012

Customer review by LakeNorforkLover

2.0 stars 7/18/2012 by LakeNorforkLover
by LakeNorforkLover

My family and I have used this sunscreen (both SPF 30 and SPF 50) for years. This year, for some reason, every time we use the product it stains our clothes and towels ("may stain some fabrics?" NOT! "Will stain all fabrics."). Not sure what happened - a formula change? - but, we won't be using Coppertone Sport after we finish the bottles we currently have. Unfortunate - love the way it protects from burns. We've spent hours and days in the sun - watching from the sideline and in the lake - and we never get burned. But, I can't take the yellow stains. Plus, I've noticed that, for the first time, the sunscreen is sticky, greasy and doesn't seem to ever really "dry" - leaves greasy marks all over everything our skin touches.

LakeNorforkLover
St Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Female
Burnt like a tomato
6/24/2012

Customer review by Tomato

1.0 stars 6/24/2012 by Tomato
by Tomato

Put this stuff on before going boating and applided two more times and was burnt like a lobster. Didnt work at all!!

Tomato
Sioux City Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Male
Will RUIN Your Clothing With Stains That Do Not Come Oot
10/4/2012

Customer review by Theo

1.0 stars 10/4/2012 by Theo
by Theo

Works great for sun protection - but will ruin any clothing with stains that are impossible to remove. I use this product a lot while playing golf and have ruined at least 10-15 shirts.

Theo
Greenville, NC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
I will never use again
2/11/2013

Customer review by cathy58

1.0 stars 2/11/2013 by cathy58
by cathy58

So frustrated, my husband and I have always relied on Coppertone Sport for all our outdoor activities, sailing, tennis and cycling, but now after replacing a favorite work shirt of my husbands and ruining my new bicycle jersey, it's going in the trash. Stains terribly.

cathy58
North Carolina and Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Female
Tans Your Clothes, Not Your Skin
2/27/2013

Customer review by Spokesdude

1.0 stars 2/27/2013 by Spokesdude
by Spokesdude

I'm not sure when Coppertone changed the formula for this product, but it now causes indelible orange stains on my clothes, swimwear, and towels that cannot be bleached out or erased with stain removers. The stains have appeared on cotton, nylon, and polyester after washing, but oddly not before. They might appear on other fabrics as well. For this reason alone, I am giving Sport SPF 50 a poor rating, even though it provides prolonged sun protection while I swim salt water laps under the intense Florida sun. To their credit, Coppertone does state on the container that it may stain your clothes. Take that warning seriously.

Spokesdude
Florida, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Male
YELLOW STAINS
4/12/2013

Customer review by James

1.0 stars 4/12/2013 by James
by James

I have always used Coppertone products. On our vacation we noticed yellow stains on the hotels white beach towels and our shirts. Very dissappointed !

James
Texas, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Male
yellow stains
4/20/2013

Customer review by den1234

1.0 stars 4/20/2013 by den1234
by den1234

Very dissapointed, all my husband and kids clothes are yellow, I didn't know what was happening until the only part of my husband shirts that didn't have the stains are the ones cover with his underwear v-neck. And they didn't go away, and I tried everything to wash them off even the drycleaner. Don't buy it

den1234
San Diego, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Female
awful product
7/17/2012

Customer review by Maxi

1.0 stars 7/17/2012 by Maxi
by Maxi

stains clothing, will not come out with soaking in water and oxy clean!! Never ever used a product that did this. SAVE YOUR CRT for returns!! Wonder what this will do to your skin. Going back to other prod.

Maxi
Hemet, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Female
Stains Clothing
5/1/2015

Customer review by None

1.0 stars 5/1/2015 by None
by None

The warning is on the bottle BUT you have to peel off the label to read it. This effectively hides that fact from the consumer. This product will stain your light clothing yellow to orange. If you use this sunscreen get ready to buy new beach clothes.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
None
Would recommend to a friend? No