Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 100 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

100 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

5 stars
75
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 stars
4
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 92 total reviews
BEST IVE EVER USED!
5/22/2010

Customer review by visaloverfav

5.0 stars by visaloverfav

I have tried Jergens and Olay self tanners. They are good, but you dont get alot of color and it takes a while. if your like me then you want to see color right away or you think it isnt good. This stuff is tinted, so you see a little color as soon as you put it on. Then, it only takes 2-3 hours for the color to develop. And it doesent make you orange its a natural color. You can use it for all skin tones. I am very very fair and i used this and it didnt make me orange at all. There is a smell, but it is not really bad. Make sure you wash your hands after it though, any self tanner will make them have marks if you dont. I put this on, waited about 30 minutes to let it dry, took a nap, then when i woke up i had my color. You can apply as much as you need to until you get the color you want, then apply it 2 times a week to keep that color. Trust me this is the best self tanner i have used. If you want color fast get it!

Was this review helpful? (102) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
visaloverfav
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Bronze City!!
5/24/2011

Customer review by kbandtc

5.0 stars by kbandtc

After reading reviews, I thought "why not? It's 6 bucks". I have used other sunless tanners that cost 5 times that much and I don't see much of a difference in color, quality, and smell. My only complaint is if you rub it in too long it will actually start to peel off. Weird, I've used fake tanners for 7 years and I don't think I have ever had this happen. Anyway, I still love this product (and price!) and will it buy again. Application hints that work for me: - EXFOLIATE!!!! I use st. Ives AND a washcloth. - Use gloves!! They are super cheap and worth it not to have "dirty" hands for a week. - Do not apply on hands and feet, instead use a spray tanner to spray your hands and feet.

Was this review helpful? (73) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
kbandtc
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great Tanner
3/8/2011

Customer review by PPK0716

5.0 stars by PPK0716

Okay, so this is my second time using a tanning product. I bought this because of the other good reviews, and because I had to find a cheaper lotion. The previous one I had used cost a lot more and it turned me into an umpa lumpa. This is a great product. I used this product last night, but I should have waited. Two nights before I had already used another tanning lotion so I had a little bit of color to my skin. First I took a shower and ex foliated my skin. I applied only one coat of this product (being careful with which areas to apply it since I was already a little tanned from the previous lotion I had used). I used this everywhere except knees, feet and elbows since these were already dark. Then I waited 10-15 min. before going to bed. When I woke up this morning it really looked like I had been at the beach the day before. I am tanned! But it came out looking the way I wanted-NOT orange. I used this on my face, although I got to admit I was pretty scared. I used a moisturizer first, waited 5 min. and then applied a thin layer of this product. I would recommend this product, but be warned that just ONE coat of this lotion will turn you at least 2 shades darker. I suggest waiting at least 4 hours if you plan to add another coat. At first you won't notice the different. You have to wait a few hours. As far as the lasting effects of this product, I'm not sure. I just used it last night. But I don't mind reapplying over in a few days. I wanted a tanning lotion that would come off right away in case I didn't like the results.

Was this review helpful? (49) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
PPK0716
TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Amazingly Perfect
11/6/2009

Customer review by Princess521

5.0 stars by Princess521

Hi, i just wanted to say at first i was very unsure about using this product. but when i decided to use it i was literally amazed i was expecting the worse cause i never used sunless tanning products before. the comments i heard about any sunless tanning products was terrible. i always thought to get the perfect evenly distributed tan was either by sun or tanning beds. i still visit the tanning salons to have a nice base color but when i use this product its like the perfect finish. i save money using this product and its long lasting. And to think you see results in less than fours hours is amazing! To sum it up this product is amazing and i would recommend it to anyone who wants that dark natural looking glow. believe me it works!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (73) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Princess521
Granger, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
The truth about this product.....
8/28/2011

Customer review by Kelz04

5.0 stars by Kelz04

I am normally a pretty pale person. I dont want to go to the tanning bed (even though I get a deep dark nice tan) because it is so bad for your skin. I have tried multiple self tan lotions for years and years. The last one I had was sun laboratories (50.00 at Ulta). Dont try it! It is a waste of money. Anywho... I have tried them all and keep coming back to this one. The only problem I have with this one is the smell. The positive side though is it dries really quick and you see color as soon as you put it on (from the bronzer). This is by far the best cheapest self tanner. If you have streaks or places darker, that just means you do not know how to apply it. Or maybe you are not taking the time to do it right. I use this for my body, but never for my face! It is too thick and too many ingredients in it and it made my face break out horribly. I use the Hawaiian tropic tan lotion for my face. It for some reason does not break my face out ( but actually makes it pretty soft). My face breaks out if I even smell something with any type of fragrance in it, so that is a good thing for me. I actually tested both of them on my legs and the Hawaiian tropic was pretty much the same color as the banana boat. The H.T. takes waaaay too long to dry though and longer to see color. anyhow... to apply... make sure that you are clean and exfoliate very good bc it will help the color apply even and it also stays on longer.Put lotion on in circular motions and rub it in good. Use the excess lotion on you knees and elbows and wrist. (only a little). make sure to wash you hands. After you wash your hands, put the lotion on the tops of your hands with a cotton ball and make sure not to wash them for a few hours, so preferably before bed. =) Reapply as needed. Do not put on your face if it is sensitive!!! Dont even try it because it will take about a week to clear up! Trust me! This lotion does have a smell so make sure to take shower before you go and do anything. By the way...I have used this on and off for a long time and not once has it ever came off onto my clothes. I put it on right after my shower at night and let it dry for about 5 min (sometimes i dont even do that) and i get straight into the bed. Never had any problems. Atleast try it and if you dont like it then take it back. Do not waste a lot of money when you could get this for a lot cheaper and better results. And no it is not orange! Apply it just like good lotion. You do not have to use a lot. Hope this helps!

Was this review helpful? (31) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Kelz04
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Amazing!
2/4/2014

Customer review by MissCourtney7

5.0 stars by MissCourtney7

This is the second self tanner I ever tried. I tried Jergens and nothing happened. About me: Super pale, freckles, blonde. I purchased the deep dark color (there was no medium to light in stock and I figured, why not?). I applied it last night and saw a little color within an hour! I do not tan at all...I just burn usually. I went to the gym about an hour and a half after applying and rinsed when I got home. I woke up this morning with beautiful color! I washed my hands and never reapplied to the top, which was a blessing and a curse....obviously my hands were my normal pale white but I did get to see the color difference and all I can say is WOW! Its not too much but its enough to notice! Beautiful color and its not orangey at all. The smell doesn't bother me, its kind of light and citrusy. Try it!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MissCourtney7
Sebastian, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Am I dreaming?
3/25/2014

Customer review by Ellie21908

5.0 stars by Ellie21908

I never write personal care reviews, but I have to right now! I used to spend 25 bucks for a small bottle of a another brand that has the same results as this one (deep color), but this one IS BETTER! There is a lot less of that weird tanner smell that self-tanners have (I'm really surprised), the color gets deep on my pale skin, and it's such a good price. So, I say-- Am I dreaming? I'm very pale white, with olive undertone, and the deep color looks great with 1-2 applications. At this price, I can afford to do it more often. You will get color, so make sure you get every spot. There is a tint to it, so you can see where you applied it. Banana Boat, please don't stop making this at this good price. Walmart, good job for picking this product to sell. I recommend it highly. I'd buy them all off the shelf if I knew they were going away. There is no negative side to this product for me...

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Ellie21908
TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Nice natural color!
6/3/2011

Customer review by greenthumb0027

5.0 stars by greenthumb0027

I really love this sunless tanning lotion. I have tried many different varieties/brands over the years, and this is probably the best one yet! My favorite thing by far is that the color develops so quickly. Like most people, I don't like waiting days to see color. My only caution is if you are very pale like me, don't use it more than once or twice per week. You will start to notice some streaking and weird blotchy things. Other than that, the color looks really natural and I would definitely recommend it!

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
greenthumb0027
Hamilton, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
This is my very favorite self tanner!
6/6/2012

Customer review by pickygall

5.0 stars by pickygall

And I have tried them all! Easy to use, has a really great color. Dark enough without being too dark or looking fake. I get compliments on my tan all of the time. People are always surprised when I tell them it's a self tanning lotion! A couple days worth and you really look deeply tanned. It stays on well in the shower. I can't find it in the stores anywhere here so I order it online. AND if you do get a dark streak by mistake use a Mr Clean cleaning sponge and rub with that and it will come off. Love, love, love this Sunless tanner. It's a 10 in my book.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
pickygall
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Better, compared to L'Oréal
10/20/2011

Customer review by carceeno

4.0 stars by carceeno

I applied L'Oréal on one hand and Banana Boat on the other. This is the result: L'Oréal is a little runny and therefore Banana Boat is easier to apply. After application, Banana boat does not leave glitters behind while L'Oréal does. If you rub Banana Boat on your skin more than a few times, it starts to stick together while L'Oréal does not have this problem. After one day, Banana Boat had a little darker color but both of them looked a little orange. After 3 days, Banana Boat became lighter in color and it lost's its color faster. Banana Boat lotion has more volume and less price. For now, I have switched to banana boat!

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
carceeno
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Best sunless tanner
3/23/2012

Customer review by burrellssolomonjakester

5.0 stars by burrellssolomonjakester

I just bought this product yesterday and used it twice, love the color and im not ORANGE!!! I have very pale skin and this gave me a tan that takes all summer to get. The two first coats of this product were perfect no streaks or blotchyness, however after the third I did notice a little blotchyness and streaking but not alot and not very noticable. I think the reason it started blotching was cause i didnt wait a full three hours before applying it again. I would highly recommend this product to others, its the first sunless tanner i have ever used that doesnt leave that ugly orange color and actually looks like a real tan.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
burrellssolomonjakester
canton, nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Amazing Product!
3/31/2011

Customer review by Mrs0Riggs

5.0 stars by Mrs0Riggs

I have used this product for over 3 months now and love it! I hope they don't stop making it so I can use it for life! I use this product twice a week and a coco-butter lotion all over the other 5 days of the week. The regimen I have maintained provides me with a nice glowing summer color. This tanning lotion does not have an atrocious smell like other tanners I have used. It is easy to apply and absorbs well into your skin. Typically a bottle will last me 5 weeks. In turn, I typically get 10 applications per bottle so that breaks down to $0.60 per application. No tanning salon or product can compete with the price and result for me! Overall, I would suggest buying it and trying it for sure! It's only $6 and to me you get a your money's worth with this product.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Mrs0Riggs
North Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Definitely does the job but has strange smell.
3/2/2012

Customer review by SylviaElaine19

5.0 stars by SylviaElaine19

This is my first time ever using a sunless tanner. I purchased This product because it seemed to have the best rating in sunless tanning lotions. It DEFINITELY tans you. However, I thought it sort of smells like wet-dog after it's been on for awhile. BUT this IS my first time using one so compared to other similar products the smell MAY be OK. I will use it though, because it does the job it promises. Next time I think I'll rub it on before bed, and wash up first thing in the morning so I'm not bothered by the smell. This time I made the mistake of trying it in the middle of the day and the smell bothered me the entire afternoon. Bad idea. In the end though, I would recommend this product. Oh, and MAKE sure to COMPLETELY ex foliate hands after if you don't use gloves. I figured If I just washed my hands after it would be fine. Nope. Hands are completely dark and dirty looking. Next time I'll use gloves AND exfoliate RIGHT after usage. Oh well. lol

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
SylviaElaine19
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
5/6/2011

Customer review by TANME

3.0 stars by TANME

first off, i purchased the medium to light color. I like this tanning lotion, its very easy to use. The color starts to show after a few hours after usage. I use this about 2 or 3 times a week. Although, im starting to notice this makes me look a little orange. I have been using it for two weeks now. Im not sure if the deep dark bottle will work better then the light to medium color, but i will have to try it. Overall, if your looking for a quick tan that looks somewhat natural go with this product. its a great buy and definently shows results.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TANME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
GOOD AS YOU CAN GET
1/24/2012

Customer review by j72050

5.0 stars by j72050

....this suntan lotion is as good as others costing 300% more...or 500% more

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
j72050
AKRON, OHIO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very
10/8/2011

Customer review by BettyAnnJoy

5.0 stars by BettyAnnJoy

Very good i love it just use it every 2 days and u will have a perfect sunless tan. No need to go to tanning salon and cheap.

Was this review helpful? (9) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
BettyAnnJoy
90025
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
THE BEST SELF-TANNER EVER MADE
11/25/2011

Customer review by trieste26

5.0 stars by trieste26

Short and Sweet...this is the VERY BEST self tanner you will ever find!!I have tried over 18 brands & types...this is the only one that won't turn your skin "orange"...it's unbelievable! & for the price?! NO need for tanning salons and all that $$ wasted...I am a singer and have to be in the public eye...this is the only tanner I ever use! And, if you don't like it, you can return it for a full refund...you have zero to lose & a nice tan to gain!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
trieste26
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
LOVE LOVE LOVE!!! This Product <3
6/6/2014

Customer review by Ashlie01

5.0 stars by Ashlie01

I absolutely use this product weekly, the best part is you can go any color you wish, medium to dark! It's affordable and sales quick at Walmart so I recommend to hurry, every time I see it I grab it cause it won't be there the next day I assure you! Just follow the directions, sparely apply on elbows, ankles and knees and I also suggest to do the same around the neck bone area. Anywhere, where there is a bone hanging out barely apply. Other than it's works great and I love it!!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Ashlie01
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best B-A-N-G for your buck!
4/8/2013

Customer review by iswiminthebigwater

5.0 stars by iswiminthebigwater

I've tried a couple of other self tanners on the market, but nothing came close to Banana Boat Summer Color. I bought the Deep Dark Color rather than the Medium because I wanted some results. I'm fair-skinned in the winter and really need a pick-me-up in the spring before I get my own tan, and even then my legs in particular will not get properly tan as the rest of me, so this is where a good self tanner comes in for me: LEGS. The key to this product is application: After exfoliating, apply in a circular motion evenly going easy on knees and ankles - because the bony parts of the leg are less meaty, if you will, and may not take the color as evenly no matter what you do. Just follow the directions on the tube to the letter and make an effort to rub the lotion into your skin and you will get amazing results. And I mean a-m-a-z-i-n-g. My first application was all I needed - no seconds here - and after swimming twice and showering countless times, I still had some residual product after a week!! A WEEK??! If that's not a bargain for under $7.00, then I don't know how to stay within a budget. There is a slight odor, but the chemical used will always emit some kind of stench, this one is just way more tolerable than most tanners, I can tell you that. I think I'll try to stick with the twice-a-week application schedule for maximum fly appeal. Overall opinion: this is one of the best bargains and most effective self tanners on the market. I spent about two hours researching. Guess my vanity is showing, huh? ;)

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
iswiminthebigwater
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Pretty Detailed Review (Great Product)
2/25/2013

Customer review by AllForLaughter

4.0 stars by AllForLaughter

I usually tan moderately well in the sun or in the tanning bed. But..I'm an impatient lady who loves the idea of saving herself from wrinkles in the future. So I tried several bronzers, and this was my favorite. The Good Stuff: The color looks much more natural than most self-tanners, and the results are immediate. It's wonderful knowing that you can have a gorgeous tan in time for that hot date this weekend or for when you celebrate your friend's birthday downtown. Plus, it's only like $7. There are other products out there that aren't as good but still want to break you. This won't do that to you. Oh, and the smell is, from my experience, practically unnoticeable. You'll smell it when you first put it on and as it's drying, but the aroma leaves once you take a nice shower. The Not-So-Good Stuff: You WILL start to splotch if you go 2-3 days without using it. I did that a couple of times, and since the color was so natural looking, my coworkers thought I'd just gone out into the sun and that I was at that point starting to peel. I mean, that's better than "Eww buy a different tanner!" but it's not really what you're going for. That being said, you may want to keep some rubbing alcohol handy for when you don't want to have it on your skin anymore. Also, don't freak out when it starts to dry. It scares my sister every time she sees me with it on my skin before I shower all the crud off the next morning. You will look like a bad parody of Jersey Shore until you shower it of. BUT. Once you take the shower, you'll be left with a lovely, even color. :)

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
AllForLaughter
Mobile, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 92 total reviews